Exercise Athéna (Train Derailment Exercise)

What is Exercise Athéna?

This train derailment exercise, known as Exercise Athéna, will be held on 25-26 February, 2017, at the Institut Maritime du Québec in Lévis, Québec. Transport Canada (TC) is hosting this event in partnership with Defence Research and Development Canada’s Centre for Security Science (DRDC CSS). The main goal of the exercise is to assess gaps and identify areas for improvement in Canada’s response to incidents involving flammable liquids transported by rail.  

This exercise will build on the results of Exercise Vulcan which occurred in March, 2016, in Maple Ridge, British Columbia and will provide another opportunity for first responders to gain awareness and understanding of the industry resources, tactics, and techniques available to them when dealing with such emergencies.

The exercise is funded through the Canadian Safety and Security Program (CSSP), a federal program led by DRDC CSS, in partnership with Public Safety Canada, with in-kind contributions from participating organizations. It is one of many activities supported by the Government of Canada to improve response capabilities following the 2013 train derailment at Lac-Mégantic, Quebec.

top of page

Objectives

The main objectives for Exercise Athéna are to enhance the knowledge of first responders on:

  • TC's Emergency Response Assistance Plan (ERAP) program;
  • the existence and access to specialized response resources (petroleum industry, railway industry);
  • the dangers, hazards and difficulties occurring during a derailment involving a train carrying flammable liquids, as well as applying appropriate intervention strategies and techniques with the assistance of industry experts; and
  • a coordinated effort between all participating organizations under an organized command system.

The exercise will also:

  • collect and evaluate feedback on the use of a checklist that can be used as an intervention support tool;
  • collect feedback on the Canadian Association of Petroleum Producers' online awareness training tool;
  • evaluate the impact of changes made to the program following the results of Exercise Vulcan; and
  • evaluate training elements and identify strengths and gaps in order to support the development of a national response program to respond to incidents involving flammable liquids transported by rail.

Exercise Athéna will be conducted over a period of two days, similarly to Exercise Vulcan. On the first day, first responders will attend in-class and on-field training where they will learn about the ERAP program and the resources available from industry and TC. They will discover and experience the various elements of a response to a train derailment involving flammable liquids. They will also be educated on the appropriate practices, strategies and tools.

On the second day, first responders will have an opportunity to put into practice the skills and knowledge they explored during the first day by participating in an exercise comprised of three scenarios. Industry instructors will provide guidance at each of the stations. The stations will involve either a virtual reality application or a “real life” scenario.

top of page

Day 1: Pre-Exercise Training

Through in-class and on-field training, participants will learn about the various industry resources – such as specialized equipment and expertise – that can be mobilized to support them during a response.

In-class instruction will feature presentations on the federal mechanisms and industry resources in place to support first responders during this type of incident. Additional presentations will give first responders an overview of how to conduct a comprehensive site assessment, railcar identification, dangerous goods placards identification, basic railway operations during an incident, and specialized industry response strategies and tactics.

top of page

Day 2: Exercise Scenarios

The exercise is comprised of three scenarios.

First scenario: Participants will be faced with a virtual reality application simulating a train derailment. Using tablet machines, they will explore how to conduct a comprehensive site assessment. The intention of this virtual reality scenario is for the first responder to play out what they have covered in the first day with emphasis on the importance of the non-intervention approach.

Second scenario: The second part will be a follow on to the first and will provide first responders with an opportunity to apply some defensive response tactics and develop/deploy expedient mitigation actions (offensive) in a fire situation (e.g. tank car cooling, foam application on spilled product, extinguish pool fires and protect persons, property and environment).

Third scenario: The third scenario will consist of a combination of three interactive activities. In the first activity, by using various scenarios, participants will be given the opportunity to examine the Emergency Response Guidebook 2016 more in depth. The second activity, will allow them to explore gas detection and air monitoring methods. The third activity will expose responders to the different types of industry response equipment, which could be brought to the scene in these types of emergencies.

Collaboration: A key element of the scenarios

The exercise will emphasize the fact that such situations are highly dynamic. Use of the wrong response approach will make the situation even worse. It cannot be overstated that any response actions on scene must be taken through the involvement of knowledgeable people with adequate resources and in an ‘organized’ manner.

