Scientific Models

P=NP?

Question:

Does P=NP?

Response:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/P_%3D_NP_problem
“Is P equal to NP?
In a 2002 poll of 100 researchers, 61 believed the answer is no, 9 believed the answer is yes, 22 were unsure, and 8 believed the question may be independent of the currently accepted axioms, and so impossible to prove or disprove.[5]”

However, if the question is examined from a broader perspective, the nature of the problem becomes evident (computational complexity theory formally addresses the inherent difficulty of algorithmic problems).

http://fr.wikipedia.org/wiki/Th%C3%A9orie_de_la_complexit%C3%A9_des_algorithmes
“[translation] Clearly, P = NP because a deterministic algorithm is a specific non-deterministic algorithm, which, in simple terms, means that if a solution can be calculated in polynomial time, then it can be verified in polynomial time. On the other hand, the inverse: NP = P, which is the real difficulty of the P = NP equality, is a central open question in computational theory. In 1970, this question was raised independently by Stephen Cook and Levin[5]. Most experts make the assumption that NP-complete problems are not soluble in polynomial time. On this basis, several approaches have been attempted.”

If the computers of the future offer greater possibilities in terms of computation and algebraic representation than the technologies of today, we may be able to resolve this problem conclusively.

On the basis of the approaches I have seen and that have been brought to my attention, the answer is no.

I think that a future answer to this question will depend on a contribution from both theoretical and technological advancements to this type of problem, its demonstration and solution.

The significant value of this effort must be measured against the efforts required in other areas that will be essential to the society of the future.

- Paul Labbé

 


 

The Law-of-Nature Model

Question:

This is a question about the law-of-nature model used in science. Etienne Wegner argued in an article written in the sixties and available on line that it was only relatively simple (not easy) things that are the subject of natural laws because laws can be articulated for only those things for which the relevant conditions are itemizable and thus controllable. Complexity thus presents a challenge to a laws of nature model. (I’m not thinking of stochastics, obviously.) A law of nature is a statement of a pattern of nature that leaves out any reference to the circumstances (ICs) of a place, because it can. But it can because there aren’t any relevant ICs. There are plenty of phenomena, therefore, for which a law of nature model is not appropriate. It seems that scientists (physicists and non-systems biologists) aren’t giving much thought to these deep paradigmatic implications of complexity. My question is, is the reason for this lacuna because they’re locked into a reductionist paradigm or is it because of the spin that they have to do for simple non-scientists who pour out research funds in R&D projects? A related question is about “fundamental particles.” Is it really possible to explain human society as the effect of little bits of matter bumping up against each other collectively, or does the collectiveness not add many other dimensions of causality?

Answer:

This is a great question, and of course that means it’s not an easy one to answer. But here is my view in two parts.

First, I think we must make a distinction between a ‘law of nature’ and predictability. For example, let’s look at the weather, which is a fully deterministic system – by which I mean that all the variables involved (e.g. temperature, humidity, density, condensates and particles, masses -land/water, etc.) all transpire and interact according to well known and understood ‘laws of nature’ (e.g. thermodynamics, classical physics, etc.). Now despite it being fully deterministic we cannot predict the weather because of what is known (and perhaps can also be considered a law of nature) as sensitivity to initial conditions. This has been popularly known as the ‘butterfly effect’ – the flapping of the wings of a butterfly in China, could ultimately result in a hurricane in Florida. Thus a fully deterministic series of causes and effects (like weather, ecosystem, market) based on ‘laws of nature’ yet remaining completely unpredictable – and therefore appearing to be an ‘unlawful’ system. It is important to note that improvements in weather forecasting are based not so much on ‘prediction’ as they are on better methods of observing the current state through such things as satellite imagery.

This means that we essentially don’t know how small a difference makes a difference and the contrary how big a difference makes no difference.

Another view is the fact that observation itself can change or influence the phenomena under study – the most famous example being that the way in which we observe light results in observing light as either a particle or a wave. In a significant way it is the observer that organizes reality – that determines the boundary/outline of a system. That once we accept and understand the ultimate interdependence of all with all, then reductionism becomes limited in its utility – but still useful for many things.

