Introduction

Good science supports good health.

Scientists study ‘stuff’ that might turn into useful technology or treatments for disease in the years to come. Their progress can be slow but their work is immensely important to the quality of our lives and those of future generations.

Anything from big black holes in deep space, to brain research and its relevance to Alzheimer’s, can impress us, inspire us and even change the way we live.

Science is intrinsically relevant to human life.

Canadians rely on the strong foundation of science and research in the partners of the Government of Canada’s Health Portfolio (Health Canada, the Public Health Agency of Canada, the Canadian Food Inspection Agency, the Canadian Institutes of Health Research and the Patented Medicine Prices Review Board) to help protect and improve their health. Health Canada, for example, has more than 160 research scientists working in 50 laboratories in 15 locations across the country. Over 200 scientists at the Public Health Agency of Canada, over 900 scientists at the Canadian Food Inspection Agency, and more than 13,000 researchers supported by the Canadian Institutes of Health Research round out the scientific arm of the Health Portfolio. From coast to coast to coast, Health Portfolio scientific expertise and its applied science activities, such as food safety, plant and animal health, disease tracking, and compliance testing of consumer products, contributes to decisions about health standards, health policy, regulations and health programs.

Also, research and applied science are used to help develop the portfolio's policies and programs.

The work of Health Portfolio scientists and researchers helps influence decisions about diseases, hazardous substances, food and drugs, consumer products, tobacco and much more. It also allows the Health Portfolio to:

  • anticipate and respond to public health risks posed by diseases, environmental hazards, food and other threats;
  • verify that the drugs, food, medical devices and other therapeutic products available to Canadians are safe and effective; and
  • provide information to Canadians to help them make informed decisions about their health.


In this blog you can read about the Health Portfolio’s science and research activities, explore opportunities for professional development, and find out about our partnerships and how we invest in research. You can also access reports or publications related to the scientific activities and discover the faces and places that make science happen throughout the Health Portfolio.

- Susan Demaray

Date modified:

Introduction

Une bonne santé repose sur des fondements scientifiques de qualité.

Les scientifiques étudient des « choses » qui au cours des prochaines années pourraient devenir des technologies utiles ou des traitements contre des maladies. Leur travail progresse parfois lentement, mais son importance est capitale pour notre qualité de vie et celle des générations futures.

Tout – des grands trous noirs de l’espace lointain à la recherche sur le cerveau et sa pertinence par rapport à la maladie d’Alzheimer – peut nous impressionner, nous inspirer et même changer la façon dont nous vivons.

La science est intrinsèquement pertinente pour la vie humaine.

Les Canadiens comptent sur les solides fondements scientifiques et de recherche des partenaires du portefeuille de la Santé (Santé Canada, l’Agence de la santé publique du Canada, l’Agence canadienne d’inspection des aliments, les Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada et le Conseil d’examen du prix des médicaments brevetés) du gouvernement du Canada pour protéger et améliorer leur santé. À titre d’exemple, Santé Canada emploie plus de 160 chercheurs scientifiques, qui travaillent dans 50 laboratoires répartis dans 15 sites à l’échelle du pays. Le reste du contingent scientifique du portefeuille de la Santé est formé de plus de 200 scientifiques de l’Agence de la santé publique du Canada, de plus de 900 scientifiques à l’Agence canadienne des inspection des aliments, et de plus de 13 000 chercheurs soutenus par les Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada. D’un océan à l’autre, l’expertise du portefeuille de la Santé et ses activités de sciences appliquées, comme la salubrité des aliments, la santé des animaux et la protection des végetaux, le suivi des maladies et les tests de conformité des produits de consommation, contribue aux décisions concernant les normes, les politiques, la réglementation et les programmes en matière de santé.

La recherche et les sciences appliquées sont aussi utilisées pour l’élaboration des politiques et des programmes du portefeuille de la Santé.

Le travail des scientifiques et des chercheurs du portefeuille de la Santé influence les décisions concernant les maladies, les substances dangereuses, les aliments, les médicaments, les produits de consommation, le tabac et bien plus. Il permet aussi au portefeuille de la Santé :

  • de prévoir les risques pour la santé publique découlant de maladies, de dangers environnementaux, d’aliments ou d’autres menaces, puis d’intervenir contre ces risques;
  • de vérifier que les médicaments, les aliments, les appareils médicaux et les autres produits thérapeutiques offerts aux Canadiens sont sûrs et efficaces;
  • de fournir de l’information aux Canadiens pour les aider à prendre des décisions éclairées à propos de leur santé.

Dans le présent blogue, vous pourrez vous informer au sujet des activités scientifiques et de recherche du portefeuille de la Santé, consulter les occasions de perfectionnement professionnel et vous renseigner à propos des partenariats du portefeuille de la Santé et de ses investissements en recherche. Vous aurez aussi accès à des rapports et des publications concernant les activités scientifiques et verrez les visages et les lieux qui contribuent à la science à l’échelle du portefeuille de la Santé.

- Susan Demaray

Date de modification :