Ontario On-Line Research Co-op for high school students

Journal of Student Science and TechnologyScience.gc.ca

The Online Research Co-op experiential education program has been collaboratively developed by The Journal of Student Science and Technology (formerly the Canadian Young Scientist Journal) and the federal Science and Technology Cluster (Science.gc.ca) to help students transition from secondary school into postsecondary education and introduce them to knowledge-based professions.

What is it?

Login button

The program matches highly motivated high school students, in grades 11 and 12, with top researchers in the fields of science and technology. Students are offered opportunities to work on research projects, to be immersed into professional online communication and work environments, and to gain early exposure to careers in science and technology. The online format of the learning makes it accessible to all students, including those who require more flexible schedules, and those living in remote areas.

 

Some of the research projects developed during the program were featured in The Journal of Student Science and Technology:

Journal of Student Science and Technology co-op edition

Full issue in PDF format.

 

Schools that have participated in the program include:

  1. Earl Haig Secondary School
  2. École secondaire publique De la Salle
  3. Sir Winston Churchill Collegiate & Vocational Institute
  4. École secondaire catholique Algonquin
  5. Bloor Collegiate Institute
  6. Archbishop Denis O'Connor
  7. Centennial C.V.A.
  8. The Woodlands School
  9. West Carleton S.S.
  10. Bishop Allen Academy
  11. Richmond Hill High School
  12. Pierre Elliott Trudeau High School
  13. Collège catholique Samuel-Genest
  14. Lisgar Collegiate Institute
  15. Virtual Learning Centre
  16. Galt Collegiate Institute
  17. Garth Webb Secondary School
  18. Dunbarton High School
  19. Gary Allen High School
  20. École secondaire catholique Pierre-Savard
  21. Woburn Collegiate Institute

Ontario high schools can now apply to offer this opportunity for their students. Their letters of intent should be coordinated with the program liaison (coop.liaison@fsst.ca) and submitted to the Journal of Student Science and Technology.

 

Why should scientists participate as mentors?

This program allows participating scientists to mentor and shape the next generation of Canadian scientists through direct on-line contact. During a 4 month semester, students are expected to work for about 90 hours. Mentoring scientists are expected to contribute about 10 hours of their time over the same period. Click here to read what mentors have to say about the co-op program.

Early exposure to research can have a large impact on the career direction of these students. Recently, through The Journal of Student Science and Technology, high school students demonstrated their ability to invent New Bio-science technologies, Non-voice over IP communication and more. However, gifted students require mentors to guide their intellectual curiosity. Click here to read what students have to say about the co-op program.

What duties does mentorship entail?

Mentors have the opportunity to review the cover letter of students before accepting them as mentees. During an initial online meeting, the student and the mentor will discuss expectations and guidelines for the project. There will be generic assignments available for students (e.g., Writing a Scientific Paper, Critiquing a Scientific Paper, Report on Scientific Literature, Scientific Literature Review and Analysis), but the specifics of the project will be mutually agreed upon by both the student and mentor. An online SharePoint site will be a means for the students and mentors to share ideas, documents, and information. The mentor may be involved as little or as much as necessary in the student's project, based on the course progress indicators. Mentorship duties may be partially designated to a graduate student in the mentor's lab; however, all projects should provide students with the opportunity to gain knowledge and skills in science and technology research. If you are interested in being a mentor, please complete this form.

 

Step-by-step program description:

1. Choosing students

A selection process takes place at the participating high schools to choose the students who will take part in the online co-op. Students develop their cover letters and a description of science projects they would like to pursue. The co-op liaison passes the names of the successful students along with their cover letters, research requests and alternatives to the Science.gc.ca team to engage scientists interested in mentoring.

2. Finding the mentors

The Science.gc.ca team matches projects with scientists who expressed interest in mentoring and helping to develop the next generation of scientists. If no exact match is found for a particular project, the Science.gc.ca team will approach potential mentors in a similar field of study. After reviewing materials from students, the scientists agree to mentor a particular student.

