Take Action on Radon in Your Home!

Radon is the second leading cause of lung cancer, after smoking. That’s the bad news. The good news is that you can test your home for radon levels and protect yourself and your loved ones from its harmful effects.

Do you know what radon is?

Radon is a radioactive gas that comes from the uranium in the ground that can get into your home undetected. You can’t see it, smell it or taste it.

Is radon in your home?

Radon is found naturally in the environment, so all homes have some level of radon. However, if your home has a radon level that is above the Canadian guideline for radon, it is recommended that you take steps to reduce these levels to below 200 Becquerels per cubic metre.

Radon

What are the health risks of radon?

Over 16% of lung cancer deaths are attributed to radon exposure in Canada. It is estimated that more than 21,000 Canadians will die from lung cancer this year, and more than 3,000 of those deaths are because of exposure to radon indoors. People who smoke and are exposed to elevated levels of radon have a higher risk of developing lung cancer.

How do you test your home for radon?

There are two ways to test the radon levels in your home:

  1. Purchase a do-it-yourself radon test kit at a hardware store or local community health organization; or
  2. Hire a certified radon professional to conduct the test for you.

No matter what option you choose, testing your home is the first step to protecting you and your family from radon. The best time to test for radon in your home is during the fall and winter months when doors and windows are closed.

What do you do if radon levels in your home are high?

If a radon level above 200 Becquerel/metre3 is detected in your home, contact a certified radon professional to determine the best and most cost-effective solution to reduce the radon in your home. Techniques to lower radon levels are effective and can save lives. A radon mitigation system can be installed in less than a day. In most homes, this system will reduce the radon level by more than 80% for about the same cost as other common home repairs, such as replacing the furnace or air conditioner.

For more information on radon gas, visit Health Canada’s website.

For More Information:

Government of Canada Radon Guideline

Take Action on Radon

Health Canada – Radon

Take Action on Radon – Infographic

Date modified:

Occupez-vous du radon dans votre maison!

Le radon est la deuxième cause de cancer du poumon après le tabagisme. Cette situation est préoccupante. Bonne nouvelle : vous pouvez mesurer la concentration de radon et vous protéger, vous et vos proches, des effets néfastes du radon.

Savez-vous ce qu’est le radon?

Le radon est un gaz radioactif qui provient de l’uranium présent dans le sol et qui peut s’infiltrer dans votre maison à votre insu. Vous ne pouvez ni le voir, ni le sentir, ni le goûter.

Y a-t-il du radon dans votre maison?

Le radon est naturellement présent dans l’environnement. Toutes les maisons en renferment une certaine concentration. Cependant, si la concentration de radon dans votre maison est supérieure à la directive canadienne sur le radon, il est recommandé de prendre des mesures pour la réduire à moins de 200 becquerels par mètre cube.

Radon

Quels sont les risques pour la santé liés au radon?

Plus de 16 % des décès dus au cancer du poumon résultent de l’exposition au radon au Canada. On estime que plus de 21 000 Canadiens mourront du cancer du poumon cette année et que plus de 3 000 de ces décès seront attribuables à l’exposition au radon présent dans l’air intérieur. Les personnes qui fument et sont exposées à de fortes concentrations de radon risquent davantage de développer le cancer du poumon.

Comment pouvez-vous mesurer la concentration de radon dans votre maison?

Il y a deux façons de mesurer la concentration de radon dans votre maison. 

  1. Vous pouvez le faire vous-même en achetant une trousse de dépistage du radon dans une quincaillerie ou auprès d’un organisme de santé communautaire.
  2. Vous pouvez faire appel à un professionnel accrédité de la mesure du radon.

Peu importe l’option que vous choisissez, il s’agit de la première étape pour protéger votre famille contre le radon. Il est préférable de mesurer la concentration de radon pendant les mois d’automne et d’hiver, époque de l’année où fenêtres et portes sont fermées.

Que devez-vous faire si la concentration de radon dans votre maison est élevée?

Si la concentration de radon détectée dans votre maison dépasse 200 becquerels par mètre cube, veuillez communiquer avec un professionnel accrédité pour déterminer la solution la plus efficace et la plus économique. Les techniques de réduction des concentrations de radon sont efficaces et peuvent sauver des vies. Un système d’atténuation du radon peut être installé en moins d’une journée. Dans la plupart des maisons, ce système réduira de plus de 80 % la concentration de radon et coûtera à peu près le même prix que d’autres travaux de rénovation courants, comme le remplacement du système de chauffage ou du climatiseur.

Pour en savoir plus sur le radon, veuillez consulter le site Web de Santé Canada.

Pour en savoir plus

Lignes directrices sur le radon du gouvernement du Canada

Occupe-toi du radon

Santé Canada – Radon

Occupe-toi du radon – Infographie

Date de modification :