Language selection

Search

Verotoxigenic Escherichia coli (VTEC)

VTEC: Definition

Verotoxigenic Escherichia coli (VTEC) are members of the bacterial species E. coli with the potential to express one or more verotoxins as determined by detection of the verotoxin protein or possession of the verotoxin gene (stx). Verotoxins are bacterial protein toxins of the AB5 family, homologues of the Shiga toxin of Shigella dysenteriae, which terminate protein synthesis in cells by cleavage of a specific adenosine residue from the 28S RNA of the 60S ribosomal subunit (Melton-Celsa, 2014). Verotoxin is also known by the synonymous terms verocytotoxin, Shiga-like toxin and Shiga toxin. These synonyms arose because verotoxin was first identified and reported (Konowalchuk et al., 1977) prior to the establishment of its relationship to Shiga toxin (O'Brien and La Veck, 1983). Thus, the terms verotoxin-producing E. coli, Shigatoxigenic E. coli and Shiga toxin-producing E. coli, should be recognised as synonyms for this class of pathogens.

Subgroups of VTEC with additional biological markers or epidemiological association with severe patient outcomes have been identified in the literature with the terms Enterohemorrhagic E. coli (EHEC) or Hemolytic Uremic Syndrome associated E. coli (HUSEC). The term VTEC is used throughout this document as it is inclusive of these E. coli pathogens.

In addition to VTEC, there are several other enteric pathotypes of E. coli which are distinguished on the basis of specific virulence factors, disease symptoms and pathology (Croxen et al., 2013). In addition to stx, VTEC strains may possess virulence factors or other biomarkers associated with these pathotypes.

VTEC as a Health Hazard

Following ingestion, VTEC can cause enteric illness with a range of symptoms. In the mildest form of the disease, patients develop self-resolving, uncomplicated diarrhoea. Alternatively, patients may develop bloody diarrhoea (BD) or haemorrhagic colitis (HC), which is not always, distinguished clinically, but in both cases the patient experiences blood in the stool (Karpman and Ståhl, 2014). Consequently, this document will refer to BD when discussing both BD and HC. Though the majority of BD cases will self-resolve, a minority of cases will progress to Haemolytic Uremic Syndrome (HUS). The rate of HUS development varies between outbreaks of both VTEC O157 and other VTEC, with reported rates of HUS development of 2 to 22% (Vallis et al., 2018). HUS is a life-threatening illness resulting in death or end stage renal disease in 12% of cases, and with 25 to 30% of survivors experiencing long term renal sequela (Garg et al., 2003; Garg et al., 2009; Spinale et al., 2013).

Determining the relative hazard posed by VTEC isolates from food remains a major challenge as individual strains appear to vary significantly in the likelihood of causing severe illness, with outcomes such as BD, HUS and death. Some clonally related groups of VTEC, such as VTEC serotype O157:H7, have a higher association with severe patient outcomes and outbreaks than others. Other strains have not been reported as clinical isolates, or have only been associated with cases of uncomplicated diarrhoea. Understanding the pathogenic potential of VTEC strains is further complicated by the apparent role of individual patient factors. Even in outbreaks of high risk VTEC, such O157:H7 or sorbitol-fermenting O157, the symptoms experienced by individuals may range from asymptomatic infection to HUS (Jaakkonen et al., 2017; Bayliss et al., 2016). Similarly, a Japanese study of 399 VTEC isolates from asymptomatic healthy adults found that though many of the isolates possessed serotypes and genotypes that are rarely isolated from symptomatic individuals, strains of VTEC with features associated with BD and HUS were also present (Morita-Ishihara et al., 2016).

In the absence of animal models which mimic human responses to VTEC infection, it is challenging to experimentally determine the factors governing the pathogenic potential of VTEC (NACMCF, 2019). Consequently, many putative virulence factors have been identified on the basis of epidemiological association with symptoms of severe illness (BD and HUS) and association with reported outbreaks. Unfortunately, in this approach there is an inherent risk of confounding the three factors which can be expected to determine the apparent pathogenic potential of individual strains:

  1. The probability that the pathogen strain will come into contact with humans. This will be determined by the ecology of the strain.
  2. Infectivity: the probability of infection on exposure to a single cell of the strain.
  3. The probability of infection resulting in severe illness. Patients suffering severe symptoms, such as BD, are more likely to seek medical attention and be reported.

