A woman in physics: Exploring science to find your way

Marilyn Tremblay, head of the National Calibration Reference Centre for Bioassay and In Vivo Monitoring at Health Canada’s Human Monitoring Laboratory, became interested in science in CEGEP when she enrolled in the Physical Technology Technician program, specializing in photonics. “I’ve always loved the manual part of science, but I also wanted to understand the theory,” explained Marilyn. “I immediately got the hang of it.”

Originally from Quebec City, Marilyn saw many opportunities in photonics, the science of light, since she was right in the centre of Cité de l’Optique. Following an interlude in Calgary, Alberta, she was admitted to the University of Quebec at Trois-Rivières in physics to further diversify her knowledge.

“During the last summer of my studies, I worked for Calian, a company offering professional services in the fields of health, IT, training, engineering and manufacturing, at the Kingston Military Electronics School,” said Marilyn. “I stayed there for five years to teach the Performance-Based Electronics training course while completing my bachelor’s degree by correspondence.” During this time, she had the chance to work with a SLOWPOKE, a small nuclear reactor for university research, which encouraged her to pursue a master’s degree in power and nuclear engineering at École Polytechnique de Montréal.

While Marilyn was completing her master’s degree, she had the opportunity to work on a research project with Health Canada’s Nuclear Emergency Preparedness and Response Division. She was at the right place at the right time, because the Fukishima Daiichi accident occurred while she was there and she remained with Health Canada in the Radiation Health Assessment Division.

Her curiosity led her to perform internal dosimetry, which involves obtaining the dose caused by the accidental ingestion or inhalation of radioactive products. “Nuclear workers can use solid or liquid radioactive products, so they have to follow very strict procedures,” explained Marilyn.

The Human Monitoring Laboratory is responsible for ensuring that internal dosimetry services in Canada meet the technical and quality assurance requirements dictated by the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission. To do this, Marilyn’s team sends samples to test the capacity of these laboratories, which are located in Canadian nuclear power plants, hospitals, etc., to ensure that workers are well protected.

“It’s not routine work. We do things such as measuring the inside of the human body, computer modelling and 3D printing of anthropomorphic phantoms,” said Marilyn. “I really like trying new things to see where they will take me.”

The laboratory also includes two counting chambers with sophisticated detectors that can identify extremely small amounts of radioactive materials found in the human body. Although actual cases are rare, measurements are sometimes obtained from some members of the public. For example, Marilyn recounts the case of a man who was purifying radium in the 1940s. We don’t know exactly what happened, but he accidentally ingested some radium. Since then, he has been to the lab a few times to measure the amount of radium in his bones.

It is possible to determine the material and the amount ingested or inhaled by workers by taking dosimetry measurements. This internal dose is added to the workers’ external exposure to provide a true picture of the situation. If the doses are too high, the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission determines the recommendations and the procedures for workers to follow.

“There aren’t many women in my field. In fact, I’m the only one in my lab,” said Marilyn. “I find it interesting because men and women don’t have the same approaches; we don’t think the same way. We complement each other well.”

“I encourage girls to go into science and try all kinds of different things. Exploring is how you find out what you’re interested in. It’s hard to know until you try!” said Marilyn enthusiastically.


Let’s draw attention to the incredible work of women in science! This article is part of a month-long series celebrating women in science, from International Day of Women and Girls in Science (February 11) to International Women’s Day (March 8). For even more articles about amazing women working in science, head over to the Canadian STEM Femmes blog.


Date modified:

Femme physique : Explorer les sciences pour trouver sa voie

Marilyn Tremblay, chef du Centre national de référence pour les essais biologiques et la surveillance in vivo du Laboratoire de surveillance humaine de Santé Canada, a commencé à s’intéresser aux sciences au Cégep alors qu’elle s’est inscrite à la technique en technologie physique, spécialisation photonique. « J’ai toujours aimé la partie manuelle des sciences, mais je voulais aussi comprendre la théorie, explique Marilyn. J’ai tout de suite eu la piqûre. »

Originaire de Québec, Marilyn voyait beaucoup de débouchés en photonique, la science de la lumière, puisqu’elle se trouvait en plein centre de la Cité de l’optique. Suite à un intermède à Calgary, en Alberta, elle a été admise à l’Université du Québec à Trois-Rivières en physique, afin de diversifier davantage ses connaissances.

