Roadmap for Open Science

PDF version

Roadmap for Open Science

Roadmap for Open Science
630 KB, 12 pages

ROADMAP FOR OPEN SCIENCE

February 2020



TABLE OF CONTENTS

Acknowledgements

Objective

Vision

Why Open Science

Context

Principles

Recommendations

Appendix: Definitions

ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS

This Roadmap outlines next steps that should be taken to make federal science open to all, while respecting privacy, security, ethical considerations and appropriate intellectual property protection. It has been informed by the work of the Open Science Roadmap Advisory Committee, chaired by Leslie Weir. The Committee worked diligently under tight timelines and delivered unanimous principles that guided my recommendations. The Roadmap was further refined thanks to the thoughtful feedback received from the federal departments, agencies and granting councils.

I want to acknowledge the work of all committee members that brought diverse perspectives to the discussion, including Tammy Clifford, Martha Crago, Chad Gaffield, Luc Gagnon, Sarah Gallagher, Danika Goosney, Nancy Hamzawi, André Loranger, Donna Kirkwood, Gilles Patry, Bo Wandschneider and Dan Wayner. I particularly want to thank Leslie Weir for her leadership in chairing the committee.

I look forward to working together and making science accessible to all.


Mona Nemer
Chief Science Advisor of Canada

top of page


OBJECTIVE

The objective of the Roadmap for Open Science is to provide overarching principles and recommendations to guide Open Science* activities in Canada. The recommendations are intended for science and research funded by federal government departments and agencies.


top of page


VISION

To make Canadian science* open to all, maximizing benefits for the well-being, health and economy of our country.

top of page


WHY OPEN SCIENCE

Open Science makes scientific information available to all. The benefits include:

Ensuring Accountability: Open Access to scientific research outputs provides greater accountability to taxpayers and research funders.

Increasing Reproducibility: Open Science enables the scientific community to evaluate the reproducibility of scientific results.

Creating Open Engagement: Open and accessible science fosters public dialogue about, understanding of, and public confidence in, science.

Reducing Duplication: Open Science minimizes duplication of efforts and enables more efficient and effective use of research investments.

Creating Opportunities for Impact: Open Science accelerates the discovery process by allowing others to build on previously validated discoveries and research contributions and to create opportunities for innovation and prosperity.

Leveraging Diversity and Inclusion: Open Science creates opportunities to benefit from the diversity of knowledge systems and perspectives.

Accelerating Knowledge Transfer: Open Science reduces delays in the sharing and re-use of scientific information.

Building Synergies with International and Domestic Open Science Movements: Governments around the world are embracing Open Science. Canada has an opportunity to be a part of this movement to shape the global vision of Open Science.

top of page


CONTEXT

The Roadmap for Open Science was developed in the context of the Directive on Open Government, the Model Policy on Scientific Integrity and the Data Strategy Roadmap for the Federal Public Service. It builds on the Tri-Agency Open Access Policy on Publications and the Statement of Principles on Digital Data Management.

A federal approach to supporting Indigenous data strategies is outlined in the Data Strategy Roadmap for the Federal Public Service, Recommendation 8. For this reason, Indigenous knowledge and rights to self-determination are not explicitly covered in this roadmap and its recommendations.

top of page


PRINCIPLES

  1. PEOPLE: Open Science is a shared commitment between all stakeholders. The scientific community is integral to Open Science and needs to be meaningfully engaged at every stage of the process, including the design, implementation and evaluation of its effectiveness and impact.
  2. TRANSPARENCY: Scientific research outputs are “Open by Design and by Default”; they are “FAIR”, i.e. Findable, Accessible, Interoperable and Reusable. Withholding scientific research outputs requires a valid reason consistent with a framework (to be developed) on which scientific information will be kept private or confidential.
  3. INCLUSIVENESS: In achieving Open Science, diverse and inclusive approaches are used, reflecting the breadth of perspectives across scientific communities and knowledge systems.
  4. COLLABORATION: Open Science enables collaborations between and among intramural and extramural science communities, within Canada and globally.
  5. SUSTAINABILITY: The practice of Open Science requires a sustainable approach with concrete steps forward and the commitment necessary to achieve the long-term vision.

top of page


RECOMMENDATIONS

  1. Canada should adopt an Open Science approach to federally funded scientific and research outputs.

  2. This recommendation sets the tone for the document and for the recommendations that follow. Given the complexities associated with adopting an Open Science approach, implementation should take a phased approach.