Throughout the exercise, responders will be working side-by-side with experts from industry to assess the site, and determine and implement the correct response strategies and intervention tactics. TC authorities will also participate in the role of regulatory oversight on scene as well as to provide technical guidance and support as required.

top of page

Participating Organizations

Exercise Development

  • Transport Canada;
  • Defence Research and Development Canada’s Centre for Security Science (DRDC CSS);
  • Suncor;
  • Rail Association Canada (RAC);
  • CN Rail;
  • CP Rail;
  • Genesee & Wyoming Canada Inc.;
  • École nationale des pompiers du Québec;
  • Emergency Response Assistance Canada (ERAC);
  • MD-UN;
  • Institut maritime du Québec; and
  • International Safety Research (ISR).

First Responder Community

  • First responders from the surrounding area of Lévis (Qc);
  • Association des chefs en sécurité incendie du Québec; and
  • École nationale des pompiers du Québec.

Industry Representation

  • Suncor;
  • Rail Association Canada (RAC);
  • CN Rail;
  • CP Rail;
  • Genesee & Wyoming Canada Inc.;
  • Emergency Response Assistance Canada (ERAC);
  • MD-UN;
  • GHD; and
  • Williams Fire and Hazard Control.

top of page

Related Links

Date modified:

Exercice Athéna (Exercice de déraillement de train)

Qu’est-ce que l’Exercice Athéna?

L’exercice de déraillement, mieux connu sous le nom d’Exercice Athéna, se déroulera les 25 et 26 février 2017, à l’Institut Maritime du Québec à Lévis (Québec). Transports Canada (TC) organise cet évènement en partenariat avec le Centre des sciences pour la sécurité de Recherche et développement pour la défense Canada (RDDC CSS). L’objectif principal de l’exercice vise à évaluer les lacunes et à déterminer les points à améliorer dans l’intervention du Canada en cas d’incidents mettant en cause des liquides inflammables transportés par voie ferroviaire.  

Cet exercice – qui s’appuiera sur les résultats de l’Exercice Vulcan qui a eu lieu en mars 2016, à Maple Ridge (Colombie-Britannique) – sera une autre occasion pour les premiers intervenants de connaître et de comprendre les ressources, les tactiques et les techniques de l’industrie qui leur sont accessibles lorsqu’ils doivent faire face à ce genre d’urgence.

L’exercice est financé par le Programme canadien pour la sûreté et la sécurité (PCSS), un programme fédéral dirigé par RDDC CSS, en partenariat avec Sécurité publique Canada, en plus des contributions en nature des organisations participantes. C’est l’une des multiples activités appuyées par le gouvernement du Canada afin d’améliorer la capacité d’intervention à la suite du déraillement d’un train à Lac-Mégantic (Québec) en 2013.

haut de la page

Objectifs

Les principaux objectifs de l’Exercice Athéna visent à faire en sorte que les premiers intervenants connaissent mieux les éléments suivants :

  • le programme de Plan d’intervention d’urgence (PIU) de TC;
  • l’existence et l’accès aux ressources d’intervention spécialisées (industrie pétrolière, industrie ferroviaire, etc.);
  • les dangers et les difficultés lors d’un déraillement mettant en cause un train qui transporte des liquides inflammables, ainsi que les stratégies/techniques d’intervention appropriées avec l’aide d’experts de l’industrie; et  
  • l’effort coordonné entre les organisations participantes relevant d’un système de commandement organisé.

L’exercice permettra également d’effectuer les activités suivantes :

  • recueillir et évaluer les commentaires sur l’utilisation d’une liste de vérification pouvant servir d’outil de soutien en matière d’intervention;
  • recueillir les commentaires sur l’outil de formation et de sensibilisation en ligne de l’Association canadienne des producteurs pétroliers;
  • évaluer l’impact des changements apportés au programme à la suite des résultats de l’Exercice Vulcan; et
  • évaluer les éléments de formation et déterminer les forces et les faiblesses afin d’appuyer le développement d’un programme d’intervention national en cas d’incidents mettant en cause des liquides inflammables transportés par voie ferroviaire.

L’Exercice Athéna se déroulera sur deux jours, comme pour l’Exercice Vulcan. Le premier jour, les participants recevront une formation en salle de classe et sur le terrain, où ils obtiendront des renseignements sur le programme PIU et les ressources disponibles de l’industrie et de TC. Ils découvriront les divers éléments d’intervention en cas de déraillement d’un train transportant des liquides inflammables. Ils recevront aussi une formation sur les pratiques, stratégies et outils appropriés.  

