Meet some of Canadian Nuclear Laboratories best and brightest in recognition of the UN’s International Day of Women and Girls in science

In recognition of February 11th as the UN’s International Day of Women and Girls in science, Canadian Nuclear Laboratories (CNL) commend the government of Canada’s continued efforts and support towards the engagement of women and girls in science, and applauds the great contributions made by the many Canadian women working in the sciences.

The further inclusion of women in the sciences holds only benefits for society. With each individual comes a unique perspective and an exponential opportunity for discovery.

Canada has a long history of women pioneers in the sciences including Harriett Brooks, (1876 – 1933) Canada’s first female nuclear physicist, who is widely considered second only to Marie Curie in the field of nuclear science. Ms. Brooks’ achievements were commemorated with the establishment of a new state of the art nuclear research facility named after her at CNL’s Chalk River Laboratories.

CNL is engaging the next generation of female scientists and have recently announced a new partnership with the Foundation for Student Science and Technology, which includes the creation of new publication aimed at encouraging young women to pursue and sustain careers in science, technology and innovation.

We’d like to take this opportunity to introduce you to a few of the current generation of brilliant female scientists making a difference at CNL.

Please find below links to five CNL “60 seconds with scientists” video clips, where you’ll meet some of our scientists and hear what got them interested in science, what they’re working on, what makes their jobs great and some other things too.

Bronwyn Hyland

Dr. Bronwyn Hyland, Physicist and Program Manager, Small Modular Reactors.

As the Program Manager, Bronwyn leads a small team working towards a big goal: siting a small modular reactor (SMR) on a CNL site by 2026. SMR designs hold great promise as a clean energy solution, and bringing these first-of-a-kind technologies from the design desk to deployment will require a great deal of research and development work, a challenge perfectly suited for Bronwyn and the SMR team at CNL.

Marilyne Stuart

Dr. Marilyne Stuart, Senior Research Scientist, Environmental Sciences

Marilyne’s work is focused on building new understanding around the biological effects of radiation and chemicals in the environment. She is also developing and testing biomarkers that can be used to evaluate exposure and assess biota’s health. She is one member of a larger team at the Chalk River Laboratories whose work provides the science that guides decision-making on environmental practices and policy, safety standards and operations.

Candice Didychuk

Dr. Candice Didychuk, Medical Biophysicist/Chemist, Research Scientist Radiobiology and Health

One exciting aspect of CNL’s Long Term Strategy is our exploration of targeted-alpha-therapies.  Along with her colleagues, Candice is delivering preclinical work to support the advancement of this new medical treatment, with a focus towards developing mechanisms for efficient delivery of radioactively labeled targeting agents to the specific sites in the body and evaluating their biodistribution and dosimetry.

Larkin Mosscrop Kee

Larkin Mosscrop Kee, Biologist and Project Leader, Science & Technology Operations

A biologist by training and a project leader by practice, Larkin has traded her hip waders for business attire.  Her aptitude and interest in the sciences has provided a solid foundation for her current role, and enabled her to work on exciting projects including a project investigating the use of hydrogen as a fuel for a commuter train system.

Christina Van Drunen

Christina Van Drunen, Professional Engineer (Mechanical) and  Director of S&T Strategy and Collaboration

Over the past 70 years, Canadian Nuclear Laboratories has grown its capabilities to become a world leader in nuclear science and technology.  Alone we are strong, but together we are stronger, and Christina works to build partnerships and collaborations with others in the nuclear sciences.  Christina was also critical in the development of CNL’s Long Term Strategy, available for download on www.cnl.ca/strategy

Date modified:

À l’occasion de la Journée internationale des femmes et des filles de science des Nations Unies, rencontrez certaines des femmes et des filles les plus brillantes des Laboratoires Nucléaires Canadiens

Afin de souligner la Journée internationale des femmes et des filles des Nations Unies le 11 février, les Laboratoires Nucléaires Canadiens (LNC) saluent le gouvernement du Canada pour ses efforts continus à soutenir l’engagement des femmes et des filles dans la science et applaudissent les formidables contributions des nombreuses Canadiennes qui travaillent dans le domaine des sciences.

La présence accrue des femmes dans le domaine des sciences a de nombreux avantages pour la société. Chaque individu apporte une perspective unique et des occasions exponentielles de découvertes.

