Language selection

Search

Pollutants Steadily Decreasing in the Arctic

Four Arctic scientists from Environment and Climate Change Canada - Robert Letcher, Birgit Braune, Derek Muir, and Marlene Evans - joined colleagues from other polar nations to look into persistent organic pollutants (POPs) in the Arctic. Their article "Temporal trends of persistent organic pollutants in Arctic marine and freshwater biota" was published earlier this year in Science of The Total Environment.

Photo :Descending a cliff to monitor pollutants affecting Arctic seabird colonies

Descending a cliff to monitor pollutants affecting Arctic seabird colonies. Photo credit: Grant Gilchrist

What are POPs?

POPs are particularly problematic chemicals due to their long lifetime and their tendency to be transported long distances. They include such chemicals as the insecticide DDT (dichlorodiphenyl-trichloroethane) and PCBs (polychlorinated biphenyls)—chemicals produced in industrial processes. Over time, POPs have made their way north into the Arctic through the atmosphere and ocean, negatively impacting Arctic life.

"[POPs] are still found in the environment at levels that may cause adverse effects to the health of top predators in Arctic food chains. Humans living in the Arctic and consuming significant amounts of high-trophic traditional food are exposed to legacy POPs, which may lead to adverse health effects," the report states.

Robert Letcher, one of the authors of the study, describes removing POPs as "a monumental task . . . because there was so much produced in the twentieth century."

Thanks to the Stockholm Convention, twenty-eight POPs have been banned as of 2017. However, even some POPs that were banned as early as the 1970s are still being found in the environment. Given that the Convention is voluntary, there are still difficulties in controlling the production of such chemicals.

Researchers covered a vast swath of territory to monitor POPs. The region studied stretches all the way from Alaska, USA, in the east to northern Scandinavia in the west. They examined more than a thousand time series of POP data in these Arctic ecosystems.

What did the results show?

In a nutshell, Letcher described the findings as a good news story.

Since the 1980s, there has been a decrease in concentration of most POPs in the Arctic. This finding is especially true in the case of HCH (hexachlorocyclohexane), which was used as an insecticide before being phased out in the 1970s in many polar countries, including Canada.

The results show that increased regulations have been effective.

"A large number of time series covering a large geographical area and including different matrices show consistency and agreement in the POP trends. These results provide indications of the effectiveness of national and global controls," the study says.

In some cases, there were relatively rapid changes following the implementation of regulations and voluntary measures to reduce POPs.

Nevertheless, there are still some opportunities for improvement.

For example, one POP—HBCDD (hexabromocyclododecane)—showed some increases during this time period. There were also some increases of certain POPs in specific locations, largely due to more localized pollution sources. As well, the decreases in some POPs have not been as rapid as they have been for others.

What’s next?

Climate change is a huge challenge that researchers are examining. Letcher describes it as the biggest stressor in the Arctic. With climate change comes the reality of shifting diets and new invasive species, which could mean animals may be exposed to different POPs.

Over the coming years, Canadian researchers and their international colleagues will continue to monitor POPs in the Arctic to add to their data set.

Letcher emphasizes determining trends takes time: "It takes many years to build up enough data to see if there is a change . . . we need more years to build enough of a data set with the power to conclusively conclude on what the temporal changes are."

Date modified:

Les polluants en diminution croissante dans l’Arctique

Quatre scientifiques spécialistes de l’Arctique d’Environnement et Changement climatique Canada - Robert Letcher, Birgit Braune, Derek Muir et Marlene Evans - se sont joints à des collègues d’autres nations polaires pour se pencher sur la question des polluants organiques persistants (POP) dans l’Arctique. Leur article, "Temporal trends of persistent organic pollutants in Arctic marine and freshwater biota" (en anglais seulement), a été publié plus tôt cette année dans la revue Science of The Total Environment.

Photo : Descente d'une falaise pour surveiller les polluants qui touchent les colonies d'oiseaux marins de l'Arctique

Descente d'une falaise pour surveiller les polluants qui touchent les colonies d'oiseaux marins de l'Arctique. Photo : Grant Gilchrist

Que sont les POP?