Le deuxième jour, les premiers intervenants pourront mettre en pratique les compétences et les connaissances qu’ils auront étudiées le premier jour, en participant à un exercice composé de trois scénarios. Les instructeurs de l’industrie offriront des conseils à chaque station. Les stations comprendront soit une application virtuelle soit un scénario réel.

haut de la page

Jour 1 : Formation préalable à l’exercice

Grâce à une formation en salle de classe et sur le terrain, les participants obtiendront des renseignements sur diverses ressources de l’industrie, notamment l’équipement et l’expertise spécialisés, pouvant être mobilisées pour les appuyer durant une intervention.

L’instruction offerte en salle de classe comprendra des présentations sur les mécanismes fédéraux et les ressources de l’industrie qui sont en place pour aider les premiers intervenants au cours de ce type d’incident. D’autres présentations donneront aux premiers intervenants un aperçu de la façon de mener une évaluation complète du site, d’identifier un wagon et des plaques-étiquettes de marchandises dangereuses ainsi que des opérations ferroviaires de base, tout en étudiant des stratégies et des tactiques d’intervention de l’industrie.  

haut de la page

Jours 2 : Scénarios d’exercices

L'exercice comprend trois scénarios.

Premier scénario : Les participants seront exposés à une application virtuelle simulant le déraillement d’un train. À l’aide de tablettes, ils étudieront la façon de mener une évaluation complète du site. Ce scénario virtuel a pour but de permettre aux premiers intervenants de mettre en pratique ce qu’ils auront étudié la première journée, en se concentrant sur l’importance de la non-intervention.

Deuxième scénario ;: La deuxième partie est une suite de la première partie. Elle permettra aux premiers intervenants de mettre en pratique certaines tactiques d’intervention défensives, d’élaborer et de déployer des mesures (offensives) d’atténuation rapides en cas d’incendie (p. ex. refroidissement du wagon-citerne, application de mousse sur le produit déversé, extinction des feux de broussailles et protection des personnes, des biens et de l’environnement).

Troisième scénario ;: Le troisième scénario est composé d’une combinaison de trois activités interactives. Dans la première activité, en utilisant divers scénarios, les participants auront la possibilité d'examiner en profondeur le Guide d'intervention d'urgence 2016. La deuxième activité leur permettra d'explorer les moyens de détection des gaz et de surveillance de l'air. Enfin, la troisième activité exposera les participants à différents types d'équipements d'intervention de l'industrie qui pourraient être utile dans ce type d'urgence.

Collaboration : Un élément clé des scénarios

L’exercice insistera sur le fait que ces situations sont très dynamiques. Si l’approche utilisée ne convient pas, la situation peut s’aggraver. On ne saurait trop insister sur le fait que toute mesure d’intervention sur les lieux doit être prise en faisant appel à des spécialistes en la matière qui disposent des ressources nécessaires de manière « organisée ».

Durant l’exercice, les intervenants travailleront côte à côte avec des experts de l’industrie pour évaluer les lieux, pour déterminer et mettre en œuvre les bonnes stratégies et tactiques d’intervention. Les autorités de TC participeront également au rôle de surveillance réglementaire sur les lieux, en plus de fournir des directives techniques et un appui, le cas échéant.

haut de la page

Organisations participantes

Conception de l’exercice

  • Transports Canada;
  • Centre des sciences pour la sécurité de Recherche et développement pour la défense Canada (RDDC CSS);
  • Suncor;
  • Association des chemins de fer du Canada (ACFC);
  • CN;
  • CP;
  • Genesee & Wyoming Canada Inc.;
  • École nationale des pompiers du Québec;
  • Assistance d’intervention d’urgence du Canada (AIUC);
  • MD-UN;
  • Institut maritime du Québec; et
  • International Safety Research (ISR).

Premiers intervenants

  • Premiers intervenants des environs de Lévis (Québec);
  • Association des chefs en sécurité incendie du Québec; et
  • École nationale des pompiers du Québec.

Représentants de l’industrie

  • Suncor;
  • Association des chemins de fer du Canada (ACFC);
  • CN;
  • CP;
  • Genesee & Wyoming Canada Inc.;
  • Assistance d’intervention d’urgence du Canada (AIUC);
  • MD-UN;
  • GHD; et
  • Williams Fire and Hazard Control.

haut de la page

Liens connexes

Date de modification :