Useful Information

 

1. Credentials Assessment – Canadian Information Centre for International Credentials (CICIC)

Foreign Credentials Recognition

  • Information and referral on the assessment of foreign credentials, the recognition of qualifications, prior learning assessment and recognition, and credential evaluation services in Canada
  • Canada's Academic Credential Evaluation Services: Foreign Credential Evaluation, Assessment and Recognition of Qualification  

Studying in Canada

  • Information and referral for people who would like to pursue their higher studies in Canada; consult the Directory of Universities, Colleges and Schools in Canada
  • Education in Canada: Referrals and resources on all aspects of postsecondary and higher education in Canada's provinces and territories, including CICIC's Directory of Universities, Colleges and Schools in Canada

Working in Canada

  • Information and referral for people interested in coming to work in Canada
  • Consult detailed occupational profiles on selected professions and trades

Studying Abroad

  • Information and referral for people who want to study outside Canada
  • Education in the World: Referrals and resources on education in the other countries and regions of the world and on regional and international treaties regulating the recognition of foreign degrees, qualifications and credentials

http://cicic.ca/2/home.canada

The Quebec immigration homepage offer additional information for potential students to Quebec. For people wanting to come to there for their studies, a typical procedure is suggested to assist in one’s proceedings.

http://www.immigration-quebec.gouv.qc.ca/en/immigrate-settle/students/index.html

2. Credentials Assessment – Kultusministerkonferenz (KMK) Germany

In Germany, Canadian Master and PhD degrees are accepted as equal to German university degrees and Canadian scholars should not have any problems with the assessment of their credentials in Germany. The central body for the assessment of international degrees in Germany is the Kultusministerkonferenz (KMK), which provides guidelines to German universities for the assessment of foreign academic degrees. However, it is the individual university’s responsibility to decide first about the validity of an international degree as students or scholars apply for admission directly with the academic institutions. In certain cases the KMK might be required to settle uncertainties but, in general, Canadians should not encounter any difficulties with their degrees in Germany. Please visit the KMK at:

http://www.kmk.org/home.html

A database system with information on the recognition of foreign degrees in Germany is  referred to as anabin:

http://www.anabin.de/

3. Immigration Regulations and Visa Requirements

Please note that the following information on visa requirements might be subject to change. We recommend that you contact the respective embassies for up-to-date information.

Canadian Embassy in Berlin:

http://www.canadainternational.gc.ca/ci-ci/splash.aspx

Embassy of the Federal Republic of Germany in Ottawa:

http://www.ottawa.diplo.de/

4. Study in Canada

In almost all cases you must have a study permit to study in Canada. If you wish to study in Quebec, you will also require a ”Certificat d’acceptation du Québec“. Foreign nationals may enter Canada or remain in Canada without a study permit to attend a course or study program of six months’ duration or less. Study permits can be only issued to students who will be enrolled/ registered as students at a Canadian academic institution.

5. Research in Canada

Professors and academic experts may come to Canada to evaluate or supervise academic projects, research proposals or university theses without a work permit. This applies to Canadian research organizations as well as academic institutions. For further information on jobs exempt from the work permit requirement please visit

http://www.cic.gc.ca/english/work/

Self-funded Researchers

Persons who are doing self-funded research (for example foreign students doing research in Canada for their diploma/thesis at their home university) may meet the definition of business visitor and thus, be eligible to work without having to obtain a work permit. There should be no displacement of Canadian or permanent resident workers, or employer-employee relationship. In addition, the individual or the Canadian institution must not receive remuneration for the research. These persons may enter Canada as visitors; see the detailed information on self-funded researchers.

http://www.canadainternational.gc.ca/germany-allemagne/assets/pdfs/info5_researchers-en.pdf