However, this only addresses part of your question. The other part is the paradigm of reductionist approaches to understanding nature. Here again we must distinguish what science has found as ‘laws of nature’ versus models/theories of how we come to understand the application and consequences of these laws. Reductionism to put it simply means that if I understand the parts of a system I will eventually understand the whole of the system. Essentially this is a view of nature as a type of machine.
What chaos and complexity (recently articulated by some scientist/philosophers as chaoplexity) is that the whole is greater than the sum of its parts – that relationships between parts must be included in our understanding. This ‘greater than the sum of’ phenomena – what you refer to as ‘collectiveness’ is called emergence.

Emergent phenomena, remain dependent on the constituting parts and yet are ontologically real, that is cannot be understood or analyzed through the parts. For example, I can know all there is to know about hydrogen and oxygen, but cannot predict from that knowledge what water is (H2O). Even more, one water molecule or even 1,000 water molecules (a drop of water has in the order of magnitude about 1022 molecules) does not give me any way to anticipate and understand – wetness, viscosity, turbulence, even surface tension. Wetness, although completely dependent on hydrogen-oxygen combined in vast numbers, emergences (can’t be found in the parts) at a certain scale of interacting parts. Thus to study wetness we must study at the appropriate level. Another example, one can’t understand the rules of grammar through the study of synapses, while each human as language processing functions in their brains, particular languages are determined through social interaction. Thus although each act of languaging will necessarily be dependent on the synaptic events occurring in the brain, one could not determine which language is being processed by studying the synaptic events alone.

To try to conclude – laws of nature continue to be discovered, explored and exploited by science, but that doesn’t necessarily translate into a direct capacity to predict, or control. However, humans are excellent at figuring out how to exploit what is uncontrollable to certain ends.

And finally, that complexity (chaoplexity) represents the path of life – ever increasing levels of emergence (wholes which become greater than the sum of their parts which in turn become parts of larger wholes). Each new ‘emergent’ represents new capabilities, new domains of action and so must be studied as new fields with their own level of ‘natural laws’ (just as the laws of chemical interaction in synaptic events will not lead you to the rules of grammar in a particular language or the laws regulating of molecular configuration – H2O lead you to the laws regulating turbulence).

I know I’ve answered your question with examples of traditional scientific disciplines often referred to as the ‘hard sciences’. As a scientist I consider the social sciences the truly ‘complex’ sciences – the domains where complexity and emergence must form the fundamental research paradigm as the human domain is greater than the sum of psychological-social-cultural-economic -political-environmental parts.

Your question, and I hope my answer, underscores a fundamental strength of the scientific project, which is its ability to undertake radical transformation of its own theories, frameworks and paradigms – while continuing to provide a type of unifying body of knowledge and method.

- John Verdon

Date modified:

Modèles scientifiques

P=NP?

Question :

Est-ce que P=NP?

Réponse :

link

« Is P equal to NP?

In a 2002 poll of 100 researchers, 61 believed the answer is no, 9 believed the answer is yes, 22 were unsure, and 8 believed the question may be independent of the currently accepted axioms, and so impossible to prove or disprove.[5] »

Par contre si on examine cette question d’une perspective plus globale on peut reconnaître la nature de la difficulté (La théorie de la complexité des algorithmes étudie formellement la difficulté intrinsèque des problèmes algorithmiques).

link

« Le problème ouvert P=NP [modifier]

On a clairement P = NP car un algorithme déterministe est un algorithme non déterministe particulier, ce qui, dit en mots plus simples, signifie que si une solution peut être calculée en temps polynomial, alors elle peut être vérifiée en temps polynomial. En revanche, la réciproque : NP = P, qui est la véritable difficulté de l’égalité P = NP est un problème ouvert central d’informatique théorique. Il a été posé en 1970 indépendamment par Stephen Cook et Leonid Levin[5]. La plupart des spécialistes conjecturent que les problèmes NP-complets ne sont pas solubles en un temps polynomial. À partir de là, plusieurs approches ont été tentées. »

Si les ordinateurs du future offrent des possibilités de calcul ou représentation algébrique au delà de celles des technologies courantes, il se peut que nous puissions définitivement clore ce problème.

