Cookbooks, Kilos, and Communications

By Dick Bourgeois-Doyle

 

"Goodness, does this mean I have to buy all new cookbooks?"

My mother-in-law’s question confirmed my failure to describe the redefined kilogram and its importance. On November 16th (2018) in Versailles France, member states of the Convention of the Metre voted unanimously to change the world’s measurement system, notably the definition of the kilogram, the touchstone for calculating mass. Experts say the move constitutes the most profound measurement change in over a century.

My desire to share this science story with friends and family flowed from knowing that the big decision would not have come as quickly without work at the National Research Council of Canada (NRC) labs in Ottawa.

For almost 130 years, the world based its definition of mass on a physical object: a shiny platinum-iridium cylinder kept at the International Bureau of Weights and Measures in France. The kilogram was defined as exactly equal to the mass of this piece of metal, dubbed "Le Grand K." Referencing an artefact like this seemed practical in the 19th century when the same concept was applied to length and time (if one considers the spinning earth as an artifact). But it was imperfect. If, for example, the reference kilogram cylinder changed slightly with micro-deterioration, chemical processes, or an errant sneeze, it would affect the system of measurement globally.

As technology advanced, other measurement artifacts were replaced with reliance on physical constants: definable quantities believed to have fixed values independent of time and space. Length is now determined with reference to the speed of light, and time is measured with clocks locked on the atomic transitions in the cesium-133 atom.

But the quest to replace Le Grand K with a physical constant proved more of a challenge.

Thanks to Einstein’s E=mc2 insight, scientists have long known that energy and mass are intertwined. But to apply this recipe in mass metrology, scientists needed an energy value that would hold up in all circumstance. The chosen standard, known as the Planck Constant, is a quantum measure relating the energy of a photon to its frequency.

Though widely accepted as the desired reference point, it proved very difficult to establish with enough precision to meet the kilogram requirements. The quest to fix Planck’s constant became a celebrated "Frontier Science" project, deemed "one of the most difficult experiments in the world" on the level of finding the Higgs boson particle.

Nevertheless, a decade ago, scientists at the NRC metrology labs were inspired to believe they could succeed on a shoestring. They knew that the Planck Constant could be best determined with a device – now called a Kibble Balance for its originator Bryan Kibble of the UK National Physical Laboratory (NPL). In 2008, the NPL abandoned its effort at sufficient accuracy for the Planck Constant experiment, and learning of this, NRC acted quickly to acquire the NPL’s balance for Canada.

The NRC team redesigned the experiment with a suite of innovations that led to a world record for the smallest uncertainties in the determination of Planck’s Constant, helping pave the way to the November decision in Versailles.

All very exciting for the science communications geek in me, but, as I learned, not so much for people who don’t read blogs like this over morning coffee and limit their measuring interests to cookbooks, bathroom scales, and bananas at the grocery store.

So, I set out to see how others shared Le Grand K news with their audiences and to try to learn.

Wikipedia

  • Reflecting the nerdy nature of Wikipedians interested in metrology, the Wikipedia article on the kilogram change focuses on the technical and only briefly mentions variations in Le Grand K as an explanation for the redefinition. I think Wikipedia’s particular contribution to the communication of the science of masses to the masses lies in its pop-up definitions and links that allow you to drill down as your personal knowledge base requires: though you do risk slipping into redefinition rabbit holes or, like me, onto the trails branching off the long, crazy list of things named after Max Planck.

PBS

  • I liked that PBS radio celebrated the Canadian role in its kilogram story. It featured Barry Wood, an NRC metrologist, who noted that the 1950’s decision to pin length to the speed of light paved the way for the development of GPS systems. PBS devotes its website sidebars to convincing our American friends that redefining the kilogram also implicates the weighing of things in pounds. Its story brands a rational, artefact-free measurement system "for all people, for all time" as "a profoundly beautiful thing," adding that if we ever want to communicate with space aliens, we should probably use universal constants.

BBC

  • Naturally, the BBC focuses its report on the UK’s NPL and its contributions. As for its efforts to communicate with the public, I liked the comparison of fluctuations of 50 parts in a billion to be on the level of the weight of an eyelash, presumably without mascara. Another BBC image helped me better understand the workings of the Kibble Balance. It likened the device to a large electro-magnet moving old cars around a scrapyard with its energy force adjusted to meet the demands of a vehicle’s specific weight.

