Uncharted Territory in Zika Virus Research

Could the Zika virus come to Canada? To date, zero cases of Zika have been contracted in Canada through mosquito bites. All reported cases have been travel-related, sexually transmitted or transmitted from mother-to-child. You may be wondering if that could change. With its rapid spread in the Caribbean and the Americas and its international attention, this is a question that’s top of mind for Canadian researchers, as they venture into uncharted territory in their Zika virus research.

Until now, Public Health Agency of Canada (PHAC) labs were studying mosquitoes in relation to endemic infectious diseases, like West Nile virus. While it’s unlikely mosquitoes infected with this “tropical disease” can survive Canadian winter temperatures, PHAC scientists are investigating this question further.

 http://healthycanadians.gc.ca/alt/images/diseases-conditions-maladies-affections/disease-maladie/zika-virus/aegypti-520x200.jpg

First Zika research of its kind

PHAC’s National Microbiology Laboratory (NML) and the Brock lab in Ontario recently launched research to determine if mosquitoes in Canada can acquire the slow-growing Zika virus and transmit it to humans, while surviving in Canadian temperatures. Though there are about 80 different types of mosquitoes in Canada, the experiments focus on those that are widespread and abundant, and frequently bite humans (some feed only on animals, birds and amphibians).

The studies began by obtaining an Asian strain of the virus from Thailand that circulated in French Polynesia during the 2013-2014 outbreak, as well as a strain from Puerto Rico, which is the same strain that is circulating in South America.

The scientists collected live mosquitoes in southern Ontario and Manitoba -- 2 areas that have ideal habitats for mosquito populations. The mosquitoes were trapped and brought back to the labs where they have been exposed to the Zika virus either through injection or by feeding them with Zika-infected blood.  

 Public Health Agency of Canada scientist collecting mosquitoes in the field.

Public Health Agency of Canada scientist collecting mosquitoes in the field.

Should the species be able to pick up the virus, researchers will be closely looking to see if the pathogens will travel through the insect’s salivary glands, a key step for passing the virus to humans.

Canadian climate: a major factor

Climate is also a major barrier to the spread of the disease. As PHAC scientist Dr. Robbin Lindsay explains it, “Zika virus is primarily spread in mosquitoes in countries with tropical climates, and so we want to see the influence of cooler temperatures on the possible development of the infection.”

Researchers will be monitoring the mosquitoes during the incubation period (time required for the virus to develop and reach the salivary glands for possible transmission) to see how varied temperatures affect the ability of the mosquitoes to become infected before they die. Often viruses cannot be maintained in mosquito populations for extended periods of time because of the cold temperatures. The mosquitoes usually die before the virus reaches their salivary glands.  The hope is that Zika has these same poor growth patterns in Canadian mosquitoes exposed to typical Canadian temperatures.

So far so good! As of August 30, 2016, researchers at the NML have evaluated 6 mosquito species found in Canada. No evidence was found to indicate that these species can carry or transmit the Zika virus.    


Once all the data has been collected, it will be used to update scientific models that predict where the climate is most suitable for the mosquitoes to transmit and acquire the disease. If applicable, risk maps will be developed to display where the possibility of local transmission is the highest. The modelling and risk mapping will be done in collaboration with climatologists at the Université de Québec à Montreal. Ultimately, this information will be used to determine the level of risk now, and in the future with a warming climate, to better protect Canadians.

Protect yourself always

While the research is still ongoing, the risk of contracting the Zika virus from mosquitoes in Canada remains very low.  However, it’s always a good idea to protect yourself from mosquito bites.

To learn more about Zika virus and how you can protect yourself, visit Canada.ca.

Date modified:

Recherche sur le virus Zika : hors des sentiers battus

Est-ce que le virus Zika pourrait venir jusqu’au Canada? À ce jour, il n’y a eu aucun cas de virus Zika transmis par piqûre de moustiques au Canada. Tous les cas signalés étaient liés à des voyages, à une transmission par voie sexuelle ou à une transmission mère-fœtus. Vous vous demandez peut-être si cette situation pourrait changer. Comme le virus Zika se propage rapidement dans les Caraïbes et les Amériques et vu l’attention internationale qu’il suscite, les chercheurs canadiens s’intéressent à la question et sortent des sentiers battus pour tenter de trouver des réponses.