  3. Federal departments and agencies should conduct intradepartmental consultations with the science community before June 2020 to seek feedback on, and address in the action plan, the challenges and opportunities of Open Science. These should be led by the Department’s Open Science Champion(s), e.g., Departmental Science Advisor, Chief Science Officer, Assistant Deputy Minister and Vice President Science.

  4. This recommendation aims to engage federal researchers and scientists in identifying challenges and concerns, as well as benefits and tools that would enable employee participation in Open Science activities. Feedback received should inform the Open Science action plans (Recommendation 3). This recommendation is consistent with the Model Policy on Scientific Integrity section 7.7, Role of employees in science advice and evidence-informed decision-making, in particular clauses 7.7.1 – 7.7.3.


  5. To achieve the overall objective of Open Science, and taking into consideration feedback from intradepartmental consultation (Recommendation 2), departments and agencies should develop action plans for Open Science by October 2020. This should include plans for a common, phased approach towards making federal science open (taking into account Recommendations 4, 5 and 7) and readily and easily available to Canadians.

  6. Newly generated scientific research outputs produced by federal scientists and researchers, as well as scientific research outputs that were contracted by federal departments and agencies need to be made “Open by Design and by Default.” For legacy data, a responsive action plan should be developed to share data requested with time-bound commitment for delivery.

    Federal departments and agencies should collaborate on central approaches to common elements of their plans to achieve this recommendation, particularly, in terms of IT solutions, guiding principles with regards to official languages, web- accessibility and timelines. The Chief Science Advisor will facilitate, as necessary.

    The action plans should include a performance measurement element. Metrics for Open Science have been developed by the Open Science Metrics Working Group convened by Environment and Climate Change Canada, these should lay a foundation for the performance measurement element of the action plans.


  7. Federal departments and agencies should make federal science articles* openly accessible by January 2022 and federal science publications* openly accessible by January 2023, while respecting privacy, security, ethical considerations and appropriate intellectual property protection.

  8. This recommendation aims to achieve Open Access by default without an embargo period. It applies to new science articles published in academic scholarly journals as of January 2022, as well as new federal science publications released as of January 2023. This recommendation also applies to new science articles and publications that were contracted by a federal government department or agency and published as of January 2023. For legacy publications, a responsive action plan should be developed to share publications requested with time-bound commitment for delivery. When a research project and resulting publication have received support from multiple funders, the federal government should uphold the most open of the Open Access policies.

    This recommendation is consistent with the Model Policy on Scientific Integrity, section 6.3, In the absence of clear and compelling reasons for limiting disclosure, ensure that research and scientific information produced by a department or agency is made available to the public in a timely manner and in keeping with the Government of Canada’s Directive on Open Government.

    The federal science community should use a common approach to achieving this recommendation. It may explore the opportunity to develop shared tools and infrastructure to meet this target. The Chief Science Advisor will facilitate, as necessary.


  9. Federal departments and agencies should develop strategies and tools to implement FAIR data principles to ensure interoperability of scientific and research data* and metadata standards by January 2023, with a phased plan for full implementation by January 2025.

  10. This recommendation aims to ensure that the scientific information that is open is also “Findable, Accessible, Interoperable and Reusable” (or “FAIR”) in order to maximize the benefit. It is aligned with the Data Strategy Roadmap for the Federal Public Service.

    A pre-requisite for the implementation of FAIR data principles is strong data management practices, including annotation and curation to the most updated standards (e.g. current data and metadata standards). When commonly agreed data and metadata standards are not available, meaningful engagement and coordination with the extramural and international scientific communities and disciplinary societies may be required to achieve interoperability of scientific and research data and metadata.

    The federal science community should use a common approach to achieve this recommendation. This should be co-led by the Treasury Board Secretariat (Chief Information Officer) and the Office of Chief Science Advisor.


  11. In order to enable the “Open by Design and by Default” model for scientific research outputs, the Chief Science Advisor will work with the federal science community and other government departments and agencies to develop by December 2020 a framework identifying criteria for when restricting access to federal scientific research outputs is warranted.

  12. This recommendation aims to provide a whole-of-government approach to identifying what scientific research outputs should be kept private or confidential.


