Language selection

Search

Problem-solver keeps facility flowing

Alicia Mehlenbacher solves problems. She’s the manager of the $4.6 million Aquatic Life Research Facility (ALRF) in Burlington, Ontario, and part of the Aquatic Contaminants Research Division team.

Alicia ensures water quality and chemistry are appropriate for a number of fish species, turtles and freshwater mussels; therefore, she keeps the animals healthy and ready for scientific research.

Digital, mechanical and biological systems help her monitor and verify that everything in the ALRF is flowing as it should. Like most wet labs, the ALRF has a control system that sends Alicia alarm signals if something goes awry (and it can happen at 2 a.m.).

Alicia doesn’t just rely on systems. She walks through the facility every day; she is part of the Animal Care Committee; she trains each approved researcher on lab safety procedures; she’s on the Occupational Health and Safety Committee. Not only does Alicia care for the animals in the facility, she also ensures the safety of the humans as well.  

So when problems arise, she solves them.

“Our water comes from the municipality, and we use carbon tanks to filter out the chlorinated water,” said Alicia. “Levels of chlorine were too high in the system when the ALRF was first opened. Before we could even bring fish in, this issue needed to be addressed, because the fish need zero levels of chlorine.”

Her research on the issue found that the dechlorination system contained the incorrect form of activated carbon. Now that the system has been converted over to the correct form, there have been no issues of chlorine in the water.

“I have a background in biology, but most days I think I could’ve used a degree in engineering, too,” said Alicia. “I couldn’t have gotten this facility to where it is today without the help of several resources both in the building and from colleagues from other wet labs across the country.”

 Alicia Mehlenbacher solves problems at the Aquatic Life Research Facility.

Alicia Mehlenbacher solves problems at the Aquatic Life Research Facility.

Date modified:

Une spécialiste de la résolution de problèmes à la rescousse

Alicia Mehlenbacher règle des problèmes. Elle est gestionnaire du centre de recherche sur la vie aquatique situé à Burlington, en Ontario, dont la valeur s’élève à 4,6 millions de dollars. Elle fait partie de la Division de la recherche sur les contaminants aquatiques.

Alicia surveille la qualité de l’eau et sa composition chimique pour qu’elles soient adaptées à un certain nombre d’espèces de poissons, de tortues et de moules d’eau douce; ainsi, elle voit à ce que les animaux soient en santé et fin prêts à être utilisés pour la recherche scientifique.

Les systèmes numériques, mécaniques et biologiques l’aident à surveiller et à vérifier le bon fonctionnement du centre. Comme la plupart des aqualabos, le centre est doté d’un système de contrôle qui alerte Alicia en cas de dérèglement (ce qui peut se produire à 2 h du matin).

Alicia ne se fie pas uniquement aux systèmes. Elle visite les installations quotidiennement, elle est membre du comité de protection des animaux et du comité de santé et de sécurité au travail, et elle forme chaque chercheur autorisé sur la procédure de sécurité à suivre au centre. Donc non seulement Alicia prend soin des animaux du centre, mais elle veille également à la sécurité des employés.

Alors, lorsqu’un problème survient, elle le règle.

« Nous sommes approvisionnés en eau par la municipalité. Nous utilisons des réservoirs avec filtre au charbon pour filtrer l’eau chlorée. Lorsque le centre a ouvert ses portes, les concentrations de chlore étaient trop élevées. Pour pouvoir accueillir des poissons, nous devions éliminer toute trace de chlore dans l’eau », indique Alicia.

Alicia a étudié la question et a découvert un problème avec le charbon actif du système de déchloration. Depuis que le système est ajusté, il n’y a plus de problèmes de chlore dans l’eau.

« Je possède une formation en biologie, mais je me dis souvent qu’un diplôme en ingénierie aurait été utile, affirme Alicia. Le centre ne serait pas ce qu’il est aujourd’hui sans l’aide de plusieurs collègues de l’immeuble et d’autres aqualabos du pays. »

Alicia Mehlenbacher règle des problèmes au centre de recherche sur la vie aquatique.

Alicia Mehlenbacher règle des problèmes au centre de recherche sur la vie aquatique.

Date de modification :