Candida auris: fungal foes

When you are sick with an infection caused by bacteria, like strep throat, your doctor may prescribe antibiotics to help you feel better. For viral infections, like the flu, antiviral medications can also be helpful. These kinds of medications are called antimicrobials, because they help people recover from infection-causing microbes.

But, did you know there is another kind of microbe that can cause illnesses? Fungi like molds and yeasts can cause a wide range of infections, from athlete’s foot to serious bloodstream infections. Most of these fungal infections can be treated with antifungals, but just like some bacteria, it seems some fungi are growing resistant to the medicines meant to kill them.

Resistance to Antimicrobials

At a specialized research lab at the National Microbiology Laboratory (NML) in Winnipeg, Public Health Agency of Canada (PHAC) scientists are studying a very tricky fungus called Candida auris (C. auris). Unlike most other fungi in the Candida family, C. auris can be multidrug resistant, which means it can be unaffected by at least two types of antifungals. This is a big concern because, for now, there are only three types of antifungal medications in use.

C. auris can be difficult to identify and it requires specialized testing to confirm its presence. It is most harmful to people with already-compromised immune systems, such as patients undergoing treatment for cancer or blood disorders. On top of this, C. auris tends to survive in hospital environments, which puts the most at-risk people in higher danger of contracting it.

C. auris in Canada

Since 2012, there have been 21 known cases of C. auris in Canada. Many of these cases, however, were travel-related and did not originate within the country. While Canada has had very few cases of C. auris when compared to other countries, reports of the fungus have been increasing significantly around the world over the last five years. Dr. Amrita Bharat is a scientist at the NML researching the tricky fungus. “At this moment, Canadian hospitals seem to be protected, so it is imperative to continue developing methods of finding and treating Candida auris before more cases appear,” says Dr. Bharat.

To improve diagnosis of C. auris infections, researchers at the NML are working with Canadian hospitals on methods to accurately and quickly identify the fungus.

“We want to give healthcare professionals the tools to diagnose infections on-site and minimize the potential for infection among at-risk patients,” said Dr. Bharat. “The goal is to help the country be better prepared for an outbreak, if one occurs.”

PHAC leads two networks that facilitate communication about C. auris among federal, provincial and territorial labs, as well as healthcare facilities. The Canadian Nosocomial Infection Surveillance Program (CNISP) monitors healthcare-related illnesses, offering hospitals the opportunity to connect with each other. The Canadian Public Health Laboratory Network (CPHLN) provides the same opportunity to federal, provincial and territorial laboratories.

With these two programs, PHAC is facilitating conversations that help prepare for C. auris so that scientists can better find the source and prevent further spread of any new cases. PHAC’s proactive approach is essential to keeping Canadians protected from this emerging pathogen.

“The best way to prevent Candida auris infections is to be aware and be prepared,” says Dr. Bharat. “For healthcare providers, this means having a plan in place. For patients, this means thorough handwashing and letting your doctor know if you have been hospitalized outside of the country.”


Date modified:

Candida auris : ennemi fongique

Quand vous avez contracté une infection causée par une bactérie, comme le streptocoque, il se peut que votre médecin vous prescrive des antibiotiques pour vous aider à guérir. Quand il s’agit d’une infection virale, comme la grippe, les médicaments antiviraux peuvent aussi être utiles. Ces types de médicaments s’appellent des antimicrobiens, parce qu’ils aident les gens à se rétablir d’infections causées par des microbes.

Or, saviez-vous qu’il existe un autre type de microbe qui peut rendre malade? Les champignons comme les moisissures et les levures peuvent causer toutes sortes d’infections allant du pied d’athlète à de graves infections du sang. La plupart de ces infections fongiques peuvent être traitées à l’aide d’antifongiques, mais comme c’est le cas de certaines bactéries, il semblerait que certains champignons deviennent résistants aux médicaments qui visent à les tuer.

Résistance aux antimicrobiens

Dans un laboratoire de recherche spécialisé du Laboratoire national de microbiologie (LNM) à Winnipeg, des scientifiques de l’Agence de la santé publique du Canada (ASPC) étudient un champignon très sournois appelé Candida auris (C. auris). Contrairement à la majorité des champignons de la famille Candida, C. auris peut être multirésistant, c’est-à-dire qu’au moins deux types d’antifongiques n’ont aucun effet sur lui. C’est inquiétant parce que, pour le moment, seulement trois types de médicaments antifongiques sont utilisés.

C. auris peut être difficile à identifier et il faut procéder à des tests spécialisés pour confirmer sa présence. Il est surtout nocif pour les personnes dont le système immunitaire est déjà affaibli, comme les patients qui suivent un traitement contre le cancer ou des troubles sanguins. Pire encore, C. auris a tendance à survivre en milieu hospitalier, ce qui expose les personnes les plus vulnérables à un risque accru d’en être infecté.

C. auris au Canada

Depuis 2012, il y a eu 21 cas connus de C. auris au Canada. Plusieurs de ces cas étaient cependant associés à des voyages et n’ont pas pris naissance ici. Bien que le nombre de cas au Canada soit très peu élevé par rapport à d’autres pays, les signalements de ce champignon ont augmenté de beaucoup partout dans le monde au cours des cinq dernières années. Amrita Bharat (Ph. D.) est une scientifique du LNM qui étudie ce champignon traître. « À l’heure actuelle, les hôpitaux canadiens ont l’air d’être protégés. Il est donc impératif de continuer à créer des méthodes de détection et de traitement de Candida auris avant l’apparition d’autres cas », indique Mme Bharat.

Pour améliorer le diagnostic des infections à C. auris, les chercheurs du LNM collaborent avec les hôpitaux du Canada à l’élaboration de méthodes permettant de détecter le champignon avec précision et rapidité.

« Nous voulons donner aux professionnels de la santé les outils nécessaires pour diagnostiquer les infections sur place et réduire au maximum le risque d’infection chez les patients vulnérables. », souligne Mme Bharat. « L’objectif est d’aider le pays à être mieux préparé si jamais une éclosion survenait. »

L’ASPC est à la tête de deux réseaux qui facilite les communications au sujet de C. auris entre les laboratoires fédéraux, provinciaux et territoriaux et les établissements de soins de santé. Le Programme canadien de surveillance des infections nosocomiales (PCSIN) fait le suivi des maladies liées aux soins de santé et donne aux hôpitaux la possibilité de communiquer les uns avec les autres. Le Réseau des laboratoires de santé publique du Canada (CPHLN) offre aux laboratoires fédéraux, provinciaux et territoriaux la possibilité de faire de même.

Grâce à ces deux programmes, l’ASPC favorise les conversations sur les moyens de se préparer à C. auris afin que les scientifiques puissent mieux trouver la source et prévenir la prolifération des nouveaux cas. L’approche en amont de l’ASPC est essentielle pour protéger les Canadiens contre cet agent pathogène émergent.

« Le meilleur moyen de prévenir les infections à Candida auris est d’être aux aguets et d’être prêts », ajoute Mme Bharat. « Pour les professionnels de la santé, cela veut dire mettre en place un plan. Pour les patients, cela veut dire bien laver leurs mains et informer leur médecin s’ils ont été hospitalisés à l’étranger. »


Date de modification :