Mauna Kea Kanada Konfliction

By Dick Bourgeois-Doyle

 

Zipping up my parka and rubbing my hands together that night, I thought to myself, “a Canadian should feel at home here for lots of reasons.” Snow had covered the ground a few months earlier, the air held below-zero cold, and sunlight bounced off a gleaming rink-smooth surface.

The date was the 23rd of July 2013. I was in Hawaii.

“Where’s the Tim Horton’s?” I asked. 

No one in the van answered or got the joke. The spectacular view and the importance of the surroundings should draw people from around the world, and they do. The driver called himself a Californian, and the roll call on the way up the mountain exposed passengers from across the States, a few Scots, some Aussies, a young man from Switzerland, and a couple from Belgium, but a lone Canadian, me. 

“This is a shame,” I thought, wishing more of us could visit the place and wondering whether this dusty rock should be considered an extension of our country. 

Mauna Kea 1

Mauna Kea 2

Mauna Kea 3

Mauna Kea 4

Mauna Kea 5

Mauna Kea 6

Mauna Kea 7

Mauna Kea 8

The gleaming surface reminiscent of Canada was not a hockey rink, a discarded Loonie, or Peter C. Newman’s head. This shiny dome housed an observatory and sat on top of Mauna Kea, the highest volcano on the islands, tallest seabed-to-sky mountain in the world, and arguably the best place on the planet to observe the stars. We were over 4,200 metres closer to the sun than the surfers down at sea level. Here above the clouds, astronomers have a clear view of the sky three hundred days a year. 

Almost a half century ago, Canadians stepped forward as some of the very first people to recognize the “astronomical” astronomy potential of this high and dry site; Canadian science has excelled in using this place; and, in a complementary way, Canadian companies, notably Dynamic Structures of Port Coquitlam, B.C., have helped build all the major structures here.

It may not look like it to visitors from other countries, but that night in 2013, I thought of it as very much a donuts and hockey pucks kind of place. Proud and pumped, I took these photos, talked to staff on site, and made notes certain that I should encourage more Canadians to visit the summit of Mauna Kea. Today I remain enthralled but feel less certain and maybe conflicted.

Though on holidays at the time, I booked my trip up the mountain with Mauna Kea Summit Adventures to check out the location proposed for the Thirty Meter Telescope (TMT), a project we at NRC had been advancing in varied manifestations for almost two decades. A consortium of nations hopes to build that next generation optical observatory with its giant light-collecting mirror on land just down the hill from the twin Keck domes and others built by Canadians.

That day on Mauna Kea, the TMT site showed signs of pre-construction groundwork, and things seemed to be on the move. I did not know that months later, all work would halt in the face of protests and legal challenges tied to the sacred nature of the mountain for native Hawaiian culture.

I had wanted to visit the summit of Mauna Kea for about a decade and a half. In the late 1990s, my colleagues and I advanced Canada’s first Long Range Plan for Astronomy and Astrophysics. To me, the shining domes on Mauna Kea symbolized the power of pulling together as a country – scientists who see into the future, government that invests in early-stage technology, industry that exports and builds the domes - and thus enables the cycle to repeat. 

The story of Canadian astronomy makes you proud; still, even these interests dissolve into the background when staring over the ocean at sunset as the dimming light touches the domes and the vastness of the universe seems within reach. 

In July 2013, all this combined to amplify the experience of a trip to the summit. But today, in the atmosphere of reconciliation in Canada, the combination could argue equally against further development on Mauna Kea.

Over a hundred thousand people visit the mountain every year and about five per cent go all the way up the rutted dirt road to the peak. The numbers in turn make me think of why those who consider it a sacred place might have concerns about the traffic and the TMT.

Hawaiian tradition holds that high altitudes are a gateway to heaven. In the past, only high chiefs and priests were allowed onto the top of Mauna Kea, and the mountain has one regal burial ground. Perhaps more. Close to a hundred alters and other archeological sites have been uncovered.

The concerns are not only religious and cultural, but ecological as well. Some endangered insects, birds, a bat, and unique plant life, like the Silversword, are found on the mountain along with an alpine lake of both ecological and cultural import.

So, five years later in 2018, I feel a little uncomfortable thinking of that night at the TMT site, kicking around and joking: a little light-headed and feeling unsteady breathing air with about 40 per cent less oxygen than what we inhale in Ottawa.

