CSSP Exercise Program

About the Exercise Program

The creation of effective safety and security capabilities requires that emergency management personnel be placed in mock operational response scenarios. To this end, Defence Research and Development Canada's Centre for Security Science (DRDC CSS) manages and coordinates an exercise program in order to conduct and/or participate in exercises with various public safety and security partners.

The CSSP Exercise Team leverages existing exercise opportunities when possible and works on the design, development and delivery of new exercises to ensure that science and technology (S&T) informs policy development in the public safety and security domain.

Exercises are essential within the public safety and security community because they:

  • contribute to a more effective and efficient planning and execution of responses to incidents;
  • provide the opportunity to use and test capabilities in a simulated environment under different controlled settings;
  • provide awareness on how advancements are made in the public safety and security sector;
  • provide an opportunity to collaborate with key partners and stakeholders; and
  • provide an opportunity to identify key best practices and gaps that need to be addressed.

2015 - 2016 Exercises

Every year, DRDC CSS coordinates or is involved in several exercises, which focus on a number of public safety and security areas of interest. Below is a sample of some of the CSSP exercises for the 2015-2016 fiscal year.

Exercise Vulcan (train derailment exercise)

Dates: March 12-13, 2016

This train derailment exercise, known as Exercise Vulcan, is a coordinated effort between Transport Canada and DRDC CSS. The main goal of the exercise is to improve Canada's response capabilities in the event of an incident involving a train transporting flammable liquids, in particular crude oil.

For more information, see the Exercise Vulcan page

Canada-US Enhanced Resiliency Experiment IV (CAUSE IV)

Dates: April 26-28, 2016

CAUSE IV is a collaborative effort between DRDC CSS, Public Safety Canada, and the United States (US) Department of Homeland Security Science and Technology Directorate, in partnership with various provincial, municipal, state, and non-governmental organizations, which aims to further improve Canada-US cross-border communications interoperability.

For more information, see the CAUSE IV page.

Programme d'exercices du PCSS

À propos du programme d'exercices

La mise sur pied de capacités de sûreté et sécurité efficaces exige que le personnel de gestion d'urgences participe à des scénarios simulant des interventions opérationnelles. À cette fin, le Centre des sciences pour la sécurité de Recherche et développement pour la défense Canada (RDDC CSS) gère et coordonne un programme d'exercices visant à exécuter et/ou à participer à des exercices avec divers partenaires du milieu de la sûreté et sécurité publique.

L'équipe des exercices du PCSS tire parti des exercices existants, dans la mesure du possible, et travaille à la conception, à l'élaboration et à l'exécution de nouveaux exercices pour s'assurer que les connaissances scientifiques et technologiques puissent contribuer à l'élaboration de politiques dans le domaine de la sûreté et sécurité publique.

Les exercices sont essentiels pour la communauté de la sûreté et sécurité publique, car ils permettent :

  • de contribuer à un processus efficace et efficient de planification et d'exécution des interventions en cas d'incidents;
  • d'utiliser et de tester les capacités dans un environnement simulé dans différents contextes contrôlés;
  • de rester au courant sur la façon dont des progrès sont réalisés dans le secteur de la sûreté et de la sécurité publique;
  • de collaborer avec les partenaires et les parties intéressées clés; et
  • de cerner les principales pratiques exemplaires et les lacunes qui doivent être comblées.

Exercices 2015-2016

Chaque année, RDDC CSS coordonne ou s'implique dans de plusieurs exercices touchant à de nombreux champs d'intérêts du domaine de la sûreté et sécurité publique. Vous trouverez ci-dessous un échantillon des exercices du PCSS pour l'année fiscale 2015-1016.

Exercice Vulcan (Exercice de déraillement de train)

Dates : Les 12 et 13 mars 2016

L'exercice de déraillement de train, connu sous le nom d'exercice Vulcan, est une initiative coordonnée entre Transports Canada et RDDC CSS. L'objectif principal de l'exercice visa à améliorer les capacités d'intervention du Canada dans le cadre d'un incident qui implique un train transportant des liquides inflammables, en particulier de l'huile brute.

Pour en savoir plus sur l'exercice Vulcan, rendez-vous à l'adresse suivante.

Quatrième expérience de renforcement de la résilience Canada-États-Unis (CAUSE IV).

Dates: Du 26 au 28 avril 2016.

CAUSE IV est une collaboration entre RDDC CSS, Sécurité publique Canada et la Direction des sciences et de la technologie du Département de la sécurité intérieure des États-Unis, en partenariat avec divers organismes provinciaux, municipaux, étatiques et non gouvernementaux, qui vise à améliorer l'interopérabilité des communications transfrontalières entre le Canada et les États-Unis.

Pour en savoir plus sur CAUSE IV, rendez-vous à l'adresse suivante.