Field Epidemiologists: Disease Detectives of Public Health

Asking questions, solving mysteries and telling stories are all part of a detective’s job. They also happen to be important aspects of an epidemiologist’s job.

What is epidemiology?

Epidemiology is the study of the frequency, pattern, causes and risk factors of health problems in a specific population. We use epidemiology to address health problems in neighbourhoods, schools, cities, provinces, countries, and around the world.

Epidemiologists work on a wide range of health issues. They might, for example, study groups of people who have been exposed to and affected by something in the environment, such as pesticides. Or, at the Public Health Agency of Canada (PHAC), they might track the distribution of diseases – like Ebola in West Africa, Zika in Central and Southern America, or influenza and measles outbreaks in Canada. These epidemiologists use their findings to help determine what is making people ill and to identify ways to prevent more people from getting sick.

Sometimes called “disease detectives,” epidemiologists help provide the evidence needed for other public health professionals to make informed decisions to prevent the spread of a disease or improve the population’s health. Without epidemiology, no one would know what caused outbreaks, how to limit their spread, or how to prevent them. By solving medical mysteries and understanding how diseases spread, epidemiologists are essential to programs and policies that protect the health of Canadians.

PHAC epidemiologists in the field

Imagine there is an outbreak in Canada, such as a food-borne illness caused by bacteria like Salmonella, Listeria or E. coli. If the outbreak appears to be spreading or expanding to more than one Canadian province or territory, epidemiologists at PHAC can be called upon to support a federal response and will work to identify the source of the outbreak.

PHAC epidemiologists can be deployed anywhere in Canada or around the world to help organizations respond to public health events. PHAC has been a member of the World Health Organization’s Global Outbreak Alert and Response Network for many years. Its epidemiologists are often mobilized to support international responses following natural disasters and health events, such as earthquakes, typhoons and floods and during major outbreaks of infectious diseases.

Salman Klar was an epidemiologist with PHAC when the Agency received a request for assistance with recovery and response efforts after a typhoon hit the Philippines in July 2015. Salman, along with two other epidemiologists from Canada, worked with a team of public health professionals to help minimize the risk of outbreak from infectious diseases. He also provided support in reconstruction and recovery efforts (focusing on rehabilitation of health care facilities), monitored alerts, investigated in the field, and helped respond to other ongoing public health issues. Watch this video on Salman’s role in the Philippines for more information.

Training and development – preparing for public health emergencies

PHAC epidemiologists work across a range of functions. Some are part of a group known as Public Health Officers (PHOs), which is a broad term that encompasses a variety of health professionals, such as nurses and health-related policy analysts. (For this blog post, we’ve focused on epidemiologists, but stay tuned for future posts on more PHOs.) Others are part of the Canadian Field Epidemiology Program.

Two professional programs help ensure that PHAC has expertly trained PHOs and field epidemiologists available to respond to public health events or emergencies in Canada or abroad:

Canadian Public Health Service (CPHS)

The CPHS works to improve Canada’s overall preparedness and response to public health events or emergencies by placing PHOs in public health organizations with limited resources at the federal, provincial, territorial or local level to strengthen Canada’s public health workforce, security infrastructure, knowledge and networks. Applicants must possess a Master’s degree in epidemiology, public health, or other health-related field and must have previous experience working in a public health organization or profession. For more information on how to apply, visit the CPHS webpage.

Canadian Field Epidemiology Program (CFEP)

The CFEP trains public health professionals in applied epidemiology--the specialized skills required to respond to diverse public health issues in real-life settings. The program mobilizes field epidemiologists to locations across Canada and around the world, supporting public health organizations as they respond to urgent public health events. Applicants must have a master's degree with a specialization in epidemiology, or a degree from a recognized school of medicine and hold a valid licence to practice medicine in a Canadian province or territory, or have graduated from a veterinary school accredited or approved by the Canadian Veterinary Medical Association. Visit the CFEP webpage for more information.

More information

For more information on epidemiologists and Public Health Officers, please visit the Public Health Practice section of PHAC’s website.

Date modified:

Épidémiologistes de terrain : les enquêteurs des maladies de la santé publique

Poser des questions, éclaircir des mystères et raconter des histoires font tous partie du travail d’enquêteur. Ce sont aussi des aspects importants du travail d’épidémiologiste.

Qu’est-ce que l’épidémiologie?

L’épidémiologie est l’étude de la fréquence, de la distribution, des causes et des facteurs de risque des problèmes de santé au sein d’une population précise. Nous nous servons de l’épidémiologie pour aborder des problèmes de santé dans des quartiers, des écoles, des villes, des provinces, des pays et partout au monde.

Les épidémiologistes s’occupent d’une vaste gamme de problèmes de santé. À titre d’exemple, ils peuvent étudier des groupes de personnes qui ont subi des répercussions après avoir été exposées à des éléments dans l’environnement, comme des pesticides. À l’Agence de la santé publique du Canada (ASPC), ils peuvent faire le suivi de la distribution des maladies, comme la maladie à virus Ebola en Afrique de l’Ouest, l’infection à virus Zika en Amérique centrale et du Sud, ou des éclosions de grippe ou de rougeole au Canada. Ces épidémiologistes se servent de leurs constatations pour déterminer ce qui rend les gens malades et cerner des façons de prévenir les nouveaux cas de maladie.

