Guidelines for the General Graduate Studies Fund (NSERC and SSHRC only)

Description

A General Graduate Studies Fund (GGSF) is a special account opened as a trust account under the authority of the president of the institution (or his/her authorized delegate), into which the eligible residual funds of awards allocated in previous fiscal years are transferred with the authorization of the granting agencies.

Institutions will be required to keep separate GGSF accounts for each of the agencies, namely the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC) and the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada (SSHRC). The financial administration of the funds must also be kept separate. The funds must be administered in a centralized manner, and the institution must manage the funds meticulously. The institution must thus ensure that it has clearly stated policies and directives with respect to the management, disbursement and use of the funds. It is the responsibility of the person responsible for the GGSF, that is, the president of the institution or his/her authorized delegate, to authorize expenditures charged to the GGSF in accordance with the requirements and the policies of the institution or the agencies. No other party may initiate or authorize expenditures without the president’s or his or her delegate’s written delegated authority.

Objective

The GGSF is used to provide additional support to graduate students in the disciplines supported by the individual agencies.

Eligible funds

Residual funds at the institution resulting from an early termination of an award may be eligible for the GGSF if they were paid out by one of the agencies in a previous fiscal year. Institutions must inform NSERC or SSHRC immediately in the case of an early termination.

Also eligible for the GGSF are overpayments to award holders whose funding was paid out in a previous fiscal year, if the university was able to recover it in a subsequent fiscal year. The institutions are required to advise the Finance and Awards Administration Division of the agency concerned with information on all overpayments it has recovered. It may provide this information at any time during the fiscal year. For additional information on overpayments, see Section C of the NSERC's and SSHRC's Canadian Universities Global Payments Guide.

Transfer conditions

Transfers to the GGSF are authorized by the agencies under the following conditions:

  • The institution has submitted the annual Statement of Account (Form 300) for the GGSF.
  • The institution has spent at least 50% of the opening balance of its GGSF during the current year.

In the case of an institution that has not spent 50% of the opening balance of the GGSF, new transfers are put on hold, and the institution must demonstrate a tangible need for additional funds. If no rationale is provided, a reimbursement is required.

To facilitate the annual reconciliation of the GGSF, a list of all authorized transfers to the GGSF for each institution as of March 31 will be displayed solely on the Grants and Scholarships Administrative Portal (GSAP).

The list of authorized transfers to the GGSF is posted once a year, in mid-May.

For example, for the GGSF annual reconciliation exercise for the 2016-2017 fiscal year, the list of authorized transfers to the GGSF as of March 31, 2017 will be posted on GSAP in May 2017.

If you have any questions, please email grf_ggsf@nserc-crsng.gc.ca.

Use of Funds

The university is free to determine its own method for distributing the GGSF funds, subject to the following restriction:

  • The use of each agency’s GGSF funds is restricted to providing support for the research training of graduate students, including travel to conferences, in a field supported by the respective agency. Funds must be used in accordance with the Tri-Agency Financial Administration Guide.

Reports

Statement of Account (Form 300) and Annual GGSF Reconciliation

Every year, the institution must submit to the agencies a Statement of Account (Form 300) for the GGSF for the period from April 1 to March 31. The deadline for submitting a Form 300 for the GGSF is June 30.

This annual GGSF reconciliation exercise allows the agencies to track incurred expenses and accumulated balances. It is also used to authorize or not authorize transfers to the GGSF of the upcoming fiscal year.

Date modified:

Lignes directrices du Fonds général des études supérieures (CRSNG et CRSH uniquement)

Description

Un Fonds général des études supérieures (FGES) est un compte spécial ouvert en fiducie, sous l’autorité du président de l’établissement (ou de son délégué autorisé), dans lequel les fonds résiduels admissibles des bourses des exercices financiers antérieurs sont transférés avec l’autorisation des organismes subventionnaires.

