Exercise Vulcan (Train Derailment Exercise)

What is Exercise Vulcan?

This train derailment exercise, known as Exercise Vulcan, will be held on 12-13 March, 2016, at the Justice Institute of British Columbia (JIBC) in Maple Ridge, British Columbia. Transport Canada is hosting this event in partnership with Defence Research and Development Canada’s Centre for Security Science (DRDC CSS). The main goal of the exercise is to improve Canada’s response capabilities in the event of an incident involving a train transporting flammable liquids, in particular crude oil.

Exercise Vulcan provides a unique opportunity for first responders to gain awareness and understanding of the industry resources, tactics, and techniques available to them when dealing with such incidents.The lessons learned from the exercise will be used to further the development of a training curriculum for emergency responders across Canada.

The exercise is funded through the Canadian Safety and Security Program, a federal program led by DRDC CSS, in partnership with Public Safety Canada, with in-kind contributions from participating organizations. It is one of many activities supported by the Government of Canada to improve response capabilities following the train derailment at Lac-Mégantic, Quebec.

Objectives

1

Transport Canada’s overarching objectives for Exercise Vulcan are to:

  • Increase the effectiveness of current multilevel response capacities and capabilities;
  • Support the development of a Canadian expertise on incident management and fire tactics, based on sound practices and knowledgeable, trained personnel in Canadian facilities;
  • Promote and demonstrate the importance of the Transportation of Dangerous Goods (TDG) Emergency Response Assistance Plan (ERAP) program and its associated industry response capabilities, particularly in remote communities;
  • Ensure that a timely, appropriate, safe and coordinated response exists in Canada for accidents involving the transportation of flammable liquids by rail.
  • Explore each of the possible approaches to dealing with this type of emergency response namely:
  • Non-intervention: evacuate as required, protect exposures if possible;
  • Defensive approach: control runoff, applying cooling if safe to do so, protect exposures; and
  • Offensive approach: apply foam, water spray, take direct action to extinguish fire.

Exercise Vulcan will be conducted over a period of two days. On the first day, firefighters will attend three demonstrations where they will explore various elements of a response to a train derailment involving flammable liquids. Industry instructors will provide guidance at each of the stations. On the second day, the responders will participate in a full-scale exercise simulating a train derailment, which results in a crude oil fire.

Day 1: Pre-Exercise Demonstrations

First demonstration: Participants will be faced with a simulated train derailment. They will explore how to conduct a comprehensive site assessment, which includes the following elements:

  • identify the type/contents of a railcar based on its markings and safety placards;
  • make a preliminary damage assessment from a safe distance;
  • develop a response plan in order to deal with the railcar and ensure safety of the public and first responders;
  • determine what emergency response assistance is required and make the appropriate contacts; and
  • assess the potential impact to the environment.

Second demonstration: Participants will be faced with a replicated railcar fire where they will explore the most appropriate existing strategies and tactics (offensive, defensive, non-intervention) to use when dealing with this type of fire. Elements include:

  • understanding criteria/conditions to determine when non-intervention may be the better approach as compared to defensive or offensive ;
  • what tools are in the toolbox to deal with a fire involving a rail tank car carrying a flammable liquid; and
  • understanding the dangers from heat, toxic gases and inappropriate intervention that will aggravate the situation.

Third demonstration: Participants will learn about the various industry resources – such as specialized equipment and expertise – that can be mobilized to support them during a response. There is a vast resource network available and a representative sampling will be on display.

Day 2: Exercise

During the exercise, first responders will have an opportunity to put into practice the skills and knowledge they explored during the first day by participating in a full-scale field exercise.

2

The exercise scenario is comprised of two parts.

Part 1

The first phase will feature a derailment of 11 rail tank cars, of which a number of the cars are leaking crude oil and a large fire is burning. The intention of this scenario is for the first responder to play out what they have covered in the first day with emphasis on the importance of the non-intervention approach. It is key to demonstrate why such a strategy is acceptable, for reasons of personal and public safety and the potential of making the situation worse.

Part 2

The second part will be a follow on to the first and will provide first responders with an opportunity to apply some defensive response tactics and develop/deploy expedient mitigation actions in a fire situation (e.g. tank car cooling, foam application on spilled product, extinguish brush fires and protect persons, property and environment).

Collaboration: A key element of the scenarios

The exercise will emphasize the fact that such situations are highly dynamic. Use of the wrong response approach will make the situation even worse. It cannot be overstated that any response actions on scene must be taken through the involvement of knowledgeable people with adequate resources and in an ‘organized’ manner, i.e. under the incident command structure or ICS, which a standard management hierarchy and procedures for responding to emergency situations so that responders from multiple organizations can work together more efficiently using a commonly understood approach.

Throughout the scenario, responders will be working side-by-side with experts from industry to assess the site, and determine and implement the correct response strategies and tactics. Transport Canada authorities will also participate in the role of regulatory oversight on scene as well as to provide technical guidance and support as required.