As I write this, the fate of the TMT remains before the courts and uncertain, and its proponents are preparing alternate plans, which would see it built in the Canary Islands. If this came to pass, supporters of Canadian science would have to accept the process as just and consistent with our country’s aspiration to balance technological progress with increasing understanding and sensitivity to cultural and ecological concerns.

But I can’t bring myself to dissuade Canadians from visiting the summit of Mauna Kea and feeling pride. Wherever it is located, the TMT will remain a vessel for peaceful international cooperation, for the advancement of knowledge that affects all disciplines and benefits all of humanity, and for Canadian science and industry to contribute.

Even if all tourist travel to the summit of Mauna Kea were to be barred, something not currently in the cards, I would still advocate a trip to the mountain. Part way up, the Visitor’s Centre named for Ellison Onizuka, the Hawaiian astronaut killed in the Space Shuttle Challenger explosion, provides a venue to learn about astronomy and history. The surrounding moonscape-like lava fields make great settings for stargazing, and one powerful Mauna Kea experience comes from looking at her across the valley from her shorter, but wider and heavier sister, Mauna Loa.

One of the reasons this area is great for astronomy, aside from the pristine upper air in the middle of the Pacific Ocean, comes from the Big Island’s relatively small population, meaning light pollution is minimal. The town of Kona where I stayed before and after the trip to the summit also made me think of Canada. It felt a lot like my home town in Ontario cottage country, maybe with the temperature cranked up and a few big hotels thrown in.

When the van pulled up in front of Kona’s Buns in the Sun Bakery late in the night after my 2013 trip up to the summit, I was tired and ready to go back to the hotel - in a way. But I confess - this was the first time in my cold Canadian-based life that I felt wistful turning in a parka for suntan lotion and shorts and thus vowed to go back someday and to encourage others to do the same.

But as proud as I am of being a Canadian, I think the fun and fascination of astronomy flows more in being part of the human race and part of something bigger than our country and ourselves. It is not only a global preoccupation, but one that is as old as humanity and consistent with our aspiration to afford greater respect to ancient beliefs and Indigenous ways of knowing.

This thought reminds me that the Hawaiian Islands were discovered and populated by great Polynesian explorers and astronomers who navigated by the night sky. Astronomy is at the core of Hawaiian history, and this makes it easy to think that sacred powers put the best astronomy place in the world on this spot. I guess I will drop the plan to dub it part of Canada, let the Hawaiians keep their volcano, and just be grateful that they let Canadians tread on it once in a while.

If you visit the mountaintop one day and see a giant ball encasing a thirty-metre mirror, remember how Canadian scientists and engineers have contributed to the advancement of human understanding on this site.

If you see empty ground instead, consider that this too may be part of being a 21st century Canadian.

Mauna Kea 9
Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Le konflit kanadien de Mauna Kea

Par Dick Bourgeois-Doyle

 

En enfilant ma parka et en me frottant les mains, je me suis dit qu’un Canadien devait se sentir bien ici pour toutes sortes de raisons. La neige avait recouvert le sol quelques mois plus tôt, l’air était froid et le mercure sous zéro, et le soleil se reflétait sur une surface lisse et glacée.

La date était le 23 juillet 2013, et j’étais à Hawaï.

« Où est le Tim Horton? » ais-je demandé.

Personne dans la fourgonnette n’a répondu ou compris ma blague. La vue spectaculaire et l’importance des lieux devraient attirer des gens de partout dans le monde, et c’est le cas. Le chauffeur était de la Californie, et l’appel qui a lieu alors que nous grimpions le long du volcan m’a permis de constater que mes compagnons provenaient de partout aux États-Unis, quelques-uns d’Écosse, de l’Australie, un jeune homme de la Suisse et un couple de la Belgique, mais un seul Canadien, moi.

Je me suis dit : « C’est dommage ». Plus de Canadiens devraient visiter cet endroit et je me suis demandé si cette formation poussiéreuse ne devrait pas être vue comme une prolongation de notre pays.