3. The interview

The liaison arranges a Skype or telephone "interview" between the student, the mentor and the local co-op teacher. During the interview, the mentor and student will discuss the project and the expectations while making any mutually acceptable modifications.

4. Setting up collaboration

The Science.gc.ca team creates a separate online SharePoint site for each student and a mentoring scientist. The collaboration space allows for an easy exchange of ideas, information, assigning research topics, and reviewing work submitted over the period of one semester. The information on the roles and responsibilities of the student and the mentor are integrated into the site. Participants, teachers and mentors also have access to a forum for sharing successes, tips, and lessons learned with other teams.

5. Using collaboration spaces

Based on the interview, the mentor adapts the project expectations and deliverables and uploads them to the SharePoint site. The mentor also provides a list of resources that the student can use as well as tasks to be accomplished. The student and the mentor regularly communicate online and the student posts timely progress updates and uploads results of completed tasks. The mentor approves the student's weekly timesheets and completes the mid-course and final evaluation forms online.

6. Measuring ongoing progress

Each collaboration site includes tools supporting ongoing interactions and measurement of student's progress. The mentor and the co-op teacher have an opportunity to be involved as little or as much as necessary based on the course progress indicators; the mentor can decide when the student needs assistance or guidance. The student and the mentor meet half way through the course via Skype or telephone to discuss progress and if necessary modify the expectations for the deliverables and the final report. By the end of the course the student submits results in a form of project report, case study or research topic review.

7. Celebrating results

The Online Research Co-op Program supports students' transition from high school into postsecondary institutes with a focus on 21st century career development. We will celebrate the best projects in the following ways:

  • Featuring them in The Journal of Student Science and Technology, distributed to every high school in Ontario;
  • Presenting the projects at the Ontario Annual Science and Innovation conference to the attention of the national academic community;
  • Creating a showcase on Science.gc.ca together with a Young Scientist Blog allowing students to share their experience and ideas.

 

Contact Us

If you are interested in being a mentor, please complete this form.

If you are a teacher, please complete this form.

If you are a student, please complete this form.

For more information, please contact information@science.gc.ca.

Recherche COOP en ligne de l’Ontario pour étudiants de niveau secondaire

La revue pour les étudiants en technologie et sciences Science.gc.ca

Le programme COOP de recherche en ligne été élaboré conjointement par La revue pour les étudiants en technologie et sciences (auparavant nommée la Revue canadienne des jeunes scientifiques) et le Regroupement des sciences et de la technologie (Science.gc.ca) pour aider les étudiants à passer de l’école secondaire aux études postsecondaires et pour les initier aux professions basées sur la connaissance.

De quoi s’agit-il?

Ouvrir une session

Le programme COOP de recherche en ligne vise à jumeler des élèves très motivés de niveau secondaire, de la 11e et 12e année, avec des chercheurs émérites du domaine des sciences et de la technologie. Les élèves ont la possibilité de travailler à des projets de recherche, d’être immergé dans un environnement virtuel de travaille et de communication professionnel, et d’être exposés tôt à des carrières en sciences et en technologie. La formule en ligne de l’apprentissage rend cette expérience accessible à tous les étudiants, y compris ceux qui ont besoin des horaires plus souples et ceux qui habitent dans des régions plus isolés.

 

Certains projets de recherche développés pendant le programme étaient présentés dans La revue pour les étudiants en technologie et sciences (en anglais seulement) :

La revue pour les étudiants en technologie et sciences (édition COOP)

Édition complète en format PDF

 

Les écoles qui ont participé au programme comprennent les suivantes :