Selon les méthodes observées et portées à mon attention la réponse est non.

Je crois que la réponse future à cette question dépend à la fois des avancements théoriques et technologiques contribuant à ce domaine de problèmes, leurs démonstrations et leurs solutions.

Cela a une valeur importante qui doit être calibrée aux efforts requis dans d’autres domaines essentiels aux sociétés à venir.

- Paul Labbé

 


 

Le modèle de lois de la nature

Question :

Ma question concerne le modèle de lois de la nature utilisé en sciences. Etienne Wegner écrivait, dans un article des années 1960 accessible en ligne, que seules les choses relativement simples (et non faciles à comprendre) étaient assujetties aux lois de la nature, car ces lois ne peuvent être exprimées que pour des choses dont les conditions pertinentes sont détaillées, donc contrôlables. La complexité présente donc un défi pour un modèle de lois de la nature. (Je ne parle évidemment pas, ici, de modèle stochastique.) Une loi de la nature est un énoncé d’une tendance de la nature dans lequel on ne tient pas compte des circonstances d’un lieu physique, parce qu’il est possible de le faire. On peut cependant le faire parce qu’il n’y a aucune circonstance pertinente. Il existe donc bon nombre de phénomènes pour lesquels un modèle de lois de la nature ne peut s’appliquer. Il semble que les scientifiques (physiciens et biologistes non spécialistes des systèmes) ne réfléchissent pas beaucoup à ces profondes implications paradigmatiques de complexité. Ma question est la suivante : cette lacune s’explique-t-elle par le fait que les chercheurs sont enfermés dans un paradigme réductionniste, ou est-ce plutôt à cause des détours qu’ils doivent prendre pour les non scientifiques qui investissent des fonds dans les projets de R et D? De plus, à propos de « particules fondamentales », peut on vraiment expliquer la société humaine comme l’effet de minuscules particules de matière s’entrechoquant les unes les autres collectivement, ou est-ce que l’aspect collectif n’ajoute pas, justement, de nombreuses autres dimensions de causalité?

Réponse :

C’est une question complexe; c’est pourquoi il n’est évidemment pas facile d’y répondre. Mais voici mon opinion, en deux parties.

D’abord, je crois qu’il faut faire une distinction entre « loi de la nature » et « prévisibilité ». Prenons exemple sur le temps, qui est un système entièrement déterministe – c’est à dire que toutes les variables (la température, l’humidité, la densité, les condensats et les particules, les masses [sol/eau], etc.) transpirent et interagissent selon des « lois de la nature » (thermodynamique, physique classique, etc.) bien connues et comprises. Bien que le temps soit entièrement déterministe, nous ne pouvons pas le prévoir en nous fiant sur des facteurs dont on sait qu’ils entraînent une certaine sensibilité pour les conditions initiales (et peut-être même considérés comme des lois de la nature). Il s’agit du phénomène souvent appelé « effet papillon », qui suggère que le battement des ailes d’un papillon en Chine peut mener à la formation d’une tornade en Floride. Ainsi, une suite entièrement déterministe de causes et d’effets (comme le temps, les écosystèmes, le marché) basée sur des « lois de la nature » demeure complètement imprévisible; c’est pourquoi il semble s’agir d’un système qui ne respecte aucune loi. Il importe de comprendre que les progrès réalisés en matière de prévisions météorologiques ne reposent pas tant sur l’amélioration des méthodes de « prévision », mais bien sur de meilleures techniques d’observation de l’état actuel au moyen de l’imagerie satellitaire.

Cela signifie qu’essentiellement, nous ne savons pas à quel point un phénomène peut être petit et faire une différence ni à quel point un phénomène peut être gros et ne faire aucune différence.

D’un autre point de vue, on pense que l’observation elle même peut modifier ou influencer le phénomène étudié – l’exemple le plus connu de cette théorie est la façon dont nous observons la lumière, soit sous forme de particules ou d’ondes. C’est d’abord l’observateur qui organise la réalité, qui établit les limites et la structure d’un système. Lorsque nous acceptons et comprenons l’interdépendance de tout ce qui existe, l’utilité du réductionnisme devient limitée, sans toutefois être nulle.

