Rule Models and Role Models

By Dick Bourgeois-Doyle

 

Francis Rolleston

As the designers of our government’s policy on science integrity confront the final bumps on the road to a model instrument, they might want to touch base with Dr. Francis Rolleston.

He played a central role in crafting Canada’s original Tri-Council Policy Statement: Integrity in Research and Scholarship and the celebrated Tri-Council Policy Statement: Ethical Conduct for Research Involving Human Subjects: these are the foundational documents for funding university and medical research and models for collaboration between federal agencies in this case the Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR), Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council (NSERC) and Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council (SSHRC).

Francis has experience that not only includes assembling this set of highly successful words in the integrity realm but also in deploying and selling them. He knows what it was like to live in the absence of accepted, ethical guidelines and what it takes to make them real in the lab and the field.

But the tall, distinguished former scientist and policy maker impresses most with his even longer history and vast credentials as a person who radiates integrity.

I am not alone in being impressed by Dr. Rolleston.

“An outstanding contribution and commitment to enhancing the protection of human research participants and to improving the effectiveness and efficiency of the processes of ethical review of research with humans” reads the citation to the Canadian Association of Research Ethics Board’s (CAREB) President’s Award.

Dr. Rolleston was chosen prodigiously to be its inaugural recipient in 2007.

It surprises few upon meeting Francis that he is an Oxford educated thinker. He earned a DPhil in biochemistry at the ancient institution in 1966 before spending a few years at the University of Chicago and then, happily, moving to Canada to spend a decade in the Faculty of Medicine at UofT. Though he always restrains descriptions of his scientific background, he absorbed a passion for science integrity and ethics during those years in the lab, and this framed his career with the Government of Canada.

That phase of his career began in the 1970s with the management of grants programs for CIHR’s predecessor the Medical Research Council (MRC) and included director-level roles in public affairs, scientific evaluation, international relations, and, of course, science integrity and ethics. He was part of the team that managed the transformation of MRC to CIHR and retired in 2001 as the new agency’s maiden Director of Ethics.

Those years in government included participation in many peer reviews, the development of new programs for clinical science, and the boards of international organizations such as the Human Frontier Science Program. Throughout it all, he advanced the cause of science integrity and the interests of human beings participating either as scientists or as subjects in research.

Though the Tri-Council Policy Statements (since updated and re-framed) did not assume official status until the mid-to-late 1990s), Francis and others were fighting the good fight much earlier. He wrote a report on Ethics in Human Experimentation in his first few years at MRC and even crafted innovative guidelines on ethics in gene therapy in the 1980s.

Again, the word “impressive” comes to mind.

Still, one might argue that all of this flowed from his professional responsibilities and came with the paying job at MRC. Indeed, you can find lots of dedicated science ethics practitioners within the walls of federal offices and labs, and you might suggest that Francis and his cohort just happened along at the point in history when the stars aligned, as today, to make the ethics and integrity of science en vogue.

But I see a distinct glitter in the stardust around Dr. Rolleston.

As one whose career often leaned on the communicative power of words, I have been awed by his ability to package complex science and intricate processes in easy to understand formats. His works include, for example, co-authoring, with the esteemed Dr. Mitch Halperin, an advanced level textbook on biochemistry and physiology entitled Clinical Detective Stories. The book used some fifty vivid and dramatic cases encountered in hospitals and vet clinics to convey complex scientific concepts.

I saw his skill at creative clarity while working in the secretariat that served him during his decade as Chair of the National Research Council (NRC) Research Ethics Board, a role that he assumed after leaving MRC and that he filled with vigor into his seventies. This and other post-retirement work attests to that radiating integrity.

Rather than polishing his laurels, he worked to aftermath them by volunteering and with service on the boards of the Ottawa Hospital ethics board, that of the Canadian Blood Services, CAREB, the Ottawa Science and Technology Ethics Roundtable, and many government advisory committees, regularly in a managing and leadership capacity.

I believe this is the kind of work that separates people like me who can conceive and type collections of words and those who take the next step to make them part of the research reality.

So, I think if the new science integrity policy is to achieve its desired effect, we need such role models as well as rule models, and maybe, we should celebrate them by inaugurating, prodigiously, a Francis Rolleston Award for Science Integrity.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Modèle et source d’inspiration

Par Dick Bourgeois-Doyle

 

Francis Rolleston

À l’heure où les concepteurs de la politique de notre gouvernement en matière d’intégrité scientifique affrontent les derniers obstacles sur la voie d’un instrument modèle, ils pourraient vouloir communiquer avec le Dr Francis Rolleston.

Il a joué un rôle central dans l’élaboration de la Politique inter-conseils sur l’intégrité dans la recherche et les travaux d’érudition du Canada et le célèbre Énoncé de politique des trois Conseils : Éthique de la recherche avec des êtres humains. Il s’agit de documents fondamentaux pour financer la recherche universitaire et médicale et les modèles de collaboration entre les organismes fédéraux, en l'occurrence les Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada (IRSC), le Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie (CRSNG) et le Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines (CRSH).