Mauna Kea 1

Mauna Kea 2

Mauna Kea 3

Mauna Kea 4

Mauna Kea 5

Mauna Kea 6

Mauna Kea 7

Mauna Kea 8

Cette surface luisante qui rappelle le Canada n’était pas une patinoire, un huard perdu ou la tête de Maxim Martin. Ce dôme abritait un observatoire et était sur Mauna Kea, le volcan le plus élevé des îles, une montagne ayant la hauteur absolue la plus importante au monde, du plancher océanique à sa cime, et certainement le meilleur endroit sur la planète pour observer les étoiles. Comparativement aux surfeurs au niveau de la mer, nous nous étions rapprochés du soleil par plus de 4 200 mètres. Ici, au-dessus des nuages, les astronomes ont une meilleure vue du ciel trois cents jours par année.

Il y a près de cinquante ans, les Canadiens se sont démarqués comme étant parmi les premiers à reconnaître le potentiel « astronomique » pour l’astronomie de ce site élevé et sec; la science canadienne a fait preuve d’excellence dans sa façon d’utiliser cet endroit et, de façon complémentaire, les entreprises canadiennes, comme Dynamic Structures de Port Coquitlam, C.-B., ont aidé à y bâtir toutes les structures importantes.    Ce n’était peut-être pas le cas pour les visiteurs des autres pays, mais, lors de cette nuit en 2013, je trouvais que ce relief en faisait un endroit de beignes et de rondelles de hockey. Fier et excité, j’ai pris ces photos, parlé aux employés sur le site et pris des notes, convaincu que je devais encourager plus de Canadiens à visiter le sommet de Mauna Kea. Aujourd’hui, je demeure enthousiasmé, mais moins convaincu et, peut-être même en conflit. 

Même si j’étais en vacances, j’avais fait des réservations par l’entremise de Mauna Kea Summit Adventures pour visiter l’emplacement proposé du Télescope de tente mètres (TTM), un projet sur lequel ici, au CNRC, nous travaillions de différentes façons depuis près de vingt ans. Un consortium de nations espère y bâtir la prochaine génération d’observatoires avec un miroir géant sur terre pour capter la lumière, juste sous les télescopes jumeaux Keck ainsi que d’autres construits par des Canadiens.

En cette journée sur Mauna Kea, le site du TTM affichait des signes de travaux préliminaires de pré-construction, et tout semblait aller bon train. Je ne savais pas que quelques mois plus tard, tous les travaux cesseraient face à des protestations et des contestations judiciaires reliées à la nature sacrée de la montagne pour la culture des autochtones d’Hawaï.  

Je voulais visiter le sommet de Mauna Kea depuis près de quinze ans. À la fin des années 1990, mes collègues et moi avions proposé le premier Plan à long terme pour l’astronomie et l’astrophysique du Canada. Pour moi, ces dômes luisants sur Mauna Kea symbolisaient ce qui pouvait être accompli en unissant nos efforts à titre de pays – des scientifiques qui ont une vision de l’avenir, un gouvernement qui investit dans le pouvoir technologique au stade initial, une industrie qui exporte et bâtit les dômes – permettant ainsi au cycle de se répéter. 

Nous pouvons être fiers de l’histoire de l’astronomie au Canada, mais même ces intérêts se fondent dans l’arrière-plan face à l’océan au coucher de soleil, alors que la lumière caresse les dômes et que l’ampleur de l’univers semble à portée de la main.  

En juillet 2013, tout cela amplifiait l’expérience du voyage au sommet. Mais, aujourd’hui, dans le contexte de la réconciliation au Canada, on pourrait tout aussi facilement s’opposer au développement sur Mauna Kea.

Plus d’une centaine de personnes visitent la montagne chaque année, et cinq pour cent d’entre elles se rendent jusqu’au sommet par des sentiers sillonnés d’ornières. Par contre, face à ces chiffres, je peux comprendre pourquoi les gens qui croient que la montagne est un lieu sacré peuvent être préoccupés par cette circulation et le TTM.

Selon la tradition hawaïenne, les lieux de grande altitude sont autant de voies vers le paradis. À l’époque, seuls les hauts chefs et les prêtres pouvaient se rendre au sommet de Mauna Kea, et la montagne compte un cimetière royal. Près de cent autels et autres sites archéologiques y ont été découverts.

Les préoccupations ne sont pas seulement de nature religieuse et culturelle, mais également écologique. Certains insectes, oiseaux, une chauve-souris et des plantes, comme l’argyroxiphium, en voie de disparition s’y trouvent, ainsi qu’un lac alpin d’importance écologique et culturelle.