Wired

  • Wired surprised me with a non-technical story of the human drama and emotion around the new kilogram. It talks of sweaty foreheads, crammed rooms, and anticipation at the big vote, but also of the sentimentality and sweet affection that some scientists felt for Le Grand K and its duplicates around the world. Physicist Patrick Abbott recounts the tension he felt whenever entrusted with the U.S. kilogram on verification trips to France, always taking it along to the bathroom and never letting it out of his sight. He said he felt like someone had handed him the keys to a Ferrari.

Vox.com

  • Vox.com, billed as a champion of "explanatory journalism," devotes around 3,000 words to the new kilogram. Its story notes that Planck’s Constant starts with a decimal point followed by 33 zeros before you get down to business. The writer compares the Kibble Balance to a Victorian era "time machine … parked … in a brewery," and half way through heavy-lifting science he stops to ask readers: "Still with me?" Then, the web story links to a 25-minute podcast that teases out science issues in a dialogue format and with observations on the utility of the metric system in measuring marijuana.

NIST

  • In its report on the kilogram event, the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST), an agency of the U.S. government, acknowledges that the ultra-accuracy provided by the new system won’t help people watching their weight or buying produce at the supermarket. But NIST adds that the change will benefit "fields such as forensics, pharmaceuticals and experimental physics"and will affect the definition of quantities such as force and energy. Its story is rich in images, links, and charts. But I found it noteworthy for its quirky, staff-made video on how to build your own Watt Balance out of Lego. https://www.nist.gov/si-redefinition/nist-do-it-yourself-kibble-balance-made-lego-bricks

India Today

  • The English language media channel India Today begins its website kilogram story with the phrase "It's official" followed by "The wait is finally over!" as if it was announcing national independence or some other widely understood and anticipated happening. I guess this is one approach: just act like your audience knows that the event is important and go from there. The site does help readers a bit by breaking up the pie charts, facts, and text with headers that pose straightforward questions like "Why is the kilogram redefined?," "How was it defined before?," and "How will it be defined now?"

CBC

  • After laughing at India Today, I found it humbling to see those words, "It’s official," atop our national broadcaster’s report. CBC just reposted an Associated Press (AP) wire story with no attention to the Canadian angle; Fox News did the same. The AP story adds a bit to public communications with phrases like "the heir and the spares" to refer to Le Grand K and its duplicates and "Future-proofed" to describe confidence in the new system. Resonating with the development of GPS systems, a quoted researcher calls the new kilogram a "springboard … to … pursue those things that we don't know."

Smithsonian Magazine

  • Smithsonian Magazine presents an exhaustive description of the history of precision measurement noting that it even had a featured place in the Magna Carta and has involved many great scientists and institutions. Its description includes special reference to the Canadian effort. The Smithsonian noted that in order to redefine the kilogram, the scientific community had to perform at least three experiments that calculated Planck’s Constant to an uncertainty of no more than 50 parts per billion. In a photo caption, it mentions in passing that Canada’s NRC team performed this feat to "within an uncertainty of 9 parts per billion."

The New York Times

  • The New York Times covered the story in a similar way with detail on the science, the importance of standards, and the role of the new kilogram in the process of "democratization." In this, the paper viewed the use of a universal constant and the severing of ties with an artefact as freedom. Very American. As a Canadian, I was heartened by the venerable paper’s reference to NRC’s role and its purchase of the NPL’s Kibble Balance in 2008. It quoted Dr. Kibble’s widow Anne, another scientist, saying that her late husband "would have been so very, very happy."

The Economist

  • I like The Economist’s semi-subjective, but fact-filled style. In the kilogram report, it applied this approach in recounting measurement history from the days when grains of wheat defined mass. The article did not pay too much attention to the science other than to cite the importance of the Planck Constant. Through the lens of public engagement, it stands out because of its accompanying illustration: a pudgy guy stepping from an old set of scales to one shaped like the atomic symbol. It tells those hoping "to effortlessly shed some weight before the festive season as a result of these changes will be disappointed."

Nature

  • Nature’s online report of the kilogram decision listed straightforward scientist-oriented facts. It included charts, and acknowledgement of the importance of being able to determine mass in n multiple ways, at any place or time and on any scale, without losing accuracy. Though not mentioned in this story, the Canadian angle had a high profile in some of the older reports linked to the main page. One from 2015 noted that in the long quest to establish Planck’s Constant, "the Measurement Science and Standards laboratory in Ottawa, part of Canada’s National Research Council (NRC), bought and rebuilt a watt balance originally constructed at the UK National Physical Laboratory" which constituted the "first sign of progress."

