Minister Holder Announces New Open Access Policy for Research

News Release

Minister Holder Announces New Open Access Policy for Research

Canadians will have free online access to research funded by NSERC, SSHRC and CIHR

February 27, 2015– Toronto

Making research results as widely available and accessible as possible is an essential part of advancing knowledge and maximizing the impact of publicly-funded research for Canadians. Increased access to the results of publicly-funded research can spur scientific discovery, enable better international collaboration and coordination of research, enhance the engagement of society and support the economy.

The Honourable Ed Holder, Minister of State (Science and Technology), today unveiled  the new policy as part of a wide-ranging speech on the government’s updated Science, Technology and Innovation Strategy in a speech to the Economic Club in Toronto. The harmonized Tri-Agency Open Access Policy on Publications requires all peer-reviewed journal publications funded by one of the three federal granting agencies to be freely available online within 12 months. Canada’s three federal granting agencies are: the Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR), the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC), and the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada (SSHRC). The policy will require NSERC and SSHRC funded researchers to comply with the policy for all grants awarded May 1, 2015 and onward. The policy will not change current compliance requirements for CIHR funded researchers since a similar policy with the same requirements has been in effect since 2008.  

In developing this policy, the three agencies held an online consultation, receiving feedback from over 200 individuals and groups from the research community, institutional libraries, scholarly associations, non-governmental organizations, publishers, and journals. The granting agencies will continue to work closely with stakeholders to support and facilitate the transition towards greater open access.

Quick Facts

  • Open access is the practice of providing free and unrestricted online access to research publications.
  • In keeping with the global movement towards open access, the harmonized policy requires that researchers receiving grants from CIHR, NSERC and SSHRC  make their resulting peer-reviewed journal articles freely available online within 12 months of publication.
  • Researchers can comply with the open access policy in two ways: ‘self-archiving’ by depositing their peer-reviewed manuscript to an online repository that will make the manuscript freely accessible within 12 months of publication; or submitting their manuscript to a journal that offers open access within 12 months of publication.
  • CIHR-funded researchers are also required to deposit bioinformatics, atomic, and molecular coordinate data into the appropriate public database immediately upon publication of research results. They must also retain original data sets for a minimum of five years (or longer if other policies apply).
  • Since 2008, SSHRC has invited applications for financial support from open access journals through its Aid to Scholarly Journals funding opportunity. In the 2014 competition, nearly 65% of applicants had an open-access or delayed open-access business model, up from just over 50% in the previous competition.
  • The Tri-Agency Open Access Policy on Publications aligns with the objectives of Canada’s Action Plan on Open Government and is a commitment under the updated Science, Technology, and Innovation Strategy.

Quotes

“Our government’s updated Science, Technology and Innovation Strategy demonstrates how we have made the record investments necessary to push the boundaries of knowledge, create jobs and prosperity and improve the quality of life of Canadians. Building on that record, today’s forward-looking announcement will provide Canadians with free, online access to federally funded research; providing researchers, entrepreneurs, and the wider Canadian public with an increased opportunity to build upon this research in innovative ways that can create social or economic benefits for Canadians.”

--The Honourable Ed Holder, Minister of State (Science and Technology)

“The new Tri-Agency Open Access Policy on Publications is a step in the right direction for our research community and Canadians. Open access is good practice and will reinvigorate dialog in scientific publication. This enhanced dissemination of ideas will, maximize the impact of research, and result in knowledge mobilizaton for economic and societal benefit.”

-- B. Mario Pinto, President, NSERC

“I am pleased to see the CIHR Open Access Policy on publications harmonized across the three granting agencies. Joining forces to encourage greater access to results from various research fields will help stimulate collaboration, fuel innovation and speed discoveries. This will ensure the work of Canada’s researchers achieve the greatest impact possible.”

-- Alain Beaudet, President, CIHR

“With this new Open Access policy, the Tri-Agencies are adopting a single, harmonized approach to promoting Canadian research to the world. The policy both reflects and facilitates new forms of collaboration that are a hallmark of scholarship in the social sciences and humanities. It represents a true step forward for the research community.”

--Ted Hewitt, Executive Vice-President and Chief Operating Officer, SSHRC       

Additional links

Tri-Council Open Access Policy on Publications

Frequently Asked Questions

Toolbox for researchers

Science,Technology and Innovation Strategy

Canada’s Action Plan on Open Government

- 30 -

 

About CIHR

The Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR) is the Government of Canada's health research investment agency. CIHR's mission is to create new scientific knowledge and to enable its translation into improved health, more effective health services and products, and a strengthened health-care system for Canadians. Composed of 13 institutes, CIHR provides leadership and support to more than 13,200 health researchers and trainees across Canada.

About NSERC

The Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC) is the primary funding agency supporting Canada’s science and engineering research community. The agency supports almost 30,000 postsecondary students and postdoctoral fellows in their advanced studies. NSERC promotes discovery by funding approximately 12,000 professors every year, and fosters innovation by working with over 3,000 Canadian companies that are participating and investing in postsecondary research projects.