These three factors can potentially occur in any combination. From a food safety perspective, the problem is that an isolate with previously unreported characteristics may have high infectivity and potential to cause BD and HUS, but has previously been unreported due to a low probability of exposure. This appears to have been the case with the VTEC O104:H4 strain with enteroaggregative virulence factors, responsible for the 2011 European outbreak (Beutin and Martin, 2012).

VTEC Infectivity

The infectivity of infectious agents is often described in terms of dose response, the probability of a specified response (i.e., illness, infection, or certain sequelae) following exposure to a specified pathogen in a specified population, as a function of the dose (WHO/FAO, 2003).

Dose response is a concept originally developed for characterising toxicological hazards and presumes a proportional relationship between the concentration of an agent and the severity of the resulting illness. However, for infectious agents, the severity of the illness is not determined by the number of cells or virus particles to which an individual is exposed. The severity of illness is instead determined by the virulence factors possessed by the infecting organism and the immunological vulnerability of the infected individual. Thus, the probability of infection can be characterised as either: infectivity, the probability of infection on exposure to single infectious cell or virus particles; or infectious dose, the number of single infectious cell or virus particles which has a high probability of establishing an infection.

Due to the potential for long term sequela or death, and the absence of effective treatment, experimental determination of VTEC infectivity is not possible. Instead, the infectivity or infectious dose of VTEC has been estimated from data on exposure levels in outbreak foods. Published estimates of the infectivity of VTEC are based on outbreaks of VTEC O157:H7.

A commonly quoted value for the infectious dose of VTEC O157:H7 is less than 100 CFU, based on a review of reported exposure levels from eight outbreak reports (Todd et al., 2008). However, the term infectious dose implies that there is an exposure below which there is negligible probability of infection in otherwise healthy adults. This interpretation is misleading for VTEC as the probability of infection may be significant upon exposure to a single cell.

In a model developed from exposure data from eight outbreaks (six foodborne, one water, one mud) of VTEC O157:H7, the probability of infection was estimated at between 1% and 10% (Teunis et al., 2008). Higher infectivity has been estimated in individual outbreaks, the mean probability of infection per cell, in an outbreak involving salad with seafood sauce was 26% for children and 17% for adults (Teunis et al., 2004). The differences in infectivity estimates from individual outbreaks may be due to multiple variables, including differences in the virulence factors possessed by the infecting strain, the protection of ingested cells from digestion processes by the food matrix, and host vulnerability.

The conclusion that there is significant probability of infection with exposure to a single cell of VTEC O157:H7 is supported by the low levels of the pathogen reported in variety of outbreak food vehicles (Strachan et al., 2001; Gill and Oudit, 2015; Hara-Kudo and Takatori, 2011; Gill and Huszczynski, 2016). It is currently unknown how variable infectivity is between individual VTEC strains or wider phylogenetic groups. Comparison of the levels of non-O157 VTEC in outbreak food vehicles, with reports for VTEC O157, indicates that the infectivity of non-O157 VTEC strains can approach that of VTEC O157:H7 (Paton et al., 1996; Buvens et al., 2011; Gill et al., 2019a).

Features of Vulnerable Populations

It has long been recognised that the young and elderly are at greater risk of VTEC illness and experiencing severe health outcomes. This relationship between age, the risk of illness, and of severe illness is illustrated by US data summarised in Table 1 (CDC FoodNet Fast, 2018). The rate of infection is highest for children under 5 years at 8.08 per 100,000. The rate declines steady with each increased age cohort to a minimum of 0.80 per 100,000 for 40 to 49 years old. The rate of infection then increases with age to a maximum of 1.48 for those 70 years and older. Similar patterns are seen for the rate of hospitalisation and death due to VTEC. Though patients over 70 years have the greatest risk of death, 0.06 per 100,000, of any age group, including under 5 years, 0.04 per 100,000.

Females have a higher rate of infection (2.19 per 100,000) and hospitalisation (0.66 per 100,000) than males (1.90 per 100,000 and 0.57 per 100,000), but the death rates of the two genders are the same. This gender imbalance of infection could be attributed to differences in food consumption patterns, particularly raw fruits and vegetables, as proposed to explain the predominance of female patients in the 2011 outbreak of a VTEC/Enteroaggregative E. coli (EAEC) hybrid associated with sprouts (Frank et al., 2011).