Science

  • Science, the peer-reviewed journal of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, did indeed talk about science. But it also invoked the image of Le Grand K as an aging French monarch about to be dethroned in a gathering in Versailles with allusions to a scientific revolution and its origins in the French Revolution The Science report concludes by telling readers that the French will keep Le Grand K and will periodically calibrate it as a secondary standard, calling this "a fairly dignified end for a deposed French king;" certainly a better fate than the guillotine.

Globe and Mail

  • But my favourite report on the new kilogram came from the Globe and Mail and was written by one of our country’s best science journalists, Ivan Semeniuk. I am not sure that his comparison of the link between the kilogram and the Planck Constant to "a mathematical umbilical cord" is entirely apt, but I like his effort to explain the science and the attention he gives to the Canadians involved in the project. Like others though, he stresses that for most people it will appear that nothing has really changed. Ivan says that this is "precisely the point" but adds that the system behind our daily measuring will now "stand on firmer ground."

This may be an answer for my mother-in-law. You don’t need to replace cookbooks, but the home you cook, count, and measure in will be sitting on a solid foundation.

The point relates to the importance of consistency and universal standards in measurement which I think media coverage of the new kilogram addressed convincingly. But I also saw two other themes. One was an effort to explain the necessity of ultra-accuracy in terms that most people could appreciate. Aside from the GPS example, I don’t think we in the science communications community did such a good job. This may be because, like GPS, the benefits of a new kilogram lie in things that have yet to be imagined.

For me, however, the importance of establishing Planck’s Constant and a new reference for mass rests in its potential as an uplifting example of international collaboration in the pursuit of reproducibility and a universal truth in the so-called "post-truth era, and, of course, the Canadian connection to this effort to build a system "for all people, for all time" is also "a beautiful thing."

Other References

Date modified:

Livres de recettes, kilos et communications

Par Dick Bourgeois-Doyle

 

« Mon Dieu, est-ce que cela veut dire que je dois acheter de nouveaux livres de recettes? »

La question posée par ma belle-mère est la preuve que j’ai mal décrit le kilogramme redéfini et son importance. Le 16 novembre 2018, à Versailles (France), des États membres de la Convention du Mètre ont voté unanimement pour changer le système de mesure mondial, notamment la définition du kilogramme, qui est la pierre de touche pour calculer la masse. Selon les experts, il s’agit du plus important changement apporté aux mesures depuis plus d’un siècle.

Mon désir de communiquer cet événement scientifique à ma famille et mes amis découle du fait que je savais que cette décision importante n’aurait pas été prise aussi rapidement sans les travaux réalisés dans les laboratoires du Conseil national de recherches du Canada (CNRC), à Ottawa.

Pendant près de 130 ans, partout dans le monde, on a fondé notre définition de la masse sur un objet physique : un cylindre brillant de platine et d’iridium conservé au Bureau international des poids et mesures, en France. Le kilogramme était défini comme ayant une masse qui correspond exactement à la masse de cette pièce de métal, appelée le « grand K ». Faire référence à un artéfact de ce genre semblait pratique au 19e siècle, lorsque le même concept était appliqué pour la longueur et le temps (si l’on considère la terre qui tourne comme un artéfact). Mais cette méthode n’était pas parfaite. Par exemple, si le cylindre de référence pour le kilogramme changeait légèrement en raison d’une micro-détérioration, de processus chimiques ou d’un éternuement errant, cela aurait une incidence sur le système de mesure à l’échelle mondiale.

Avec l’évolution de la technologie, d’autres artéfacts de mesure ont été remplacés en s’appuyant sur des constantes physiques : quantités définissables qui auraient des valeurs fixes indépendantes du temps et de l’espace. La durée est maintenant déterminée par rapport à la vitesse de la lumière, et le temps est mesuré à l’aide d’horloges qui utilisent des signaux verrouillés sur des transitions atomiques dans l’atome de césium 133.

Cependant, la quête pour remplacer le « grand K » par une constante physique s’est avérée difficile.

Grâce à la théorie d’Einstein, à savoir E=mc2, les scientifiques savent depuis longtemps que l'énergie et la masse sont étroitement liées. Toutefois, pour appliquer cette recette à la métrologie des masses, les scientifiques avaient besoin d’une valeur énergétique qui s’appliquerait dans toutes les circonstances. La norme choisie, appelée la constante de Planck, est une mesure quantique qui relie l’énergie d’un photon à sa fréquence.