About SSHRC

The Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada (SSHRC) is the federal agency that promotes and supports postsecondary-based research and training in the humanities and social sciences. By focusing on developing Talent, generating Insights and forging Connections across campuses and communities, SSHRC strategically supports world-leading initiatives that reflect a commitment to ensuring a better future for Canada and the world. For more information, visit the SSHRC website.

  

Further Information

Scott French
Director of Communications and Parliamentary Affairs
Office of the Minister of State (Science and Technology)
343-291-2700

David Coulombe
Media Relations
Canadian Institutes of Health Research
Tel.: 613-941-4563
mediarelations@cihr-irsc.gc.ca

Martin Leroux
Media and Public Affairs Officer
Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada
Tel.: 613-943-7618
media@nserc-crsng.gc.ca

David Holton
Communications Advisor
Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada
Tel.: 613-996-0520
David.Holton@sshrc-crsh.gc.ca

Le ministre Holder dévoile une nouvelle politique sur le libre accès

Communiqué

Le ministre Holder dévoile une nouvelle politique sur le libre accès

Les Canadiens profiteront d’un accès en ligne libre et gratuit aux résultats de la recherche financée par le CRSNG, le CRSH et les IRSC.

Le 27 février 2015 – Toronto

La progression des connaissances et l’optimisation des avantages que tireront les Canadiens de la recherche financée par les fonds publics passent par la maximisation de la disponibilité et de l’accessibilité des résultats de la recherche. L’accès accru à ces résultats peut stimuler les découvertes scientifiques, améliorer la collaboration et la coordination de la recherche à l’échelle internationale, renforcer l’engagement de la société et appuyer l’économie.

Dans l’allocution qu’il a prononcée aujourd’hui devant l’Economic Club of Canada, l’honorable Ed Holder, ministre d’État (Sciences et Technologie), a dévoilé une nouvelle politique harmonisée, intitulée Politique des trois organismes sur le libre accès aux publications, qui s’inscrit dans la version renouvelée de la stratégie en matière de sciences, de technologie et d’innovation du gouvernement du Canada. Aux termes de cette politique, tout article publié dans une revue avec comité de lecture issu de travaux de recherche financés par l’un des trois organismes subventionnaires fédéraux doit être offert gratuitement en ligne dans les 12 mois suivant sa publication. Les organismes subventionnaires du Canada sont : les Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada (IRSC), le Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada (CRSNG) et le Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines du Canada (CRSH). Les chercheurs appuyés par le CRSNG et le CRSH devront se conformer à la nouvelle politique pour toute subvention qui leur sera accordée à compter du 1er mai 2015. Les chercheurs appuyés par les IRSC, quant à eux, se plient déjà à cette exigence en vertu d’une politique semblable en vigueur depuis 2008.

Pour élaborer cette politique, les trois organismes ont tenu une consultation en ligne et reçu des commentaires de plus de 200 personnes et groupes provenant du milieu de la recherche, de bibliothèques universitaires, d’associations savantes, d’organisations non gouvernementales, d’éditeurs et de revues. Les organismes subventionnaires continueront de travailler en étroite collaboration avec les parties prenantes afin d’appuyer et de faciliter la transition vers un libre accès accru aux résultats de la recherche financée par des fonds publics.

Les faits en bref

  • Le libre accès consiste à offrir un accès en ligne gratuit et sans restriction aux publications de recherche.
  • À l’instar de la tendance mondiale vers le libre accès, la politique harmonisée exige que les chercheurs diffusent gratuitement en ligne les articles parus dans des revues avec comité de lecture qui sont liés à des travaux réalisés à l’aide de subventions des IRSC, du CRSNG ou du CRSH. Ils doivent le faire dans les 12 mois qui suivent leur parution.
  • Les chercheurs peuvent se conformer à la politique de libre accès en choisissant l’une des options suivantes : soit l’auto-archivage, qui consiste à verser leur manuscrit revu par des pairs dans un dépôt en ligne où il sera librement accessible dans les 12 mois suivant sa publication, et la transmission de leur manuscrit à une revue qui offre le libre accès dans les 12 mois suivant sa publication.
  • Les chercheurs appuyés par les IRSC doivent aussi verser les données bio-informatiques, atomiques et moléculaires dans la base de données publique appropriée dès la publication des résultats de la recherche. En outre, ils doivent conserver les ensembles de données originaux pendant au moins cinq ans (ou plus, s’ils sont assujettis à d’autres politiques).
  • Depuis 2008, le CRSH invite les revues à libre accès à présenter des demandes d’aide financière dans le cadre de ses subventions d’aide aux revues savantes. Près de 65 % des candidats au concours lancé pour cette possibilité de financement en 2014 ont indiqué que leur modèle d’affaires prévoyait le libre accès ou le libre accès différé, comparativement à un peu plus de 50 % dans le concours précédent.
  • La Politique des trois organismes sur le libre accès aux publications cadre avec les objectifs du Plan d’action du Canada pour un gouvernement ouvert et représente un engagement envers la version renouvelée de la stratégie en matière de sciences, de technologie et d’innovation du gouvernement du Canada.