  13. The Data Strategy Roadmap and the Open Science Action Plan should be aligned. For this to happen, consideration should be given to scientific and research data when developing and implementing data strategies in response to the 2018 Data Strategy Roadmap for the Federal Public Service. To facilitate that, deputy heads should designate a Chief Scientific Data Officer by June 2020. As relevant, this can be a stand-alone position or responsibility can be integrated into the scope of an existing position, e.g. Departmental Science Advisor, Assistant Deputy Minister and Vice President Science.

  14. This recommendation aims to promote coordination between the Open Data, Open Science and Science Data Management work happening within the Government of Canada. Furthermore, coordination between Chief Scientific Data Officers, Chief Information Officers, Chief Data Officers, Open Science Champions and Open Government Champions will be critical for effective implementation of Open Science action plans.


  15. Successful and harmonized implementation of the Open Science Action Plans should be supported by a new high-level Open Science Steering Committee co-chaired by the Chief Science Advisor and either or both the Chief Information Officer of Canada and the President of Shared Services Canada.

  16. This recommendation articulates a governance structure that would oversee the design and implementation of Open Science Action Plans. Through establishing a governance structure, it aims to ensure harmonized implementation of the Open Science Action Plans. The terms of reference and relationship structure with departments and agencies should be developed by June 2020.


  17. An Open Science strategy for federally funded research conducted outside of federal government agencies and departments should also be developed. The Chief Science Advisor could conduct such an exercise in partnership with the federal granting agencies (e.g. through the Canada Research Coordinating Committee), learned societies and provincial and territorial funders. These consultations should target scientific communities and their administrative leadership. The consultation should be completed by December 2021.

  18. This recommendation articulates the need for a coherent Open Science strategy for Canadian science more broadly, while respecting privacy, security, ethical considerations and appropriate intellectual property protection. A consultation with the extramural scientific community and relevant partners should guide this strategy.


  19. The Chief Science Advisor should monitor the dynamic international context and make recommendations to ensure that the Open Science strategy for federally supported intramural and extramural science continues to keep pace with international developments.

  20. This recommendation highlights the dynamic and evolving nature of Open Science. As digital technology and Open Science practices evolve over time, the Roadmap will also evolve. The list of principles is not exhaustive and will continue to develop over time. Further considerations might also emerge in conversations with scientists, researchers and open science users.

top of page


APPENDIX: DEFINITIONS

Open Science: The practice of making scientific inputs, outputs and processes freely available to all with minimal restrictions. Scientific research outputs include (i) peer- reviewed science articles and publications, (ii) scientific and research data and (iii) public contribution to and dialogue about science. Open Science is enabled by people, technology and infrastructure. It is practiced in full respect of privacy, security, ethical considerations and appropriate intellectual property protection.

Science: The pursuit and application of knowledge and understanding of the natural world through application of one or more elements of the scientific method. In the context of this roadmap, it is understood to include both fundamental and applied natural, physical, biomedical and social science, as well as engineering and mathematics.

Federal science articles: Scholarly articles authored or co-authored by federal scientist(s) or researcher(s) in peer-reviewed academic journals.

Federal science publications: Scientific communications that scientists and researchers use to share their work. These include research or scientific reports, monographs, edited books, book chapters, conference proceedings, conference papers, conference contributions, posters, plain language summaries and technical scientific products. These publications have been validated by a peer-review process.

Scientific and research data: Data that include, but are not limited to, observational, monitoring, operational, modelling and simulation, risk-assessment, survey and surveillance, research and development and technology innovation data.

top of page


Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Feuille de route pour la science ouverte

Version PDF

FEUILLE DE ROUTE POUR LA SCIENCE OUVERTE

Février 2020



TABLE DES MATIÈRES

Remerciements

Objectif

Vision

Pourquoi la science ouverte

Contexte

Principes

Recommandations

Annexe : Définitions


REMERCIEMENTS

La présente Feuille de route décrit les prochaines étapes à suivre pour rendre la science fédérale accessible à tous, tout en respectant la vie privée, et en prenant en compte la sécurité, les considérations éthiques et la protection de la propriété intellectuelle. La Feuille de route a été produite à partir des travaux d’un comité consultatif présidé par Leslie Weir. Le Comité a travaillé avec diligence dans des délais serrés pour élaborer les principes qui ont guidé mes recommandations. La Feuille de route a été peaufinée grâce aux commentaires détaillés des ministères, organismes et conseils subventionnaires fédéraux.

