Third CSSP Call for Proposals – July 2015

Projects Funded Through the Third CSSP Call for Proposals

  1. Public Safety Canada and the Canadian Association of Fire Chiefs will lead a project to implement a National Fire Information Database as a technology pilot to improve evidence-based decision- making, enhance fire operations, enable effective policy creation at all levels of government, and increase the quality of research and trend analysis related to fire incidents in all parts of Canada. Partners: Council of Canadian Fire Marshals & Fire Commissioners; Rhapsody Strategies Inc.; and Wilfrid Laurier University.
  2. Natural Resources Canada will lead a project to develop models that will enable Canada to better predict the occurrence and duration of severe large wildfires in order to enhance our ability to anticipate and prepare for large wildfires, inform national preparedness planning, improve mutual aid decision- making, and ultimately improve Canada’s resilience to wildfires. Partners: Canadian Standards Association Group; Royal Military College of Canada; and Royal Canadian Mounted Police.
  3. Alberta’s Health Services Emergency Medical Services will lead a Community Paramedic study to compare the results of blood testing devices used in the community setting to standard laboratory practices. The findings will assist Alberta Health Services Emergency Medical Services and other paramedic leaders in making evidence-based decisions to ensure effective and efficient programs, with the goal of optimizing community safety. Partners: Calgary Laboratory Services; and University of Calgary.
  4. The Canadian Nuclear Laboratories will lead a project to enhance knowledge and develop strategies to improve recruiting, sustaining and retaining volunteers, particularly volunteer firefighters. Partners: Social Research and Demonstration Corporation.
  5. The County of Frontenac and Queen's University (Kingston, Ontario) will lead a research effort to enhance our understanding of health and wellness indicators for paramedics across Canada to help inform operational and staffing decisions. Partners: Paramedic Chiefs of Canada; Paramedic Association of Canada; and Wilfrid Laurier University
  6. The City of Kingston will lead a pilot project that will enhance interoperability and data sharing for municipal police, fire and paramedic services in and around Brockville, Kingston and Belleville, Ontario by creating a centralized, interconnected computer-aided-dispatch hub for all partners. Partners: Addington Highlands Fire Department; Belleville Fire Department; Belleville Police Service; Brockville Fire Department; Brockville Police Service; Central Frontenac Township Fire Department; County of Frontenac; Gananoque Police Service; Greater Napanee Fire Service; Leeds and Thousand Islands Fire Service; Loyalist Township Emergency Services; North Frontenac Fire Department; South Frontenac Fire & Rescue; and Stone Mills Fire Department.
  7. The Canadian Space Agency and the ADGA Group will lead a project, which will leverage the Government of Canada’s significant and on-going investment in the space Earth Observation sector to develop a prototype of a real-time web-accessible flood prediction and monitoring system for Canada. Partners: NASA and Natural Resources Canada.
  8. Public Safety Canada and the Canadian Water and Wastewater Association will lead a project to identify measures that can be taken to assist in strengthening the resilience of Canada’s water sector. Partner: Dalhousie University.
  9. The Public Health Agency of Canada will lead the development of comprehensive models to analyze antimicrobial resistance (AMR), which will establish a common understanding of AMR across multiple disciplines and agencies, and help frame discussions about potential interventions and policies to address the issue of AMR in Canada. Partners: Canadian Food Inspection Agency; Ontario Veterinary College; University of Guelph; Western College of Veterinary Medicine; University of Saskatchewan; and the School of Public Health and Health Systems, University of Waterloo.
  10. The Public Health Agency of Canada will lead a project focused on expanding the Canadian Network for Public Health Intelligence platform to enable its use on mobile technologies and incorporate new investigative and collaborative tools to foster improved communications, support investigations, and generate intelligence related to human, animal and environmental health. Partners: Canadian Food Inspection Agency; Health Canada; and Sunnybrook Research Institute.
