NCP Funded Projects (2016-17)

There are 53 projects funded under the Northern Contaminants Program for the 2016-2017 year, with allocated funding support of roughly $4.1 million. These projects were subject to a comprehensive technical, peer, and northern social/cultural review process. This process ensures that each project supports the priorities and objectives of the Northern Contaminants Program, as outlined in the NCP blueprints and annual call for proposals. Consultation with northern community authorities and/or Indigenous organizations is required for all projects involving field work in the North and/or analyses of samples.

Human health
ProjectProject leaderFunding Awarded
Do country food nutrients protect against mercury toxicity and cardiometabolic diseases? Integrating data from cutting-edge science and mobilizing knowledge towards Nunavimmiut health Pierre Ayotte (Centre hospitalier universitaire de Québec Research Center) $253,288
Genetic polymorphisms to improve interpretation of contaminant exposure and risk in Inuit Niladri Basu (McGill University) $46,000
Contaminant Biomonitoring in the Northwest Territories Mackenzie Valley: Investigating the Links Between Contaminant Exposure, Nutritional Status, and Country Food Use (Year 2) Brian Laird (University of Waterloo) $368,058
Exposure to food chain contaminants in Nunavik: evaluating spatial and time trends among pregnant women & implementing effective health communication for healthy pregnancies and children Mélanie Lemire (Centre hospitalier universitaire de Québec Research Center) $359,559
Quantifying the Effect of Transient and Permanent Dietary Transitions in the North on Human Exposure to Persistent Organic Pollutants and Mercury Frank Wania (University of Toronto) and Meredith Curren (Health Canada) $33,925

Total Human Health: $1,060,830

 

Community based monitoring and research
ProjectProject leaderFunding Awarded
Mercury in Seaweed and Lichens from the Home Range of the Qamanirjuaq Caribou Mary Gamberg (Gamberg Consulting) $53,561
Enhancing community-based monitoring of ecosystem changes in the ISR through the bridging of western scientific knowledge with local and traditional ecological knowledge Vic Gillman (Fisheries Joint Management Committee) $29,750
An East Hudson Bay Network research initiative on regional metal accumulation in the marine food web Joel Heath (The Arctic Eider Society) and John Chételat (Environment and Climate Change Canada) $72,911
Community-Based Monitoring of Arctic Char in Nunatsiavut: Increasing Capacity, Building Knowledge Rodd Laing (Nunatsiavut Government), Derek Muir and Marlene Evans (Environment and Climate Change Canada) $8,786
Tlicho Aquatic Ecosystem Monitoring Program (TAEMP) Jody Pellissey (Wek’èezhìı Renewable Resources Board) $16,800
Contaminants concentrations in traditional country food from the Eclipse Sound and dietary exposure in Pond Inlet, Nunavut: Science and local knowledge assessing a short-term and local baseline of the risks to human health James Simonee, Pond Inlet $49,956
Variable fish mercury concentrations in the Dehcho: effects of catchment control and invertebrate community composition Heidi Swanson (University of Waterloo) and George Low (Dehcho First Nations) $23,978

Total Community Based Monitoring and Research: $255,742

 

