Ocean S&T Spotlight - April 2019

CIOOS

Fisheries and Oceans Canada (DFO), in partnership with the Marine Environmental Observation Prediction and Response Network (MEOPAR), is spearheading the development of a Canadian Integrated Ocean Observation System (CIOOS) that brings together and leverages existing Canadian and international ocean observation data into a national data system. CIOOS will improve coordination and collaboration among data producers, ensure data and metadata interoperability, improve access to existing information, and enable discovery and reuse of data.

Three regional associations (RAs) have been established: Pacific, St. Lawrence, and Atlantic. The RAs will collaborate with regional data providers and users to ensure interoperable data management and dissemination, and are currently developing regional websites for region-specific data access. The national web platform will be the central access point to all Canadian data, where visualization tools will allow data discovery as well as redirection to regional portals.

As a community initiative, CIOOS encourages your participation in all of the future steps of its development. As such, we encourage you to get in touch with your regional contacts and watch out for upcoming CIOOS workshops. Feel free to contact us if you have any questions, follow us on Twitter @cioos_siooc and subscribe to our mailing list to stay in the loop.


Research Vessel Needs in Atlantic Canada

The Marine Environmental Observation, Prediction and Response Network (MEOPAR) released a report outlining a serious gap between the amount of time researchers need to spend at sea performing valuable offshore research and the availability of suitable vessels. Canada’s research vessel capacity is suffering from a rapidly aging and overextended fleet, with already-limited ship time reduced further as vessel are retired. While a program to replace the aging fleet exists, it is not expected to result in an increased capacity or days at sea for researchers and their students. The report on the “Assessment of Needs and Opportunities for Research Vessel Use in Atlantic Canada” identifies a major problem affecting Canada’s government, universities, private sector and NGOs alike. The report also highlights that the problems are not unsurmountable and suggests practical ways to move forward, which will require cooperation and willingness to do things differently. MEOPAR is working with a broad range of stakeholders to develop a national action plan to address the issue of research vessel capacity in Canada. If you have any feedback on the report and/or are interested in joining the national action plan effort, please contact Rodrigo Menafra.


Upcoming Ocean-Related Events

Find out more about what is going on! Visit the ORCA Platform and follow us on Twitter @CanOceanSci



Document navigation

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Les sciences océaniques en vedette! - avril 2019

SIOOC

Pêches et Océans Canada (MPO), en partenariat avec le Marine Environmental Observation Prediction and Response Network (MEOPAR), dirigent l’élaboration d’un Système intégré d’observation des océans du Canada (SIOOC), un système national de données qui centralise et valorise les données canadiennes et internationales d’observation des océans. Le SIOOC améliorera la coordination et la collaboration entre les producteurs de données, assurera l’interopérabilité des données et des métadonnées, améliorera l’accès aux informations existantes et permettra la découverte et la réutilisation des données.

Trois associations régionales ont été créées : Pacifique, Saint-Laurent et Atlantique. Les associations régionales collaboreront avec les fournisseurs et les utilisateurs régionaux de données afin d’assurer la gestion et la diffusion des données interopérables. Ces associations mettent actuellement en place leurs sites web respectifs afin de permettre l’accès aux données spécifiques de chaque région. La plateforme web nationale centralisera l’ensemble des données canadiennes, où des outils de visualisation permettront la découverte de données et la redirection vers les portails régionaux.

L’équipe du SIOOC encourage votre participation à toutes les étapes futures de son développement. C’est pourquoi nous vous encourageons à communiquer avec les contacts régionaux et à vous tenir au courant des prochains ateliers du SIOOC. N’hésitez pas à communiquer avec nous si vous avez des questions, à nous suivre sur Twitter @cioos_siooc et à vous inscrire à notre liste de diffusion pour rester au courant.


Besoins des navires de recherche au Canada atlantique

Le Marine Environmental Observation Prediction and Response Network (MEOPAR) a publié un rapport soulignant l’écart important entre le temps requis par les chercheurs pour effectuer de recherches en mer et la disponibilité de navires appropriés. La capacité des navires de recherche du Canada est affectée par le vieillissement rapide et la surexploitation de la flotte, dont le temps d’utilisation déjà limité est encore réduit à mesure que les navires sont mis hors service. Même s’il existe un programme de remplacement de la flotte vieillissante, on ne prévoit pas que ce dernier puisse entraîner une augmentation de la capacité ou du nombre de jours en mer pour les chercheurs et leurs étudiants. Le rapport intitulé « Assessment of Needs and Opportunities for Research Vessel Use in Atlantic Canada » définit un problème majeur touchant le gouvernement, les universités, le secteur privé et les organismes non gouvernementaux au Canada. Le rapport souligne également que les problèmes ne sont pas insurmontables, et suggère des moyens pratiques pour aller de l’avant, ce qui exigera de la coopération et la volonté de faire les choses différemment. Le MEOPAR travaille avec un large éventail d’intervenants afin d’élaborer un plan d’action national visant à régler la question de la capacité des navires de recherche au Canada. Si vous avez des commentaires sur le rapport ou si vous souhaitez vous joindre à l’effort concernant un plan d’action national, veuillez communiquer avec Rodrigo Menafra.


Évènements liés aux océans

Découvrez davantage! Visitez le Plateforme de l’AROC et suivez nous sur Twitter à @CanOceanSci



Document navigation

Date de modification :