L’établissement doit tenir un FGES distinct pour chaque organisme, soit le Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada (CRSNG) et le Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines du Canada (CRSH). L’administration financière des deux FGES doit également être distincte. Les fonds sont administrés de manière centralisée et l’établissement s’assure d’exercer une gestion financière rigoureuse des fonds. Ainsi, l’établissement s’assure d’avoir des politiques et des directives claires quant à la gestion, au déboursement et à l’utilisation des fonds. Il incombe au responsable du FGES, c’est-à-dire le président de l’établissement ou son délégué, d’autoriser les dépenses imputées au FGES conformément aux exigences et aux politiques de l’établissement ou des organismes. Aucune autre partie ne peut engager ou autoriser de telles dépenses sans que le responsable ait autorisé une telle délégation par écrit.

Objectif

Le FGES sert à fournir un appui supplémentaire aux étudiants des cycles supérieurs dans les domaines faisant l’objet d’un appui financier des organismes.

Fonds admissibles

Les fonds résiduels que l’établissement a en sa possession et qui résultent de la cessation précoce d’une bourse peuvent être admissibles au FGES s’ils ont été versés par un des organismes au cours d’un exercice financier précédent. Les établissements doivent informer le CRSNG ou le CRSH immédiatement dans le cas d’une cessation précoce.

De plus, les paiements en trop versés aux titulaires d’une bourse au cours d’un exercice financier antérieur sont admissibles au FGES, si l’établissement est en mesure de les récupérer au cours d’un exercice financier ultérieur. L’établissement doit informer la Division des finances et de l’administration des octrois de l’organisme concerné de tous les paiements en trop qu’il a récupérés. Il peut le faire en tout temps au cours de l’exercice financier. Pour obtenir plus de renseignements sur les paiements en trop, consultez la section C du Guide des paiements globaux aux universités canadiennes du CRSNG et du CRSH.

Conditions de transfert

Les transferts au FGES sont autorisés par les organismes aux conditions suivantes :

  • l’établissement a présenté l’état des dépenses (formulaire 300) annuel du FGES;
  • l’établissement a dépensé au moins 50 % du solde d’ouverture du FGES pendant l’année en cours.

Pour tout établissement qui n’a pas dépensé 50 % du solde d’ouverture du FGES, les nouveaux transferts sont mis en suspens et l’établissement doit démontrer un besoin concret de fonds supplémentaires. En l’absence de cette justification, un remboursement est exigé.

Afin de faciliter l’exercice de rapprochement annuel du FGÉS, une liste de tous les transferts autorisés au FGÉS en date du 31 mars est affichée uniquement dans le Portail d'administration des subventions et des bourses (PASB), et ce, pour chaque établissement. Si votre établissement n’est pas encore inscrit au PASB, veuillez contacter le Soutien en ligne.

La liste des transferts autorisés au FGÉS est affichée une fois par année, soit à la mi-mai.

À titre d’exemple, pour l’exercice de rapprochement annuel du FGÉS de l’exercice financier 2016-2017, la liste des transferts autorisés au FGÉS en date du 31 mars 2017 sera affichée dans le PASB à mi-mai 2017.

Si vous avez des questions, veuillez envoyer un courriel à grf_ggsf@nserc-crsng.gc.ca.

Utilisation des fonds

L’établissement est libre de déterminer la façon de distribuer les fonds du FGES, à condition que la restriction suivante soit observée :

  • l’utilisation des fonds du FGES de chaque organisme se limite au soutien à la formation en recherche des étudiants des cycles supérieurs, y compris les déplacements pour assister à des conférences, dans les domaines faisant l’objet d’un appui financier des organismes. Les fonds doivent être utilisés en conformité avec le Guide d’administration financière des trois organismes.

Rapports

État des dépenses (formulaire 300) et rapprochement annuel du FGES

Chaque année, l’établissement présente aux organismes l’état des dépenses (formulaire 300) du FGES pour la période du 1er avril au 31 mars. La date limite de présentation du formulaire 300 du FGES est le 30 juin.

Cet exercice de rapprochement annuel du FGES permet aux organismes de faire le suivi des dépenses encourues et des soldes cumulatifs. De plus, il permet d’autoriser ou non les transferts au FGES de l’exercice financier à venir.

Date de modification :