Individual serology has also been proposed as a factor governing the likelihood of VTEC illness (Karmali, 2018). The regular occurrence of infected asymptomatic individuals in outbreaks of VTEC strains that can cause BD and HUS is well documented (Jaakkonen et al., 2017; Bayliss et al., 2016; Kanayama et al., 2015). Mohamed Karmali (2018) noted that the presence of antibodies to the Locus of Enterocyte Effacement (LEE) colonisation factor intimin is associated with protective immunity to VTEC illness. Karmali has hypothesised that mid-twentieth century improvements to sanitation in industrialised countries resulted in a "...reduction in EPEC outbreaks in the 1970's and 80's..." leading "...to a decline in population immunity to intimin which, in turn may have contributed to the emergence of VTEC O157:H7 outbreaks and HUS in industrialised countries in the 1980s." If this hypothesis is correct, it can be expected that individuals who have experienced higher levels of exposure to environmental E. coli, particularly Enteropathogenic E. coli (EPEC), may have lower likelihood of developing illness from LEE positive VTEC strains.

Summary

The primary features of VTEC as a pathogen are summarised below:

  • VTEC are coli with the potential to express one or more verotoxins (Shiga toxins). Synonyms for VTEC are verotoxin-producing E. coli, Shigatoxigenic E. coli and Shiga toxin producing E. coli. The term VTEC is inclusive of Enterohemorrhagic E. coli and Hemolytic Uremic Syndrome associated E. coli.
  • VTEC infection follows ingestion, with potential outcomes including, asymptomatic infection, uncomplicated diarrhoea, bloody diarrhoea, haemolytic uremic syndrome and death.
  • Individual health status contributes to the probability of serious illness.
  • Strains of both VTEC O157 and non-O157 VTEC can be highly infectious, with a significant risk of infection on exposure to a single cell.
  • The rates of VTEC infection, hospitalisation and death from VTEC illness varies with age. Midlife adults have the lowest rates, with higher rates for the young and old. Children under 5 years of age and adults over 70 have the highest death rates.
  • Females have a higher rate of infection and hospitalisation than males, but the death rates of the two genders are the same.


Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Escherichia coli vérotoxinogène (ECVT)

ECVT : Définition

Les Escherichia coli vérotoxinogène (ECVT) sont des membres de l'espèce bactérienne E. coli ayant le potentiel d'exprimer au moins une vérotoxine comme déterminé par la détection des protéines de vérotoxine ou de la possession du gène de la vérotoxine (stx). Les vérotoxines sont des toxines protéiques bactériennes de la famille AB5, homologues de la toxine Shiga de la Shigella dysenteriae, qui mettent fin à la synthèse des protéines dans les cellules par clivage d'un résidu particulier d'adénosine de l'ARN 28S de la sous-unité ribosomale 60S (Melton-Celsa, 2014). La vérotoxine est aussi connue par les synonymes vérocytotoxine, toxine ressemblant à celle de Shiga et toxine de Shiga. Ces synonymes ont surgi parce que la vérotoxine a d'abord été détectée et déclarée (Konowalchuk et coll., 1977) avant l'établissement de sa relation avec la toxine de Shiga (O'Brien et La Veck, 1983). Par conséquent, les termes E. coli producteurs de vérotoxine, E. coli Shigatoxinogène et E. coli produisant la toxine de Shiga, devraient être reconnus comme étant des synonymes pour cette catégorie d'agents pathogènes.

Les sous-groupes d'ECVT ayant des marqueurs biologiques supplémentaires ou une association épidémiologique avec des résultats graves pour les patients ont été identifiés dans la documentation à l'aide des termes E. coli entérohémorragique (ECEH) ou syndrome hémolytique et urémique associé à E. coli ([SHUEC]). Le terme ECVT est utilisé dans l'ensemble de ce document, car il est inclusif pour ces agents pathogènes d'E. coli.

En plus de l'ECVT, il y a plusieurs autres pathotypes entériques d'E. coli qui se distinguent en fonction de facteurs de virulence particuliers, des symptômes de maladie et de la pathologie (Croxen et coll., 2013). En plus de la stx, des souches d'ECVT pourraient posséder des facteurs de virulence ou d'autres biomarqueurs associés à ces pathotypes.