Je tiens à souligner le travail de tous les membres du Comité consultatif qui ont apporté diverses perspectives à la discussion, notamment Tammy Clifford, Martha Crago, Chad Gaffield, Luc Gagnon, Sarah Gallagher, Danika Goosney, Nancy Hamzawi, André Loranger, Donna Kirkwood, Gilles Patry, Bo Wandschneider et Dan Wayner. Je remercie tout particulièrement Leslie Weir pour son leadership à la présidence du Comité.

J’ai hâte qu’on travaille ensemble à rendre la science accessible à tous.


Mona Nemer
Conseillère scientifique en chef du Canada

haut de la page


OBJECTIF

L’objectif de la Feuille de route pour la science ouverte est de présenter des principes fondamentaux et des recommandations pour guider les activités relatives à la science ouverte* au Canada. Les recommandations visent la science et la recherche financées par les ministères et organismes fédéraux.


haut de la page


VISION

Rendre la science* canadienne accessible à tous, en maximisant les avantages pour le bien-être, la santé et l’économie de notre pays.

haut de la page


POURQUOI LA SCIENCE OUVERTE

La science ouverte met l’information scientifique à la disposition de tous, ce qui procure plusieurs avantages, dont les suivants :

Assurer l’obligation de rendre compte : Le libre accès aux résultats de la recherche scientifique permet une plus grande reddition de comptes aux contribuables et aux bailleurs de fonds de la recherche.

Accroître la reproductibilité : La science ouverte permet à la communauté scientifique d’évaluer la reproductibilité des résultats scientifiques.

Créer un engagement ouvert : La science ouverte et accessible favorise le dialogue public sur la science, sa compréhension et la confiance du public à l’égard de la science.

Réduire le dédoublement : La science ouverte réduit au minimum le dédoublement des efforts et permet une utilisation plus efficiente et plus efficace des investissements dans la recherche.

Créer des possibilités avantageuses : La science ouverte accélère le processus de découverte en permettant à d’autres de s’appuyer sur des découvertes et des contributions à la recherche déjà validées et de créer des possibilités d’innovation et de prospérité.

Tirer parti de la diversité et de l’inclusion : La science ouverte crée des occasions de profiter de la diversité des systèmes de connaissances et des conceptions.

Accélérer le transfert des connaissances : La science ouverte réduit les délais en ce qui concerne le partage et la réutilisation de l’information scientifique.

Créer des synergies avec les mouvements de science ouverte internationaux et nationaux : Les gouvernements du monde entier adoptent la science ouverte. Le Canada a l’occasion de participer à ce mouvement en vue de façonner la vision mondiale de la science ouverte.

haut de la page


CONTEXTE

La Feuille de route pour la science ouverte a été élaborée dans le contexte de l’initiative de la Directive sur le gouvernement ouvert, du Modèle de politique sur l’intégrité scientifique et de la Feuille de route de la Stratégie de données pour la fonction publique fédérale. Elle s’appuie sur la Politique des trois organismes sur le libre accès aux publications et la Déclaration de principes des trois organismes sur la gestion des données numériques.

Une approche fédérale à l’appui des stratégies pour les données autochtones est décrite dans la Feuille de route de la Stratégie de données pour la fonction publique fédérale, recommandation 8. Pour cette raison, le savoir autochtone et le droit à l’autodétermination ne sont pas explicitement couverts dans la présente feuille de route et ses recommandations.

haut de la page


PRINCIPES

  1. PERSONNES : La science ouverte est un engagement partagé entre tous les intervenants. La communauté scientifique fait partie intégrante de la science ouverte et doit véritablement participer à chaque étape du processus, notamment à sa conception, à sa mise en œuvre et à l’évaluation de son efficacité et de son impact.
  2. TRANSPARENCE : Les résultats de la recherche scientifique sont « ouverts par conception et par défaut »; ils sont faciles à trouver, accessibles, interopérables et réutilisables (principes FAIR). La non-divulgation des résultats de la recherche scientifique exige une raison valable conforme à un cadre (à élaborer) justifiant le fait que l’information scientifique sera gardée privée ou confidentielle.
  3. INCLUSIVITÉ : Pour aboutir à une science ouverte, des approches diverses et inclusives sont utilisées, reflétant l’étendue des conceptions des communautés scientifiques et des systèmes de connaissances.
  4. COLLABORATION : La science ouverte permet la collaboration entre les communautés scientifiques aussi bien à l’intérieur qu’à l’extérieur du gouvernement, au Canada et dans le monde.
  5. DURABILITÉ : La pratique de la science ouverte exige une approche durable avec des mesures concrètes et l’engagement nécessaire pour réaliser la vision à long terme.

