A journey through time by canoe

Text and photos by Vivien Cumming – @drvivcumming

Early morning on the Gatineau River — a gentle mist rises from the surface of the glassy still water; the sun’s first pink rays sparkle in the moving current and catch the repellent fur of a beaver’s head as it comes up for air.

Gatineau river
Gatineau River – photo credit Vivien Cumming

In the distance, the gentle sound of faster flowing water is punctuated by birds rising in the trees, dragonflies emerging to chase the buzz of mosquitoes and black flies — and the soft sound of paddle as it pushes through the water.

Then the clank as canoes collide and the splash of bodies falling into the water! Peace is broken. Chaos descends on the river as eight geologists find themselves floundering around in the water learning how to handle Canadian canoes, and themselves, in whitewater.

Fuelled by coffee, big barbecue-cooked breakfasts and hope that the cold river wouldn’t engulf us each day, we braved two days of whitewater river training with Boreal River Rescue and two days of whitewater paddling with Blackfeather Expeditions on the Gatineau River near Kazabazua.

We spent the days learning how to swim in whitewater, trying to read the signs of the river rapids, where you could be dragged under water or where a calm eddy could bring you a little peace. Tying ropes, throwing ropes and rescuing each other from the water, and most importantly, moving a canoe in a straight line down a river.

Whitewater canoe training on the Gatineau River
Whitewater canoe training on the Gatineau River – photo credit: Danny Peled

The reason— in July we embark on a ambitious scientific expedition to descend 200 km of the Coppermine River by canoe from Dismal Lakes to Kugluktuk where the river enters the Arctic Ocean. Eight geologists, four river guides, six canoes, 12 paddles (hopefully) and a lot of gear. A river renowned for its whitewater and a bunch of (mostly) middle-aged geologists with very little experience in canoes — it’s going to be an adventure!

The canoe is only the tool to make the adventure happen — the real adventure is in the science we will see along the way. Studying the rocks along the riverbank for the first time since the early explorer, George M. Douglas, followed a similar route along the river over 100 years ago (detailed in the book: Lands Forlorn).

These rocks will take us on a journey through 500 million years of Earth history, starting over 1.5 billion years ago when early multicellular life was beginning to emerge on Earth. We will study and sample rocks along the river banks as well as hike into the wilderness and use a drone for mapping the area.

We are on the lookout for some of the world’s oldest fossils; microscopic fossils of early eukaryotes (an organism whose cells have a nucleus containing DNA and other organelles enclosed within membranes). Carbon in the rocks will be studied to explain the environmental conditions these organisms lived in, and we will be searching for clues about the origins of a huge ancient volcanic event. One theory is that a massive outpouring of magma was caused by a mantle plume (large thermal upwelling originating from Earth’s interior) and another new theory is that it was triggered by a meteorite impact.

The training prepared us well, and more time was spent in the water than was perhaps desired, but its all in the name of safety and access to remote science. The journey down the Coppermine will take us through Earth’s history in Canada’s remote wilderness.

The 12-member expedition is led by Dr. Rob Rainbird, a scientist with the Geological Survey of Canada, and a team of Canadian and international scientists. National Geographic and BBC photographer, writer and geologist, Dr Vivien Cumming, will be documenting this expedition north of the Arctic Circle.

Getting ready for canoeing on the challenging Coppermine river with 2 days of whitewater river training
Getting ready for canoeing on the challenging Coppermine river with 2 days of whitewater river training – photo credit Danny Peled

The team is in the field between July 11 and August 11, 2017. You can join this adventure to hear about paddling the Coppermine, bug bites, a month without a shower, weather, wildlife and of course, the Earth’s history, by following the expedition’s blog at science.gc.ca. Follow @drvivcumming on Instagram and Twitter for social media updates.

Detail of a canoe paddle blade
Detail of a canoe paddle blade – photo credit Vivien Cumming

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Un voyage dans le temps en canot

Texte et photos de Vivien Cumming – @drvivcumming

Tôt le matin, sur la rivière Gatineau, une brume légère s’élève de la surface miroitante de l’eau dormante. Les premiers rayons roses du soleil étincellent dans le courant et font reluire la fourrure imperméable d’un castor qui pointe la tête pour respirer.

La Gatineau
La Gatineau – Photographie : Vivien Cumming

Au loin, le doux bruit des eaux au cours plus rapide. Des oiseaux s’élèvent dans les arbres, des libellules émergent pour chasser moustiques et mouches noires, une pagaie fait un mouvement feutré dans l’eau.