  11. The Government of Saskatchewan (Regina, Saskatchewan) will lead an effort to document stakeholders’ wireless data application requirements to deliver interoperable services on a public safety broadband network. Partners: Canadian Advanced Technology Alliance; Canadian Interoperability Technology Interest Group; Saskatchewan Interoperability Interest Group; University of Regina, Bridging Research and Interoperability Centre.
  12. Natural Resources Canada and Linchpin Labs Inc. (Ottawa, Ontario) will lead the development of a system, which will be deployed at the National Energy Infrastructure Test Centre (NEITC) to enhance cyber training for engineers and IT security professionals of the Energy and Utilities Sector. This training will assist the industrial control sector in becoming more resilient, robust and capable to defend against cyber-attacks.
  13. The National Research Council and MacDonald, Dettwiler and Associates Systems Ltd. will lead a project that will contribute to increase awareness in the Canadian Arctic, including improvements to Canada’s ability to detect and track small ships, predict routes and destinations, and identify suspicious vessels, oil spills and illegal oil dumps. Partners: Canadian Armed Forces; Canadian Coast Guard; Environment Canada; Royal Canadian Mounted Police; and Transport Canada.
  14. The Royal Canadian Mounted Police (Surrey, British Columbia) and Ryerson University (Toronto, Ontario) will lead a study that will evaluate challenges and barriers faced by young adults who may be at risk of violence and radicalization, and develop community informed strategies to strengthen their resilience. Partners: University of Alberta.
  15. Public Safety Canada (Ottawa, Ontario) will lead an effort to improve our understanding of the mechanisms that can lead some Canadians to adopt radical views. This will assist the Government of Canada in managing threats and preventing violent extremism.
  16. The Canada Border Services Agency (Ottawa, Ontario) will lead a project to assist managers and frontline personnel to visualize and analyze complex data to better understand and optimize the flow of low-risk goods and travelers. Partners: Uncharted Software Inc.; and Transport Canada.
  17. The National Research Council (Ottawa, Ontario) will lead a project to implement state-of-the-art imaging technology that can assist public safety and security officials in remotely detecting and visualizing illicit radiological and nuclear materials, as well as contribute to accelerating secure cargo screening in a cost-effective manner. Partners: Canadian Armed Forces; Canada Border Services Agency; Defence Research and Development Canada; Natural Resources Canada; Royal Canadian Mounted Police; and Radiation Solutions Inc.
  18. Citizenship and Immigration Canada (CIC) will lead a project, along with the collaboration of the Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA) and WorldReach Software Corporation, to demonstrate how Smartphone technologies, in conjunction with ePassports, can enhance the safety and security of Canadians through early screening of travelers to Canada, while preserving and protecting traveller privacy. Partners: Ryerson University; and University of Ottawa.
  19. The City of Vancouver (British Columbia) and the International Data Corporation (Canada) Limited will lead a study to analyze the use of Cloud-based computing and centralized data storage in law enforcement. The case studies will explore promising approaches and assist Canadian law enforcement in adopting effective data management technologies and shared resources. Partner: Birch Forest Projects Inc.; and the Canadian Association of Chiefs of Police’s Information and Communications Technology Committee.
  20. The Royal Canadian Mounted Police (Ottawa, Ontario) will modernize the Suspicious Incident Reporting pilot system, which will enable information sharing at the national and North American level. Partners: Critical Infrastructure (CI) stakeholders from the 10 CI sectors designated by Public Safety Canada.
  21. Defence Research and Development Canada (Suffield, Alberta) will lead an effort to review the legal implications surrounding intentional or accidental intrusions into restricted airspace by small unmanned aircraft systems (UAS) and the state of development of UAS and counter-UAS technologies in order to assist law enforcement in developing solutions against these intrusions. Partners: Meggitt Training Systems Canada Inc.; and Royal Canadian Mounted Police.