Dans l’histoire du Canada, de nombreuses femmes se sont illustrées dans le domaine des sciences, dont Harriett Brooks (1876 – 1933), la première physicienne nucléaire du Canada, qui est largement considérée comme la deuxième figure la plus importante du champ de la science nucléaire après Marie Curie. Les accomplissements d’Harriett Brooks ont été reconnus par l’établissement d’un nouveau centre de recherche de pointe sur la science nucléaire nommé en son honneur au sein des laboratoires de Chalk River des LNC.

Les LNC mobilisent la prochaine génération de femmes scientifiques et ont récemment annoncé un nouveau partenariat avec la Fondation pour les étudiants en technologie et sciences, qui comprendra la création d’une nouvelle publication ayant pour but d’encourager les jeunes femmes à faire carrière dans le domaine de la science, de la technologie et de l’innovation.

Nous profitons de l’occasion pour vous présenter quelques-unes des femmes scientifiques les plus brillantes de la génération actuelle qui font avancer les choses aux LNC.

Ci-dessous, vous trouverez les liens vers cinq vidéoclips du LNC nommés « 60 secondes avec des scientifiques », dans lesquels vous ferez la connaissance de nos scientifiques et découvrirez ce qui les intéresse dans les sciences, ce sur quoi elles travaillent, ce qui rend leur travail passionnant et même d’autres choses.

Bronwyn Hyland

Bronwyn Hyland, Ph.D., physicienne et gestionnaire de programme, Petits réacteurs modulaires.

À titre de gestionnaire de programme, Bronwyn dirige une petite équipe qui travaille à l’atteinte d’un gros objectif : implanter un petit réacteur modulaire (PRM) sur un site des LNC d’ici 2026. Les PRM sont prometteurs comme solution en matière d’énergie propre, et amener ces technologies inédites de la table à dessin au déploiement exigera énormément de travaux de recherche et de développement, un défi qui convient parfaitement à Bronwyn et à l’équipe des PRM des LNC.

Marilyne Stuart

Marilyne Stuart, Ph.D., chercheuse scientifique principale, Sciences de l’environnement

Les travaux de Marilyne visent à mieux comprendre les effets biologiques du rayonnement et des produits chimiques dans l’environnement. De plus, elle élabore et met à l’essai des biomarqueurs qui peuvent servir à évaluer l’exposition et évaluer la santé du biote. Elle fait partie d’une plus grande équipe aux Laboratoires de Chalk River dont les travaux fournissent les données scientifiques qui guident la prise de décisions concernant les pratiques et les politiques environnementales, les normes de sécurité et les opérations.

Candice Didychuk

Candice Didychuk, Ph.D., biophysicienne médicale et chimiste, chercheuse scientifique, radiobiologie et santé

Un des aspects passionnant de la stratégie à long terme des LNC est notre exploration de l’alpha-immunothérapie. Avec ses collègues, Candice réalise des travaux précliniques pour favoriser l’avancement de ce nouveau traitement médical en s’attardant à l’élaboration de mécanismes permettant la livraison efficace d’agent de ciblage radiomarqués à des endroits précis dans le corps et l’évaluation de leur biodistribution et dosimétrie.

Larkin Mosscrop Kee

Larkin Mosscrop Kee, biologiste et responsable de projet, Opérations de science et de technologie

Biologiste de formation et responsable de projet par la pratique, Larkin a échangé ses cuissardes pour une tenue de ville. Ses aptitudes en science et son intérêt dans ce domaine constituent une base solide pour son rôle actuel et lui permettent de travailler sur des projets excitants, y compris sur un projet qui examine l’utilisation de l’hydrogène comme carburant d’un réseau de train de banlieue.

Christina Van Drunen

Christina Van Drunen, ingénieure (mécanique) et directrice, Stratégie et collaboration en sciences et technologie

Au cours des 70 dernières années, les Laboratoires Nucléaires Canadiens ont élargi leur capacité au point de devenir un chef de file mondial dans le domaine des sciences et de la technologie nucléaires. Seuls nous sommes forts, mais ensemble nous sommes plus forts, et Christina travaille à établir des partenariats et des collaborations avec des homologues dans le domaine des sciences nucléaires. Elle a aussi joué un rôle crucial dans l’élaboration de la stratégie à long terme des LNC, qu’il est possible de télécharger sur le site www.cnl.ca/strategie.

Date de modification :