Donc, cinq ans plus tard en 2018, je ne me sens pas vraiment à l’aise lorsque je songe au site du TTM et à mes plaisanteries alors que je me sentais un peu étourdi et instable, respirant de l’air contenant 40 % moins d’oxygène que ce que nous respirons à Ottawa.

Alors que je rédige ces lignes, le sort du TTM est toujours devant les tribunaux et incertain. Ses promoteurs préparent des plans de rechange pour la construction du TTN dans les Îles Canaries. Si cela a lieu, les promoteurs de la science canadienne devront accepter le fait que le processus est juste et tient compte du désir de notre pays d’équilibrer les progrès technologiques et une meilleure compréhension des enjeux culturels et écologiques et une meilleure sensibilisation à cet égard.

Mais, je n’arrive pas à dissuader les Canadiens de visiter le sommet de Mauna Kea et de ressentir de la fierté. Où qu’il se trouve, le TTM demeurera un symbole de coopération internationale pacifique pour l’avancement des connaissances qui ont une incidence à l’échelle de toutes les disciplines et qui profitent à toute l’humanité, et pour la contribution de la science et de l’industrie canadiennes.

Même si on empêchait les touristes de se rendre au sommet de Mauna Kea, ce qui n’est pas prévu pour le moment, je recommanderais quand même un voyage vers cette destination. En route, le centre pour les visiteurs, nommé pour Ellison Onizuka, l’astronaute hawaïen tué lors de l’explosion de la navette spatiale Challenger, permet d’en apprendre davantage sur l’astronomie et l’histoire. Les champs de lave d’apparence lunaire sont une excellente toile de fond pour admirer les étoiles, et une des expériences les plus puissantes qu’a à offrir Mauna Kea est de l’admirer de l’autre côté de la vallée à partir de sa contrepartie moins élevée, mais plus large et sinistre, Mauna Loa.

Une des raisons pour lesquelles cet endroit est excellent pour l’astronomie, mis à part l’air pur dans le milieu de l’océan Pacifique, est la population relativement faible sur Big Island, ce qui signifie une pollution lumineuse minimale. La ville de Kona où je restais avant d’entreprendre mon voyage vers le sommet me rappelait le Canada. J’avais l’impression de me retrouver dans ma ville natale de la région des chalets de l’Ontario, peut-être un peu plus chaude et avec de grands hôtels.

Lorsque la fourgonnette est arrivée devant l’hôtel Buns in the Sun de Kona dans la nuit après mon voyage de 2013 vers le sommet, j’étais fatigué et près à me rendre à ma chambre, d’une certaine façon. Mais, je dois avouer qu’il s’agissait de la première fois de ma vie passée dans le climat froid canadien que je rêvais d’échanger ma parka pour une bouteille d’écran solaire et des shorts, et je me suis donc promis de revenir bientôt et d’encourager les autres à le faire.

Aussi fier que je sois d’être Canadien, je crois que le plaisir et la fascination que je tire de l’astronomie découlent davantage du fait que je fais partie de la race humaine et de quelque chose de plus grand que notre pays et nous-mêmes. Il s’agit, non seulement d’une préoccupation mondiale, mais également de quelque chose qui est vieux comme le monde et qui relève de notre désir de faire preuve de plus de respect à l’égard des croyances anciennes et des modes de connaissance autochtones.

Cela me rappelle que les îles Hawaï ont été découvertes et peuplées par de grands explorateurs et astronomes polynésiens qui ont navigué de nuit à la lumière des étoiles. L’astronomie est au cœur de l’histoire hawaïenne, ce qui peut permettre de croire que des pouvoirs sacrés en font l’un des meilleurs endroits au monde pour cette science. Je crois que je vais laisser tomber mon plan d’en faire une partie du Canada. Que les Hawaïens gardent leur volcan, et soyons simplement reconnaissants qu’ils permettent aux Canadiens d’y mettre les pieds de temps à autre.

Si, un jour, vous visitez ce sommet et que vous voyez une énorme balle contenant un miroir de trente mètres, n’oubliez pas que des scientifiques et ingénieurs canadiens ont permis de faire progresser la compréhension humaine de ce site.

Si vous n’y voyez rien, songez que cela peut également faire partie de l’expérience d’être un Canadien au XXIe siècle. 

Mauna Kea 9
Date de modification :