Language selection

Search

Nathan Gillett - Observed Changes, Research Scientist

Transcript: Nathan Gillett - Observed Changes, Research Scientist

[Music up]

NATHAN GILLETT (Research Scientist): When I was a child, I was first interested in the weather because I lived in the U.K., sometimes it would snow and when it snowed, I got to stay home and play in the snow instead of going to school, so I started recording the weather in my garden. That first got me interested in the weather.

NATHAN GILLETT (Research Scientist): As I got a bit older, I learned about climate change; I started to be interested in the climate and so then I decided that more than just day-to-day variations in the weather, I was interested in learning what was driving long-term climate change and could we learn more about it; could we solve it?

NATHAN GILLETT (Research Scientist): Everyone can take action to reduce climate change. One of the conclusions in this report is that climate change is determined by global emissions; by everybody’s emissions. And what that means is that everyone can play a part in reducing emissions, every country and every individual. Driving less, burning less fossil fuel, these are the kinds of things that everyone can do to reduce their impact on the climate.

[Canada wordmark]

[Music ends]


Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Nathan Gillett - Changements observés, Chercheur scientifique

Transcription: Nathan Gillett - Changements observés, Chercheur scientifique

[Fondu musical]

NATHAN GILLETT (chercheur scientifique) : Lorsque j’étais enfant, j’ai commencé à m’intéresser à la météo parce que je vivais au Royaume-Uni, parfois il neigeait et quand cela se produisait, je restais à la maison au lieu d’aller à l’école. J’ai commencé à prendre des notes sur la météo dans mon jardin. C’est là qu’est né mon intérêt pour la météorologie.

NATHAN GILLETT (chercheur scientifique) : En grandissant, j’ai découvert les changements climatiques; j’ai commencé à m’intéresser au climat à ce moment et, au-delà des variations quotidiennes, je voulais apprendre ce qui causait les changements climatiques à long terme et si nous pouvions en savoir plus à ce sujet; pouvons-nous résoudre ce problème?

NATHAN GILLETT (chercheur scientifique) : Tout le monde peut agir pour freiner les changements climatiques. Une des conclusions dans ce rapport indique que les changements climatiques sont déterminés par les émissions mondiales, nos émissions à tous. Cela signifie que nous pouvons tous jouer un rôle dans la réduction des émissions. Par exemple, chaque pays et chaque personne pourraient conduire moins souvent ou brûler moins de combustibles fossiles; c’est le genre de choses que nous pouvons tous faire pour réduire notre incidence sur le climat.

[Mot-symbole Canada]

[Fin de la musique]


Date de modification :