Environmental monitoring and research
Project TitleProject leaderFunding Awarded
Investigation of the Toxic Effects of Mercury in Landlocked Arctic Char Niladri Basu (McGill University) $52,383
Temporal Trends of Contaminants in Arctic Seabirds Eggs Birgit Braune (Environment and Climate Change Canada) $72,445
Metabolomic consequences of elevated PCB exposure in ringed seals (Pusa hispida) in Labrador: an expanded toxicological repertoire to characterize health impacts Tanya Brown (Memorial University of Newfoundland) and John Cosgrove (AXYS Analytical Services Ltd) $24,730
Climate change, contaminants, ecotoxicology: interactions in Arctic seabirds at their southern range limits Kyle Elliot (McGill University) and Kim Fernie (Environment and Climate Change Canada) $35,090
Spatial and Long-term Trends in Persistent Organic Contaminants and Metals in Lake Trout and Burbot from the Northwest Territories Marlene Evans and Derek Muir (Environment and Climate Change Canada) $32,240
Temporal trends and spatial variations in mercury in sea-run Arctic char from Cambridge Bay, Nunavut Marlene Evans and Derek Muir (Environment and Climate Change Canada) $12,930
Arctic Caribou Contaminant Monitoring Program Mary Gamberg (Gamberg Consulting) $78,353
Northern Contaminants Air Monitoring: Organic Pollutant Measurement Hayley Hung (Environment and Climate Change Canada) $194,707
Passive Air Sampling Network for Organic Pollutants and Mercury Hayley Hung (Environment and Climate Change Canada) $32,748
Assessing Persistent Organic Pollutants in Canadian Arctic Air and Water as an Entry Point into the Arctic Food Chain Liisa Jantunen (Environment and Climate Change Canada) $29,852
Temporal and Spatial Trends of Legacy and Emerging Organic and Metal/Element Contaminants in Canadian Polar Bears Robert Letcher (Environment and Climate Change Canada) $36,580
Plastics as a vector of contaminants in Arctic seabirds Mark Mallory and Jennifer Provencher  (Acadia University) $18,678
Community based seawater monitoring for organic contaminants and mercury in the Canadian Arctic Derek Muir, Amilia DeSilva and Jane Kirk (Environment and Climate Change Canada), Rainer Lohmann (University of Rhode Island) $39,720
Temporal Trends of Persistent Organic Pollutants and Metals in Ringed Seals from the Canadian Arctic  Derek Muir and Magali Houde (Environment and Climate Change Canada) $76,680
Temporal Trends of Persistent Organic Pollutants and Mercury in Landlocked Char in the High Arctic Derek Muir and Jane Kirk (Environment and Climate Change Canada), Günter Köck  (Institute for Interdisciplinary Mountain Studies) $36,550
Air Measurements of Mercury at Alert and Little Fox Lake Alexandra Steffen (Environment and Climate Change Canada) $120,830
Long Term Trends of Halogenated Organic Contaminants and Metals in Lake Trout from Two Yukon Lakes; Kusawa and Laberge Gary Stern (University of Manitoba) $35,972
Temporal trends of mercury and halogenated organic compounds in Hendrickson Island and Sanikiluaq beluga Gary Stern (University of Manitoba) $75,913
Temporal Trend Studies of Trace Metals and Halogenated Organic Contaminants (HOCs), Including New and Emerging Persistent Compounds, in Mackenzie River Burbot, Fort Good Hope, NWT Gary Stern (University of Manitoba) $27,666
Glacier melt and soil/permafrost thaw inputs of mercury and emerging organic contaminants to a pristine high Arctic watershed in Quttinirpaaq National Park, northern Ellesmere Island, Nunavut Vincent St.Louis (University of Alberta), Derek Muir (Environment and Climate Change Canada), Igor Lehnherr (University of Toronto Mississauga), and Kyra St-Pierre (University of Alberta) $44,712
The effect of retrogressive thaw slumps on the delivery of high loads of toxic methylmercury to downstream freshwater systems in the Peel Plateau region, NT Suzanne Tank and Vincent St.Louis (University of Alberta) $11,259

TOTAL ENVIRONMENTAL MONITORING AND RESEARCH: $1,090,038

 

Communications, capacity, and outreach
Project TitleProject leaderFunding Awarded
Nunavik Inuit Research Advisor: Building Health and Environment Research Capacity in the Nunavik Region Michael Barrett (Kativik Regional Government) $35,500
Learning about ringed seal health from contaminants science and Inuit Qaujimajatuqangit: an educational workshop in Resolute, Nunavut Dominique Henri and Magali Houde (Environment and Climate Change Canada) $11,300
Nunavik Nutrition and Health Committee: Coordinating and Learning from Contaminants Research in Nunavik Elena Labranche (Nunavik Regional Board of Health and Social Services) $90,471
Nunavut Environmental Contaminants Committee Karla Letto (Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada - Iqaluit) $38,990
NCP Communications, Capacity and Outreach Products for Policy Makers and Inuvialuit Communities in the ISR Shannon O'Hara (Inuvialuit Regional Corporation) $43,700
Coordination, participation and communication: evolving Inuit Research Advisor responsibilities in Nunatsiavut for the benefit of Inuit and their communities Carla Pamak (Nunatsiavut Government) $23,750
Northwest Territories Regional Contaminants Committee Emma Pike (Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada) and Tim Heron (Northwest Territories Métis Nation) $124,200
Northern Contaminants Researcher - Nunatsiavut Liz Pijogge (Nunatsiavut Government) $48,754
Yukon Contaminants Committee and INAC Regional Office Coordination 2016-2017 Ellen Sedlack (Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada) $16,000
Wildlife Contaminants Workshop - building contaminants research capacity in Nunavut Jamal Shirley, Jason Carpenter (Nunavut Arctic College) $68,336