Francis compte de l’expérience, non seulement dans l’agencement de cet ensemble de mots très réussis dans le domaine de l’intégrité, mais aussi dans leur déploiement et leur adoption. Il comprend l’absence de lignes directrices éthiques acceptées et ce qu’il faut faire pour les concrétiser en laboratoire et sur le terrain.

Mais, les importants antécédents en matière d’intégrité de l’ancien grand scientifique et politicien distingué sont encore plus impressionnants.

Je ne suis pas le seul à être impressionné par le Dr Rolleston.

Lors de la remise du prix du président de l’Association canadienne des comités d’éthique de la recherche (ACCER), on a cité sa contribution et son engagement exceptionnels afin d’améliorer la protection des participants humains à la recherche et l’efficacité des processus d’examen éthique de la recherche avec les humains.

Le Dr Rolleston a été le premier récipiendaire en 2007, ce qui est un grand honneur.

Il est peu surprenant d’apprendre que François est un penseur qui a été éduqué à Oxford. Il a obtenu un doctorat en biochimie à cette institution de renom en 1966 avant de passer quelques années à l’Université de Chicago. C’est avec plaisir qu’il a déménagé au Canada pour passer une décennie à la faculté de médecine de l’Université de Toronto. Bien qu’il limite toujours la description de ses antécédents scientifiques, il a acquis une passion pour l’intégrité scientifique et l’éthique au cours de ces années en laboratoire, ce qui a encadré sa carrière au sein du gouvernement du Canada.

Cette étape de sa carrière a débuté dans les années 1970, avec la gestion des programmes de subvention du prédécesseur des IRSC, le Conseil de recherches médicales (CRM), et comprenait des rôles de niveau de direction en affaires publiques, en évaluation scientifique, en relations internationales et, bien sûr, en intégrité scientifique et éthique. Il faisait partie de l’équipe qui a géré la transition du CRM aux IRSC et a pris sa retraite en 2001 alors qu’il était le premier directeur de l’éthique du nouvel organisme.

Ces années passées au gouvernement ont compris sa participation à de nombreux examens par les pairs, à l’élaboration de nouveaux programmes pour la science clinique, et à des conseils d’organismes internationaux tels que le Human Frontier Science Program. Au cours de cette période, il a fait progresser la cause de l’intégrité de la science et les intérêts des êtres humains participant à la recherche ou en étant le sujet.

Bien que les énoncés de politique des trois Conseils (depuis leur mise à jour et leur réorganisation) n’aient pas été officiels avant la fin des années 1990, Francis et d’autres se battaient bien avant. Il a rédigé un rapport sur l’éthique dans l’expérimentation humaine au cours de ses premières années au CRM et a même élaboré des lignes directrices novatrices sur l’éthique de la thérapie génique dans les années 1980.

Encore une fois, le mot « impressionnant » vient à l’esprit.

Pourtant, on pourrait faire valoir que tout cela découlait de ses responsabilités professionnelles et faisait partie de son travail rémunéré au CRM. En effet, vous pouvez trouver de nombreux praticiens dédiés à l’éthique scientifique dans les bureaux et les laboratoires fédéraux, et vous pourriez suggérer que Francis et ses collègues se sont trouvés au bon endroit au bon moment, tout comme aujourd’hui, pour faire de l’éthique et de l’intégrité de la science une actualité.

Mais, je détecte un point particulièrement lumineux dans l’auréole du Dr Rolleston.

En tant que personne dont la carrière a souvent reposé sur le pouvoir communicatif des mots, j’ai été impressionné par sa capacité à transformer des processus scientifiques complexes en des formats faciles à comprendre. Ses travaux comprennent, par exemple, la co-création, avec l’estimé Dr Mitch Halperin, d’un manuel de haut niveau sur la biochimie et physiologie intitulé Clinical Detective Stories. Le livre décrit une cinquantaine de cas réalistes et dramatiques qui ont eu lieu dans des hôpitaux et des cliniques vétérinaires pour expliquer des concepts scientifiques complexes.

J’ai constaté son talent en matière de clarté créative alors que je travaillais au secrétariat qui l’a servi durant sa présidence du Conseil d’éthique de la recherche du Conseil national de recherches du Canada (CNRC), rôle qu’il a assumé après avoir quitté le CRM. Ces travaux, ainsi que d’autres depuis son départ à la retraite, attestent de cette intégrité rayonnante.

Plutôt que de dormir sur ses lauriers, il a travaillé comme bénévole auprès des conseils d’administration de l’Hôpital d’Ottawa, de la Société canadienne du sang, de l’ACCER, de la Table ronde sur l’éthique en science et en technologie d’Ottawa et de nombreux comités consultatifs gouvernementaux, habituellement dans une capacité de gestion et de leadership.

Je crois que c’est le genre de travail qui fait une distinction entre les gens comme moi, qui peuvent assembler des collections de mots, et ceux qui passent à l’étape suivante pour les intégrer à la réalité de la recherche.

Je pense que si la nouvelle politique d’intégrité scientifique doit créer l’effet désiré, nous avons besoin de tels modèles, et il serait bon d’inaugurer un prestigieux prix Francis Rolleston pour l’intégrité scientifique.

Date de modification :