  22. Defence Research and Development Canada (Suffield, Alberta) and Quanser Consulting Inc. (Markham, Ontario) will lead a project to further enhance the capabilities of an existing telerobotics system, which enables explosives technicians to dismantle Improvised Explosive Devices (IEDs) from a safe distance. Partners: Department of National of Defence; and Royal Canadian Mounted Police.
  23. The Royal Canadian Mounted Police and Mercur IT Solutions, Inc. (Ottawa, Ontario) will lead a project to develop and implement a web-crawler to explore anonymous and dark regions of the Internet and identify content of interest to national security and law enforcement communities. Partner: Donnybrook Research and Analysis, Inc.
Date modified:

Troisième ronde de projets dans le cadre de l’appel de propositions du PCSS – juillet 2015

Projets financés dans le cadre du troisième appel de propositions du PCSS

  1. Sécurité publique Canada et l’Association canadienne des chefs de pompiers dirigeront un projet de création d’une base de données nationale sur les incendies à titre de projet pilote pour améliorer les processus décisionnels reposant sur des données probantes, améliorer les activités de lutte aux incendies, favoriser l’élaboration de politiques efficaces à tous les niveaux de gouvernement et améliorer la qualité de la recherche et des analyses des tendances relatives aux incendies partout au Canada. Partenaires : Council of Canadian Fire Marshals & Fire Commissioners, Rhapsody Strategies Inc. et Université Wilfrid Laurier.
  2. Ressources naturelles Canada dirigera un projet visant à élaborer des modèles qui permettront au Canada de mieux prédire l’incidence et la durée d’incendies graves afin d’améliorer nos capacités de prédiction et de préparation à l’égard de feux de forêt de grande ampleur, de faciliter la planification en matière de préparation, d’améliorer le processus décisionnel en ce qui concerne l’aide mutuelle et, au bout du compte, d’améliorer la capacité du Canada à combattre les incendies de forêt. Partenaires : Canadian Interagency Forest Fire Centre et Université Western.
  3. Les services médicaux d’urgence des Services de santé de l’Alberta mèneront une étude sur les services paramédics communautaires pour comparer les résultats des prélèvements sanguins obtenus par les appareils utilisés en milieu communautaire avec ceux des laboratoires utilisant des pratiques standards. Les constats aideront les services médicaux d’urgence de l’Alberta et les autres chefs de file en matière de services paramédics à prendre des décisions fondées sur des données probantes en vue de disposer de programmes efficaces et efficients et d’optimiser la sécurité des collectivités. Partenaires : Calgary Laboratory Services et Université de Calgary.
  4. Les Laboratoires nucléaires canadiens dirigeront un projet d’acquisition de connaissances et d’élaboration de stratégies pour améliorer le recrutement, le soutien et la rétention des bénévoles, surtout les pompiers volontaires. Partenaire : Société de recherches sociales appliquées
  5. Le conseil du comté de Frontenac et l’Université Queen’s dirigeront une étude pour améliorer notre connaissance des indicateurs de santé et de bien-être des paramédics au Canada en vue de faciliter la prise de décisions relatives aux opérations et à la dotation en personnel. Partenaires : Paramedic Chiefs of Canada, Association des paramédics du Canada et Université Wilfrid Laurier
  6. La Ville de Kingston dirigera un projet pilote qui améliorera l’interopérabilité et l’échange de données des services paramédics, des services de police et des services des incendies de Brockville, de Kingston, de Belleville (Ontario) et de la région à l’aide d’un centre de répartition informatisé, centralisé et interconnecté qui sera utilisé par tous les partenaires. Partenaires : Services des incendies d’Addington Highlands; Services des incendies de Belleville; Services de police de Belleville; Services des incendies de Brockville; Services de police de Brockville; Services des incendies du canton de Central Frontenac; Comté de Frontenac; Services de police de Gananoque; Services des incendies de Greater Napanee; Services des incendies de Leeds et des Mille-Îles; Services d’urgence du canton de Loyalist; Services des incendies de North Frontenac; Services des incendies et de secours de South Frontenac; and Services des incendies de Stone Mills.