« Le dernier été de mes études, je suis allée travailler pour Calian, une entreprise offrant des services professionnels dans les domaines de la santé, des TI, de la formation, de l’ingénierie et de la fabrication, à l’école militaire d’électronique de Kingston, se rappelle Marilyn. J’y suis resté pendant 5 ans pour enseigner le cours d’instruction en électronique axée sur le rendement, tout en terminant mon baccalauréat par correspondance. » Pendant ce temps, elle a eu la chance de travailler avec un SLOWPOKE, un petit réacteur nucléaire de recherche universitaire, ce qui l’a encouragé à continuer vers une maitrise en génie énergétique et nucléaire à la Polytechnique de Montréal.

Le temps fait bien les choses car alors qu’elle terminait sa maitrise, Marilyn a eu l’occasion de travailler sur un projet de recherche avec la Division de la préparation et de l’intervention aux urgences nucléaires de Santé Canada. Par la suite, l’accident de Fukishima Daiichi a eu lieu et elle est restée chez Santé Canada dans la division des effets du rayonnement sur la santé.

Sa curiosité l’a mené à effectuer de la dosimétrie interne, soit obtenir la dose causée par l’ingestion ou l’inhalation accidentelle de produits radioactifs. « Les travailleurs du nucléaire peuvent travailler avec des produits radioactifs solides ou liquides et ils doivent donc respecter des procédures très strictes », explique Marilyn.

Le Laboratoire de surveillance humaine est responsable de s’assurer que les services de dosimétrie interne au Canada respectent les exigences techniques et d’assurance de la qualité dictée par la Commission canadienne de sureté nucléaire. Pour ce faire, l’équipe de Marilyn envoie des échantillons pour tester la capacité de ces laboratoires qui se trouvent entre autre dans les centrales nucléaires ou les hôpitaux Canadiens, et ainsi s’assurer que les travailleurs sont bien protégés.

« Il ne s’agit pas d’un travail routinier. On fait entre autre de la mesure dans le corps humain, de la modélisation par ordinateur, de l’impression 3D de fantômes anthropomorphiques, dit Marilyn. J’aime beaucoup essayer de nouvelles choses pour voir où elles vont me mener. »

Le Laboratoire comprend aussi deux chambres de comptage avec des détecteurs sophistiqués qui peuvent déceler d’extrêmement petites quantités de matériaux radioactifs qui se trouvent dans le corps humain. Même si les cas réels sont rares, on y effectue parfois des mesures sur certains membres du public. Par exemple, Marilyn raconte le cas d’un homme qui purifiait du radium dans les années 1940. Nous ne savons pas exactement ce qui s’est produit, mais il a accidentellement ingéré du radium. Depuis ce temps, il est venu quelque fois au laboratoire pour mesurer la quantité de radium qui se trouve dans ses os.

Suite aux mesures effectuées par les différents services de dosimétrie, il est possible de déterminer le matériau et la quantité ingérée ou inhalée par les travailleurs. Cette dose interne est ajoutée à l’exposition externe des travailleurs pour obtenir un véritable portrait de la situation. Si les doses sont trop élevées, la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire détermine les recommandations et la marche à suivre pour les travailleurs.

« Il n’y a pas beaucoup de femmes dans mon domaine. En fait, je suis la seule dans mon laboratoire, indique Marilyn. Je trouve cela intéressant car nous n’avons pas les mêmes approches que les hommes, nous ne pensons pas de la même façon. On se complète bien! »

« J’encourage les filles à se lancer en sciences et à essayer toutes sortes de différentes choses. C’est en explorant qu’on arrive à trouver ce qui nous intéresse, il est difficile de savoir avant de l’essayer! » conclu Marilyn avec enthousiasme.


Attirons l’attention sur le travail exceptionnel des femmes en sciences! Cet article fait partie d’une série d’un mois pour célébrer les femmes dans le domaine des sciences, à partir de la Journée internationale des femmes et des filles de science (11 février) jusqu’à la Journée internationale de la femme (8 mars). Pour lire encore plus d’articles sur les femmes extraordinaires qui travaillent en sciences, rendez-vous sur le blogue Les Canadiennes dans le domaine des STIM.


Date de modification :