Language selection

Search

Our Environmental Effects Monitoring used in pilot projects in Brazil

For the last 20 years in Canada, the Environmental Effects Monitoring (EEM) program has monitored the health of lakes and rivers near pulp and paper mills and metal mines to assess how effective current regulations are in protecting the environment. The EEM program publishes data on monitoring results.

In December 2015, three Environment and Climate Change scientists, Joanne Parrott, Mark McMaster and Mark Hewitt, co-authored and presented an EEM guidance document to the Governor of Espirito Santo in Vitoria, Brazil.

The guidance document for the pilot projects in Brazil, Peixe Guia (Fish Guide), has been accepted by the Espirito Santo state government. Officials indicated they wish to adopt this into formal state legislation.

"The three of us were really thrilled to be part of this project in Brazil. It is really great to see the Environmental Effects Monitoring program that was developed in Canada being used and adapted to monitoring fish and benthos in other countries,” said Parrott.

 Senior research scientists Mark McMaster, Mark Hewitt, and Joanne Parrott developed a type of environmental monitoring now used in Brazil.

Senior research scientists Mark McMaster, Mark Hewitt, and Joanne Parrott developed a type of environmental monitoring now used in Brazil.

Date modified:

Nos études de suivi des effets sur l’environnement utilisées dans le cadre de projets pilotes au Brésil

Depuis les 20 dernières années, le programme d’études de suivi des effets sur l’environnement (ESEE) assure le suivi de la santé des lacs et des rivières à proximité des usines de pâtes et papiers et des mines de métaux afin d’évaluer l’efficacité des règlements actuels quant à la protection de l’environnement. Le programme d’ESEE publie des données sur les résultats des études de suivi.

En décembre  dernier, trois de nos scientifiques, Joanne Parrott, Mark McMaster et Mark Hewitt, ont présenté au gouverneur d’Espirito Santo, à Vitoria, au Brésil, un document d’orientation sur l’ESEE dont ils sont les coauteurs.

Le document d’orientation porte sur le projet pilote brésilien Peixe Guia (Guide sur les poissons) et a été accepté par le gouvernement de l’État d’Espirito Santo. Des représentants de l’État ont indiqué qu’ils souhaitaient adopter une loi d’État formelle inspirée du document d’orientation.

« Nous étions tous les trois vraiment emballés de faire partie de ce projet au Brésil. C’est génial de voir que le programme d’études de suivi des effets sur l’environnement, élaboré au Canada, est utilisé et adapté par d’autres pays pour assurer la surveillance des poissons et du benthos », a déclaré Parrott.

 Mark McMaster, chercheur scientifique principal, Mark Hewitt et Joanne Parrott ont développé un type de surveillance environnementale maintenant utilisé au Brésil.

Mark McMaster, chercheur scientifique principal, Mark Hewitt et Joanne Parrott ont développé un type de surveillance environnementale maintenant utilisé au Brésil.

Date de modification :