Language selection

Search

Examining the black-backed woodpecker to explain the effects of harvesting and climate change in Quebec’s boreal forest

What can the black-backed woodpecker (BBWO) tell us about changing biodiversity in Canadian forests?

Black-backed woodpecker (BBWO)

The article “Harvesting interacts with climate change to affect future habitat quality of a focal species in eastern Canada’s boreal forest” by Junior A. Tremblay and his team at Environment and Climate Change Canada (ECCC) and colleagues at Natural Resources Canada (NRCan) was published in February 2018. It examined this question by delving into the effects of climate change and forest harvesting on life in the boreal forest of central Quebec.

Tremblay’s study focused on the black-backed woodpecker, which was chosen for examination as it represents a “focal species” - one that is representative of Eastern Canadian biodiversity associated with coniferous forests. The authors explain that projections in black-backed woodpecker population over time can be used to help understand the impact of climate change on boreal forests more generally.

Modelling used by the authors showed that climate change would be detrimental to these woodpeckers. Under the “worst-case” climate change scenario, there could be a potential 92% productivity decline in this bird species by the year 2100. The authors describe these climate-driven changes in woodpecker productivity by 2100 as “very significant.” They note that the changing climate could lead to more severe weather including a longer fire season. While increased fires may benefit the woodpecker in the short-term (since the species tends to forage on recently dead wood), by the end of the simulation period fires could lead to younger deciduous forests replacing coniferous forests, which black-backed woodpeckers need to survive.

The study also found, however, that forest harvesting, not climate change, is the single most important driver of change on black-backed woodpecker before 2080 in the “worst-case” climate change scenarios. Even with no changes in climate, forest harvesting would cause a decrease in their productivity by 69% by the year 2100.

The authors describe this result as “striking,” and contrary to their expectations that harvesting would have less impact than climate change. They suggest the result may be due to high harvesting rates in the area covered by this study, especially since the harvesting rate of future simulations is based on the last 20 years.

It is important to note that the combination of climate change and forest harvesting would be most devastating.

Our simulations suggest that the cumulative impacts of forest harvesting and climate change on the forest ecosystem will cause major reductions in the availability of future BBWO [woodpecker] habitat, with the potential productivity of this focal species being more severely reduced under stronger anthropogenic climate forcing. Among other impacts, climate change would impose changes in the relative importance of available habitat types for BBWO potential productivity” (Tremblay et. al., 2018)

Further studies currently undertaken in Alberta on more than 100 different boreal bird species show the same broad trends as the study of black-backed woodpecker in Quebec. The authors also hope to simulate different scenarios with the goal of understanding the impacts on a variety of other species across the country, including Species at Risk.

Date modified:

Étudier le pic à dos noir pour expliquer les effets de l’exploitation forestière et des changements climatiques dans la forêt boréale du Québec

Que peut nous révéler le Pic à dos noir (BBWO) sur l’évolution de la biodiversité dans les forêts canadiennes?

Pic à dos noir

Junior A. Tremblay, son équipe à Environnement et Changement climatique Canada et des collègues à Ressources naturelles Canada ont publié l’article « Harvesting interacts with climate change to affect future habitat quality of a focal species in eastern Canada’s boreal forest » en février 2018. Ils se sont penchés sur cette question et ont examiné les effets des changements climatiques et de l’exploitation forestière sur la vie dans la forêt boréale du centre du Québec.

L’étude a porté sur le Pic à dos noir, une espèce focale qui représente la biodiversité de l’Est du Canada associée aux forêts conifériennes. Les auteurs expliquent que les projections relatives à la population de Pics à dos noir au fil du temps peuvent être utilisées pour comprendre de façon plus générale les effets des changements climatiques sur la forêt boréale.

Les modèles utilisés par les auteurs montrent que les changements climatiques nuiront au Pic à dos noir. Dans le pire scénario envisageable, la productivité de l’espèce pourrait diminuer de 92 % d’ici l’an 2100, une conséquence que les auteurs qualifient de « très importante ». Les auteurs soulignent que l’évolution du climat pourrait mener à des phénomènes météorologiques de plus grande ampleur, y compris une saison des incendies allongée. Bien qu’une augmentation des incendies puisse être avantageuse à court terme pour le Pic à dos noir (puisque l’espèce a tendance à chercher de la nourriture dans le bois mort récent au sol), les incendies pourraient donner lieu à un remplacement des forêts conifériennes par de jeunes forêts de feuillus d’ici la fin de la période de simulation, ce qui serait nuisible à l’espèce.

L’étude a également permis de constater que dans le pire des scénarios envisageables, l’exploitation forestière, et non les changements climatiques, constitue le principal facteur de changement pour le Pic à dos noir avant 2080. Même si le climat ne changeait pas, l’exploitation forestière donnerait lieu à une réduction de la productivité de l’espèce de 69 % d’ici l’an 2100.

Les auteurs qualifient ce résultat de « frappant » et de contraire à leurs attentes selon lesquelles l’exploitation forestière aurait une incidence moins grande que les changements climatiques. Ils suggèrent que ce résultat pourrait être dû à des taux d’exploitation élevés dans la zone couverte par l’étude, en particulier puisque le taux d’exploitation dans les simulations futures est fondé sur les 20 dernières années.

Il est important de souligner que la combinaison des changements climatiques et de l’exploitation forestière serait très dévastatrice.

« Nos simulations suggèrent que les effets cumulatifs de l’exploitation forestière et des changements climatiques sur l’écosystème forestier réduiront considérablement la disponibilité future de l’habitat du Pic à dos noir (BBWO), et la productivité potentielle de cette espèce focale sera plus gravement touchée par un forçage climatique anthropique supérieur. Les changements climatiques donneraient notamment lieu à une variation de l’importance relative des types d’habitat disponible pour la productivité potentielle du Pic à dos noir. » [traduction] (Tremblay et al., 2018)

D’autres études menées actuellement en Alberta sur plus de 100 espèces d’oiseaux boréaux différentes montrent les mêmes tendances générales que l’étude sur le Pic à dos noir au Québec. Les auteurs espèrent également simuler différents scénarios dans le but de comprendre les effets sur un éventail d’autres espèces au pays, y compris des espèces en péril.

Date de modification :