Parfois appelés « détectives de la sante publique », les épidémiologistes contribuent à l’obtention des données probantes requises par d’autres professionnels de la santé pour prendre des décisions éclairées en vue de prévenir la propagation des maladies ou d’améliorer la santé de la population. Sans l’épidémiologie, personne ne saurait ce qui cause les éclosions, comment limiter leur propagation ou comment les prévenir. Parce qu’ils éclaircissent des mystères médicaux et qu’ils comprennent comment les maladies se transmettent, les épidémiologistes sont essentiels aux programmes et aux politiques qui protègent la santé de la population canadienne.

Épidémiologistes de l’ASPC sur le terrain

Imaginez qu’il y a une éclosion au Canada, comme une éclosion de maladie d’origine alimentaire causée par des bactéries comme des salmonelles, des listérias ou des bactéries E. coli. Si la propagation semble toucher ou atteindre de multiples provinces ou territoires du Canada, les épidémiologistes de l’ASPC peuvent être appelés à appuyer l’intervention fédérale et travailleront pour identifier la source de l’éclosion.

Les épidémiologistes de l’ASPC peuvent être déployés n’importe où au Canada ou dans le monde pour aider des organisations appelées à intervenir lors d’incidents de santé publique. L’ASPC est membre du Réseau mondial d’alerte et d’action en cas d’épidémie de l’Organisation mondiale de la Santé depuis de nombreuses années. Ses épidémiologistes sont souvent mobilisés à l’appui d’interventions internationales après des incidents de santé ou des catastrophes naturelles (p. ex. séismes, typhons et inondations) et pendant de vastes éclosions de maladies infectieuses.

Salman Klar était épidémiologiste à l’ASPC quand celle-ci a reçu une demande d’aide des Philippines pour participer aux efforts de reprise et d’intervention après le passage d’un typhon dans ce pays en juillet 2015. En compagnie de deux autres épidémiologistes du Canada, Salman a travaillé avec une équipe de professionnels de la santé publique pour contribuer à la réduction des risques d’éclosions de maladies infectieuses. Il a aussi fourni du soutien aux efforts de reprise et de reconstruction (axés sur la remise en état des établissements de santé), a fait le suivi des alertes, a fait enquête sur le terrain et a contribué à des interventions relatives à d’autres questions de santé publique existantes. Allez voir cette vidéo à propos du rôle de Salman aux Philippines pour en savoir plus.

Formation et perfectionnement – préparation en cas d’urgence de santé publique

Les épidémiologistes de l’ASPC occupent un éventail de fonctions. Certains font partie du groupe des agents de santé publique (ASP), titre général qui englobe divers professionnels de la santé, comme des infirmiers en santé publique et des analystes des politiques relatives à la santé. (Nous avons mis l’accent sur les épidémiologistes dans le présent billet de blogue, mais de futurs billets sur d’autres ASP suivront.) D’autres font partie du Programme canadien d’épidémiologie de terrain.

Deux programmes professionnels permettent à l’ASPC de disposer d’épidémiologistes de terrain et d’ASP ayant reçu une formation poussée pour intervenir lors d’incidents et d’urgences de santé publique au Canada et à l’étranger.

Service de la santé publique du Canada (SSPC)

Le SSPC travaille pour améliorer l’état global de préparation du Canada et son intervention en cas d’incident ou d’urgence de santé publique en plaçant des ASP dans des organisations fédérales, provinciales, territoriales ou régionales de santé publique dont les ressources sont limitées afin de renforcer la main-d’œuvre en santé publique du Canada, ses réseaux, ses connaissances et son infrastructure de sécurité. Les candidats doivent être titulaires d’une maîtrise en épidémiologie, en santé publique ou dans un autre domaine lié à la santé. Ils doivent aussi posséder une expérience de travail au sein d’un organisme de santé publique ou d’une profession du domaine de la santé publique. Pour en savoir plus sur la manière de présenter votre candidature, consultez la page Web du SSPC.

Programme canadien d’épidémiologie de terrain (PCET)

Le PCET forme des professionnels de la santé publique dans le domaine de l’épidémiologie appliquée, c’est-à-dire les capacités spécialisées requises pour intervenir lors de différents incidents de santé publique en situation réelle. Ce programme envoie des épidémiologistes de terrain à divers endroits, tant au Canada qu’ailleurs dans le monde, pour appuyer des organisations de santé publique appelées à intervenir lors d’urgences de santé publique. Les candidats doivent être titulaires d’une maîtrise avec spécialisation en épidémiologie, être titulaires d’un diplôme d’une école de médecine reconnue et d’un permis d’exercice de la médecine valide dans une province ou un territoire du Canada ou être titulaires d’un diplôme d’une école vétérinaire agréée ou approuvée par l’Association canadienne des médecins vétérinaires. Pour en savoir plus, consultez la page Web du PCET.

Pour en savoir plus

Pour en savoir plus sur les épidémiologistes et les agents de santé publique, veuillez consulter la section Pratique en santé publique du site Web de l’ASPC.

Date de modification :