Les POP sont des produits chimiques particulièrement problématiques en raison de leur longue durée de vie et de leur capacité à être transportés sur de longues distances. Ils comprennent notamment l’insecticide dichlorodiphényltrichloréthane (DDT) et les biphényles polychlorés (BPC), des substances produites par des procédés industriels. Au fil du temps, les POP se sont frayé un chemin jusque dans l’Arctique en voyageant dans l’atmosphère et l’océan, entraînant ainsi des répercussions négatives sur les formes de vie arctiques.

Le rapport indique que « les POP sont toujours présents dans l’environnement à des niveaux qui pourraient causer des effets nocifs sur la santé des grands prédateurs se trouvant dans la chaîne alimentaire de l’Arctique. Les êtres humains qui vivent dans l’Arctique et qui consomment de grandes quantités de nourriture traditionnelle issue du niveau trophique supérieur sont exposés aux POP, qui pourraient entraîner des effets néfastes sur la santé. »

Selon Robert Letcher, l’un des auteurs de cette étude, l’élimination des POP « est une tâche monumentale... car ils ont été produits en quantité astronomique au cours du 20e siècle ».

Grâce à la Convention de Stockholm, 28 POP ont été bannis en 2017. Cependant, certains POP bannis depuis les années 1970 sont toujours présents dans l’environnement. De plus, étant donné que le respect de la Convention repose sur une base volontaire, il demeure difficile de contrôler la production de ces produits chimiques.

Les chercheurs ont couvert une vaste superficie pour surveiller les POP. La région étudiée s’étendait d’est en ouest, depuis l’Alaska, aux États-Unis, jusque dans le nord de la Scandinavie. Ils ont examiné plus de mille séries temporelles de données sur les POP concernant ces écosystèmes de l’Arctique.

Qu’ont démontré les résultats?

En résumé, M. Letcher a conclu que les résultats des recherches sont positifs.

Since the 1980s, there has been a decrease in concentration of most POPs in the Arctic. This finding is especially true in the case of HCH (hexachlorocyclohexane), which was used as an insecticide before being phased out in the 1970s in many polar countries, including Canada.

On a observé une diminution de la concentration de la plupart des POP dans l’Arctique depuis les années 1980. Cela est particulièrement vrai dans le cas des hexachlorocyclohexanes (HCH), qui étaient utilisés comme insecticides avant d’être retirés progressivement de nombreux pays nordiques, y compris le Canada, dans les années 1970.

« Un grand nombre de séries temporelles couvrant une immense zone géographique et comprenant différentes matrices démontrent une certaine conformité dans les tendances relatives aux POP. Ces résultats démontrent l’efficacité des contrôles nationaux et internationaux » constatent les auteurs de l’étude.

Dans certains cas, des changements plutôt rapides ont suivi la mise en œuvre de règlements ou de mesures volontaires pour réduire les POP.

Néanmoins, il y a toujours place à l’amélioration.

Par exemple, on a observé une augmentation de la concentration d’hexabromocyclododécane (HBCD) durant cette période. On a également constaté une augmentation de la concentration de certains POP dans des emplacements bien précis, ce qui est largement attribuable aux sources de pollution plus localisées. Par ailleurs, la concentration de certains POP n’a pas diminué aussi rapidement que celle d’autres polluants.

Quelles sont les prochaines étapes?

Les changements climatiques représentent un immense défi sur lequel se penchent continuellement les chercheurs. M. Letcher les décrit comme étant le plus grand facteur de stress dans l’Arctique à l’heure actuelle. Les changements climatiques vont de pair avec les préoccupations relatives aux changements dans les régimes alimentaires des animaux et à la présence de nouvelles espèces envahissantes, ce qui peut signifier que les animaux pourraient être exposés à de nouveaux POP.

Au cours des prochaines années, les chercheurs canadiens et leurs collègues internationaux continueront de surveiller les POP dans l’Arctique afin de compléter leur ensemble de données.

M. Letcher souligne qu’il faut du temps pour déterminer s’il existe une tendance ou non.

« Il faut de nombreuses années pour recueillir suffisamment de données pour observer s’il y a un changement ou non... nous avons besoin de quelques années encore pour créer un ensemble de données suffisant qui nous permettra de tirer les conclusions appropriées sur les changements temporels. »

Date de modification :