Bien qu’elle soit généralement acceptée en tant que point de référence souhaité, il fut très difficile de l’établir avec suffisamment de précision pour répondre aux exigences relatives au kilogramme. La quête visant à fixer la constante de Planck est devenue un fameux projet scientifique de pointe considéré comme étant « l’une des expériences les plus difficiles au monde » dans la recherche du boson de Higgs.

Néanmoins, il y a dix ans, des scientifiques des laboratoires de métrologie du CNRC étaient inspirés à croire qu’ils pouvaient réussir avec très peu de moyens. Ils savaient que l’utilisation d’un appareil est la meilleure façon de déterminer la constante de Planck – maintenant appelée balance de Kibble en la mémoire de son créateur, Bryan Kibble, du National Physical Laboratory (NPL) du Royaume-Uni. En 2008, le NPL a abandonné ses travaux après avoir atteint une exactitude suffisante pour l’expérience de la constante de Planck; quand il a été mis au courant, le CNRC a agi rapidement afin d’acquérir la balance du NPL pour le Canada.

L’équipe du CNRC a restructuré l’expérience avec une série d’innovations qui ont donné lieu à un record mondial en matière des plus petites incertitudes liées à la détermination de la constante de Planck, ouvrant la voie à la décision de novembre à Versailles.

Tout cela est très palpitant pour le passionné des communications scientifiques en moi; toutefois, comme je l’ai appris, ce n’est pas aussi intéressant pour les personnes qui ne lisent pas de blogues comme celui-ci en prenant leur café du matin et dont les intérêts en matière de mesures sont limités aux livres de recettes, aux pèse-personnes et aux bananes à l’épicerie.

J’ai donc cherché à savoir comment les autres ont communiqué la nouvelle relative au « grand K » à leur public pour en tirer des leçons.

Wikipédia

  • Tenant compte de la nature intellectuelle des « wikipédiens » qui s’intéressent à la métrologie, l’article de Wikipédia sur le changement du kilogramme met l’accent sur l’aspect technique et ne fait qu’une très brève mention des écarts relatifs au « grand K » pour expliquer la redéfinition. Je crois que la contribution particulière de Wikipédia à la communication de la science des masses réside dans ses définitions éclair et ses liens qui vous permettent d’aller au fond des choses, en fonction de votre base de connaissances personnelles; vous risquez toutefois de vous écarter du sujet de la redéfinition ou, comme moi, vous pourriez vous aventurer sur d’autres pistes en cliquant sur une liste longue et loufoque de choses qui doivent leur nom à Max Planck.

PBS

  • J’ai apprécié le fait que PBS radio a souligné le rôle du Canada dans son article sur le kilogramme. L’article mentionne Barry Wood, un métrologiste du CNRC, qui a indiqué que la décision prise dans les années 1950 de lier la longueur à la vitesse de la lumière a pavé la voie pour le développement des systèmes de GPS. PBS utilise les encadrés latéraux sur son site Web en vue de convaincre nos amis américains que la redéfinition du kilogramme concerne également la pesée des choses en livres. Dans l’article, on dit qu’un système de mesure sans artéfact pour tout le monde, pour toujours est une chose merveilleuse, et que si jamais nous voulons communiquer avec des extra-terrestres, nous devrions probablement utiliser des constantes universelles.

BBC

  • Évidemment, la BBC concentre son rapport sur le NPL du R.-U. et ses contributions. En ce qui a trait à ses efforts pour communiquer avec le public, j’ai bien aimé la comparaison faite entre la variation de 50 parties par milliard et le poids d’un cil, probablement sans mascara. Une autre image de la BBC m’a permis de mieux comprendre le fonctionnement de la balance de Kibble. Elle compare l’appareil à un grand électro-aimant déplaçant de vieilles voitures dans un parc à ferrailles, ajustant sa force énergétique en fonction du poids spécifique d’un véhicule.

Wired

  • Wired m’a surpris avec un article non technique sur le drame humain et l’émotion entourant le nouveau kilogramme. L’auteure de l’article parle de fronts en sueur, de pièces bondées et de l’anticipation lors du vote important, mais elle mentionne également la sentimentalité et la douce affection qu’éprouvent certains scientifiques pour le « grand K » et ses copies partout dans le monde. Le physicien Patrick Abbott se souvient de la tension qu’il ressentait chaque fois qu’on lui confiait le kilogramme américain lors de voyages de vérification en France. Il l’amenait toujours avec lui lorsqu’il allait à la salle de bain et ne le perdait jamais de vue. Il a dit qu’il avait l’impression que quelqu’un lui avait remis les clés d’une Ferrari.

