From “A to Zika”: Airlines, babies and Canadian mosquitoes

Zika is a virus that is usually spread by mosquitoes found in tropical climates. The virus typically causes mild illness—such as headaches, weakness, and fever —that tends to last only a few days. In fact, some people who are infected with Zika don’t even know they have it.

Diagnostic testing for Zika virus is performed by staff from the Viral Zoonoses section of the National Microbiology Laboratory.

Diagnostic testing for Zika virus is performed by staff from the Viral Zoonoses section of the National Microbiology Laboratory.

The real concern with Zika virus is that it can be extremely dangerous for an unborn child, as it can cause serious birth defects, such as microcephaly. This is a condition that makes a baby’s head small and misshapen, which affects brain development. That’s why, if you or your partner has travelled to a Zika-affected area, health care professionals recommend delaying pregnancy.

Generally speaking, Zika cases in Canada are lower than the rest of the world and the risk to Canadians travelling to countries with recent or ongoing risk of Zika virus infection is low. As of February 28, 2018, there have been 558 travel-related Zika cases reported in Canada.

From the Nursery to the Laboratory

Scientists at the National Microbiology Laboratory (NML) are studying the Zika virus and have recently demonstrated that a treatment using human antibodies can prevent and treat Zika virus infections in mice. While not the first study on antibody treatments for Zika, the NML’s research is one of the most detailed studies of its kind. The research is now being continued by other labs to identify what other animals might benefit from this treatment.

In addition, the NML has rapidly improved and implemented laboratory tests for diagnosing Zika virus for Canadians. In 2017, the NML performed 22,659 tests for Zika virus on 14,947 samples.

PHAC scientist performs diagnostic testing by extracting nucleic acid from multiple Zika virus samples.

PHAC scientist performs diagnostic testing by extracting nucleic acid from multiple Zika virus samples.

Scientists at the NML are also conducting research to find out if various Canadian species of mosquitoes can acquire and transmit Zika virus, along with other mosquito-borne diseases.

In a recent 2017 paper, they examined several species of mosquitoes found in southern Manitoba for their susceptibility to infection and their ability to transmit Zika virus. They found that although Zika virus could grow in many of the mosquito species, only a very small proportion (2%) of one species demonstrated the capacity to transmit it under experimental conditions. It is important to note that these results were found in a laboratory setting, and there is no known evidence of this naturally occurring in local mosquito populations in Canada.

The NML is also carrying out research to evaluate commercial diagnostic kits that identify the presence of Zika virus antibodies in a patient’s blood. These kits would provide more rapid reporting of test results for patients and their health care providers.

For more information about Zika virus, please visit Canada.ca/zika-virus.

Date modified:

De A à Zika : avions, bébés et moustiques du Canada

Le virus Zika est un virus habituellement transmis par les moustiques présents dans les climats tropicaux. Il cause généralement des symptômes bénins – maux de tête, faiblesse et fièvre – qui ne durent que quelques jours. En fait, certaines personnes infectées ne s’en rendent même pas compte.

Ce qui est inquiétant, c’est que le virus Zika peut être extrêmement dangereux pour un enfant à naître, car il peut causer de graves anomalies congénitales, comme la microcéphalie. Les bébés qui en sont atteints ont une petite tête mal formée, ce qui nuit au développement du cerveau. C’est pourquoi les professionnels de la santé vous recommandent de retarder vos projets de grossesse si vous ou votre partenaire êtes allé dans une région touchée par le virus Zika.

Le personnel de l’unité des zoonoses d’origine virale du Laboratoire national de microbiologie réalise des tests de dépistage du virus Zika.

Le personnel de l’unité des zoonoses d’origine virale du Laboratoire national de microbiologie réalise des tests de dépistage du virus Zika.

En général, les cas d’infection à virus Zika au Canada sont moins nombreux qu’ailleurs dans le monde, et le risque pour les Canadiens qui se rendent dans des pays ayant récemment déclaré ou continuant de déclarer des cas est faible. Au 28 février 2018, un total de 558 cas d’infection à virus Zika liés à des voyages a été recensé au Canada.

De la pouponnière au laboratoire

Des scientifiques du Laboratoire national de microbiologie (LNM) qui étudient le virus Zika ont récemment montré qu’on pouvait prévenir et traiter l’infection chez les souris au moyen d’anticorps humains. Si ce n’est pas la première étude portant sur des traitements à base d’anticorps contre le virus Zika, la recherche du LNM (en anglais seulement) est l’une des plus détaillées en son genre. D’autres laboratoires poursuivent maintenant les travaux afin de déterminer quels autres animaux pourraient bénéficier de ce traitement.

Le LNM a par ailleurs amélioré et mis en place rapidement des épreuves de laboratoire pour le diagnostic de l’infection chez les Canadiens. En 2017, il a réalisé 22 659 tests sur 14 947 échantillons.

Une scientifique de l’ASPC effectue des tests de diagnostic par l’extraction d’acides nucléiques de plusieurs échantillons de virus Zika.

Une scientifique de l’ASPC effectue des tests de diagnostic par l’extraction d’acides nucléiques de plusieurs échantillons de virus Zika.

Les scientifiques du LNM tentent également de savoir si différentes espèces de moustiques du Canada peuvent être infectées par le virus Zika et le propager, de même que d’autres maladies transmises par des moustiques.

Dans une étude de 2017 (en anglais seulement), ils ont examiné plusieurs espèces de moustiques trouvées dans le sud du Manitoba afin de déterminer leur réceptivité à l’infection et leur capacité de transmettre le virus Zika. Ils ont découvert que, même si le virus pouvait se multiplier dans de nombreuses espèces, il ne pouvait être transmis que par une infime proportion (2 %) d’une seule espèce dans des conditions expérimentales. Notons que ces résultats ont été observés en laboratoire et que rien ne prouve que le phénomène se produise naturellement chez des populations locales de moustiques du Canada.

Le LNM mène également des recherches visant à évaluer des trousses de diagnostic commerciales qui détectent la présence d’anticorps du virus Zika dans le sang du patient. Ces trousses accéléreraient la communication des résultats d’analyse aux patients et aux professionnels de la santé.

Pour en savoir plus sur le virus Zika, veuillez consulter le site Canada.ca/virus-zika.

Date de modification :