Ocean Scientists

This series of documentaries depicts the lives and scientific contributions of pioneering scientists in marine biology and oceanography in Canada. The series was originally produced between 1994 and 2004 by the First Fisheries Science Documentary Society under the guidance of Department of Fisheries and Oceans scientist Dr. Richard Beamish.
Video Player Help

Recommended Links

Fisheries and Oceans Canada
Explore the career of Archibald Huntsman, a strong leader, a pioneering oceanographer and an expert biologist on Atlantic salmon.
Fisheries and Oceans Canada
Meet Dr. Bob Kabata, a marine biologist who did pioneering research on how parasites could be used to track fish populations.
Fisheries and Oceans Canada
Meet Dr. Bill Ricker, a pioneer in fish stock assessment who taught himself Russian to aid his research and developed the ""Ricker Curve,"" a mathematical model of fish population dynamics.
Fisheries and Oceans Canada
Scott and Crossman: The Freshwater Fishes of Canada is the story of scientist emeritus William Beverly (Bev) Scott, formerly of the Royal Ontario Museum and the Huntsman Marine Science Centre and Edwin (Ed) J. Crossman, formerly of the Royal Ontario Museum, authors of the definitive texts on freshwater fish in Canada.
Fisheries and Oceans Canada
Learn about the life of Wilfred Templeman, a scientist regarded as the leading pioneer of marine science in Newfoundland who also helped found the International Commission for the Northwest Atlantic Fisheries.

Les premiers scientifiques canadiens de la mer

Cette série de documentaires décrit la vie et les contributions scientifiques des premiers chercheurs en biologie marine et en océanographie au Canada. La série a été produite entre 1994 et 2004 par la First Fisheries Science Documentary Society, avec l'aide de Richard Beamish, scientifique au ministère des Pêches et des Océans.
Aide - lecteurs multimédia

Liens recommandés

Pêches et Océans Canada
Découvrez la carrière d’Archibald Huntsman, qui fut un grand rassembleur, un océanographe novateur et, en tant que biologiste, un expert du saumon de l’Atlantique.
Pêches et Océans Canada
Faites connaissance de Bob Kabata, Ph.D., biologiste de la vie aquatique qui a tracé les sentiers de la recherche sur l'utilisation de parasites pour suivre les populations de poissons.
Pêches et Océans Canada
Venez rencontrer Bill Ricker, un pionnier de l’évaluation des stocks de poissons qui a appris tout seul le russe pour faciliter ses recherches et a créé la « courbe de Ricker », un modèle mathématique de la dynamique de la population de poissons.
Pêches et Océans Canada
La vidéo Scott et Crossman : Poissons d'eau douce du Canada trace le portrait des auteurs des textes qui font autorité sur les poissons d’eau douce du pays, soit le scientifique émérite William Beverly (« Bev ») Scott, anciennement du Musée royal de l'Ontario et du Centre des sciences de la mer Huntsman, et Edwin (« Ed ») J. Crossman, anciennement du Musée royal de l’Ontario.
Pêches et Océans Canada
Renseignez-vous sur la vie de Wilfred Templeman, un scientifique qui est considéré comme étant le principal pionnier de la science de la mer à Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador et qui a contribué à la fondation de la Commission internationale pour les pêcheries de l’Atlantique Nord-Ouest.