Citations

« La version renouvelée de la stratégie en matière de sciences, de technologie et d’innovation du gouvernement du Canada montre que le gouvernement effectue les investissements sans précédent nécessaires pour repousser les frontières du savoir, créer des emplois et de la prospérité et améliorer la qualité de vie des Canadiens. Dans la même veine, la nouvelle politique annoncée aujourd’hui fera en sorte que les Canadiens aient un accès en ligne gratuit aux résultats de la recherche financée par le gouvernement et que les chercheurs, les entrepreneurs et les Canadiens en général aient une meilleure possibilité de les exploiter de manière innovante au profit de la société et de l’économie canadiennes. »

-- L’honorable Ed Holder, ministre d’État (Sciences et Technologie)

« La nouvelle Politique des trois organismes sur le libre accès aux publications est un pas dans la bonne direction pour le milieu de la recherche et les citoyens du Canada. Le libre accès est une pratique exemplaire qui renforcera le dialogue au moyen des publications scientifiques. Cette diffusion accrue des idées permettra de maximiser les retombées de la recherche et entraînera une mobilisation des connaissances qui se traduira par des avantages socioéconomiques. »

-- B. Mario Pinto, président, CRSNG

« Je suis heureux de voir que la Politique de libre accès des IRSC est harmonisée à l’échelle des trois organismes subventionnaires. Unir nos efforts pour favoriser l’accès aux résultats de recherche de divers domaines aidera à stimuler la collaboration, à alimenter l’innovation et à accélérer les découvertes. Cela permettra aux travaux des chercheurs canadiens d’avoir un maximum de retombées. »

-- Alain Beaudet, président, IRSC

« Avec cette nouvelle politique sur le libre accès, les trois organismes adoptent une seule stratégie harmonisée pour promouvoir la recherche canadienne dans le monde. La politique préconise et favorise les nouvelles formes de collaboration qui caractérisent les bourses en sciences humaines. Elle représente un véritable progrès pour la communauté de la recherche. »

-- Ted Hewitt, vice-président directeur et premier dirigeant, CRSH

Liens connexes

Politique des trois organismes sur le libre accès aux publications

Foire aux questions

Outils pour les chercheurs

Stratégie en matière de sciences, de technologie et d’innovation du gouvernement du Canada

Plan d’action du Canada pour un gouvernement ouvert

– 30

 

Au sujet des IRSC

Les Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada (IRSC) représentent l’organisme de financement de la recherche en santé du gouvernement du Canada. Leur mission est de créer des connaissances scientifiques et d’en favoriser l’utilisation pour améliorer la santé de la population, les services et produits de santé, ainsi que le système de soins de santé au profit des Canadiens. Composé de 13 instituts, l’organisme offre un leadership et du soutien à plus de 13 200 chercheurs et stagiaires en santé répartis dans l’ensemble du Canada.

Au sujet du CRSNG

Le Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada (CRSNG) est le principal organisme fédéral qui appuie le milieu canadien de la recherche en sciences et en génie. Il appuie près de 30 000 étudiants de niveau postsecondaire et stagiaires postdoctoraux dans leurs études supérieures. Le CRSNG fait la promotion de la découverte en offrant un appui financier à quelque 12 000 professeurs chaque année et favorise l’innovation en travaillant avec plus de 3 000 entreprises canadiennes qui investissent dans des projets de recherche d’établissements postsecondaires et y participent.

Au sujet du CRSH

Le Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines du Canada (CRSH) est l’organisme fédéral qui encourage et finance la recherche et la formation postsecondaires en sciences humaines. Il met l’accent sur le développement des talents, la production du savoir et l’établissement de liens entre les campus et les communautés. Il attribue un financement stratégique aux initiatives de calibre mondial qui visent à assurer un meilleur avenir au Canada et au monde. Pour plus de renseignements, veuillez consulter le site Web du CRSH.

 

Contacts

Scott French
Directeur des communications et des affaires parlementaires
Cabinet du ministre d’État (Sciences et Technologie)
Téléphone : 343-291-2700

David Coulombe
Relations avec les médias
Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada
Téléphone : 613-941-4563
mediarelations@cihr-irsc.gc.ca

Martin Leroux
Agent des relations avec les médias et des affaires publiques
Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada
Téléphone : 613-943-7618
media@nserc-crsng.gc.ca

David Holton
Conseiller en communications
Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines du Canada
Téléphone : 613-996-0520
David.Holton@sshrc-crsh.gc.ca