Language selection

Search

When are seabirds most vulnerable to exposure to plastic pollution?

Plastics are in widespread use in modern life, from our toothbrushes to our shopping bags. However plastics are also highly persistent and accumulate in the environment, creating potential environmental impacts for wildlife.

Research at Environment and Climate Change Canada (ECCC) is seeking to understand the extent to which plastics are transferred through marine food webs. A newly published research paper by ECCC scientists and their colleagues investigated when seabirds are mostly likely to be exposed to microplastic pollution. Microplastics are tiny particles (less than 5 mm) that result from washing of synthetic fabrics or from the break-down of larger plastic objects. These particles easily enter marine food webs due to their size and number, and, once ingested, they can cause both physical and toxicological damage to marine species.

Researchers modeled the seasonal distribution of a small seabird, the Cassin’s Auklet, against the distribution of microplastics in the ocean.Cassin’s Auklets are a common and characteristic seabird in the North Pacific. Approximately 75% of the global population of Cassin’s Auklets breeds on islands in British Columbia, giving Canada high responsibility for their conservation. Triangle Island, located off the northwestern tip of Vancouver Island within the Scott Islands marine National Wildlife Area, is home to the largest known breeding colony of this species in the world. Cassin’s Auklets may be more likely to be exposed to microplastics because they forage on zooplankton, which are of a similar size to microplastics. The distribution models predicted that auklets were more likely to be exposed to these plastics in the fall and winter than in the spring and summer, most likely because they forage closer to shore where ocean currents concentrate microplastics during those times of year. Limited food availability in the winter may also increase exposure to microplastics because hungry birds will accidentally ingest particles, mistaking them for food sources.

Existing field data show a similar pattern. Microplastics were rarely observed in the food delivered by adult auklets to their chicks at a breeding colony in the spring and summer. These plastics were much more common in the stomach of birds that died in the fall and winter. For example, during an extreme warm-water event in the Pacific Ocean, over the fall and winter of 2014-15, tens of thousands of Cassin’s Auklets died. These birds were malnourished and found to have ingested many microplastics. “We were able to confirm what we previously suspected: Cassin’s Auklets probably ingest more plastic in the winter months, when their exposure is higher, and especially when they are experiencing food stress”, said Dr. Mark Hipfner, a collaborator on the project and Research Scientist for ECCC. “In this winter, the birds were feeding on low quality, warm-water zooplankton prey and may have ingested more plastic in an attempt to compensate”.

This paper, according to Dr. Hipfner, highlights the need for continued research on the ecology of seabirds and other marine life in order to understand how changes to ocean ecosystems, either from climate change or pollution, will impact marine foodwebs.


O'Hara, P.D., S. Avery-Gomm, J. Wood, V. Bowes, L. Wilson, K.H. Morgan, W.S. Boyd, J.M. Hipfner, J.-P. Desforges, D.F. Bertram, C. Hannah, P.S. Ross. Seasonal variability in vulnerability for Cassin's auklets (Ptychoramphus aleuticus) exposed to microplastic pollution in the Canadian Pacific region. Science of the Total Environment 649: 50-60.

Date modified:

À quel moment les oiseaux de mer sont-ils plus vulnérables à l’exposition à la pollution plastique?

Les plastiques sont omniprésents dans notre vie moderne; il suffit de penser à nos brosses à dents ou à nos sacs de magasinage. Cependant, les plastiques sont très persistants et s’accumulent dans l’environnement, ce qui peut avoir des répercussions environnementales sur les espèces sauvages.

Le secteur de la recherche d’Environnement et Changement climatique Canada (ECCC) tente de comprendre dans quelle mesure les plastiques circulent dans les chaînes alimentaires marines. Dans un article paru récemment, des scientifiques d’ECCC et leurs collègues présentent les conclusions de leur étude qui visait à déterminer à quel moment les oiseaux de mer sont les plus susceptibles d’être exposés à la pollution par les microplastiques. Les microplastiques sont de petites particules (de moins de 5 mm) qui sont produites lors du lavage de tissus synthétiques ou par l’effritement d’objets de plastique de plus grande taille. Ces particules pénètrent facilement dans les chaînes alimentaires marines en raison de leur taille et de leur nombre, et une fois ingérées, elles peuvent causer des dommages physiques et toxicologiques aux espèces marines.

Les chercheurs ont modélisé la répartition saisonnière d’un petit oiseau de mer, le starique de Cassin, en fonction de la répartition des microplastiques dans l’océan. Le starique de Cassin est un oiseau de mer commun dans le Pacifique Nord et caractéristique de cette région. Comme environ 75 % de la population mondiale de stariques de Cassin niche sur les îles de la Colombie-Britannique, la conservation de cette espèce repose en grande partie sur le Canada. La plus grande colonie de reproduction connue au monde de cette espèce est située sur l’île Triangle, au large de l’extrémité nord-ouest de l’île de Vancouver, au sein de la réserve nationale de faune en milieu marin des Îles-Scott. Les stariques de Cassin semblent particulièrement susceptibles d’être exposés aux microplastiques, car ils se nourrissent de zooplanctons, dont la taille est similaire à celle des microplastiques. Selon les prévisions des modèles de répartition, les stariques sont plus susceptibles d’être exposés aux microplastiques à l’automne et en hiver qu’au printemps et en été, probablement parce qu’ils se nourrissent plus près de la côte, où les courants marins concentrent les microplastiques à ces périodes de l’année. La rareté de la nourriture en hiver peut accroître l’exposition aux microplastiques, car les oiseaux affamés ingèrent accidentellement des particules en les confondant avec de la nourriture.

Les données existantes recueillies sur le terrain montrent une tendance similaire. Peu de microplastiques ont été observés dans la nourriture que les stariques donnent à leurs oisillons au sein de la colonie de reproduction au printemps et en été. Par contre, les données montrent une présence beaucoup plus fréquente de plastiques dans les estomacs des oiseaux qui sont morts à l’automne et en hiver. Par exemple, durant une période d’eaux exceptionnellement chaudes dans l’océan Pacifique à l’automne et à l’hiver 2014-2015, des dizaines de milliers de stariques de Cassin sont morts. Il a été déterminé que ces oiseaux souffraient de malnutrition et qu’ils avaient ingéré une grande quantité de microplastiques. « Nous avons été en mesure de confirmer ce que nous soupçonnions déjà : les stariques de Cassin ingèrent probablement plus de plastiques durant les mois d’hiver, lorsque leur exposition est plus grande, et surtout lorsque la nourriture se fait plus rare », affirme Mark Hipfner (Ph. D.), un chercheur à ECCC qui a collaboré au projet. « Durant cet hiver, les oiseaux se sont alimentés de zooplanctons d’eau chaude qui fournissent un faible apport nutritif, et il est donc possible qu’ils aient ingéré plus de plastiques en tentant de compenser ce déficit nutritionnel. »

Selon monsieur Hipfner, cet article souligne la nécessité de continuer d’étudier l’écologie des oiseaux de mer et des autres organismes marins afin de comprendre les répercussions de la modification des écosystèmes océaniques provoquée par les changements climatiques ou la pollution sur les chaînes alimentaires marines.


O’Hara, P.D., S. Avery-Gomm, J. Wood, V. Bowes, L. Wilson, K.H. Morgan, W.S. Boyd, J.M. Hipfner, J.-P. Desforges, D.F. Bertram, C. Hannah et P.S. Ross. « Seasonal variability in vulnerability for Cassin's auklets (Ptychoramphus aleuticus) exposed to microplastic pollution in the Canadian Pacific region », Science of the Total Environment, volume 649, pages 50 à 60.

Date de modification :