  1. Earl Haig Secondary School
  2. École secondaire publique De la Salle
  3. Sir Winston Churchill Collegiate & Vocational Institute
  4. École secondaire catholique Algonquin
  5. Bloor Collegiate Institute
  6. Archbishop Denis O'Connor
  7. Centennial C.V.A.
  8. The Woodlands School
  9. West Carleton S.S.
  10. Bishop Allen Academy
  11. Richmond Hill High School
  12. Pierre Elliott Trudeau High School
  13. Collège catholique Samuel-Genest
  14. Lisgar Collegiate Institute
  15. Virtual Learning Centre
  16. Galt Collegiate Institute
  17. Garth Webb Secondary School
  18. Dunbarton High School
  19. Gary Allen High School
  20. École secondaire catholique Pierre-Savard
  21. Woburn Collegiate Institute

Les écoles secondaires ontariennes peuvent actuellement présenter une demande afin d’offrir cette occasion aux étudiants. Leurs lettres d’intention doivent être coordonnées avec le bureau de liaison du programme (coop.liaison@fsst.ca) et être soumises à La revue pour les étudiants en technologie et sciences.

 

Pourquoi les scientifiques devraient-ils participer à titre de mentors?

Ce programme permet aux scientifiques participants d’offrir du mentorat et de modeler la prochaine génération de scientifiques canadiens par un contact direct en ligne. Au cours d’un semestre de quatre mois, on s’attend à ce que les élèves travaillent environ 90 heures. On s’attend également à ce que les scientifiques qui agiront à titre de mentors investissent environ dix heures durant cette période. Cliquez ici pour lire ce que les mentors disent au sujet du programme COOP.

Une exposition précoce à la recherche peut avoir une incidence importante sur l’orientation de carrière de ces élèves. Récemment, dans le cadre de La revue pour les étudiants en technologie et sciences, les élèves du secondaire ont montré leurs compétences en inventant de nouvelles biotechnologies, une technologie de communication non vocale sur IP, et bien plus. Cependant, les élèves surdoués ont besoin de mentors pour orienter leur curiosité intellectuelle. Cliquez ici pour lire ce que les étudiants disent au sujet du programme COOP.

Quelles sont les tâches associées à ce mentorat?

Les mentors ont la possibilité d’examiner la lettre d’accompagnement des élèves avant de les accepter à titre de mentorés. Au cours d’une réunion initiale en ligne, l’élève et le mentor discuteront des attentes et des lignes directrices liées au projet. Des tâches générales pourront être assignées aux élèves (p. ex. rédiger un article scientifique, faire la critique d’un article scientifique, produire un rapport sur la littérature scientifique ou faire un examen et une analyse de la littérature scientifique), mais les tâches précises du projet seront convenues mutuellement par l’élève et le mentor. Un site SharePoint en ligne permettra aux élèves et aux mentors de partager des idées, des documents et de l’information. Le mentor peut participer plus ou moins au projet de l’élève, selon les besoins, en fonction des indicateurs de progrès du cours. Les tâches liées au mentorat peuvent être déléguées en partie à un étudiant de deuxième cycle universitaire qui travaille dans le laboratoire du mentor; cependant, tous les projets doivent offrir aux élèves la chance d’acquérir des connaissances et des compétences en recherche dans le domaine des sciences et de la technologie. Si vous êtes intéressé(e) à participer en tant que mentor, veuillez remplir ce formulaire.

 

Description du programme - étape par étape

1. Choix des étudiants

Un processus de sélection se déroule dans les écoles secondaires participantes afin de choisir les élèves qui participeront au programme COOP en ligne. Les étudiants devront élaborer un curriculum vitæ et une description du projet scientifique qu’ils aimeraient réaliser. L’agent de liaison COOP affichera ensuite les noms des étudiants choisis, de pair avec leur curriculum vitæ, leur projet de recherche et les options de rechange, dans le site Science.gc.ca, cela afin d’attirer les scientifiques intéressés à faire du mentorat.