Puis c’est le choc des canots qui se heurtent et le plouf des corps qui tombent dans l’eau! Le calme est rompu, le chaos règne dans la rivière alors que huit géologues se débattent à qui mieux mieux pour apprendre à manier des canots canadiens en eau vive.

Soutenus chaque jour par le café, de copieux déjeuners cuits au barbecue et l’espoir que la froide rivière ne nous engloutirait pas, nous avons passé deux jours à nous initier aux techniques de survie en eau vive avec des guides de Boreal River Rescue et deux jours à pagayer avec ceux de Blackfeather Expeditions sur les rapides de la rivière Gatineau, près de Kazabazua.

Nous avons appris à nager en eau vive, à interpréter les rapides pour déterminer les risques d’être entraînés sous l’eau et à repérer les contre-courants susceptibles de nous apporter un peu de tranquillité. Nous avons attaché des cordes, nous en avons lancées pour nous sauver des eaux les uns les autres et surtout nous avons appris à faire avancer le canot en ligne droite vers l’aval!

Entraînement au canotage en eaux vives sur la Gatineau
Entraînement au canotage en eaux vives sur la Gatineau – Photographie : Danny Peled

Tour cela, parce qu’en juillet nous allions entreprendre une expédition scientifique ambitieuse, 200 km en canot sur la rivière Coppermine, des lacs Dismal à Kugluktuk, là où la rivière se jette dans l’océan Arctique. Huit géologues, quatre guides de rivière, six canots, douze pagaies (espérons-le!) et beaucoup de matériel. Une rivière réputée pour ses eaux vives et un groupe de géologues d’âge mûr (pour la plupart) ayant très peu d’expérience du canot – toute une aventure!

Mais en fait, le canot n’est que l’outil – la véritable aventure, ce sont les observations scientifiques tout au long de notre route, où nous étudions maintenant les roches des rives, pour la première fois depuis que l’explorateur George M. Douglas a fait le même trajet il y a plus de cent ans (voyage raconté dans Lands Forlorn).

Ces roches nous font parcourir 500 millions d’années d’histoire de la Terre, commencées il y a plus de 1,5 milliard d’années lorsque les premières formes de vie pluricellulaire ont émergé. Nous examinons les roches le long des berges de la rivière et nous en prélèvons des échantillons. Nous poussons nos recherches dans la forêt. Un drone nous sert à cartographier la région.

Nous sommes à l’affût de certains des fossiles les plus anciens du monde, microscopiques, les premiers eucaryotes (organismes dont les cellules ont un noyau qui contient de l’ADN et d’autres organites enfermés dans des membranes). Le carbone des roches nous aidera à élucider l’environnement dans lequel vivaient ces organismes, et nous chercherons des indices sur les origines d’une formidable éruption volcanique survenue dans des temps reculés. Une théorie, à ce sujet, suppose que l’effusion massive de magma a été causée par un panache mantellique (forte poussée thermique issue de l’intérieur de la Terre); selon une autre, plus récente, elle aurait été déclenchée par l’impact d’une météorite.

Même si nous avons peut-être passé plus de temps dans l’eau que nous ne l’aurions voulu, l’entraînement nous a bien préparés pour ce voyage au cœur d’une région sauvage et éloignée de notre pays.

L’équipe, qui compte douze membres, est dirigée par Rob Rainbird, chercheur à la Commission géologique du Canada, et comprend des chercheurs canadiens et étrangers. Vivien Cumming, photographe pour National Geographic et la BBC, écrivaine et géologue, documente cette expédition au nord du cercle arctique.

Deux jours de pratique du canot en eaux vives pour nous préparer à affronter l’impétueuse rivière Coppermine
Deux jours de pratique du canot en eaux vives pour nous préparer à affronter l’impétueuse rivière Coppermine – Photographie : Danny Peled

Sur le terrain depuis le 11 juillet jusqu’au 11 août., nous avons notre blogue à l’adresse science.gc.ca. Vous y trouverez tout sur notre descente de la Coppermine à la pagaie : les piqûres d’insectes, un mois sans douche, la météo, la faune et, bien sûr, l’histoire de la Terre. Vous pouvez aussi suivre @drvivcumming sur Instagram et Twitter.

Vue rapprochée d’une pale d’aviron
Vue rapprochée d’une pale d’aviron – Photographie : Vivien Cumming

Date de modification :