Outdoor Air Pollution: One of the leading causes of death globally

A new international study led by scientists at Health Canada has shed new light on the impact of air pollution on human mortality.

The research estimates that almost nine million people around the world die prematurely every year because of outdoor air pollution. This is more than double the previous estimates, making outdoor air pollution one of the leading causes of premature death globally. Its impact on life expectancy is now comparable to poor diets and cigarette smoking. 

Air pollution can be made up of many different things, including something called fine particulate matter. These are small particles that come from different sources like forest fires, agricultural and residential wood burning, power plants, motor vehicles, airplanes, volcanic eruptions and dust storms. The particles are tiny – less than 3% of the diameter of a human hair – and can remain suspended in the air for long periods of time. High concentrations of particulates in the air can result in poor air quality and air pollution.

When there is fine particulate matter in the air, it can enter our lungs when we breathe. Long-term exposure to high levels can lead to heart and lung disease.

For this new study, Health Canada researchers Richard Burnett and Mieczysław (Mietek) Szyszkowicz brought together 15 research groups from around the world to estimate the number of deaths due to particulate matter exposure in 195 countries, including Canada.

According to senior research scientist Richard Burnett, this represents the largest international collaboration among researchers studying the health effects of long-term exposure to outdoor air pollution.

“The advances in knowledge made by this study were only possible with the cooperation of more than 50 researchers in Canada, the United States, Europe, and Asia,” said Burnett.

The researchers used new mathematical risk models and refined methods to calculate the new estimates. Governments and policy makers around the world can use this information to draw connections between changes in outdoor air pollution and health risks. The study concludes that efforts to improve air quality could have significantly greater health benefits for their citizens than previously thought. This is particularly true in countries with the highest air pollution concentrations such as India or China.

“Future research will focus on identifying the most significant pollution sources causing these health effects,” said Burnett. “This information is critical to developing the most effective strategies to improve air quality that result in the largest public health benefits.” 

Children, older adults and those who are suffering from lung or heart disease are particularly vulnerable to the effects of fine particles in the air. Visit Canada.ca to learn about air contaminants and the health effects of poor air quality and what you can do to improve air quality.

Reference: The study, titled “Global Mortality and Long-Term Ambient Exposure to Fine Particulate Matter: a New Relative Risk Estimator”, is published and available online in the Proceedings of the National Academy of Science.

Date modified:

Pollution de l’air ambiant : l’une des principales causes de décès dans le monde

Une nouvelle étude internationale menée par des scientifiques de Santé Canada jette un éclairage nouveau sur les répercussions de la pollution de l’air en matière de mortalité humaine.

Cette étude estime que près de neuf millions de personnes au monde meurent chaque année prématurément à cause de la pollution de l’air ambiant. C’est plus du double des estimations précédentes, ce qui fait de la pollution de l’air ambiant l’une des principales causes de mort prématurée au monde. Ses effets sur l’espérance de vie sont maintenant comparables à ceux d’une mauvaise alimentation et du tabagisme.

La pollution de l’air peut être formée de nombreux éléments différents, dont des particules fines. Ces dernières sont de petites particules provenant de différentes sources, notamment les incendies de forêt, la combustion agricole et résidentielle de bois, les centrales électriques, les véhicules motorisés, les avions, les éruptions volcaniques et les tempêtes de poussière. Elles sont minuscules (moins de 3 % du diamètre d’un cheveu humain) et peuvent demeurer en suspension dans l’air pendant de longues périodes de temps. Des concentrations élevées de particules dans l’air peuvent mener à une mauvaise qualité de l’air et à sa pollution.

Quand il y a des particules fines dans l’air, celles-ci peuvent entrer dans les poumons lors de la respiration. Une exposition à long terme à des concentrations élevées peut causer des maladies cardiaques ou pulmonaires.

Pour cette nouvelle étude, les chercheurs de Santé Canada Richard Burnett et Mieczysław (Mietek) Szyszkowicz ont réuni 15 groupes de chercheurs du monde entier pour estimer le nombre de décès causés par l’exposition aux particules dans 15 pays, dont le Canada.

Selon Richard Burnett, chercheur scientifique principal, il s’agit de la plus vaste collaboration internationale entre chercheurs étudiant les effets sur la santé de l’exposition à long terme à la pollution de l’air ambiant.

« L’évolution des connaissances réalisée grâce à cette étude n’a été possible que grâce à la coopération de plus de 50 chercheurs au Canada, aux États-Unis, en Europe et en Asie », affirme M. Burnett.

Les chercheurs ont utilisé de nouveaux modèles mathématiques des risques ainsi que des méthodes perfectionnées pour le calcul des nouvelles estimations. Les gouvernements et les décideurs du monde entier peuvent utiliser cette information pour établir des liens entre les fluctuations de la pollution de l’air ambiant et les risques pour la santé. L’étude conclue que les efforts pour améliorer la qualité de l’air pourraient être beaucoup plus bénéfiques pour la santé des populations qu’on le croyait précédemment. C’est particulièrement vrai dans les pays où les concentrations de pollution de l’air sont les plus élevées, comme l’Inde et la Chine.

« Dans le futur, les recherches mettront l’accent sur l’identification des plus importantes sources de pollution à l’origine de ces effets sur la santé », mentionne M. Burnett. « Cette information est essentielle pour l’élaboration des solutions les plus efficaces en vue d’améliorer la qualité de l’air qui entraînent le plus de bienfaits pour la santé publique. »

Les enfants, les aînés et les personnes qui vivent avec des maladies cardiaques ou pulmonaires sont particulièrement vulnérables aux effets des particules fines dans l’air. Consultez Canada.ca pour vous renseigner sur les contaminants de l’air et les effets d’une mauvaise qualité de l’air sur la santé et sur comment vous pouvez améliorer la qualité de l’air.

Référence : l’étude, intitulée « Global Mortality and Long-Term Ambient Exposure to Fine Particulate Matter: a New Relative Risk Estimator », a été publiée en anglais et est affichée en ligne dans la revue Proceedings of the National Academy of Science.

Date de modification :