TOTAL COMMUNICATIONS, CAPACITY AND OUTREACH: $501,001

 

Program coordination and Aboriginal partnerships
Project TitleProject leaderFunding Awarded
Atmospheric Passive Sampling (GAPS) Network in support of Global Monitoring Plan (Effectiveness Evaluation) of the Stockholm Convention on Persistent Organic Pollutants Tom Harner (Environment and Climate Change Canada) $10,000
Coordination and Administration of the Northern Contaminants Program Sarah Kalhok (Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada) $371,500
Facilitation of International Action Related to the Long-range Transport of Contaminants into the Arctic and Canadian Support for Implementing the Arctic Monitoring and Assessment Programme Sarah Kalhok and Jason Stow(Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada), Lars-Otto Reiersen and Simon Wilson (Arctic Monitoring and Assessment Program- Secretariat)  $210,000
Support to the Canadian Cryospheric Information Network/Polar Data Catalogue Ellsworth LeDrew and Julie Friddell (University of Waterloo) $97,000
ITK National Coordination Eric Loring (Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami) $156,400
Dene Nation Participation in Northern Contaminants Program Rolland Pangowish (Dene Nation) $40,000
Northern Contaminants Interlaboratory Quality Assurance Program Eric Reiner (Ministry of the Environment and Climate Change, Ontario) and Pat Falletta (Environment and Climate Change Canada) $80,960
Inuit Circumpolar Council – Canada Activities in Support of Circumpolar and Global Contaminant Instruments and Activities Tom Sheldon (Inuit Circumpolar Council-Canada) $173,765
Council of Yukon First Nations Participation in the Northern Contaminants Program Bob Van Dijken (Council of Yukon First Nations) $61,238
NCP Publications Database Shannon Vossepoel (Arctic Institute of North America) $37,835

TOTAL PROGRAM COORDINATION AND ABORIGINAL PARTNERSHIPS: $1,238,698

 

GRAND TOTAL: $4,146,309

 

Date modified:

Projets financés du PLCN (2016-17)

Pour l'année 2016-2017, 53 projets sont financés dans le cadre du Programme de lutte contre les contaminants dans le Nord, pour un total d'environ 4,1 millions de dollars. Les propositions ont fait l’objet d’un processus exhaustif d’examen technique, par les pairs et socioculturel. Un tel processus garantit que chaque projet appuie les priorités et les objectifs du Programme de lutte contre les contaminants dans le Nord, comme on l’indique dans les plans directeurs du Programme et les appels de propositions annuels. Il est nécessaire de mener des consultations auprès des dirigeants des collectivités du Nord ou des organisations autochtones pour tous les projets prévoyant la réalisation de travaux sur le terrain dans le Nord ou l’analyse d'échantillons.

