Of Great Service


Coming to a theatre near you: New documentary film “Of Great Service” celebrates the NRU reactor and its historical role as one of Canada’s most important scientific and research facilities.


Canadian Nuclear Laboratories (CNL), Canada’s premier nuclear science and technology organization, is pleased to present a new documentary entitled “Of Great Service: The Story of National Research Universal.” Produced by SandBay Entertainment, an award-winning Canadian production company, the documentary celebrates and memorializes the contributions of the NRU reactor, through the stories and memories of those who worked within it. Filmed at CNL’s Chalk River Laboratories campus, the film examines the history of the NRU and its role as one of Canada’s most important scientific and research facilities.

One of the largest research reactors in the world, NRU was a landmark achievement in Canadian nuclear science and technology when it went into service on November 3, 1957 on the banks of the Ottawa River in Chalk River, Ontario. For over 60 years, the reactor served Canadians as a supplier of industrial and medical radioisotopes used for the diagnosis and treatment of life-threatening diseases, as a major Canadian facility for neutron physics research, and to provide engineering research and development support for Canada’s fleet of nuclear power reactors.

NRU was also the workplace of Canadian physicist Dr. Bertram Brockhouse, who won the Nobel Prize in Physics in 1994. Using a technique known as ‘neutron scattering’ to explore materials, Dr. Brockhouse invented a new, highly sophisticated neutron instrument known as a triple axis spectrometer, which is now standard equipment at every neutron laboratory throughout the world. For its many achievements, NRU was recognized as a nuclear historic landmark by the American Nuclear Society in 1986.

Looking to the future, the NRU continues to add value to the global nuclear research community. Analyses of materials samples from the reactor and its components, as well as investigations of materials irradiated during the final year of operation, will continue for many years, complementing the unique capabilities of CNL’s recently launched Centre for Reactor Sustainability. The Centre for Reactor Sustainability is one of several new initiatives underway across CNL which apply the unique capabilities and scientific expertise resident within CNL to deliver important contributions in clean energy, safety and security, healthcare and reactor operations.


Date modified:

Un service extraordinaire


À venir au théâtre près de chez vous : Le nouveau film documentaire «Of Great Service» célèbre le réacteur NRU et son rôle historique en tant qu’une des plus importantes installations scientifiques et de recherche du Canada.


Les Laboratoires Nucléaires Canadiens (LNC), principale organisation canadienne de science et technologie nucléaire du Canada, sont heureux d’annoncer qu’ils présenteront un nouveau documentaire intitulé : « Of Great Service: The Story of National Research Universal ». Produit par SandBay Entertainment, une compagnie de production canadienne primée, le documentaire célèbre et commémore les contributions du réacteur national de recherche universel, le réacteur NRU, à travers les histoires et souvenirs de ceux qui ont travaillé en son sein. Filmé sur le campus des laboratoires de Chalk River, il examine l’histoire du NRU et son rôle à titre d’une des plus importantes installations scientifiques et de recherche du Canada.

Le NRU est l’un des plus importants réacteurs de recherche au monde. Sa mise en service, le 3 novembre 1957, sur les rives de la rivière des Outaouais à Deep River, en Ontario, fut un tournant historique pour les sciences et les technologies nucléaires au Canada. Pendant plus de 60 ans, le réacteur a servi de fournisseur de radio-isotopes médicaux et industriels utilisés pour le diagnostic et le traitement de maladies potentiellement mortelles, et fut une installation canadienne majeure pour la recherche en physique neutronique, en fournissant un soutien à la recherche et au développement en ingénierie pour le parc de réacteurs nucléaires du Canada.

Le réacteur NRU a également été le lieu de travail du physicien canadien Bertram Brockhouse, qui a remporté le prix Nobel de physique en 1994. Utilisant la technique de la « diffusion neutronique » comme outil d’exploration des matériaux, Bertram Brockhouse a inventé un nouvel instrument neutronique de haute technicité communément appelé spectromètre à trois axes, un instrument qui est maintenant la norme dans tous les laboratoires de neutrons du monde. Pour toutes réalisations du réacteur NRU, l’American Nuclear Society l’a reconnu en 1986 en tant qu’élément nucléaire historique.

Tournés vers l’avenir, les LNC continuent d’ajouter de la valeur à la communauté mondiale de la recherche en nucléaire. L’analyse des échantillons de matières prélevés du réacteur et de ses composants, ainsi que l’examen des matières irradiées durant la dernière année d’exploitation du réacteur, continueront d’être effectués pendant de nombreuses années, en complément des capacités uniques du tout nouveau Centre pour la durabilité des réacteurs. Le Centre est l’une des multiples initiatives en cours aux LNC qui mettent en application les capacités et l’expertise uniques que détiennent les LNC pour faire d’importantes contributions dans les domaines des énergies propres, de la sûreté et de la sécurité, des soins de santé et des opérations des réacteurs.


Date de modification :