Language selection

Search

Passionate about Sewage

Shirley Anne Smyth and Steve Teslic are passionate about sewage. This duo travels across the country to sample municipal wastewater treatment plants to determine levels of priority substances under the Chemicals Management Plan (CMP). 

Since 2009, they have sampled some 42 municipal wastewater treatment plants to support the data needs of their CMP risk assessment and risk management colleagues at Environment and Climate Change Canada. Their data provides risk assessors actual concentrations of substances in wastewater and land-applied biosolids.

“As an example, risk assessors look at substance X in a personal care product, and will have to estimate how many Canadians use it, and how much is going down the drain,” said Shirley Anne. “There are many assumptions about releases to the environment. When we are able to sample, we can provide assessors with measured concentrations to verify or improve their assumptions.”

Municipal wastewater treatment facilities participate in this program voluntarily, anonymously, and enthusiastically, added Shirley Anne. Treatment plants are also provided with the results of samples taken by this Environment and Climate Change Canada team.  

Their data has also been used in many scientific publications, which adds to global knowledge of substance concentrations, removals, and temperature effects on water treatment experienced here in Canada.

Smyth Teslic

Date modified:

La passion des eaux usées

Shirley Anne Smyth et Steve Teslic sont passionnés par les eaux usées. Ce duo voyage dans tout le pays pour prélever des échantillons d’eaux usées des usines de traitement municipales afin de déterminer les concentrations de substances prioritaires dans le cadre du Plan de gestion des produits chimiques (PGPC). 

Depuis 2009, Shirley Anne et Steve ont fait des prélèvements dans environ 42 usines de traitement municipales pour répondre aux besoins en données de leurs collègues du PGPC qui sont chargés de l’évaluation et de la gestion des risques à Environnement et Changements climatiques Canada. Leurs données fournissent aux évaluateurs des risques les concentrations réelles de substances présentes dans les eaux usées et de biosolides répandus sur le sol.

« Par exemple, les évaluateurs des risques qui examinent une substance X se trouvant dans un produit de soins personnels devront évaluer combien de Canadiens utilisent ce produit, et quelle quantité de ce produit sera jetée dans l’évier » a déclaré Shirley Anne. « Il y a beaucoup d’hypothèses sur les rejets dans l’environnement. Lorsque nous sommes en mesure de faire des prélèvements, nous pouvons fournir aux évaluateurs des concentrations mesurées pour qu’ils vérifient ou améliorent leurs hypothèses ».

Les installations municipales de traitement des eaux usées participent à ce programme volontairement, de façon anonyme et avec enthousiasme, ajoute Shirley Anne. Les usines de traitement reçoivent également les résultats des prélèvements faits par cette équiped’ Environnement et Changements climatiques Canada.  

Leurs données sont aussi utilisées dans beaucoup de publications scientifiques, ce qui enrichit les connaissances mondiales sur les concentrations des substances et les retraits des substances ainsi que sur les effets de la température sur le traitement des eaux au Canada.

Smyth Teslic

Date de modification :