Language selection

Search

Where science can take you…

By Julia Hill

Julia is a postdoctoral research fellow in Screening at the Centre for Drug Research and Development in Vancouver. She did her PhD in Mitochondrial Biology at University College London (UCL) and her BSc in Biochemistry at the University of Bath. In her free time, she loves to read, run, cycle, and explore the world.

I grew up in a village in Devon, in the south west of the UK. As a family we didn’t travel, but I read constantly, and longed to see the world I read about. Both of my parents had left school at 16, and other than my teachers, I didn’t really know anyone who had a degree, or who could give career advice. So I chose to study Biochemistry at university because my favourite subjects were Biology and Chemistry, rather than as any part of a long term plan.

The beach at Wembury, the Devon village of 2700 people where I grew up.

The beach at Wembury, the Devon village of 2700 people where I grew up.

I chose to study at the University of Bath, a city around 3 hours drive away, because it was highly ranked for Biochemistry and, importantly, when I went to visit there were ducklings in the lake on campus, and the sandstone city glowed a beautiful golden yellow at sunset. When I started, it turned out the other students had thought their decision through much more sensibly than me, and most people had chosen to study at Bath because of their placement (or co-op) programme – after your second year of studies you had the option to work for a year in a relevant industry before returning to finish your degree. When the time came, I was surprised, and somewhat terrified, to be offered a placement at the Barrow Neurological Institute in Phoenix, Arizona, researching nicotinic acetylcholine receptors and pain. Although I had thrown myself into as much travelling as possible since leaving home, I had never left Europe at this point, and was only 19.

It turned out I absolutely loved Arizona. The enormous cacti and incredible stark landscapes were so different to anything I’d ever seen before, and coming from the UK, a whole 12 months without cold or rain was heaven. It also turned out I loved neuroscience, enough that I decided to do a PhD, which hadn’t even crossed my mind before my placement year.

With friends (I am first on the left), about to hike down the Grand Canyon.

With friends (I am first on the left), about to hike down the Grand Canyon.

With one of those enormous cacti.

With one of those enormous cacti.

I returned to the UK, and finished my Bachelors, deciding in my final year, that I wanted to my research to focus on neurological disease and drug discovery. I then did my PhD at University College London, on mitochondria and calcium as therapeutic targets in neurodegeneration, attending conferences across Europe along the way, followed by a postdoc at the Alzheimer’s Research UK UCL Drug Discovery Institute. I started looking around the world for where I might work next, which is how I found the Centre for Drug Research and Development, in Vancouver. I had never been to Canada (bar a terrible 3 days stuck in Toronto airport once), but CDRD seemed like a great place to work, with a track record of success in delivering new medicines to the clinic and, from what I saw on Google, Vancouver seemed like a pretty great place to live too. So here I am.

January 29th, 2016.  The selfie I sent my parents before I handed in my PhD thesis.

January 29th, 2016. The selfie I sent my parents before I handed in my PhD thesis.

Being a scientist has helped me to fulfill my dreams of seeing more of the world (I’ve been to over 30 countries now) while doing valuable and interesting research, but it has also been undeniably hard – both the science and the moving. Starting life in a new country requires a lot of patience, resourcefulness, and determination. Skills which, conveniently enough, I have also found essential in science.

A sign I saw at last April's March for Science, in front of Big Ben, London.

A sign I saw at last April's March for Science, in front of Big Ben, London.

Date modified:

Où la science peut vous mener...

Par Julia Hill

Julia est une chercheuse postdoctorale au Centre for Drug Research and Development, à Vancouver. Elle a fait son doctorat en biologie mitochondriale au University College London (UCL) et son baccalauréat en biochimie à l’Université de Bath. Dans ses heures libres, elle aime lire, courir, faire du vélo et explorer le monde.

J’ai grandi dans un village du Devon, dans le sud-ouest du Royaume-Uni. Nous ne faisions pas de voyages en famille, mais je lisais constamment et j’aspirais à explorer le monde de mes lectures. Mes deux parents avaient quitté l’école à 16 ans. Outre mes enseignants, je ne connaissais réellement personne qui avait un grade universitaire ou qui pouvait me donner des conseils de carrière. J’ai choisi d’étudier la biochimie à l’université simplement parce que mes sujets préférés étaient la biologie et la chimie, et non en vertu d’un plan à long terme.