Participating Organizations

Exercise Development

  • Transport Canada
  • Defence Research and Development Canada’s Centre for Security Science (DRDC CSS)
  • Shell Canada;
  • CN Rail;
  • CP Rail;
  • Railway Association of Canada; and
  • International Safety Research (ISR).

First Responder Community

  • First responders from the Lower Mainland and Thompson-Okanagan regions of British Columbia;
  • Manitoba Office of the Fire Commissioner;
  • Ontario Office of the Fire Marshal and Emergency Management;
  • École nationale des pompiers du Québec;
  • Alberta Office of the Fire Commissioner; and
  • New Brunswick Office of the Fire Marshal.

Industry Representation

  • Shell Canada;
  • CN Rail ;
  • CP Rail;
  • Railway Association of Canada;
  • Specialized Response Solutions;
  • Quantum Murray;
  • Ram Environmental;
  • Nucor Environmental Services;
  • GHD;
  • Tervita; and
  • Emergency Response Assistance Corporation (ERAC).
Date modified:

Exercice Vulcan (Exercice de déraillement de train)

Qu'est-ce que l'Exercice VULCAN?

L'exercice de déraillement, mieux connu sous le nom d'Exercice VULCAN, se déroulera les 12 et 13 mars 2016 au Justice Institute of British Columbia (JIBC) à Maple Ridge (Colombie Britannique). Transports Canada est l'organisateur de ce déraillement en partenariat avec le Centre des sciences pour la sécurité de Recherche et développement pour la défense Canada (RDDC CSS). L'objectif principal de l'exercice est d'améliorer la capacité d'intervention du Canada en cas d'incident mettant en cause un train qui transporte des liquides inflammables, en particulier du pétrole brut.

L'Exercice VULCAN offre une occasion exceptionnelle aux premiers intervenants de prendre conscience et de comprendre les ressources, les tactiques et les techniques de l'industrie qui leur sont accessibles lorsqu'ils doivent faire face à ce genre d'incident. Les leçons tirées de l'exercice serviront à élaborer un programme de formation pour les premiers intervenants à travers tout le Canada.
L'exercice est financé par le Programme canadien pour la sûreté et sécurité, programme fédéral dirigé par RDDC CSS, en partenariat avec Sécurité publique Canada, en plus des contributions en nature des organisations participantes. C'est l'une des multiples activités appuyées par le gouvernement du Canada afin d'améliorer la capacité d'intervention à l'issue du déraillement d'un train à Lac-Mégantic (Québec).

Objectifs

1

Les objectifs primordiaux visés par Transports Canada avec l'Exercice VULCAN sont :

  • d'accroître l'efficacité des capacités actuelles d'intervention à plusieurs niveaux;
  • de favoriser l'acquisition d'une expertise canadienne dans la gestion des incidents et l'utilisation des tactiques de lutte contre les incendies, en fonction de bonnes pratiques et de personnel qualifié dans des installations canadiennes;
  • de promouvoir et de démontrer l'importance du programme de Plan d'intervention d'urgence (PIU) de la Direction générale du transport des marchandises dangereuses (TMD) ainsi que des capacités d'intervention connexes de l'industrie, en particulier dans les collectivités éloignées;
  • d'assurer une intervention en temps opportun, appropriée, sécuritaire et coordonnée dans le cadre d'incidents ferroviaires mettant en cause les liquides inflammables au Canada;
  • d'examiner chacune des démarches possibles pour faire face à ce type d'intervention d'urgence, à savoir :
  • non-intervention : évacuer les populations au besoin, protéger les personnes exposées si possible;
  • approche défensive : contenir les eaux d'extinction, procéder au refroidissement si cela ne présente pas de danger, protéger les gens contre toute exposition; et
  • approche offensive : appliquer de la mousse, un brouillard d'eau, et prendre des mesures directes pour maîtriser l'incendie.

L'Exercice VULCAN se déroulera en l'espace de deux jours. Durant la première journée, des pompiers participeront à trois démonstrations au cours desquelles ils examineront divers éléments d'une intervention face à un déraillement ferroviaire mettant en cause des liquides inflammables. Des instructeurs provenant de l'industrie fourniront des directives à chacun des postes. Durant la deuxième journée, les premiers intervenants participeront à un exercice de grande envergure simulant un déraillement ferroviaire comprenant un incendie de pétrole brut.

Journée 1 : Démonstrations préalables à l'exercice

Première démonstration : Les participants seront exposés à un déraillement simulé. Ils examineront la manière de procéder pour faire une évaluation complète des lieux, ce qui englobe les éléments suivants :

  • déterminer le type et le contenu d'un wagon-citerne en fonction des marques d'identification et des plaques de danger;
  • procéder à une évaluation préliminaire des dégâts à une distance sécuritaire;
  • élaborer un plan d'intervention pour faire face à la situation reliée au wagon-citerne et assurer la sécurité du public et des premiers intervenants;
  • déterminer l'intervention d'urgence appropriée et prendre contact avec les personnes compétentes; et
  • évaluer les répercussions possibles sur l'environnement.