2. Choix des mentors

Les responsables du site Science.gc.ca feront le lien entre les projets et les scientifiques qui auront exprimé leur intérêt à faire du mentorat et à développer la prochaine génération de scientifiques. Si aucune correspondance n’est possible pour la réalisation d’un projet donné, les responsables du site Science.gc.ca solliciteront d’autres mentors possibles qui œuvrent dans des domaines similaires. Après examen des descriptions fournies par les étudiants, les scientifiques disponibles accepteront ou non d’agir comme mentors de ceux-ci.

3. Entrevue

L’agent de liaison organisera une entrevue par téléphone ou par système Skype entre l’étudiant concerné, le mentor et le professeur COOP responsable. Cette entrevue permettra au mentor de discuter du projet et des attentes face à sa réalisation avec l’étudiant, en plus de s’entendre, le cas échéant, sur des modifications mutuellement acceptables.

4. Établissement de liens de collaboration

Les responsables du site Science.gc.ca vont créer un site indépendant SharePoint en ligne qui pourra être utilisé par l’étudiant et son mentor. Pendant le trimestre suivant, cet espace de collaboration facilitera les échanges d’idées et d’informations, la présentation des sujets de recherche, ainsi que la révision du travail soumis. Les informations relatives au rôle et aux responsabilités de l’étudiant et de son mentor feront partie intégrante du site. Les participants, enseignants et mentors ont accès à un forum pour partager leur succès, conseils, et leçons appris avec d'autres équipes.

5. Utilisation de l’espace de collaboration

En se fondant sur l’entrevue, le mentor pourra adapter les attentes et les produits souhaités en lien avec le projet pour, ensuite, insérer le tout dans le site SharePoint. De plus, il fournira une liste des ressources qui s’offrent à l’étudiant et des tâches que ce dernier devra accomplir. L’étudiant et son mentor communiqueront régulièrement grâce à ce site. D’autre part, l’étudiant y affichera régulièrement les progrès qu’il aura accomplis, ainsi que le résultat des tâches accomplies. Le mentor supervisera la feuille de temps hebdomadaire de l’étudiant et remplira en ligne les formulaires d’évaluation à mi-parcours et à la fin du projet.

6. Mesure continuelle des progrès accomplis

Le site de collaboration comprendra des outils venant appuyer les interactions en continu et la mesure des progrès accomplis par l’étudiant. En fonction de l’indication des progrès accomplis par l’étudiant, le mentor et le professeur COOP auront la possibilité d’intervenir d’une façon restreinte ou importante. Le mentor sera en mesure de décider quand l’étudiant aura besoin d’aide ou d’orientations. L’étudiant et le mentor se rencontreront à mi-parcours au moyen du système Skype afin de discuter des progrès accomplis et, le cas échéant, de modifier les attentes en ce qui concerne les produits souhaités et le rapport final. À la fin de la période de formation, l’étudiant présentera les résultats obtenus sous forme de rapport, d’étude de cas ou de compte rendu de recherche.

7. Reconnaissance des résultats obtenus

Le programme COOP recherche en ligne permet d’appuyer la période de transition où les étudiants passent du niveau collégial pour se diriger vers le niveau post-secondaire. L’accent y est mis sur le perfectionnement professionnel en lien avec la XXIe siècle. Nous soulignerons les mérites des meilleures réalisations de la façon suivante :

  • elles seront décrites dans La revue pour les étudiants en technologie et sciences et diffusées dans tous les collèges de l’Ontario ;
  • elles seront présentées auprès des membres de la communauté universitaire du Canada durant la Conférence annuelle sur les sciences et l’innovation de l’Ontario ;
  • elles seront affichées dans le site Science.gc.ca de pair avec le Blogue de La revue pour les étudiants en technologie et sciences, permettant aux étudiants de partager leurs expériences et leurs idées.Conte

Contactez-nous

Si vous êtes intéressé(e) à participer en tant que mentor, veuillez remplir ce formulaire.

Si vous êtes enseignant(e), veuillez remplir ce formulaire.

Si vous êtes élève, veuillez remplir ce formulaire.

Pour plus de renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec information@science.gc.ca.