ECVT en tant que danger pour la santé

Après l'ingestion, ECVT peut causer une maladie entérique présentant une variété de symptômes. Dans la forme la plus légère de la maladie, les patients ont une diarrhée qui se résout par elle-même sans complication. Par contre, les patients peuvent développer une diarrhée sanglante (DS) ou une colite hémorragique (CH), ce qui n'est pas toujours distingué sur le plan clinique, mais dans les deux cas, le patient a du sang dans les selles (Karpman et Ståhl, 2014). Par conséquent, le présent document fera référence à la DS pendant les discussions sur la DS et la CH. Même si la majorité des cas de DS se résolvent par eux-mêmes, une minorité de cas progressera vers le syndrome hémolytique et urémique (SHU). Le taux d'évolution vers le SHU varie entre les éclosions d'ECVT O157 et les autres ECVT, avec des taux déclarés d'évolution vers le SHU de 2 % à 22 % (Vallis et coll., 2018). Le SHU est une maladie potentiellement mortelle entraînant la mort ou une insuffisance rénale en phase terminale dans 12 % des cas, et de 25 % à 30 % des survivants ont des séquelles rénales à long terme (Garg et coll., 2003; Garg et coll., 2009; Spinale et coll., 2013).

La détermination du risque relatif posé par les isolats d'ECVT provenant des aliments demeure un défi de taille puisque les souches individuelles semblent varier considérablement, pouvant causer une maladie grave, avec comme résultats la DS, le SHU et la mort. Certains groupes liés génétiquement d'ECVT, comme le sérotype d'ECVT O157:H7, sont plus fortement associés à des éclosions et à de graves conséquences pour les patients que d'autres. D'autres souches n'ont pas été déclarées comme des isolats cliniques ou n'ont été associées qu'à des cas de diarrhée non complexe. La compréhension du potentiel pathogène des souches d'ECVT est compliquée davantage par le rôle apparent joué par les facteurs de chaque patient. Même dans les cas d'éclosions d'ECVT à risque élevé, comme le O157:H7 ou le O157 fermentant le sorbitol, les symptômes éprouvés par les personnes peuvent aller de l'infection asymptomatique au SHU (Jaakkonen et coll., 2017; Bayliss et coll., 2016). De même, une étude japonaise sur 399 isolats d'ECVT chez des adultes sains asymptomatiques a conclu que même si un grand nombre d'isolats possède des sérotypes et des génotypes qui sont rarement isolés chez les personnes symptomatiques, les souches d'ECVT ayant des caractéristiques associées à la DS et au SHU étaient également présentes (Morita-Ishihara et coll., 2016).

En l'absence de modèles animaux qui imitent les réactions humaines face à une infection à ECVT, il est difficile de déterminer de façon expérimentale les facteurs gouvernant le potentiel pathogène d'ECVT (NACMCF, 2019). Par conséquent, de nombreux facteurs de virulence présumés ont été déterminés selon l'association épidémiologique avec des symptômes de maladie grave (DS et SHU) et l'association avec des éclosions déclarées. Malheureusement, dans cette approche, il y a un risque inhérent de confondre les trois facteurs qui devraient déterminer le potentiel pathogène apparent des souches individuelles :

  1. La probabilité que la souche pathogène entrera en contact avec des humains. Cela sera déterminé par l'écologie de la souche.
  2. L'infectiosité : la probabilité d'infection après exposition à une seule cellule de la souche.
  3. La probabilité que l'infection entraîne une maladie grave. Les patients ayant de graves symptômes, comme de la DS, sont plus susceptibles de consulter un médecin et que leur cas soit déclaré.

Ces trois facteurs peuvent potentiellement se produire selon n'importe quelle combinaison. D'un point de vue de la salubrité des aliments, le problème, c'est qu'un isolat ayant des caractéristiques auparavant non déclarées peut être très infectieux et peut potentiellement causer une DS et un SHU, mais il n'a pas déjà été déclaré en raison d'une faible probabilité d'exposition. Cela semble avoir été le cas avec la souche d'ECVT O104:H4 ayant des facteurs de virulence entéroagglutinants, responsables de l'éclosion européenne de 2011 (Beutin et Martin, 2012).