haut de la page


RECOMMANDATIONS

  1. Le Canada devrait adopter une approche de science ouverte à l’égard des résultats scientifiques et de recherche financés par le gouvernement fédéral.

  2. Cette recommandation donne le ton au document et aux recommandations qui suivent. Étant donné les complexités associées à l’adoption d’une approche de science ouverte, la mise en œuvre devrait se faire par étapes.


  3. Les ministères et organismes fédéraux devraient mener des consultations intraministérielles avec la communauté scientifique avant juin 2020 afin d’obtenir de la rétroaction sur les défis et les possibilités liés à la science ouverte et de les aborder dans le plan d’action. Ces activités devraient être dirigées par le(s) champion(s) de la science ouverte du Ministère, p. ex. les conseillers scientifiques ministériels, les conseillers scientifiques en chef, les sous-ministres adjoints ou les vice-présidents, Sciences.

  4. Cette recommandation vise à inciter les chercheurs et les scientifiques fédéraux à cerner les défis et les préoccupations, ainsi que les avantages et les outils qui permettraient aux employés de participer aux activités relatives à la science ouverte. La rétroaction reçue devrait éclairer les plans d’action pour la science ouverte (recommandation 3). Cette recommandation est conforme à la section 7.7, Rôle des employés dans les avis scientifiques et prise de décisions éclairées par les données probantes du Modèle de politique sur l’intégrité scientifique, en particulier les clauses 7.7.1 à 7.7.3.


  5. Pour atteindre l’objectif global de la science ouverte et en tenant compte de la rétroaction issue des consultations intraministérielles (recommandation 2), les ministères et organismes devraient élaborer des plans d’action pour la science ouverte d’ici octobre 2020. Cela devrait comprendre des plans concernant une approche commune et progressive visant à rendre la science fédérale ouverte (en tenant compte des recommandations 4, 5 et 7) et facilement accessible aux Canadiens.

  6. Les nouveaux résultats de recherche scientifique produits par des scientifiques et des chercheurs fédéraux, ainsi que les résultats de recherche scientifique qui ont fait l’objet d’un contrat par un ministère ou un organisme fédéral, doivent être rendus « ouverts par conception et par défaut ». En ce qui concerne les données existantes, un plan d’action adapté devrait être élaboré visant la communication des données demandées assortie de délais d’exécution précis.

    Les ministères et organismes fédéraux devraient collaborer à l’élaboration d’approches centrales quant aux éléments communs de leurs plans afin de mettre en œuvre cette recommandation, en particulier en ce qui concerne les solutions de TI, les principes directeurs en matière de langues officielles, l’accessibilité du Web et les échéanciers. La conseillère scientifique en chef contribuera à cette activité, au besoin.

    Les plans d’action devraient comprendre un élément de mesure du rendement. Le groupe de travail sur les indicateurs des données de science ouverte, réuni par Environnement et Changement climatique Canada, a mis au point les données de science ouverte qui devraient servir de base à l’élément de mesure du rendement des plans d’action.


  7. Les ministères et organismes fédéraux devraient rendre librement accessibles les articles scientifiques fédéraux* examinés par les pairs d’ici janvier 2022 et les publications scientifiques fédérales* examinées par les pairs, d’ici janvier 2023, tout en respectant la vie privée, la sécurité, les considérations éthiques et la protection appropriée de la propriété intellectuelle.

  8. Cette recommandation vise à réaliser le libre accès par défaut sans période d’attente. Elle s’applique aux nouveaux articles scientifiques publiés dans des revues savantes universitaires à compter de janvier 2022, ainsi qu’aux nouvelles publications scientifiques fédérales publiées à compter de janvier 2023. Cette recommandation s’applique également aux nouveaux articles et aux nouvelles publications scientifiques qui ont été commandés par un ministère ou un organisme fédéral et qui sont publiés en date de janvier 2023. Dans le cas des anciennes publications, un plan d’action adapté devrait être élaboré afin de partager les publications demandées avec un engagement à l’égard de l’exécution dans des délais précis. Lorsqu’un projet de recherche et la publication qui en résulte ont reçu l’appui de plusieurs bailleurs de fonds, le gouvernement fédéral devrait respecter les politiques sur le libre accès les plus ouvertes.