Santé humaine
Titre du projetResponsables du projetMontant de financement
Les éléments nutritifs présents dans les aliments traditionnels assurent-ils une protection contre la toxicité du mercure et les maladies cardiométaboliques? Intégration des données scientifiques de pointe et mobilisation des connaissances pour la santé des Nunavimmiut Pierre Ayotte (Centre de recherche centre hospitalier universitaire de Québec) $253,288
Polymorphismes génétiques pour améliorer l’interprétation de données sur l’exposition aux contaminants et les risques liés aux contaminants chez les Inuits Niladri Basu (Université McGill) $46,000
Biosurveillance des contaminants dans le bassin du Mackenzie aux Territoires du Nord-Ouest : étude des liens qui existent entre l’exposition aux contaminants, l’état nutritionnel et les aliments traditionnels Brian Laird (Université de Waterloo) $368,058
Exposition aux contaminants de la chaîne alimentaire au Nunavik : évaluation des tendances spatiales et temporelles parmi les femmes enceintes et mise en œuvre d’une communication efficace sur la santé pour des grossesses saines et des enfants en santé Mélanie Lemire (Centre de recherche centre hospitalier universitaire de Québec) $359,559
Quantification de l’effet des transitions alimentaires provisoires et permanentes dans le Nord sur l’exposition humaine aux polluants organiques persistants et au mercure Frank Wania, (Université de Toronto), Meredith Curren, (Santé Canada) $33,925

TOTAL SANTÉ HUMAINE : $1,060,830

 

Surveillance et recherche communautaires
Titre du projet Responsables du projet Montant de financement
Mercure dans les algues et les lichens provenant du domaine vital des caribous de Qamanirjuaq Mary Gamberg (Gamberg Consulting) $53,561
Renforcement de la surveillance communautaire des changements qui surviennent dans les écosystèmes dans la région désignée des Inuvialuit en combinant les connaissances scientifiques occidentales et les connaissances écologiques traditionnelles et locales Vic Gillman (Comité mixte de gestion des pêches) $29,750
Initiative de recherche du réseau de l’est de la baie d’Hudson sur l’accumulation de métaux dans le réseau trophique marin de la région Joel Heath( Société Des Eider de l’Arctique) et John Chételat (Environnement et changement climatique Canada) $72,911
Surveillance communautaire de l’omble chevalier au Nunatsiavut : développement des capacités et acquisition des connaissances Rodd Laing (Gouvernement de Nunatsiavut), Derek Muir et Marlene Evans (Environnement et Changement climatique Canada) $8,786
Programme de surveillance de l’écosystème aquatique des Tlichǫ (PSEAT) Jody Pellissey (Conseil des ressources renouvelables de Wek’èezhìı) $16,800
Concentrations de contaminants dans les aliments traditionnels du détroit d’Éclipse et exposition alimentaire à Pond Inlet, au Nunavut : évaluation par la science et les savoirs locaux des risques pour la santé humaine à court terme sur une base locale James Simonee (Pond Inlet) $49,956
Concentrations de mercure variables dans les poissons de la région du Dehcho : effets du contrôle des bassins versants et composition de la communauté d’invertébrés Heidi Swanson (Université de Waterloo), and George Low (Premières Nations de Dehcho) $23,978

TOTAL- SURVEILLANCE ET RECHERCHE COMMUNAUTAIRES : $255,742

 