Infectiosité d'ECVT

L'infectiosité des agents infectieux est souvent décrite en termes de réaction face à la dose, de la probabilité d'une réaction particulière (c.-à-d. maladie, infection ou certaines séquelles) à la suite d'une exposition à un agent pathogène en particulier dans une population déterminée, en fonction de la dose (OMS/Organisation des Nations Unies pour l'alimentation et l'agriculture [FAO], 2003).

Le concept dose-réponse a été élaboré à l'origine pour la caractérisation des risques toxicologiques et il suppose une relation proportionnelle entre la concentration d'un agent et la gravité de la maladie qui en résulte. Toutefois, pour les agents infectieux, la gravité de la maladie n'est pas déterminée par le nombre de cellules ou de particules virales à laquelle une personne est exposée. La gravité de la maladie est plutôt déterminée par les facteurs de virulence que possède l'organisme infectieux et la vulnérabilité immunologique de la personne infectée. Donc la probabilité qu'une infection aura lieu peut être décrite par les facteurs suivants : l'infectiosité, la probabilité d'infection à l'exposition à une seule cellule infectieuse ou à des particules virales, ou la dose infectieuse, le nombre de cellules infectieuses ou de particules virales uniques qui a une probabilité élevée de déclencher une infection.

En raison du potentiel de séquelles à long terme ou de décès, et de l'absence de traitement efficace, il est impossible de déterminer de manière expérimentale l'infectiosité d'ECVT. Au lieu de cela, l'infectiosité ou la dose infectieuse d'ECVT a été estimée à partir des données sur les niveaux d'exposition aux aliments épidémiques. Les estimations publiées de l'infectiosité d'ECVT sont fondées sur des éclosions d'ECVT O157:H7.

Une valeur couramment citée pour la dose infectieuse d'ECVT O157:H7 est inférieure à 100 unités formant colonie (UFC), en se fondant sur un examen des niveaux d'exposition déclarés dans huit rapports d'éclosion (Todd et coll., 2008). Toutefois, le terme dose infectieuse implique qu'il y a une exposition inférieure à laquelle il y a une probabilité négligeable d'infection chez des adultes en bonne santé. Cette interprétation est trompeuse pour les ECVT puisque la probabilité d'infection peut être importante après l'exposition à une seule cellule.

Dans un modèle élaboré à partir des données sur l'exposition provenant de huit éclosions (six d'origine alimentaire, une en raison de l'eau, une en raison de la boue) d'ECVT O157:H7, la probabilité d'infection a été estimée être entre 1 % et 10 % (Teunis et coll., 2008). Une infectiosité plus importante a été estimée dans les éclosions individuelles, la probabilité moyenne d'infection par cellule, dans une éclosion concernant des salades avec une sauce aux fruits de mer était de 26 % pour les enfants et de 17 % pour les adultes (Teunis et coll., 2004). Les différences dans les estimations de l'infectiosité des éclosions individuelles peuvent être attribuables à plusieurs variables, y compris les différences dans les facteurs de virulence que possèdent la souche infectante, la protection des cellules ingérées face au processus de digestion par la matrice alimentaire et la vulnérabilité de l'hôte.

La conclusion qu'il existe une probabilité importante d'infection à la suite d'une exposition à une seule cellule d'ECVT O157:H7 est appuyée par les faibles niveaux d'agents pathogènes déclarés dans divers vecteurs alimentaires d'éclosion (Strachan et coll., 2001; Gill et Oudit, 2015; Hara-Kudo et Takatori, 2011; Gill et Huszczynski, 2016). Actuellement, personne ne connaît la variabilité de l'infectiosité entre les souches d'ECVT individuelles ou les groupes phylogénétiques élargis. La comparaison des niveaux d'ECVT non O157 dans les vecteurs alimentaires d'éclosion, avec des rapports sur les ECVT O157, indique que l'infectiosité des souches d'ECVT non O157 peut se rapprocher de celle d'ECVT O157:H7 (Paton et coll., 1996; Buvens et coll., 2011; Gill et coll., 2019a).