    Cette recommandation est conforme à la section 6.3 du Modèle de politique sur l’intégrité scientifique : Veiller, en l’absence de raisons claires et impérieuses de limiter la diffusion d’informations, à ce que la recherche et l’information scientifique produites par les ministères et organismes soient mises à la disposition du public en temps opportun et conformément à la directive sur le gouvernement ouvert du gouvernement du Canada.

    La communauté scientifique fédérale devrait adopter une approche commune pour donner suite à cette recommandation. Elle pourrait explorer la possibilité d’élaborer une infrastructure et des outils communs pour atteindre cet objectif. La conseillère scientifique en chef contribuera à cette activité, au besoin.


  9. Les ministères et organismes fédéraux devraient élaborer des stratégies et des outils pour mettre en œuvre les principes de données FAIR afin d’assurer l’interopérabilité des données scientifiques et de recherche* et des normes de métadonnées d’ici janvier 2023, avec un plan par étapes pour une mise en œuvre complète d’ici janvier 2025.

  10. Cette recommandation vise à faire en sorte que l’information scientifique qui est ouverte soit également « facile à trouver, accessible, interopérable, réutilisable » (ou FAIR) afin d’en maximiser les avantages. Elle est en harmonie avec la Feuille de route de la Stratégie de données pour la fonction publique fédérale.

    Une condition préalable à la mise en œuvre des principes de données FAIR est l’adoption de solides pratiques de gestion des données, y compris l’annotation et la conservation selon les normes les plus récentes (p. ex. normes actuelles sur les données et métadonnées). Lorsqu’il n’existe pas de normes communes pour les données et les métadonnées, un engagement et une coordination véritable avec les communautés scientifiques et les sociétés disciplinaires à l’extérieur du gouvernement et à l’échelle internationale peuvent être nécessaires pour assurer l’interopérabilité des données et métadonnées scientifiques et de recherche.

    La communauté scientifique fédérale devrait utiliser une approche commune pour mettre en œuvre cette recommandation. Le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor (par l’entremise du dirigeant principal de l’information) et le Bureau de la conseillère scientifique en chef devraient codiriger ces activités.


  11. Afin de permettre l’application du modèle « ouvert par conception et par défaut » aux résultats de la recherche scientifique, la conseillère scientifique en chef travaillera avec la communauté scientifique fédérale et avec d’autres ministères et organismes gouvernementaux à l’élaboration, d’ici décembre 2020, d’un cadre définissant les critères à appliquer lorsque la restriction de l’accès aux résultats des recherches scientifiques fédérales est justifiée.

  12. Cette recommandation vise à fournir une approche pangouvernementale pour déterminer quels résultats de la recherche scientifique devraient demeurer privés ou confidentiels.


  13. La Feuille de route de la Stratégie de données et le Plan d’action pour la science ouverte devraient être harmonisés. Pour ce faire, il faut tenir compte des données scientifiques et de recherche lors de l’élaboration et de la mise en œuvre des stratégies relatives aux données en réponse à la Feuille de route de la Stratégie de données pour la fonction publique fédérale de 2018. Pour faciliter cette tâche, les administrateurs généraux devraient désigner un dirigeant principal des données scientifiques d’ici juin 2020. Le cas échéant, il peut s’agir d’un poste autonome ou d’une responsabilité qui peut être intégrée aux fonctions liées à un poste existant, p. ex. conseiller scientifique ministériel, sous-ministre adjoint ou vice-président, Sciences, dirigeant principal des données.

  14. Cette recommandation vise à favoriser la coordination entre les travaux sur les données ouvertes, la science ouverte et la gestion des données scientifiques en cours au sein du gouvernement du Canada. De plus, la coordination entre les dirigeants principaux des données scientifiques, les dirigeants principaux de l’information, les dirigeants principaux des données, les champions de la science ouverte et les champions du gouvernement ouvert sera essentielle à la mise en œuvre efficace des plans d’action pour la science ouverte.


