Guidelines for the General Research Fund (NSERC and SSHRC only)

Description

A General Research Fund (GRF) is a special account opened as a trust account under the authority of the president of the post‑secondary institution (or his/her authorized delegate), into which the unspent funds of expired or terminated grants are transferred with the authorization of the granting agencies.

Institutions will be required to keep separate GRF accounts for each of the agencies, namely the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC) and the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada (SSHRC). The financial administration of the funds must also be kept separate. The funds must be administered in a centralized manner, and the institution must manage the funds meticulously. The institution must thus ensure that it has clearly stated policies and directives with respect to the management, disbursement and use of the funds. The agencies' eligibility and compliance requirements for expenditures charged to grants also apply to expenditures charged to the GRF. It is the responsibility of the person responsible for the GRF, that is, the president of the institution or his/her authorized delegate, to authorize expenditures charged to the GRF in accordance with the requirements and conditions of the grants and with the institution’s and the agencies’ policies. No other party may initiate or authorize expenditures without the president’s or his or her delegate’s written delegated authority.

Objective

The GRF is used to reinvest unspent funds from previous years in order to support research in the fields of natural sciences and engineering or social sciences and humanities, as applicable. Funds from the GRF may be used to provide small start-up grants to new professors, bridge funding to professors who are between applications, or additional funds for professors to support their research.

Transfer conditions

Transfers to the GRF are authorized by the agencies under the following conditions:

  • The amount to be transferred corresponds to the definition of a residual balance;Footnote 1
  • The institution has completed the annual reconciliation of active awards by submitting the Statements of Account (Form 300);
  • The institution has spent at least 50% of the opening balance of its GRF during the current year.

Exceptions

The unspent funds of grants in certain programs, however, are not eligible for transfer to the GRF. In this case, a reimbursement is required.

In the case of an institution that has not spent 50% of the opening balance of the GRF, new transfers are put on hold, and the institution must demonstrate a tangible need for additional funds. If no rationale is provided, a reimbursement is required.

To facilitate the annual reconciliation of the GRF, a list of all authorized transfers to the GRF for each institution as of March 31 will be displayed solely on the Grants and Scholarships Administrative Portal (GSAP). If your institution is not yet registered on the secure site, please contact Online Support.

The preliminary list of authorized transfers to the GRF is posted once a year, in mid-November.

To reflect all of the changes implemented during the fiscal year, the list of authorized transfers to the GRF is updated once a year, and the revised version is posted on GSAP in mid-May.

For example, for the GRF annual reconciliation exercise for the 2014-2015 fiscal year, the preliminary list of authorized transfers to the GRF as of March 31, 2015 will be posted on GSAP in the fall of 2015. If necessary, a revised version (final list) will be posted in the spring of 2016.

However, it should be mentioned that changes can be requested throughout the fiscal year. Please send your request by email to grf_ggsf@nserc-crsng.gc.ca.

Eligible expenses

The policies and requirements of the agencies stated in the Tri-Agency Financial Administration Guide apply at all times to the use of GRF funds.

It is the institution’s responsibility to ensure that GRF funds are used to cover eligible expenses associated with the direct costs of research and that all expenses charged to the GRF are authorized by the person responsible for the GRF or his/her authorized delegate.

Indirect or overhead costs, such as costs associated with facilities and basic utilities, the purchase and repair of office equipment, administration fees, insurance for research equipment and vehicles, and basic communication devices such as telephones and fax machines, are not eligible.

Please consult the Use of Grant Funds section in the guide to obtain additional information on eligible expenses, such as expenses associated with compensation, travel and accommodation expenses, research equipment and supplies, computers and electronic communications, dissemination of research findings, and miscellaneous services and expenses.

To promote the active use of unspent funds for various research projects, the agencies expect institutions to spend at least 50% of the GRF opening balance during the year.

Reports

Statement of Account (Form 300) and Annual GRF Reconciliation

Every year, the institution must submit to the agencies a Statement of Account (Form 300) for each GRF (NSERC and SSHRC) for the period of April 1 to March 31. The deadline to submit the Form 300 for the GRF is June 30, the same date as for the annual reconciliation of active grants.

This annual GRF reconciliation exercise allows the agencies to track incurred expenses and accumulated balances. It is also used to authorize or not authorize transfers to the GRF of the upcoming fiscal year.

Date modified:

Lignes directrices du Fonds général de recherche (CRSNG et CRSH uniquement)

Description

Un Fonds général de recherche (FGR) est un compte spécial ouvert en fiducie, sous l’autorité du président de l’établissement postsecondaire (ou de son délégué autorisé), dans lequel les fonds non dépensés des subventions échues ou cessées sont transférés avec l’autorisation des organismes subventionnaires.