Vox.com

  • Vox.com, décrit comme un champion du « journalisme explicatif », a publié un article de près de 3 000 mots sur le nouveau kilogramme. L’auteur de cet article mentionne que la constante de Planck commence par un signe décimal suivi de 33 zéros avant d’aller au but. Il compare la balance de Kibble avec une machine à voyager dans le temps de l’ère victorienne stationnée dans une brasserie, et au milieu de son article scientifique, il demande aux lecteurs « Vous me suivez toujours? ». L’article Web renvoie ensuite les lecteurs à une balladoémission de 25 minutes qui démêle des questions scientifiques sous forme de dialogue et à l’aide d’observations sur l’utilité du système métrique pour mesurer le cannabis.

NIST

  • Dans son rapport sur l’événement lié au kilogramme, le National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST), un organisme du gouvernement américain, reconnaît que l’extrême exactitude fournie par le nouveau système n’aidera pas les personnes qui surveillent leur poids ou qui achètent des fruits et légumes à l’épicerie. Toutefois, le NIST indique que le changement profitera à des domaines comme les sciences judiciaires, l’industrie pharmaceutique et la physique expérimentale, et qu’il aura une incidence sur la définition de quantités comme la force et l’énergie. L’article contient de nombreuses images et plusieurs liens et graphiques. Je l’ai cependant trouvé digne de mention en raison de la vidéo amusante réalisée par le personnel sur la façon de construire votre propre balance de Watt à l’aide de blocs Lego. https://www.nist.gov/si-redefinition/nist-do-it-yourself-kibble-balance-made-lego-bricks

India Today

  • Le média de langue anglaise India Today commence son article Web sur le kilogramme en indiquant « C’est officiel. L’attente est enfin terminée! », comme s’il annonçait l’indépendance nationale ou un autre événement largement compris et attendu. Je crois que c’est un exemple d’approche : agir comme si le public sait que l’événement est important et partir de là. Le site aide un peu les lecteurs en séparant les diagrammes, les faits et le texte à l’aide de titres qui posent des questions directes comme « Pourquoi redéfinissons-nous le kilogramme? », « Comment était-il défini avant? » et « Comment sera-t-il désormais défini? ».

CBC

  • Après avoir ri de l’article paru dans India Today, j’ai été déçu de voir les mots « C’est officiel » dans le titre de l’article de notre diffuseur national. La CBC a simplement publié à nouveau un article d’un fil de presse de l’Associated Press (AP) sans tenir compte de la perspective canadienne; Fox a fait la même chose. L’article de l’AP ajoute quelques communications publiques, avec des phrases comme « l’héritier et les successeurs » pour parler du « grand K » et de ses copies, et « à l’épreuve du temps » pour décrire la confiance envers le nouveau système. En résonance avec le développement des systèmes GPS, un des chercheurs cités indique que le nouveau kilogramme est un tremplin pour les choses que nous ne connaissons pas.

Smithsonian Magazine

  • Le Smithsonian Magazine présente une description exhaustive de l’histoire de la mesure de précision, indiquant qu’elle avait même une place privilégiée dans la Magna Carta et qu’elle a joué un rôle important pour de nombreux grands scientifiques et bon nombre d’établissements. La description du magazine fait référence aux efforts du Canada. Le Smithsonian indique qu’afin de redéfinir le kilogramme, la communauté scientifique devait réaliser au moins trois expériences qui calculaient la constante de Planck en fonction d’une incertitude d’au plus 50 parties par milliard. La légende d’une des photos mentionne que l’équipe du CNRC a réalisé cet exploit avec une incertitude de 9 parties par milliard.

The New York Times

  • Le New York Times a abordé le sujet d’une façon similaire, en donnant des détails sur la science, l’importance d’avoir des normes et le rôle du nouveau kilogramme dans le processus de la « démocratisation ». À ce sujet, l’auteur de l’article voit l’utilisation d’une constante universelle et la rupture des liens avec un artéfact comme une liberté. Cela est très américain. En tant que Canadien, j’ai été touché par le fait que la vénérable publication a mentionné le rôle du CNRC et son acquisition de la balance de Kibble du NPL en 2008. L’article cite la veuve de Bryan Kibble, Anne, qui est également une scientifique, disant que son défunt mari aurait été très, très heureux de voir cela.