6.     Study and Research in Germany

Canadian nationals wishing to stay in Germany longer than three months, and who plan to take up employment or to study in Germany, require a visa. However, they do not need to obtain the visa prior to entering Germany. If they prefer to apply for a visa and, if necessary, a work permit, in advance, i.e. to prepare their stay, to speed up proceedings at the German authority for foreigners (Ausländerbehörde) applications can be made in person at one of the German missions in Ottawa, Montreal, Toronto or Vancouver depending on the applicant's place of residence. For further information please visit the website of the German Embassy in Ottawa at

http://germanembassyottawa.org/

Information on visa requirements can also be found at

http://www.daad.de/en/

or on the website of the German Foreign Ministry at

http://www.auswaertiges-amt.de/DE/EinreiseUndAufenthalt/Visabestimmungen_node.html

7.     Canada-Germany Young Workers Exchange Program

The goal of this program is to enable young Canadian workers/ post-graduates to gain work experience in Germany. While the program provides working visas, it remains the responsibility of the applicant to find a place of work. However, the ZAV (Zentralstelle für Arbeitsvermittlung, ZAV-Bonn@arbeitsagentur.de ) can help candidates find employment in Germany. Further information can be found at

http://www.germanembassyottawa.org/cae/cgywep.php

Informations utiles d'ordre général

 

1. Évaluation des diplômes - Centre d'information canadien sur les diplômes internationaux (CICDI)

Reconnaissance des diplômes étrangers

  • Orientation et renseignements sur l'évaluation des diplômes étrangers, la reconnaissance des qualifications et les services d'évaluation comparative de diplômes d'études
  • Les services d'évaluation des diplômes au Canada : évaluation de diplômes et reconnaissance des qualifications

Étudier au Canada

  • Informations à l'intention des personnes qui désirent poursuivre leurs études supérieures au Canada; Répertoire des universités, collèges et écoles du Canada
  • L'éducation au Canada : Références et ressources portant sur tous les aspects de l'éducation postsecondaire et de l'enseignement supérieur dans les provinces et territoires du Canada, notamment le Répertoire des universités, collèges et écoles du Canada du CICDI

Travailler au Canada

  • Information à l'intention des personnes qui envisagent d'émigrer au Canada pour y trouver un emploi
  • Fiches détaillées sur divers métiers et professions

Étudier à l'étranger

  • Informations pour l'orientation et l'insertion des personnes qui souhaitent aller étudier à l'étranger
  • L'éducation dans le monde : références sur l'éducation dans les divers pays et régions du monde et sur les conventions régionales et internationales régissant la reconnaissance des titres, qualifications et diplômes étrangers

http://cicic.ca/1/accueil.canada

La page d'accueil d'Immigration-Québec propose des informations supplémentaires pour les étudiants souhaitant venir au Québec. Les différentes étapes requises y sont présentées :

http://www.immigration-quebec.gouv.qc.ca/fr/immigrer-installer/etudiants/index.html

2. Évaluation des titres de scolarité - Kultusministerkonferenz (KMK) Allemagne

En Allemagne, les diplômes canadiens de maîtrise et de doctorat sont acceptés en tant qu'équivalents aux diplômes universitaires allemands et les universitaires canadiens ne devraient pas avoir de difficulté à faire reconnaître leurs diplômes en Allemagne. L'organe central d’évaluation des diplômes internationaux en Allemagne est la Conférence permanente des ministres de l'éducation et des affaires culturelles des Länder en République fédérale d’Allemagne (Kultusministerkonferenz, KMK) ; c'est elle qui fournit aux universités allemandes des lignes directrices en la matière. Cependant, la responsabilité de se prononcer sur la validité d'un diplôme international incombe aux différentes universités, puisque les étudiants ou les chercheurs présentent leurs demandes d'admission directement auprès des établissements. En cas d'incertitude, la KMK peut être appelée à trancher, mais d'une manière générale, les Canadiens ne devraient pas rencontrer de difficultés en Allemagne en ce qui concerne leurs diplômes. Pour de plus amples informations, veuillez consulter le site Internet de la KMK :

http://www.kmk.org/home.html

Vous trouverez une banque de données avec des informations concernant la reconnaissance des diplômes étrangers en Allemagne sous :

http://www.anabin.de/

3. Règlements d'immigration et exigences en matière de visas

Veuillez prendre note que les informations qui suivent concernant les exigences en matière de visas sont sujettes à des changements. Nous vous recommandons de contacter les ambassades respectives pour obtenir des informations à jour.