  7. L’Agence spatiale canadienne et le Groupe ADGA dirigeront un projet qui tirera parti de l’investissement considérable et continu du gouvernement du Canada dans le secteur de l’observation spatiale de la Terre afin d’élaborer pour le Canada un prototype d’un système de prédiction et de surveillance des inondations en temps réel accessible par le Web. Partenaires : NASA et Ressources naturelles Canada.
  8. Sécurité publique Canada et l’Association canadienne des eaux potables et usées dirigeront un projet visant à déterminer les mesures qu’il est possible de prendre pour contribuer à hausser la résilience du secteur canadien de l’eau. Partenaire : Université Dalhousie.
  9. L’Agence de la santé publique du Canada dirigera l’établissement de modèles exhaustifs d’analyse de la résistance aux antimicrobiens (RAM) qui permettront de créer une compréhension commune de la RAM au sein de multiples disciplines et organismes et serviront de cadre à des discussions au sujet des interventions et politiques potentielles susceptibles de contribuer à régler la question de la RAM au Canada. Partenaires : Agence canadienne d’inspection des aliments; Collège de médecine vétérinaire de l’Ontario; Université de Guelph; Western College of Veterinary Medicine; Université de la Saskatchewan; The School of Public Health and Health Systems, Université de Waterloo.
  10. L’Agence de santé publique du Canada dirigera un projet visant à étendre la plateforme du Réseau canadien de renseignements sur la santé publique afin de permettre son utilisation au moyen d’appareils mobiles et d’y incorporer de nouveaux outils d’enquête et de collaboration qui amélioreront les communications, appuieront les enquêtes et généreront des renseignements sur la santé humaine, animale et environnementale. Partenaires : Agence canadienne d’inspection des aliments; Santé Canada; Institut de recherche Sunnybrook.
  11. Le gouvernement de la Saskatchewan (Régina, Saskatchewan) dirigera un effort pour cerner les besoins des parties intéressées en matière d’applications de données sans fil pour fournir des services interopérables efficaces sur un réseau à large bande pour la sécurité publique. Partenaires : Alliance canadienne pour les technologies avancées; Groupe d’intérêt canadien en technologie de l’interopérabilité; Saskatchewan Interoperability Interest Group; Université de Regina, Bridging Research and Interoperability Centre.
  12. Ressources naturelles Canada et Linchpin Labs Inc. (Ottawa, Ontario) dirigeront le développement d’un système, qui sera déployé au Centre d’essai national sur l’infrastructure énergétique (CENIE), afin d’améliorer la formation cybernétique des ingénieurs et des professionnels de la sécurité des TI du secteur de l’énergie et des services publics. Cette formation aidera le secteur du contrôle industriel à devenir plus résilient, résistant et capable de se défendre contre les cyberattaques.
  13. Le Conseil national de recherche du Canada (CNRC) et MacDonald, Dettwiler and Associates Systems Ltd. dirigeront un projet visant à améliorer la connaissance de la situation dans l’Arctique canadien. Le projet inclura des améliorations à la capacité du Canada à détecter et à suivre de petits navires, à prédire les itinéraires et les destinations, et à repérer les vaisseaux suspects, ainsi que les déversements illégaux de pétrole et d’eaux de cale. Partenaires : les Forces armées canadiennes; la Garde côtière canadienne; Environnement Canada; et la Gendarmerie royale du Canada.
  14. La Gendarmerie royale du Canada (Surrey, Colombie-Britannique) et l’Université Ryerson (Toronto, Ontario) dirigeront une étude visant à évaluer les défis et les obstacles auxquels sont confrontés les jeunes adultes susceptibles de devenir violents ou d’être radicalisés, et à élaborer des stratégies axées sur la communauté afin d’augmenter leur résilience. Partenaire : Université de l’Alberta
  15. Sécurité publique Canada (Ottawa, Ontario) dirigera une initiative visant à améliorer notre compréhension des mécanismes qui mènent certains Canadiens à adopter des points de vue radicaux. Cette initiative aidera le gouvernement du Canada à assurer la gestion des menaces et à prévenir les actes d’extrémisme violents.
