Small town, big impact: How Canada’s largest federal laboratory, tucked away in rural Ontario has impacted millions around the globe

On November 3, the National Research Universal (NRU) research reactor, one of the Canada’s most productive and impactful science facilities, celebrated the unprecedented milestone of 60 years in operation.

Chalk River

The NRU which is located at the Chalk River campus of Canadian Nuclear Laboratories, near the town of Deep River, has delivered major benefits to the health of people around the world, and has enabled many scientific achievements since it began operating in 1957. (For example it helped launch a new branch of physics, neutron scattering, which was recognized with a Nobel Prize.)

Over its life, NRU has produced medical materials used in well over half a billion patient treatments. Those have helped people in 80 countries around the world.

How were all those patients helped? Well, when NRU is operating, the nuclear fission produces trillions of neutrons, which can be used to transform atoms into radioactive isotopes. Those isotopes emit energy in the form of gamma radiation, and that energy has two important uses, improving the health of people across the globe.

One Canadian medical innovation made possible by NRU was the use of gamma rays from an isotope of cobalt to destroy cancerous tumours. A technique first developed in Canada in the 1950’s, this technology is still in use today. Each year 16 million people, many in the developing world, receive life-saving cancer treatment from radioactive cobalt produced in NRU.

Another significant isotope supplied to the world from NRU for many years is technetium which emits a lower energy gamma ray that can be used to create an image of a patient. Approximately 85% of diagnostic imaging procedures in nuclear medicine use this isotope, and many hundreds of millions of patients have benefited from that technology.

NRU was the subject of a recent TEDx talk at Algonquin College in Ottawa this fall, where the NRU’s Director of Operations, Alastair McIvor made the case for the NRU being Canada’s most productive science facility. Learn more by following the links below‎ to both the video and transcript.

How is a nuclear reactor used for science? | Alastair McIvor | TEDxOttawa

Transcript

Date modified:

Petite ville, grande influence : Comment le plus grand laboratoire fédéral du Canada, du fonds de sa région rurale ontarienne, a touché des millions de personnes sur toute la planète

Le 3 novembre, le réacteur national de recherche universel (NRU), l’une des installations scientifiques les plus productives et influentes du Canada, a célébré le jalon sans précédent de 60 ans d’exploitation.

Chalk River

Le réacteur NRU, situé sur le campus de Chalk River des Laboratoires Nucléaires Canadiens, près de la ville de Deep River, est à l’origine d’avantages majeurs en matière de santé partout dans le monde, et de nombreuses réalisations scientifiques ont vu le jour grâce à lui depuis qu’il est entré en service en 1957. (Par exemple, il a contribué à lancer une nouvelle branche des sciences physiques, la diffusion des neutrons, qui a été reconnue par un Prix Nobel.)

Au cours du cycle de vie du réacteur, les matières médicales qu’il a produites ont été utilisées dans plus d’un demi-milliard de traitements, qui ont aidé des patients de 80 pays du monde.

De quelle façon a-t-on aidé ces patients? Quand le réacteur NRU est exploité, la fission nucléaire produit des billions de neutrons, qui peuvent servir à transformer des atomes en des isotopes radioactifs. Ces isotopes émettent de l’énergie sous la forme de rayonnement gamma, et cette énergie a deux utilisations très importantes, qui servent à améliorer la santé des gens partout au monde.

Une des innovations canadiennes rendues possibles par le réacteur NRU fut l’utilisation de rayons gamma à partir d’un isotope de cobalt pour détruire des tumeurs cancéreuses. Cette technique, développée à l’origine au Canada dans les années 1950, est encore utilisée de nos jours. Chaque année, 16 millions de personnes, dont un grand nombre vivent dans les pays en développement, reçoivent des traitements contre le cancer vitaux, basés sur le cobalt radioactif produit au NRU.

L’autre isotope important dont le monde a bénéficié pendant de nombreuses années grâce au NRU est le technétium, qui émet un rayonnement gamma à faible énergie pouvant être utilisé pour créer l’image d’un patient. Environ 85 % des procédures d’imagerie diagnostique dans la médecine nucléaire utilisent cet isotope, et des centaines de millions de patients ont bénéficié de cette technologie.

Cet automne, le réacteur NRU a fait l’objet d’une présentation TEDx au Collège Algonquin à Ottawa. Le directeur des opérations du NRU, Alastair McIvor, y a loué les mérites du réacteur à titre d’installation scientifique la plus productive du Canada. Suivez le lien ci-après pour en savoir plus en visionnant la vidéo ou en lisant la transcription.

How is a nuclear reactor used for science? | Alastair McIvor | TEDxOttawa

Transcription

Date de modification :