Leading the way with Hia: Vaccine for the deadly infection gains traction

Scientists at the Public Health Agency of Canada (PHAC) continue to make great strides in creating healthy communities. A prime example is Dr. Raymond Tsang, a PHAC scientist at the National Microbiology Laboratory (NML) in Winnipeg, and his work on a new experimental vaccine for Haemophilus influenza serotype a (Hia).

Hia is a potentially deadly infection that can lead to pneumonia, meningitis, septic arthritis and bloodstream infections. It is especially dangerous to at-risk children and immunocompromised adults.

Dr. Raymond Tsang, Senior Research Scientist, National Microbiology Laboratory

Dr. Raymond Tsang, Senior Research Scientist, National Microbiology Laboratory

In 1988, a vaccine was created for its cousin strain, Haemophilus influenzae serotype b (Hib). These days, Hib is uncommon due to routine childhood Hib vaccination programs in Canada. Hia became an emerging infectious disease in the late 1990s. It has become a significant cause of invasive diseases largely in Indigenous northern populations in North America with around a 10% mortality rate.

After seeing a significant increase in Hia cases,
Dr. Raymond Tsang pursued a vaccine to prevent the disease.

PHAC has been working with the National Research Council (NRC), the Canadian Institute of Health Research and Health Canada together with representatives of First Nations, Inuit and Metis groups to develop a Hia vaccine for prevention of this deadly infection.  

How was the vaccine made?

Step 1: PHAC scientists identified and characterized a strain of the bacterium to be used for the clinical production of the vaccine.

Step 2:  NRC researchers figured out how to grow the bacterium in a steel fermentation tank.

Step 3: After they grew the bacterium, they separated the part that was needed for the vaccine and attached it to a carrier protein that allows it to be recognized by the immune system of infants.

Biologist, Michelle Shuel, working with Hia genes on a thermocycler.

Biologist, Michelle Shuel, working with Hia genes on a thermocycler.

Next stage of development:

Now that an experimental vaccine has been developed, it has been licensed to InventVacc Biologicals Inc. for manufacturing in preparation for clinical trials. Clinical trials are expected to begin by 2020, and if successful, the vaccine will be available by 2022. After five years of development, this life-saving innovation will contribute to preventing deadly infections for infants at risk of Hia in Canada.

Date modified:

Ouvrir la voie contre l’Hia : le vaccin contre cette infection mortelle fait son chemin

Les scientifiques de l’Agence de la santé publique du Canada (ASPC) continuent d’accomplir de grands progrès pour créer des communautés en santé. Un excellent exemple est M. Raymond Tsang (Ph. D.), scientifique au Laboratoire national de microbiologie (LNM) de l’ASPC à Winnipeg, qui travaille sur un nouveau vaccin expérimental contre l’Haemophilus influenzae de sérotype a (Hia).

L’infection à Hia, qui peut entraîner des pneumonies, des méningites, de l’arthrite septique et des septicémies, peut être mortelle. Elle est particulièrement dangereuse pour les enfants à risque et les adultes immunovulnérables.

Raymond Tsang (Ph. D.), chercheur scientifique principal, Laboratoire national de microbiologie

Raymond Tsang (Ph. D.), chercheur scientifique principal,Laboratoire national de microbiologie

Un vaccin a été mis au point en 1988 contre sa cousine, l’Haemophilus influenzae de sérotype b (Hib). L’infection à Hib est peu fréquente de nos jours grâce aux programmes de vaccination systématique des enfants contre l’Hib au Canada. L’infection à Hia, devenue une maladie infectieuse émergente à la fin des années 1990, est maintenant une cause importante de maladies invasives, principalement dans
les populations autochtones nordiques de l’Amérique du Nord,
et a un taux de mortalité d’environ 10 %.

Après avoir observé une forte augmentation des cas d’infection à Hia, Raymond Tsang s’est mis à la recherche d’un vaccin pour prévenir la maladie.

Avec le Conseil national de recherches du Canada (CNRC), les Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada (IRSC) et Santé Canada, l’ASPC travaille de concert avec des représentants de groupes des Premières Nations, des Inuits et des Métis afin de mettre au point un vaccin contre l’Hia pour prévenir cette infection mortelle.

Comment le vaccin a-t-il été fabriqué?

Étape 1 : Des scientifiques de l’ASPC ont identifié une souche de la bactérie pour servir à la production clinique du vaccin et en ont déterminé les caractéristiques.

Étape 2 : Des chercheurs du CNRC ont découvert comment cultiver la bactérie dans une cuve de fermentation en acier.

Étape 3 : Après la culture de la bactérie, ils ont pu séparer la composante requise pour le vaccin et l’ont rattachée à une protéine porteuse qui permet au système immunitaire des nourrissons de la reconnaître.

La biologiste Michelle Shuel travaillant sur des gènes d’Hia à l’aide d’un thermocycleur.

La biologiste Michelle Shuel travaillant sur des gènes d’Hia à l’aide d’un thermocycleur.

Prochaine étape de la mise au point

Maintenant qu’un vaccin expérimental a été mis au point, une licence d’utilisation a été délivrée à InventVacc Biologicals inc. pour sa fabrication en vue des essais cliniques. Il est attendu que les essais cliniques commenceront d’ici 2020. S’ils sont réussis, le vaccin sera offert d’ici 2022. Après cinq ans de mise au point, cette innovation pourra contribuer à sauver des vies en prévenant des infections mortelles chez les nourrissons à risque d’infection à Hia au Canada.

Date de modification :