  16. L’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (Ottawa, Ontario) dirigera un projet visant à aider les gestionnaires et le personnel de première ligne à visualiser et analyser des données complexes pour mieux comprendre et optimiser le mouvement des biens et des voyageurs à faible risque. Partenaires : Uncharted Software Inc. et Transports Canada.
  17. Le Conseil national de recherches du Canada (Ottawa, Ontario) dirigera un projet visant à mettre en œuvre une technologie d’imagerie de pointe qui peut aider les autorités de la sûreté et de la sécurité publique à détecter et visualiser à distance les matières radiologiques et nucléaires illicites, ainsi que contribuer à accélérer le contrôle du fret sécurisé d’une manière rentable. Partenaires : les Forces armées canadiennes, l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada, Recherche et développement pour la défense Canada, Ressources naturelles Canada, la Gendarmerie royale du Canada et Radiation Solutions Inc.
  18. Citoyenneté et Immigration Canada (CIC) dirigera, avec la collaboration de l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC) et de WorldReach Software Corporation, un projet visant à démontrer comment les technologies de téléphone intelligent, conjointement avec les passeports électroniques, peuvent améliorer la sécurité des Canadiens à l’aide d’un processus de contrôle précoce des voyageurs au Canada, tout en préservant et en protégeant leurs renseignements personnels. Partenaires : l’Université Ryerson et l’Université d’Ottawa.
  19. La ville de Vancouver (Colombie-Britannique) et International Data Corporation (Canada) Limited dirigeront une étude visant à analyser l’utilisation de l’informatique en nuage et du stockage centralisé des données dans l’application de la loi. Les études de cas exploreront les approches prometteuses et aideront les organismes canadiens d’application de la loi à adopter des technologies de gestion des données et des ressources partagées efficaces. Partenaires : Birch Forest Projects Inc. et le Comité des technologies de l’information et des communications de l’Association canadienne des chefs de police.
  20. La Gendarmerie royale du Canada (Ottawa, Ontario) modernisera le Système de signalement des incidents suspects, qui permettra l’échange d’information à l’échelle nationale et nord-américaine. Partenaires : Intervenants des dix secteurs d’infrastructures essentielles désignés par Sécurité publique Canada.
  21. Recherche et développement pour la défense Canada (Suffield, Alberta) dirigera un effort visant à examiner les conséquences juridiques des intrusions intentionnelles ou accidentelles dans l’espace aérien réglementé par de petits systèmes d’aéronef sans pilote (UAS), ainsi que l’état du développement des UAS et des technologies de détection des UAS, afin d’aider les organismes d’application de la loi à élaborer des solutions contre ces intrusions. Partenaires : Meggitt Training Systems Canada Inc. et la Gendarmerie royale du Canada.
  22. Recherche et développement pour la défense Canada (Suffield, Alberta) et Quanser Consulting Inc. (Markham, Ontario) dirigeront un projet visant à améliorer les capacités d’un système télérobotique existant, qui permet aux techniciens en explosifs de démanteler des engins explosifs improvisés (IED) depuis une distance sécuritaire. Partenaires : le ministère de la Défense nationale et la Gendarmerie royale du Canada.
  23. La Gendarmerie royale du Canada et Mercur IT Solutions, Inc. (Ottawa, Ontario) dirigeront un projet visant à développer et mettre en œuvre un robot d’indexation Web pour explorer les régions anonymes et obscures de l’Internet et détecter le contenu d’intérêt pour la sécurité nationale et les organismes d’application de la loi. Partenaires : Donnybrook Research and Analysis, Inc.
Date de modification :