Surveillance et recherche environmentale
Titre du projetResponsables du projetMontant de financement
Enquête sur les effets toxiques du mercure chez l’omble chevalier dulcicole Niladri Basu (Université McGill) $52,383
Tendances temporelles des concentrations de contaminants dans les œufs des oiseaux marins arctiques Birgit Braune (Environnement et Changement climatique Canada) $72,445
Conséquences métabolomiques de l’exposition élevée aux BPC chez le phoque annelé (Pusa hispida) au Labrador : répertoire toxicologique élargi pour caractériser les répercussions sur la santé Tanya Brown (Université Memorial de Terre-Neuve) and John Cosgrove (AXYS Services Analytique Ltd.) $24,730
Changements climatiques, contaminants, écotoxicologie : interactions chez les oiseaux marins de l’Arctique à leurs limites méridionales Kyle Elliot (Université McGill) et Kim Fernie (Environnement et Changement climatique Canada) $35,090
Tendances spatiales et à long terme des concentrations de contaminants organiques persistants et de métaux chez le touladi et la lotte des Territoires du Nord‑Ouest Marlene Evans et Derek Muir (Environnement et Changement climatique Canada) $32,240
Tendances temporelles et variations spatiales du mercure chez l’omble chevalier anadrome dans la région de Cambridge Bay, au Nunavut. Marlene Evans et Derek Muir (Environnement et Changement climatique Canada)  $12,930
Programme de surveillance des contaminants chez le caribou de l’Arctique Mary Gamberg (Gamberg Consulting) $78,353
Surveillance des contaminants atmosphériques dans le Nord : mesures des polluants organiques Hayley Hung (Environnement et Changement climatique Canada) $194,707
Réseau d’échantillonnage atmosphérique passif de mesure des polluants organiques et du mercure Hayley Hung (Environnement et Changement climatique Canada) $32,748
Évaluer les polluants organiques persistants dans l'air et l'eau canadiens en tant que points d'entrée dans la chaîne alimentaire dans l'Arctique Liisa M. Jantunen (Environnement et Changement climatique Canada) $29,852
Tendances temporelles et spatiales des concentrations de contaminants organiques et métalliques, traditionnels et émergents, chez les ours blancs du Canada Robert Letcher (Environnement et Changement climatique Canada) $36,580
Les plastiques comme vecteur de contaminants chez les oiseaux marins de l’Arctique Mark Mallory et Jennifer Provencher (Université Acadia) $18,678
Tendances temporelles des concentrations des polluants organiques persistants et des métaux chez le phoque annelé de l’Arctique canadien Derek Muir et Magali Houde (Environnement et Changement climatique Canada) $76,680
Surveillance communautaire de l’eau de mer aux fins de la détection des contaminants organiques et du mercure dans l’Arctique canadien Derek Muir, Amilia DeSilva, et Jane Kirk (Environnement et Changement climatique Canada), Rainer Lohmann, (Université de Rhode Island) $39,720
Tendances temporelles des concentrations de polluants organiques persistants et de mercure chez l’omble des eaux intérieures de l’Extrême‑Arctique Derek Muir et Jane Kirk (Environnement et Changement climatique Canada), Günter Köck (Institut d'études interdisciplinaires de montagne) $36,550
Mesures des concentrations atmosphériques de mercure à Alert et à Little Fox Lake Alexandra Steffen (Environnement et Changement climatique Canada) $120,830
Études des tendances temporelles des concentrations de métaux à l’état de traces et de composés organiques halogénés (COH), notamment les composés persistants nouveaux et émergents, chez la lotte du fleuve Mackenzie à Fort Good Hope dans les Territoires du Nord‑Ouest Gary Stern (Université de Manitoba) $27,666
Tendances à long terme des concentrations de contaminants organiques halogénés et de métaux chez le touladi de deux lacs du Yukon : le lac Kusawa et le lac Laberge Gary Stern (Université de Manitoba) $35,972
Tendances temporelles des concentrations de mercure et de composés organiques halogénés chez les bélugas de l’île Hendrickson, et de Sanikiluaq Gary Stern (Université du Manitoba) $75,913
Apports en mercure et en contaminants organiques émergents dus au dégel des glaciers, des sols et du pergélisol vers un bassin hydrographique vierge dans l’Extrême-Arctique, dans le parc national Quttinirpaaq, au nord de l’île d’Ellesmere, au Nunavut Vincent St.Louis (Université d’Alberta), Derek Muir (Environnement et Changement climatique Canada), Igor Lehnherr (Université de Toronto Mississauga), et Kyra St-Pierre (Université d’Alberta) $44,712
Effets du glissement régressif dû au dégel dans la diffusion de charges élevées de méthylmercure toxique dans les réseaux d’eau douce en aval dans la région du plateau Peel, dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest Suzanne Tank et Vincent St.Louis (Université d’Alberta) $11,259

TOTAL SURVEILLANCE ET RECHERCHE ENVIRONMENTALE : $1,090,038

 