La plage à Wembury, le village de 2700 habitants, dans le Devon, où j’ai grandi.

La plage à Wembury, le village de 2700 habitants, dans le Devon, où j’ai grandi.

J’ai opté pour l’Université de Bath, à environ trois heures de route, parce qu’elle était réputée pour la biochimie. En outre, fait important, quand je l’ai visitée, il y avait des canetons sur le lac du campus, et la ville aux constructions de grès prenait de magnifiques reflets dorés au coucher du soleil. Quand j’ai débuté, j’ai constaté que les autres étudiants avaient réfléchi bien plus sérieusement à leur décision. La plupart d’entre eux avaient choisi Bath en raison de son programme travail-études : après la deuxième année, vous aviez l’option de travailler un an dans une industrie pertinente avant de revenir terminer vos études. Le moment venu, j’ai été étonnée, et quelque peu terrifiée, de me voir offrir une place à l’institut neurologique Barrow de Phoenix, en Arizona. J’y mènerais des recherches sur les récepteurs nicotiniques de l’acétylcholine et la douleur. J’avais certes voyagé tant que possible depuis que j’avais quitté la maison, mais je n’étais encore jamais sortie d’Europe et je n’avais que 19 ans.

En l’occurrence, j’ai adoré l’Arizona. Les énormes cactus et les incroyables paysages escarpés étaient si différents de tout ce que j’avais connu. D’ailleurs, venant du Royaume-Uni, vivre 12 mois l’an sans froid ni pluie était pour moi le paradis. En outre, je me suis passionnée pour la neuroscience, au point où j’ai décidé de faire un doctorat. L’idée ne me serait jamais venue avant cette année de stage.

Avec des amis (je suis tout à la gauche), sur le point de descendre dans le Grand Canyon.

Avec des amis (je suis tout à la gauche), sur le point de descendre dans le Grand Canyon.

Avec un de ces énormes cactus.

Avec un de ces énormes cactus.

Je suis retournée au Royaume-Uni et j’ai terminé mon baccalauréat, décidant dans ma dernière année que je voulais consacrer ma recherche aux maladies neurologiques et à la découverte de médicaments. J’ai ensuite fait mon doctorat au University College London, sur la mitochondrie et le calcium en tant que cibles thérapeutiques face à la neurodégénérescence. J’ai assisté à des conférences partout en Europe, suivie par un postdoctorant de l’institut de découverte de médicaments de l’organisme Alzheimer’s Research UK à l’UCL. J’ai aussi commencé à chercher où dans le monde je pourrais travailler par la suite, et j’ai trouvé le Centre for Drug Research and Development, à Vancouver. Je n’étais jamais venue au Canada (sinon la fois où j’étais restée coincée trois jours de misère à l’aéroport de Toronto), mais le CDRD semblait être un milieu de travail magnifique. Il avait du reste accumulé de solides succès à fournir de nouveaux médicaments aux cliniques. Et d’après ce que j’avais vu sur Google, Vancouver était aussi un merveilleux milieu de vie. Donc me voilà.

Le 29 janvier 2016. L’égoportrait que j’ai envoyé à mes parents avant de soumettre ma thèse de doctorat.

Le 29 janvier 2016. L’égoportrait que j’ai envoyé à mes parents avant de soumettre ma thèse de doctorat.

Le fait d’être une scientifique m’a aidée à réaliser mon rêve de parcourir le monde (j’ai maintenant vu plus de 30 pays) tout en menant des recherches utiles et intéressantes. Pourtant, il y a aussi eu d’indéniables difficultés – aussi bien dans la science que dans les déplacements. S’établir dans un nouveau pays exige beaucoup de patience, de débrouillardise et de détermination. Heureuse coïncidence, voilà des qualités qui me sont aussi apparues essentielles en science..

Un message que j’ai vu à la marche pour la science, en avril dernier, devant Big Ben à Londres.

Un message que j’ai vu à la marche pour la science, en avril dernier, devant Big Ben à Londres.

Date de modification :