The Origins of the Oceans Research in Canada Alliance (ORCA)

Consortium of Canadian Ocean Research Universities (2011)

  • Canada’s top ocean research universities come together in an effort to build a new level of alignment in Canadian ocean research.

Was a key catalyst for…

Council of Canadian Academies Reports (2012 & 2013)

  • Identification of priority research questions for ocean science in Canada as well as the assessment of Canada’s capacities and needs to address these research questions. Reports identified key challenges for ocean science and techology in Canada: 1) vision gap 2) coordination gap and 3) information gap.

To address these gaps, the creation of…

Oceans Research in Canada Alliance (ORCA) (2016)

  • The announcement of a new initiative to improve the coordination of ocean science and technology in Canada, is bringing together Canada’s ocean science and technology community to better align efforts, increase our collective knowledge, and forge stronger collaborative ties.

The community assembled at…

Building an Oceans Research in Canada Alliance Workshop (2017)

  • Developed a vision of a preferred future for the ocean science and technology community and recommended initiatives that ORCA could undertake to make that vision a reality.

From these recommendations, the establishment of...

Oceans Research in Canada Alliance

Groups, Descriptions and Organizational Structure

Community of Practice

The Community of Practice is a forum to network the wider community, share information, discuss priority issues and work collaboratively on initiatives related to ocean science and technology in Canada. All members of the ocean science and technology community are welcome to participate.

Council

Established as a small, leadership body for ORCA, composed of senior-level officials from across the Canadian ocean science and technology community, whose primary role is one of facilitation, engagement and coordination.

Secretariat

Housed within the Office of Partnership and Collaboration at Fisheries and Oceans Canada, the Secretariat provides support to the ORCA Council and Community of Practice.

Date modified:

Les origines de l'Alliance de la recherche océanique au Canada

Consortium canadien des universités de la recherche océanographique (2011)

  • Les principales universités en sciences océaniques au Canada sont réunies afin de créer un nouveau niveau d'harmonisation des recherches océaniques canadiennes.

A été un catalyseur clé pour...

Rapport du Conseil des académies canadiennes (2012 et 2013)

  • Définition des questions de recherche prioritaires pour les sciences océaniques au Canada, et évaluation des capacités et des besoins du Canada pour répondre à ces questions de recherche. Les rapports définissaient les principaux défis liés aux sciences et aux technologies océaniques au Canada : 1) manque de vision 2) manque de coordination et 3) manque de renseignements.

Afin de combler ces lacunes, on a créé

Alliance de la recherche océanique au Canada (AROC) (2016)

  • L'annonce d'une nouvelle initiative pour améliorer la coordination des sciences et des technologies océaniques au Canada rassemble sa communauté d'experts afin de mieux harmoniser les efforts, d'accroître le savoir collectif et d'établir des liens de collaboration plus solides.

La communauté est réunie pour...

Atelier Bâtir une alliance de la recherche océanique au Canada (2017)

  • Élaboration d'une vision quant à l'évolution préférée pour la communauté des sciences et des technologies océaniques, et recommandation d'initiatives pouvant être entreprises par l'AROC afin de réaliser cette vision.

De ces recommandations, est né...

Alliance de la recherche océanique au Canada

Groupes, descriptions et structure organisationnelle

Communauté de praticiens

La communauté de praticiens est un forum qui permet à la communauté dans son ensemble d'établir un réseau, de transmettre des renseignements, de discuter des enjeux prioritaires et de collaborer sur des initiatives liées aux sciences et aux technologies océaniques du Canada. Tous les membres de la communauté des sciences et des technologies océaniques sont invités à participer.

Conseil

Le Conseil est l'organisme leadership pour l'AROC et est composé de représentants de la haute direction de l'ensemble de la communauté des sciences et des technologies océaniques. Le rôle principal du Conseil consiste à assurer la facilitation, la mobilisation et la coordination.

Secrétariat

Hébergé dans le Bureau du partenariat et de la collaboration de Pêches et Océans Canada, le Secrétariat fournit du soutien au Conseil de l'AROC et à la communauté de praticiens.

Date de modification :