L’établissement doit tenir un FGR distinct pour chaque organisme, soit le Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada (CRSNG) et le Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines du Canada (CRSH). L’administration financière de ces deux FGR doit également être distincte. Les fonds sont administrés de manière centralisée et l’établissement s’assure d’exercer une gestion financière rigoureuse des fonds. Ainsi, l’établissement s’assure d’avoir des politiques et des directives claires quant à la gestion, au déboursement et à l’utilisation des fonds. Les exigences des organismes en fait d’admissibilité et de conformité pour les dépenses imputées aux subventions régulières s’appliquent également aux dépenses imputées au FGR. Il incombe au responsable du FGR, c’est-à-dire le président de l’établissement ou son délégué autorisé, d’autoriser les dépenses imputées au FGR conformément aux exigences et aux modalités des subventions et aux politiques de l’établissement ou de l’organisme. Aucune autre partie ne peut engager ou autoriser de telles dépenses sans que le responsable ait autorisé une telle délégation par écrit.

Objectif

Le FGR sert à réinvestir les fonds non dépensés des années antérieures dans le but d’appuyer la recherche en sciences naturelles et en génie ou en sciences humaines, selon le cas. Les fonds versés au FGR peuvent servir à accorder de petites subventions de démarrage aux nouveaux professeurs, une aide de transition aux professeurs qui se trouvent entre deux demandes ou des fonds supplémentaires à l’appui des travaux de professeurs.

Conditions de transfert

Les transferts au FGR sont autorisés par les organismes aux conditions suivantes :

  • le montant à transférer correspond à la définition de solde résiduelNote de bas de page 1 ;
  • l’établissement a terminé l’exercice de rapprochement annuel des subventions actives en présentant les états des dépenses (formulaire 300);
  • l’établissement a dépensé au moins 50 % du solde d’ouverture de son FGR pendant l’année en cours.

Exceptions 

Il existe certains programmes pour lesquels les fonds non dépensés des subventions ne sont pas admissibles à être transférés au FGR. Le cas échéant, un remboursement est exigé.

Pour tout établissement qui n’a pas dépensé 50 % du solde d’ouverture du FGR, les nouveaux transferts sont mis en suspens et l’établissement doit démontrer un besoin concret de fonds supplémentaires. En l’absence de cette justification, un remboursement est exigé.

Afin de faciliter l’exercice de rapprochement annuel du FGR, une liste de tous les transferts autorisés au FGR en date du 31 mars est affichée uniquement dans le Portail d'administration des subventions et des bourses (PASB), et ce, pour chaque établissement. Si votre établissement n’est pas encore inscrit au PASB, veuillez contacter le Soutien en ligne.

La liste préliminaire des transferts autorisés au FGR est affichée une fois par année, soit à la mi-novembre.

Afin de refléter tous les changements effectués au cours de l’exercice financier, la liste des transferts autorisés au FGR est actualisée une fois par année et la version révisée est affichée dans le PASB à la mi-mai.

À titre d’exemple, pour l’exercice de rapprochement annuel du FGR de l’exercice financier 2014-2015, la liste préliminaire des transferts autorisés au FGR en date du 31 mars 2015 sera affichée dans le PASB à l’automne 2015. S’il y a lieu, une version révisée (liste définitive) sera affichée au printemps 2016.

Toutefois, il importe de mentionner que les changements continuent de s’effectuer sur demande tout au long de l’exercice financier. Il suffit d’envoyer un courriel à grf_ggsf@nserc-crsng.gc.ca.

Dépenses admissibles

Les politiques et les exigences des organismes énoncées dans le Guide d’administration financière des trois organismes s’appliquent en tout temps à l’utilisation des fonds du FGR.

Il incombe à l’établissement de s’assurer que les fonds du FGR sont utilisés pour couvrir des dépenses admissibles liées aux coûts directs de la recherche et que toute dépense imputée au FGR est autorisée par le responsable de celui-ci ou son représentant.

Les coûts indirects ou les frais généraux, tels que les coûts liés aux installations et aux services de base, les dépenses liées à l’achat et à la réparation du matériel de bureau, les frais d’administration, les primes d’assurance pour l’appareillage et les véhicules de recherche et les frais liés aux appareils de communication de base comme les téléphones et les télécopieurs, ne sont pas admissibles.

Veuillez consulter la section Utilisation des subventions du Guide afin d’obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les dépenses admissibles telles que les dépenses liées à la rémunération, les frais de déplacement et de séjour, le matériel et les fournitures de recherche, les ordinateurs et les communications électroniques, la diffusion des résultats de la recherche et les services et dépenses divers.

Afin de promouvoir une utilisation active des fonds non dépensés dans le cadre de divers projets de recherche, les organismes s’attendent à ce que l’établissement dépense au moins 50 % du solde du FGR de l’exercice précédent.

Rapports

État des dépenses (formulaire 300) et rapprochement annuel du FGR

Chaque année, l’établissement présente aux organismes l’état des dépenses (formulaire 300) de chaque FGR (CRSNG et CRSH) pour la période du 1er avril au 31 mars. La date limite de présentation du formulaire 300 du FGR est le 30 juin, soit la même date que pour le rapprochement annuel des subventions actives.

Cet exercice de rapprochement annuel du FGR permet aux organismes de faire le suivi des dépenses encourues et des soldes cumulatifs. De plus, il permet d’autoriser ou non les transferts au FGR de l’exercice financier à venir.

Date de modification :