Ambassade du Canada à Berlin :

http://www.canadainternational.gc.ca/ci-ci/splash.aspx

Ambassade de la République fédérale d'Allemagne à Ottawa :

http://www.canada.diplo.de/Vertretung/kanada/fr/Startseite.html

4. Études au Canada

Dans presque tous les cas, un permis d'études est requis pour étudier au Canada. Si vous souhaitez étudier au Québec, il vous faudra également un « Certificat d' acceptation du Québec ». Les ressortissants étrangers peuvent entrer au Canada ou y demeurer sans permis d'études pour suivre un cours ou un programme d'études d'une durée de six mois ou moins. Des permis d'études peuvent être délivrés uniquement à des étudiants inscrits auprès d'un établissement d'enseignement canadien.

5. Recherche au Canada

Les professeurs et les experts universitaires peuvent venir au Canada sans permis de travail afin d'évaluer ou superviser, auprès d'organismes de recherche ou d'établissements d'enseignement supérieur canadiens, des projets de recherche ou des thèses. Pour de plus amples informations sur les emplois bénéficiant d’une dérogation aux exigences relatives au permis de travail, veuillez consulter le site Internet suivant :

http://www.cic.gc.ca/francais/travailler/index.asp

Chercheurs autonomes

Les personnes qui font de la recherche de manière autonome (par exemple, les étudiants étrangers qui font de la recherche au Canada en vue d'obtenir leur diplôme ou leur thèse dans leur université d’origine) peuvent être considérés comme visiteurs et être autorisés à travailler sans permis de travail. Cependant, la personne ne doit pas prendre la place d'un travailleur canadien ou d'un résident permanent, et il ne doit y avoir aucune relation employeur-employé. En outre, la personne ou l'établissement canadien ne doit pas être rémunéré pour les recherches effectuées. Ces personnes peuvent entrer au Canada en tant que visiteurs ; voir les informations détaillées concernant les chercheurs autonomes.

http://www.canadainternational.gc.ca/germany-allemagne/assets/pdfs/info5_researchers-fr.pdf

6. Études et recherches en Allemagne

Les ressortissants canadiens qui souhaitent demeurer en Allemagne pendant plus de trois mois et qui planifient de travailler ou d'étudier en Allemagne nécessitent un visa. Cependant, ils n'ont pas besoin de se procurer le visa avant d'entrer en Allemagne. S'ils préfèrent déposer une demande de visa et, le cas échéant, de permis de travail, à l'avance afin d'accélérer les procédures au service des étrangers (Ausländerbehörde), ils peuvent le faire en se présentant à l'une des missions de l'Allemagne à Ottawa, Montréal, Toronto ou Vancouver, en fonction de l’endroit où ils habitent. Pour de plus amples informations, veuillez consulter le site Internet de l'Ambassade d'Allemagne à Ottawa :

http://germanembassyottawa.org/

http://www.canada.diplo.de/Vertretung/kanada/fr/02/__schlagwortverzeichnis.html

Vous trouverez également des informations concernant les exigences en matière de visas sur le site suivant :

http://www.daad.de/

ou sur le site Internet du ministère fédéral allemand des Affaires étrangères :

http://www.auswaertiges-amt.de/DE/EinreiseUndAufenthalt/Visabestimmungen_node.html

7. Programme d’échanges de jeunes travailleurs Canada - Allemagne

L'objectif de ce programme est de permettre à de jeunes travailleurs/diplômés canadiens d'acquérir une expérience professionnelle en Allemagne. Bien que le visa de travail soit fourni dans le cadre du programme, le demandeur doit se trouver lui-même un emploi. Le Service central de placement de l'Agence fédérale pour l'emploi (Zentralstelle für Arbeitsvermittlung, ZAV, ZAV-Bonn@arbeitsagentur.de) peut être une ressource utile à cet égard. Pour de plus amples informations, rendez-vous sur

http://www.germanembassyottawa.org/cae/cgywep.php