Jusqu’à présent, les laboratoires de l’Agence de la santé publique du Canada (ASPC) étudiaient les moustiques dans le contexte des maladies infectieuses endémiques, comme le virus du Nil occidental. Bien qu’il soit peu probable que des moustiques infectés par cette « maladie tropicale » puissent survivre aux températures hivernales du Canada, les chercheurs de l’ASPC étudient la question plus en profondeur.

 http://healthycanadians.gc.ca/alt/images/diseases-conditions-maladies-affections/disease-maladie/zika-virus/aegypti-520x200.jpg

Première recherche sur le virus Zika en son genre

Le Laboratoire national de microbiologie (LNM) de l’ASPC et le laboratoire Brock, en Ontario, ont récemment lancé une étude pour déterminer si les moustiques du Canada peuvent être porteurs du virus Zika, survivre à nos conditions météorologiques, et transmettre le virus à évolution lente aux humains. Il y a environ 80 types différents de moustiques au Canada, mais les expériences ne portent que sur ceux qui sont répandus, abondants et qui piquent le plus les humains (certains se nourrissent uniquement du sang des animaux, des oiseaux et des amphibiens).

La première étape de l’étude consistait à obtenir une souche asiatique du virus thaïlandais qui circulait en Polynésie française pendant l’éclosion de 2013-2014, de même qu’une souche provenant de Porto Rico, qui est la même que celle qui circule en Amérique du Sud en ce moment.

Ensuite, les chercheurs ont recueilli des moustiques vivants du sud de l’Ontario et du Manitoba, deux régions ayant des milieux favorables aux populations de moustiques. Les moustiques ont été attrapés et amenés aux laboratoires où ils ont été exposés au virus Zika, soit par injection, soit après avoir été nourris de sang infecté. 

 Scientifique de l’Agence de la santé publique du Canada recueillant des moustiques sur le terrain.

Scientifique de l’Agence de la santé publique du Canada recueillant des moustiques sur le terrain.

Si jamais les espèces contractent le virus, les scientifiques chercheront à savoir si les agents pathogènes vont envahir les glandes salivaires des insectes, une étape essentielle vers la transmission du virus à l’humain.

Climat canadien : un facteur important

Le climat est aussi un obstacle majeur à la propagation de la maladie. Comme l’explique Robbin Lindsay, scientifique à l’ASPC : « Le virus Zika est principalement propagé par les moustiques vivant dans des pays à climat tropical, c’est pourquoi nous voulons observer l’influence des températures plus froides sur le développement possible de l’infection. »

Les chercheurs surveilleront les moustiques pendant la période d’incubation (le temps requis pour que le virus se développe et atteigne les glandes salivaires pour permettre sa transmission) afin de voir comment diverses températures influent sur la capacité des moustiques à devenir porteurs du virus avant de mourir. Souvent, les températures froides empêchent le virus de survivre longtemps chez les populations de moustiques. Généralement, les moustiques meurent avant même que le virus n’atteigne les glandes salivaires. On espère que ces mêmes schémas de croissance seront observés pour le virus Zika chez les moustiques canadiens exposés aux températures canadiennes habituelles.

Tout va bien jusqu’à maintenant! En date du 30 août 2016, les chercheurs du LNM ont évalué six espèces de moustiques présentes au Canada. Aucun élément de preuve qui indiquerait que ces espèces peuvent être porteuses du virus Zika ou le transmettre n’a été trouvé.    


Une fois que toutes les données auront été recueillies, elles serviront à mettre à jour les modèles scientifiques qui prédisent les endroits où le climat permet le mieux aux moustiques de devenir porteurs du virus et le transmettre. S’il y a lieu, des cartes de risques seront créées pour montrer où la possibilité de transmission locale est la plus élevée. La modélisation de même que la schématisation des risques se feront en collaboration avec des climatologues de l’Université du Québec à Montréal. En définitive, ces renseignements serviront à déterminer le niveau de risque maintenant, et à l’avenir alors que le climat continuera de se réchauffer, dans le but de mieux protéger les Canadiens.

Protégez-vous en tout temps

La recherche se poursuit. Le risque de transmission du virus Zika par des moustiques au Canada demeure néanmoins très faible. Cependant, il est toujours recommandé de vous protéger contre les piqûres de moustiques.

Pour en savoir plus sur le virus Zika et les moyens de vous protéger, consultez Canada.ca.

Date de modification :