  15. La mise en œuvre réussie et harmonisée des plans d’action pour la science ouverte devrait être appuyée par un nouveau comité directeur de haut niveau sur la science ouverte, coprésidé par la conseillère scientifique en chef et soit le dirigeant principal de l’information du Canada soit le président de Services partagés Canada ou les deux.

  16. Cette recommandation énonce une structure de gouvernance qui superviserait la conception et la mise en œuvre des plans d’action pour une science ouverte. Par la mise en place d’une structure de gouvernance, elle vise à assurer une mise en œuvre harmonisée des plans d’action pour la science ouverte. Le mandat et la structure des relations avec les ministères et organismes devraient être élaborés d’ici juin 2020.


  17. Une stratégie en matière de science ouverte pour la recherche financée par le gouvernement fédéral et menée à l’extérieur des organismes et des ministères fédéraux devrait également être élaborée. La conseillère scientifique en chef pourrait mener un tel exercice en partenariat avec les organismes subventionnaires fédéraux (p. ex. par l’entremise du Comité de coordination de la recherche au Canada), les sociétés savantes et les bailleurs de fonds provinciaux et territoriaux. Ces consultations devraient cibler les communautés scientifiques et leurs dirigeants administratifs, et devraient être terminé d’ici décembre 2021.

  18. Cette recommandation met en évidence le besoin d’une stratégie en matière de science ouverte cohérente pour la science au Canada de façon plus générale, tout en respectant la vie privée, la sécurité, les considérations éthiques et la protection appropriée de la propriété intellectuelle. Une consultation avec la communauté scientifique à l’extérieur du gouvernement et les partenaires concernés devrait guider cette stratégie.


  19. La conseillère scientifique en chef devrait surveiller le contexte international dynamique et faire des recommandations pour s’assurer que la stratégie en matière de science ouverte concernant la science à l’intérieur et à l’extérieur du gouvernement financée par le gouvernement fédéral continue de suivre le rythme de l’évolution à l’échelle internationale.

  20. Cette recommandation souligne la nature dynamique et évolutive de la science ouverte. La feuille de route évoluera au fur et à mesure que la technologie numérique et les pratiques de la science ouverte évolueront. La liste des principes n’est pas exhaustive et continuera d’évoluer au fil du temps. D’autres considérations pourraient également émerger lors des discussions avec les scientifiques, les chercheurs et les utilisateurs de la science ouverte.

haut de la page


ANNEXE : DÉFINITIONS

Science ouverte : la pratique qui consiste à rendre les intrants, les résultats et les processus scientifiques librement accessibles à tous avec un minimum de restrictions. Les résultats de la recherche scientifique comprennent i) des articles et des publications scientifiques examinés par les pairs, ii) les données scientifiques et de recherche, iii) la contribution du public à la science et le dialogue à cet égard. La science ouverte est rendue possible par les personnes, la technologie et l’infrastructure. Elle se pratique dans le respect de la vie privée, de la sécurité, de l’éthique et de la protection appropriée de la propriété intellectuelle.

Articles scientifiques fédéraux : articles scientifiques dont les auteurs ou coauteurs sont des scientifiques ou des chercheurs fédéraux et qui sont publiés dans des revues spécialisées examinées par les pairs.

Publications scientifiques fédérales : communications scientifiques que les scientifiques et les chercheurs utilisent pour partager leurs travaux. Il s’agit notamment de rapports de recherche ou de rapports scientifiques, de monographies, de livres, de chapitres de livres, de rapports de congrès, d’articles de conférences, de contributions à des conférences, d’affiches, de résumés en langage simple et de produits scientifiques et techniques. Ces publications ont été validées par un processus d’examen par les pairs.

Science : la quête et l’application du savoir ainsi que la compréhension du monde naturel par l’application d’un ou de plusieurs éléments de la méthode scientifique. Dans le contexte de la présente feuille de route, la science s’entend des sciences fondamentales et appliquées, naturelles, physiques, biomédicales et sociales ainsi que de l’ingénierie et des mathématiques.

Données scientifiques et de recherche : elles comprennent, entre autres, les données d’observation, de suivi, d’exploitation, de modélisation et de simulation, d’évaluation des risques, d’enquête et de surveillance, de recherche et développement et d’innovation technologique.

haut de la page


Date de modification :