Deuxième démonstration : Les participants seront exposés à un incendie simulé d'un wagon-citerne. Face à cette situation, ils vont étudier les stratégies et les tactiques actuelles qui conviennent le mieux (offensives, défensives, non-intervention) pour faire face à ce type d'incendie. Parmi ces éléments, on retrouve :

  • comprendre les critères et les conditions qui permettent de déterminer quand une non-intervention pourrait être la meilleure approche à adopter par rapport à une approche défensive ou offensive;
  • quels outils se trouvent dans la boîte à outils pour faire face à un incendie mettant en cause un wagon citerne transportant des liquides inflammables; et
  • comprendre les dangers que présentent la chaleur, les gaz toxiques et toute intervention contre-indiquée qui risque d'aggraver la situation.

Troisième démonstration : Les participants en apprendront davantage sur les diverses ressources de l'industrie - comme les équipements et l'expertise spécialisés - qui peuvent être mobilisées pour leur venir en aide au cours d'une intervention. Il existe un vaste réseau de ressources disponibles et un échantillon représentatif sera exposé.

Journée 2 : Exercice

2

Au cours de l'exercice, les premiers intervenants auront l'occasion de mettre en pratique les compétences et les connaissances qu'ils ont explorées le premier jour en participant à un exercice pratique de grande envergure. Le scénario de l'exercice comporte deux phases.

Phase 1

La première phase présentera le déraillement de 11 wagons-citernes, à partir desquels s'échappe du pétrole brut et provoquant un vaste incendie. L'objectif de ce scénario est de permettre au premier intervenant de mettre en pratique ce qu'il a appris durant la première journée en insistant sur l'importance d'une approche de non-intervention. Il est essentiel de démontrer pourquoi une telle stratégie est acceptable, en premier lieu pour des raisons de sécurité personnelle et publique, puis pour éviter d'aggraver la situation.

Phase 2

La deuxième phase constitue un suivi de la première phase et offrira aux premiers intervenants la possibilité de mettre en pratique certaines tactiques d'intervention défensives, d'élaborer et de déployer des mesures d'atténuation rapides en cas d'incendie (p. ex. refroidissement du wagon-citerne, application de mousse sur le produit déversé, extinction des feux de broussailles et protection des personnes, des biens et de l'environnement).

Collaboration : Un élément clé des scénarios

L'exercice insistera sur le fait que ces situations sont éminemment dynamiques. Le recours à la mauvaise approche d'intervention risque d'aggraver la situation. On ne saurait trop insister sur le fait que toute mesure d'intervention sur les lieux doit être prise en faisant appel à des spécialistes en la matière qui disposent des ressources nécessaires de manière « organisée », c'est-à-dire sous la structure du commandement en cas d'incident ou SCI, qui désigne une hiérarchie et des procédures normalisées de gestion pour intervenir face aux situations d'urgence de façon à ce que les premiers intervenants appartenant à des organisations multiples puissent collaborer de manière plus efficace en utilisant une démarche comprise par tous.

Durant tout le scénario, les intervenants collaboreront aux côtés d'experts de l'industrie pour évaluer les lieux et pour déterminer et mettre en œuvre les bonnes stratégies et tactiques d'intervention. Des participants de Transports Canada assumeront également le rôle de surveillants du respect des règlements sur les lieux en plus de fournir des directives techniques et un appui, le cas échéant.

Organisations participantes

Conception de l'exercice :

  • Transports Canada;
  • Centre des sciences pour la sécurité de Recherche et développement pour la défense Canada (RDDC CSS);
  • Shell Canada;
  • CN Rail;
  • CP Rail;
  • Association des chemins de fer du Canada; et
  • International Safety Research (ISR).

Communautés des premiers intervenants

  • Premiers intervenants du Lower Mainland et des régions de Thompson-Okanagan de la Colombie-Britannique;
  • Bureau du commissaire aux incendies du Manitoba;
  • Bureau du commissaire des incendies et de gestion des situations d'urgence de l'Ontario;
  • École nationale des pompiers du Québec;
  • Bureau du commissaire aux incendies de l'Alberta; et
  • Bureau du commissaire des incendies du Nouveau-Brunswick.

Représentants de l'industrie

  • Shell Canada;
  • CN Rail;
  • CP Rail;
  • Association des chemins de fer du Canada;
  • Specialized Response Solutions;
  • Quantum Murray;
  • Ram Environmental;
  • Nucor Environmental Services;
  • GHD;
  • Tervita; et
  • Assistance d'intervention d'urgence du Canada (AIUC).

Liens connexes

Date de modification :