Caractéristiques des populations vulnérables

Il est reconnu depuis longtemps que les jeunes et les personnes âgées sont plus à risque de contracter une maladie à ECVT et d'avoir de graves effets sur la santé. Cette relation entre l'âge, le risque de maladie et de maladie grave, est illustrée dans les données américaines résumées dans le Tableau 1 (CDC FoodNet Fast, 2018). Le taux d'infection est le plus élevé pour les enfants de moins de 5 ans, soit à 8,08 par 100 000 personnes. Le taux diminue constamment pour chaque cohorte d'âges pour atteindre un minimum de 0,80 par 100 000 personnes pour les 40 à 49 ans. Le taux d'infection augmente par la suite avec l'âge jusqu'à un maximum de 1,48 pour les personnes âgées de 70 ans et plus. Des tendances similaires sont observées pour le taux d'hospitalisation et de décès en raison des ECVT. Par contre, parmi tous les groupes d'âge, les patients de plus de 70 ans présentent un risque plus élevé de décès, soit 0,06 par 100 000 personnes, y compris celui des moins de 5 ans, soit 0,04 par 100 000 personnes.

Les femmes ont un taux plus élevé d'infection (2,19 par 100 000 personnes) et d'hospitalisation (0,66 par 100 000 personnes) que les hommes (1,90 par 100 000 personnes et 0,57 par 100 000 personnes), mais les taux de mortalité pour les deux sexes sont les mêmes. Ce déséquilibre entre les sexes en ce qui concerne l'infection pourrait être attribuable aux différences dans les habitudes de consommation alimentaire, en particulier les fruits et légumes crus, comme proposition d'explication de la prédominance des patientes au cours de l'éclosion de 2011 d'un hybride d'ECVT/E. coli entéroagglutinant (EAEC) associé à des germes (Frank et coll., 2011).

La sérologie individuelle a également été proposée comme facteur gouvernant la probabilité de maladie causée par les ECVT (Karmali, 2018). L'occurrence régulière de personnes infectées asymptomatiques au cours des éclosions de souches d'ECVT pouvant entraîner de la DS et un SHU est bien documentée (Jaakkonen et coll., 2017; Bayliss et coll., 2016; Kanayama et coll., 2015). Mohamed Karmali (2018) a fait remarquer que la présence d'anticorps contre l'intimine du facteur de colonisation du locus d'effacement des entérocyte (LEE) est associée à une immunité protectrice contre la maladie à ECVT. M. Karmali a émis l'hypothèse que les améliorations apportées à l'assainissement dans les pays industrialisés au milieu du 20e siècle a entraîné une « [...] réduction des éclosions d'ECEP dans les années 1970 et 1980 [...] », ce qui a mené à « [...] un déclin dans l'immunité de la population envers l'intimine qui, en retour, peut avoir contribué à l'émergence d'éclosions d'ECVT O157:H7 et de SHU dans les pays industrialisés dans les années 1980. » Si cette hypothèse est exacte, il faut s'attendre à ce que les personnes qui ont connu des niveaux plus élevés d'exposition à E. coli dans l'environnement, en particulier E. coli entéropathogène (ECEP), peuvent avoir une plus faible probabilité de contracter une maladie à partir des souches d'ECVT positives pour le LEE.

Résumé

Les principales caractéristiques des ECVT en tant qu'agent pathogène sont résumées ci-dessous :

  • Les ECVT sont des coli ayant le potentiel d'exprimer au moins une vérotoxine (toxines de Shiga). Les synonymes pour les ECVT sont E. coli producteur de vérotoxine, E. coli Shigatoxinogène et E. coli producteurs de shigatoxines. Le terme ECVT comprend E. coli entérohémorragique et E. coli associé au syndrome hémolytique et urémique.
  • L'infection aux ECVT suit l'ingestion et peut avoir des conséquences dont une infection asymptomatique, une diarrhée sans complication, une diarrhée sanglante, le syndrome hémolytique et urémique et la mort.
  • L'état de santé de chaque personne contribue à la probabilité de maladie grave.
  • Les souches d'ECVT O157 et d'ECVT non O157 peuvent être hautement infectieuses, en plus d'avoir un risque important d'infection après exposition à une seule cellule.
  • Les taux d'infection aux ECVT, d'hospitalisation et de décès liés à une maladie causée par ECVT varient selon l'âge. Les adultes d'âge moyen ont les taux les plus faibles et les jeunes et les personnes âgées ont les taux les plus élevés. Les enfants de moins de 5 ans et les adultes de plus de 70 ans ont les taux de mortalité les plus élevés.
  • Les femmes ont un taux plus élevé d'infection et d'hospitalisation que les hommes, mais les taux de mortalité pour les deux sexes sont les mêmes.


Date de modification :