Cependant, tout cela ne répond qu’à une partie de votre question. L’autre concerne le paradigme d’approches réductionnistes visant à comprendre la nature. Là encore, nous devons faire la distinction entre ce que la science définit comme des « lois de la nature » et les modèles et théories concernant la façon dont nous comprenons l’application et les conséquences de ces lois. Le réductionnisme, en simple, suggère que si l’on arrive à comprendre les parties d’un système, on comprendra éventuellement la totalité du système. Essentiellement, c’est une façon de percevoir la nature comme un type de machine.

Le chaos et la complexité (récemment désignés par certains scientifiques et philosophes comme « chaoplexité ») suggèrent cependant qu’un tout est plus grand que la somme de ses parties – que les relations entre les parties doivent être incluses dans notre compréhension. Ce phénomène, ce que vous appelez « collectivité », est appelé émergence.

Les phénomènes émergents restent dépendants des parties qui les constituent, mais ils sont également réels du point de vue ontologique, c’est à dire qu’ils ne peuvent être compris ou analysés à partir de leurs parties. Par exemple, je sais tout ce qu’il y a à savoir à propos de l’hydrogène et de l’oxygène, mais je ne peux pas déterminer, à partir de ces connaissances, ce qu’est l’eau (H2O). De plus, une molécule d’eau ou même 1 000 molécules d’eau (une goutte d’eau a un ordre de grandeur d’environ 1022 molécules) ne me permet d’aucune façon d’anticiper et de comprendre l’humidité, la viscosité, la turbulence ni même la tension superficielle. Pourtant, l’humidité dépend entièrement de la combinaison de l’hydrogène et de l’oxygène dans un grand nombre d’émergences (elle ne se trouve pas dans les parties) à une certaines échelle des parties qui interagissent entre elles. Donc, pour étudier l’humidité, il faut chercher à la bonne échelle. Autre exemple : on ne peut comprendre les règles de la grammaire en étudiant des synapses. En effet, même si chaque humain possède dans son cerveau des fonctions de traitement de la parole, les langues particulières sont déterminées par les interactions sociales. Ainsi, bien que chaque action liée à la parole dépende nécessairement des événements synaptiques qui se produisent dans le cerveau, on ne peut pas déterminer quelle langue est traitée en étudiant seulement ces événements synaptiques.

En guise de conclusion – la science continue de découvrir, d’explorer et d’exploiter des lois de la nature, mais cela ne se traduit pas nécessairement par une capacité directe de prévoir et de contrôler. Toutefois, les humains excellent à comprendre comment exploiter l’incontrôlable, à certaines fins.

Finalement, la complexité (chaoplexité) représente la voie de la vie – des niveaux de plus en plus nombreux d’émergence (des touts qui deviennent plus grands que la somme de leurs parties et qui, à leur tour, deviennent des parties d’un plus grand tout). Chaque nouvelle « émergence » représente de nouvelles capacités, de nouveaux domaines d’action, c’est pourquoi elle doit être étudiée comme un nouveau domaine possédant son propre niveau de « lois de la nature » (tout comme les lois de l’interaction chimique dans les événements synaptiques ne mènent pas aux règles de la grammaire dans une langue donnée ni aux lois régissant la configuration moléculaire, « H2O » mène aux lois qui régissent la turbulence).

Je suis conscient que j’ai répondu à votre question par des exemples issus de disciplines scientifiques traditionnelles, souvent appelées « sciences exactes ». Comme scientifique, je suis d’avis que les sciences sociales sont les sciences les plus « complexes » – elles renferment les domaines dans lesquels la complexité et l’émergence doivent former le paradigme de recherche fondamental, car le domaine humain est plus grand que la somme de ses parties psychologique, sociale, culturelle, économique, politique et environnementale.

Votre question et, je l’espère, ma réponse, soulignent une force fondamentale du projet scientifique, qui est la capacité d’entreprendre la transformation radicale de ses propres théories, cadres et paradigmes, tout en continuant d’offrir un certain ensemble consolidé de connaissances et de méthodes.

- John Verdon

Date de modification :