CFIA scientist traps elusive invasive beetles with sexy insect perfume

By: Shelly Donaldson

Dr. Vasily Grebennikov, a Canadian Food Inspection Agency (CFIA) scientist known the world over for his work with beetles, has conducted breakthrough research using the sex pheromones of invasive beetles. This research will help find the pests and prevent them from causing extensive damage to Canada's forests.

"Foreign bugs are like criminals who won't give you their names," says Dr. Grebennikov, the CFIA's lead researcher on beetles that pose a risk to plant resources. "Too often, here in Canada, we get foreign beetles with no identity."

Doctor Vasily Grebennikov

Caption: Dr. Vasily Grebennikov says invasive foreign bugs are like criminals who won't give you their names.

Invasive wood-boring beetles are notorious hitch-hikers. For example, the Asian long-horned beetle and the Emerald ash borer were most likely introduced to Canada with international trade – most often arriving in wooden shipping pallets.

Over the last decade, these destructive beetles have killed millions of trees in North America.

The invasive beetles have often only been detected by chance by a member of the general public, years after they had arrived. Efforts to eradicate them, or at least to control their spread, have cost millions of dollars.

"That's why we need improved survey tools – to detect non-native bark and wood-boring beetles much earlier after they have arrived so we can minimize the damage they do," adds Dr. Grebennikov.

The results of the research, a joint effort between the CFIA's Ottawa Plant Laboratory and the Canadian Forest Service, were published in January 2016. They appear in the European Journal of Entomology, in an Open Access paper under the title, "Efficacy of semiochemical-baited traps for detection of Scolytinae species (Coleoptera: Curculionidae) in the Russian Far East."

Conducted in 2009 and 2010, the research experiment involved setting up elaborate traps in a forest in eastern Russia, which has a similar climate and shares many species of trees and plant-eating beetles with Canada.

"We wanted to design something that smelled irresistible to the beetles – and those smells are sex and food," he says.

The traps were baited with various combinations of synthetic beetle sex pheromones and ethanol, the same smell that trees give off when they are dying. Dr. Grebennikov tested the most effective combination and concentration of pheromones and ethanol that would lure the highest number of beetle species.

"The traps mimic the shape of trees," explains Dr. Grebennikov. "The beetle is attracted by the smell, flies in, and then falls into the container; that's how we collect the samples."

The results of the research show that using both beetle pheromones and ethanol increases the number of beetles caught, as well as the likelihood of detecting potentially invasive species.

"This trapping method will help us detect an invasive pest infestation in the early stages, when specimen density is still extremely low," adds Dr. Grebennikov.

"That way, this research will help us be more proactive in finding these culprits as soon as possible," Dr. Grebennikov says, "before their devastating habits do too much damage to Canada's forests."

Dr. Grebennikov’s next fieldwork in Asia is scheduled for June-July 2016.

Destructive beetles related to this Anoplophora species have killed millions of trees in North America.

Destructive beetles related to this Anoplophora species have killed millions of trees in North America.

Date modified:

Un scientifique de l’ACIA piège des coléoptères envahissants évasifs avec un parfum d’insecte irrésistible

Par : Shelly Donaldson

Le Dr Vasily Grebennikov, un scientifique de l’Agence canadienne d’inspection des aliments (ACIA) connu dans le monde entier pour ses travaux à l’égard des coléoptères, a fait des recherches de pointe en utilisant les phéromones sexuelles des espèces envahissantes de coléoptères. Ces recherches aideront à trouver les organismes nuisibles et à les empêcher de causer des dommages importants dans les forêts du Canada.

« Les organismes exotiques sont comme des criminels qui ne donnent pas leur nom », affirme le Dr Grebennikov, le chercheur principal de l’ACIA sur les coléoptères qui posent un risque pour les ressources végétales. « Ici au Canada, nous trouvons trop souvent des coléoptères exotiques sans identité. »

Doctor Vasily Grebennikov

Légende : Le Dr Vasily Grebennikov dit que les organismes exotiques envahissants sont comme des criminels qui ne donnent pas leur nom.

Les espèces envahissantes de coléoptères xylophages sont reconnues pour leur capacité de voyager clandestinement. Par exemple, le longicorne asiatique et l’agrile du frêne ont probablement été introduits au Canada grâce au commerce international, arrivant la plupart du temps dans des palettes d’expédition en bois.

Au cours de la dernière décennie, ces insectes destructeurs ont tué des millions d’arbres en Amérique du Nord.

Les espèces envahissantes de coléoptères ont souvent été détectées par hasard par un membre du public, des années après leur arrivée. Les efforts visant à les éradiquer, ou, du moins, à contrôler leur propagation, ont coûté des millions de dollars.

« C’est pourquoi nous avons besoin de meilleurs outils d’enquête pour détecter les coléoptères non indigènes qui s’attaquent à l’écorce et au bois beaucoup plus tôt après leur arrivée pour que nous puissions réduire au minimum les dommages qu’ils font », ajoute le Dr Grebennikov.

Les résultats de la recherche, un effort concerté entre le Laboratoire des végétaux d’Ottawa de l’ACIA et le Service canadien des forêts, ont été publiés en janvier 2016. Ils figurent dans le European Journal of Entomology, dans un document à accès ouvert, sous le titre « Efficacy of semiochemical-baited traps for detection of longhorn beetles (Coleoptera: Cerambycidae) in the Russian Far East ».

Menée en 2009 et en 2010, la recherche prévoyait l’installation de pièges complexes dans une forêt dans l’est de la Russie, où le climat et les espèces d’arbres et de coléoptères phytophages ressemblent à ceux du Canada.

« Nous voulions concevoir quelque chose d’irrésistible pour les coléoptères – et ces odeurs sont le sexe et les aliments », dit-il.

Les pièges ont été appâtés avec diverses combinaisons d’éthanol et de phéromones sexuelles synthétiques de coléoptères, la même odeur que produisent les arbres quand ils meurent. Le Dr Grebennikov a mis à l’essai la combinaison et la concentration de phéromones et d’éthanol les plus efficaces pour attirer le plus grand nombre d’espèces de coléoptères possible.

« Les pièges imitent la forme des arbres », explique le Dr Grebennikov. « Le coléoptère est attiré par l’odeur, il entre dans le piège, puis il tombe dans le contenant; voilà comment nous recueillons des échantillons ».

Les résultats de la recherche montrent que l’utilisation des phéromones de coléoptères et de l’éthanol augmente le nombre de coléoptères recueillis, de même que la probabilité de détecter des espèces potentiellement envahissantes.

« Cette méthode de piégeage nous aidera à détecter une infestation de ravageurs envahissants dans les premiers stades, lorsque la densité de la population est toujours extrêmement faible », ajoute le Dr Grebennikov.

« De cette façon, ces recherches nous aideront à être plus proactifs afin de trouver les coupables dès que possible », dit le Dr Grebennikov, « avant que leurs habitudes dévastatrices endommagent les forêts du Canada ».

Les prochains travaux de recherche sur le terrain du Dr Grebennikov sont prévus en Asie en juin et juillet 2016.

Des insectes destructeurs liés à cette espèce d’Anoplophora ont tué des millions d’arbres en Amérique du Nord.

Des insectes destructeurs liés à cette espèce d’Anoplophora ont tué des millions d’arbres en Amérique du Nord.

Date de modification :