The Economist

  • J’aime bien le style semi-subjectif, mais rempli de données factuelles de The Economist. Dans son rapport sur le kilogramme, il a appliqué cette approche pour raconter l’histoire de la mesure, à partir de l’époque où les grains de blé définissaient la masse. L’article n’a pas beaucoup porté attention à l’aspect scientifique, sauf pour citer l’importance de la constante de Planck. Il se démarque du point de vue de la mobilisation du public, en raison de l’illustration connexe : un personnage grassouillet qui passe d’une ancienne balance à une balance qui a la forme du symbole atomique. Cela indique que les personnes espérant perdre un peu de poids sans effort avant la période des fêtes en raison de ces changements seront déçues.

Nature

  • Le rapport en ligne du journal Nature concernant la décision sur le kilogramme énumère des faits clairs axés sur les scientifiques. Il contient des graphiques, et reconnaît l’importance de pouvoir déterminer la masse de plusieurs façons, à n’importe quel endroit et à n’importe quel moment et à l’aide de n’importe quelle balance sans perdre de la précision. Bien que l’article ne le mentionne pas, la perspective canadienne a eu une grande visibilité dans certains des anciens rapports liés à la page principale. Dans un article paru en 2015, on mentionne que dans la longue quête visant à établir la constante de Planck, le laboratoire sur la science des mesures et étalons à Ottawa, qui fait partie du Conseil national de recherches du Canada (CNRC), a acheté et reconstruit une balance de Watt construite à l’origine au National Physical Laboratory du R. U., ce qui constituait le premier signe de progrès.

Science

  • Science, la revue évaluée par des pairs de l’American Association for the Advancement of Science, a bel et bien parlé de science. Cependant, elle a également comparé le « grand K » à un vieux monarque français sur le point d’être détrôné lors d’un regroupement à Versailles, en faisant référence à une révolution scientifique et à son origine dans la Révolution française. La conclusion du rapport publié dans Science indique aux lecteurs que les Français garderont le « grand K » et qu’ils effectueront régulièrement une calibration en vue de l’utiliser comme une norme secondaire, qualifiant qu’il s’agit d’une fin passablement digne pour un roi français détrôné. Il s’agit certainement d’un meilleur sort que la guillotine.

Globe and Mail

  • Mon rapport préféré sur le nouveau kilogramme a été publié dans le Globe and Mail, et a été rédigé par l’un des meilleurs journalistes scientifiques du Canada, Ivan Semeniuk. Je ne sais pas si le fait qu’il compare le lien entre le kilogramme et la constante de Planck à un cordon ombilical mathématique est tout à fait judicieux, mais j’aime bien ses efforts pour expliquer la science et l’attention qu’il accorde aux Canadiens participant au projet. Toutefois, comme les autres, il souligne que la plupart des gens auront l’impression que rien n’a vraiment changé. Ivan dit que c’est justement l’objectif, mais il ajoute que le système lié aux mesures quotidiennes reposera maintenant sur un foncement plus solide.

Cela pourrait être une réponse pour ma belle-mère. Il ne sera pas nécessaire de remplacer les livres de recettes, mais la maison dans laquelle on cuisine, compte et mesure sera bâtie sur une base solide.

Cet aspect concerne l’importance de l’uniformité et des normes universelles dans la mesure, et je crois que la couverture médiatique sur le nouveau kilogramme a traité de cette question de façon convaincante. J’ai également constaté deux autres thèmes. Un de ces thèmes était un effort pour expliquer la nécessité d’une précision extrême à l’aide de termes que la plupart des gens pourraient comprendre. Mis à part l’exemple des systèmes GPS, je ne crois pas que la communauté des communications scientifiques a fait un très bon travail. Cela est peut-être dû au fait que, comme pour les GPS, les avantages d’un nouveau kilogramme sont liés à des choses qui n’ont pas encore été inventées.

Toutefois, pour moi, l’importance d’établir une constante de Planck et une nouvelle référence pour la masse est liée à son potentiel en tant qu’exemple inspirant de la collaboration internationale dans la poursuite de la reproductibilité et en tant que vérité universelle dans cette soi-disant ère de la postvérité. Évidemment, le lien canadien avec ces efforts visant à créer un système pour tout le monde, pour toujours est également une chose merveilleuse.

Autres références

Date de modification :