Tri-Agency Grants Management Solution (TGMS) Initiative

The three federal granting agencies, the Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR), the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council (NSERC), and the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council (SSHRC), have embarked on an initiative to modernize their grants management system to better support applicants, administrators and reviewers during the grants management lifecycle. Upon completion, a more harmonized and integrated approach will provide the research community and agency staff with a more efficient and user-friendly experience.

WHY IS A NEW SOLUTION NEEDED?


The agencies’ existing grants management operate on dated technology and are limited in their ability to adapt to the changing needs of both the research community and the agencies themselves.

  • The current systems are complex and not well integrated, administratively burdensome and time-consuming to use, resulting in unsatisfactory user experience and inefficient processes.
  • The technology that they are built on is out-of-date and is increasingly challenging to maintain and evolve. This rigidity impedes responsiveness to a changing research landscape and limits the ability of the agencies to collaborate on innovative programs.
  • The data architecture is not well structured and too many unnecessary data fields create inefficiencies and impede data sharing and analysis. This approach to data makes it difficult to reuse information and analyze funded research.

WHAT WILL A NEW GRANTS MANAGEMENT SYSTEM ACCOMPLISH?


The TGMS Initiative will procure a user-centric solution to support the grants management lifecycle (i.e., from program design to end-of-grant reporting, which includes the function currently provided by the Canadian Common CV) to achieve the following business outcomes:

  • Improved user experience for the research community and Tri-agency staff
  • Improved effectiveness and collaboration
  • Increased ability to acquire high-quality data and report on the research result
  • Reduced risk of aging technologies, providing a strong foundation for the future

HOW CAN YOU BE INVOLVED?


As the initiative unfolds, we will consult early and often, through co-creation and co-design activities. You will be asked to participate in various engagement activities to define business needs, help guide change management activities, participate in client experience activities and prototyping.

If you would like to participate in our upcoming activities, please complete a short survey: https://bit.ly/2ZaMDQL

For more information, please email TGMS-SGSTO@cihr-irsc.gc.ca

Date modified:

Initiative Solution de gestion des subventions des trois organismes (SGSTO)

Les trois organismes subventionnaires fédéraux, à savoir le Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines (CRSH), le Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie (CRSNG) et les Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada (IRSC), ont lancé une initiative visant à moderniser leur système de gestion des subventions pour mieux appuyer les candidats, les administrateurs et les évaluateurs pendant le cycle de gestion des subventions. Grâce à cette initiative, le milieu de la recherche et le personnel des organismes bénéficieront d’une méthode plus harmonieuse et intégrée et d’une expérience plus efficace et conviviale.

POURQUOI UNE NOUVELLE SOLUTION EST-ELLE NÉCESSAIRE?


La gestion des subventions assurée présentement par les organismes repose sur une technologie désuète et mal adaptée aux besoins changeants du milieu de la recherche et des organismes eux-mêmes.

  • Les systèmes actuels sont complexes, mal intégrés, lourds sur le plan administratif et chronophages. L’expérience utilisateur est donc insatisfaisante, et les processus, inefficaces.
  • La technologie sur laquelle ils sont construits est désuète. En outre, il est de plus en plus difficile de maintenir et d’améliorer cette technologie. Cette rigidité entrave la réceptivité des organismes à l’évolution du paysage de la recherche et limite leurs possibilités de collaboration à des programmes innovateurs.
  • L’architecture des données n’est pas bien structurée, et il y a trop de champs de données inutiles qui créent des inefficacités et entravent la transmission et l’analyse des données. Cette approche en matière de données rend difficiles la réutilisation de l’information et l’analyse de la recherche financée.

QU’EST-CE QU’UN NOUVEAU SYSTÈME DE GESTION DES SUBVENTIONS ACCOMPLIRA?


L’initiative SGSTO fournira une solution axée sur l’utilisateur pour appuyer le cycle de vie de la gestion des subventions (c.-à-d. de la conception du programme à la production des rapports de fin de subvention, ce qui comprend la fonction actuellement fournie par le CV commun canadien) afin d’atteindre les résultats opérationnels suivants :

  • l’amélioration de l’expérience utilisateur pour le milieu de la recherche et le personnel des trois organismes;
  • l’amélioration de l’efficacité et de la collaboration;
  • l’amélioration de la capacité à obtenir des données de qualité et à faire rapport des résultats de recherche;
  • la réduction du risque lié au vieillissement des technologies, afin de poser une base solide pour l’avenir.

COMMENT POUVEZ-VOUS JOUER UN RÔLE?


Tout au long de l’initiative, nous consulterons tôt et régulièrement dans le cadre d’activités de cocréation et de coconception. Vous serez invité à prendre part à des activités consultatives pour définir les besoins opérationnels et orienter les activités de gestion du changement, ainsi qu’à participer aux essais de l’expérience client et au prototypage.

Si vous souhaitez participer à nos prochaines activités, veuillez remplir un court sondage : https://bit.ly/2ZaMDQL

Pour en savoir plus, veuillez envoyer un courriel à TGMS-SGSTO@cihr-irsc.gc.ca

Date de modification :