Tri-Agency Policy on Legal Assistance and Indemnification Provisions for Volunteers Serving on External Advisory Bodies

Effective Date: April 1, 2016

Application:

This policy applies to all volunteers external to the Government of Canada and appointed by the Canadian Institutes of Health Research, the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council and the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council (the Agencies) to serve on external advisory bodies on a long-term or temporary (ad hoc) basis.

Principle:

The Agencies are ultimately responsible and accountable for any decision resulting from the advice received from volunteers and the advisory bodies on which they serve. Consequently, volunteers cannot be held liable for decisions taken by the Agencies.

Definitions:

External Advisory Body: A volunteer group consisting of individuals with a broad range of national and international subject matter expertise, knowledge and experience who act collectively in advising the Agencies in support of research excellence.

External advisory bodies include: adjudication committees, selection committees, expert panels, monitoring committees, contest juries, advisory boards, working groups, reference groups and all other advisory bodies established with volunteer members. They provide the Agencies with expert advice from individuals who have valuable knowledge, expertise, or experience. The advice may relate to scientific, technical, policy or program matters, including but not limited to peer/merit review, research ethics and the responsible conduct of research.

Policy Objective:

The objective of this policy is to define the terms under which individuals who participate in external advisory bodies for the Agencies are eligible for legal assistance and indemnification.

Policy Statement:

The Agencies undertake to provide volunteer members of their advisory bodies with legal assistance and protection against civil liability, provided the volunteer acts in good faith within the scope of the prescribed volunteer duties, does not act against the interests of the Crown and does not otherwise have available such protection.

Requirements:

A volunteer facing any claim, action, suit or proceeding brought about as a result of service to the Agencies as an advisory body member must promptly contact the advisory body's secretariat (or other appropriate agency representative) to discuss the matter. The agency will not be liable to indemnify the volunteer for payment of any legal claims or reimbursement for payment of legal assistance or legal claims unless it has consented to do so.

Date modified:

Politique des trois organismes sur les dispositions relatives aux services juridiques et à l’indemnisation pour les bénévoles siégeant à un organe consultatif externe

Date d'entrée en vigueur : 1er avril 2016

Application

La présente politique s'applique à tous les bénévoles à l'extérieur du gouvernement du Canada nommés par les Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada (IRSC), le Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada (CRSNG) et le Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines du Canada (CRSH) (les organismes) pour siéger à un organe consultatif externe sur une base temporaire (ponctuelle) ou à long terme.

Principe

Les organismes sont responsables des décisions qui découlent des conseils qu'ils ont obtenus des bénévoles et de l'organe consultatif auquel ils siègent. Par conséquent, les bénévoles ne peuvent pas être tenus responsables des décisions prises par les organismes.

Définitions

Organe consultatif externe : groupe de bénévoles composé de personnes possédant un large éventail d'expertise, de connaissances et d'expérience spécialisées à l'échelle nationale et internationale qui agissent collectivement dans le but de donner des conseils aux organismes afin d'appuyer l'excellence en recherche.

Les organes consultatifs externes comprennent notamment les comités de sélection, les groupes d'experts, les comités de surveillance, le jury d'un concours, les conseils consultatifs, les groupes de travail, les groupes de référence et tout autre organe consultatif composé de membres bénévoles. Ils fournissent aux organismes des conseils éclairés venant de personnes qui possèdent des connaissances, une expertise et une expérience précieuses. Ces conseils peuvent porter sur des questions techniques ou sur des questions relatives aux sciences, aux politiques ou aux programmes, mais ne se limitent pas aux questions relatives à l'évaluation par les pairs, à l'évaluation du mérite, à l'éthique de la recherche et à la conduite responsable de la recherche.

Objectif de la politique

La présente politique vise à définir les conditions dans lesquelles les personnes qui participent à un organe consultatif externe au nom des organismes sont admissibles à des services juridiques et à une indemnisation.

Énoncé de la politique

Les organismes s'engagent à fournir des services juridiques aux membres bénévoles de leurs organes consultatifs et à leur accorder une protection contre la responsabilité civile à condition que le membre bénévole ait agi de bonne foi, ait agi dans l'exercice de ses fonctions ou n'ait pas agi à l'encontre des intérêts de l'État et qu'il n'ait pas accès à cette protection.

Exigences de la politique

Un bénévole devant composer avec une réclamation, une action en justice, une poursuite ou une procédure intentée contre lui par suite de services rendus aux organismes à titre de membre d'un organe consultatif doit communiquer le plus tôt possible avec le secrétariat de l'organe consultatif (ou tout autre représentant approprié de l'organisme) afin de discuter de la situation. L'organisme ne sera pas tenu d'indemniser le bénévole pour le paiement de toute réclamation fondée en droit ou pour tout remboursement des frais d'aide juridique ou de réclamation fondée en droit à moins qu'il n'y ait consenti.

Date de modification :