Communications, renforcement des capacités et sensibilisation
Titre du projet Responsables du projet Montant de financement
Conseiller en recherche inuite au Nunavik : établissement d’une fonction de recherche sur la santé et l’environnement dans la région du Nunavik Michael Barrett (Administration régionale Kativik) $35,500
En apprendre davantage sur la santé du phoque annelé grâce à la science sur les contaminants et aux connaissances traditionnelles des Inuits (Inuits Qaujimajatuqangit) : atelier éducatif à Resolute, au Nunavut  Dominique Henri et Magali Houde (Environnement et Changement climatique Canada) $11,300
Comité de nutrition et de santé du Nunavik : coordination et apprentissage à partir de la recherche sur les contaminants au Nunavik Elena Labranche (Régie régionale de la santé et des services sociaux Nunavik) $90,471
Comité des contaminants du Nunavut  Karla Letto (Affaires Autochtones et du Nord Canada- Iqaluit) $38,990
Produits de communications, de renforcement des capacités et de sensibilisation du PLCN à l’intention des décideurs et des collectivités de la région désignée des Inuvialuit Shannon O'Hara (Société régionale inuvialuit) $43,700
Coordination, participation et communication : évolution des responsabilités du conseiller en recherche inuite du Nunatsiavut, au bénéfice des Inuits et de leurs collectivités Carla Pamak (Gouvernement de Nunatsiavut) $23,750
Comité régional des contaminants des Territoires du Nord-Ouest (CRCTNO) Emma Pike (Affaires Autochtones et du Nord Canada) et Tim Heron (Northwest Territory Metis Nation) $124,200
Chercheur spécialiste des contaminants dans le Nord (CSCN) – Nunatsiavut Liz Pijogge (Gouvernement de Nunatsiavut) $48,754
Coordination du Yukon et des bureaux régionaux d’AADNC en 2016-2017 Ellen Sedlack (Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada) $16,000
Atelier sur les contaminants des espèces sauvages  ̶  Accroître la capacité en matière de recherche sur les contaminants au Nunavut Jamal Shirley, Jason Carpenter (Institut de recherche de Nunavut) $68,336

TOTAL COMMUNICATIONS, RENFORCEMENT DES CAPACITÉS ET SENSIBILISATION : $501, 011

 

Coordination de programmes et partenariats autochtones
Titre du projetResponsables du projetMontant de financement
 Réseau d'échantillonnage atmosphérique passif (EAP) à l'appui du plan de suivi mondial (évaluation de l'efficacité) de la Convention de Stockholm sur les polluants organiques persistants Tom Harner (Environnement et Changement climatique Canada) $10,000
Coordination et administration du Programme de lutte contre les contaminants dans le Nord Sarah Kalhok (Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada) $371,500
 Facilitation de l’action internationale relative au transport à grande distance de contaminants dans l’Arctique et l'appui du Canada pour le programme de surveillance et d’évaluation de l’Arctique Sarah Kalhok et Jason Stow(Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada), Lars-Otto Reiersen et Simon Wilson (Programme de surveillance et d’évaluation de l’Arctique (PSEA) secrétariat)  $210,000
Soutien au Réseau canadien d'information sur la cryosphère / Catalogue de données polaire Ellsworth LeDrew et Julie Friddell (Université de Waterloo) $97,000
Coordination nationale d’Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami Eric Loring (Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami) $156,400
Participation de la Nation dénée au Programme de lutte contre les contaminants dans le Nord Rolland Pangowish (Nation dénée) $40,000
Programme Assurance Qualité Interlaboratoire du PLCN Eric Reiner (Ministère d’Environnement et de l’Action en matière de changement climatique Ontario) et Pat Falletta (Environnement et Changement climatique Canada) $80,960
Conseil circumpolaire inuit (CCI) – les activités du Canada dans le cadre du Programme de lutte contre les contaminants dans le Nord Tom Sheldon (Conseil circumpolaire inuit (CCI) -Canada) $173,765
Participation du Conseil des Premières Nations du Yukon au Programme de lutte contre les contaminants dans le Nord Bob Van Dijken (Conseil des Premières Nations du Yukon) $61,238
Base de données des publications du PLCN Shannon Vossepoel (Institut arctique de l’Amérique du Nord) $37,835

TOTAL COORDINATION DE PROGRAMMES ET PARTENARIATS AUTOCHTONES : $1,060,738

GRAND TOTAL : $4,146,309

Date de modification :