Changes to paid parental leave for students and postdoctoral fellow research trainees

The guidelines regarding parental leave supplements for eligible students and postdoctoral fellows research trainees who are paid out of agency grants will be changing July 31, 2017. Working collaboratively, the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada (SSHRC), the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC), and the Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR) have sought to improve access to paid parental leave, harmonize their guidelines and reduce administrative burden.

As a result, effective July 31, 2017, SSHRC will join NSERC and CIHR in providing parental leave supplements paid out of agency grants within six months following the child's birth or adoption to eligible students and postdoctoral fellows who are primary caregivers for a child. (This will not be retroactive; it will apply to births and adoptions on or after July 31, 2017.)

Further, for all three agencies, starting on July 31, 2017, students or fellows eligible for other parental leave supplements may also be eligible for Agency supplements. The following sentence of the Tri-Agency Financial Administration Guide in the "Administrative Matters" section will be deleted: "Students or fellows who are eligible for employment insurance or other parental leave supplements from other sources do not qualify for parental leave supplements".

Correspondingly, changes have been made to the "Checklist for Maternity and/or Parental Leave Paid from Grants to Students and Postdoctoral Fellows": essentially, SSHRC will adopt the same administrative model as NSERC, by which the supplements are paid to the institution as a reimbursement for the Paid Parental Leave they have provided to eligible students and postdoctoral fellows paid out of agency grants.

Date modified:

Changements aux congés parentaux payés pour les étudiants et stagiaires postdoctoraux de recherche

Les lignes directrices relatives au supplément pour congé parental versé aux étudiantes, étudiants et stagiaires postdoctoraux admissibles qui sont rémunérés à même les subventions des organismes seront modifiées le 31 juillet 2017. Le Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines (CRSH), le Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie (CRSNG) et les Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada (IRSC) ont travaillé de concert afin d'améliorer l'accès au congé parental payé, d'harmoniser leurs lignes directrices et de réduire le fardeau administratif.

Par conséquent, à compter du 31 juillet 2017, le CRSH, à l'instar du CRSNG et des IRSC, versera un supplément pour congé parental payé à même les subventions de l'organisme dans les six mois suivant la naissance ou l'adoption d'un enfant aux étudiantes, étudiants et stagiaires postdoctoraux admissibles qui sont les principaux fournisseurs de soins de l'enfant. Cette mesure ne sera pas rétroactive; elle s'appliquera aux naissances et aux adoptions qui auront lieu le ou après le 31 juillet 2017.

En outre, à compter du 31 juillet 2017, les étudiantes, étudiants et stagiaires postdoctoraux des trois organismes qui sont admissibles à d'autres suppléments pour congé parental pourraient aussi être admissibles aux suppléments de leur organisme. La phrase suivante sera supprimée de la section « Questions administratives » du Guide d'administration financière des trois organismes : « Les étudiants ou les stagiaires qui sont admissibles à l'assurance-emploi ou à d'autres suppléments de congés parentaux d'autres sources ne sont pas admissibles au supplément de congés parentaux. »

La « Liste de contrôle pour les congés de maternité ou les congés parentaux payés à même les subventions aux étudiants et aux stagiaires postdoctoraux » a été modifiée en conséquence. En gros, le CRSH adoptera le même modèle administratif que le CRSNG, modèle selon lequel les suppléments sont payés à l'établissement afin de rembourser le congé parental payé qu'il a offert aux étudiantes, étudiants et stagiaires postdoctoraux admissibles qui sont rémunérés à même les subventions de l'organisme.

Date de modification :