Language selection

Search

Food and VTEC Exposure

There are very few food types that have not been reported as sources of VTEC illness, including both foods of animal and plant origin. The diversity of foods reported as vehicles of infection in foodborne VTEC outbreaks is presented in Table 4. However, though the range of foods reported as vehicles of VTEC are diverse, a much smaller range of foods can be identified which account for the majority of outbreaks.

Foods Associated with VTEC illness

The following discussion is based on analysis of 733 incidents of foodborne VTEC, with an identified food vehicle, reported in Canada (n=189) and internationally (United States n=392, United Kingdom n=63, Japan n=18, France n=10, Sweden n=9, etc.) from 1982 to 2018 (Supplement 2*). A summary of the data set divided by food type is presented in Table 5. This data set is heavily weighted to North America, with 79.3% of reports from the United States or Canada. This is a result of the two largest national summaries of reports available being the Centers for Disease Control National Outbreak reporting System, which has data from 1998 onwards, and the series Foodborne and Waterborne Disease in Canada (Health and Welfare Canada), which provides reports for foodborne VTEC from 1982 to 1995. VTEC O157 were involved in 86.3% of foodborne VTEC incidents identified worldwide, and 13.7% involved other VTEC serotypes or serotype was not specified (Supplement 2*). This dominance of VTEC O157 may partially reflect bias in laboratory and investigatory methods, as foodborne incidents of non-O157 have been reported with increasing frequency since the beginning of the 21st century (Figure 3).

Internationally, foods of animal origin accounted for the largest proportion of incidents (65.5%), followed by foods of plant origin (18.7%) and complex foods (where no specific ingredient was identified) 15.8%. The ingredients most commonly identified as vehicles for VTEC were beef (40.5%), raw milk dairy products (9.8%), leafy greens (9.7%) and unspecified meats (5.9%). In Canada, the ingredients most commonly identified as vehicles for VTEC were beef (62.4%), raw milk dairy products (8.5%), unspecified meats (6.3%) and pork (4.8%). However, when considered in terms of the number of cases of foodborne illness, foods of plant origin appear considerably more significant. Internationally, 57.5% of cases of foodborne VTEC illness were associated with foods of plant origin, and in Canada 22.0%. Internationally, the greatest number of illness was associated with sprouts (40.4%), with leafy greens (8.7%), fruits and berries (5.0%), and vegetables (2.6%). In Canada, leafy greens (7.1%), vegetables (7.8%), and fruits and berries (5.5%) have contributed a disproportionate number of cases of illness per outbreak.

The association of specific foods with VTEC illness can be understood with reference to the ecology of the pathogen. E. coli, including VTEC, achieves maximal replication rates in a warm, wet, nutrient rich environment, as exemplified by the gastrointestinal tract of mammalian or avian hosts. However, VTEC can colonise a wide range of animal hosts and can persist for prolonged periods under environmental conditions inhibitory to their replication; as such, VTEC and other E. coli, are ubiquitous environmental organisms (Jang et al., 2017; Persad and LeJeune 2014). Consequently, there is a sporadic occurrence of outbreaks associated with foods, which are unlikely to be contaminated with VTEC and are not conducive to VTEC replication, such as flour (Crowe et al., 2017) or nuts (US CDC, 2011; Davidson et al., 2015).

The high association of VTEC exposure with food of animal origin, particularly beef and dairy, arises from the potential for animals to serve as hosts for VTEC (Ekong et al., 2015; Farrokh et al., 2013). This creates a significantly greater likelihood of initial contamination during harvesting (i.e., slaughter and milking). The relative association of VTEC with different meat animals, based on outbreak data, will be determined by the potential for specific host species to be colonised by VTEC strains which cause BD and HUS, as these are more likely to be reported, for example carriage of these types of strains appears more common in cattle than in swine (Ercoli et al., 2015). However, recent outbreaks of VTEC O157 in the province of Alberta linked to pork products indicate this may be an emerging area of concern (Honish et al., 2017; Alberta Health Services, 2018).

Historical reported rates of VTEC prevalence on raw meats in Canada are significantly higher than contemporary rates. A study published in 1990, reported VTEC frequency in ground beef of 36.4% (25 g n=225) and 10.6% in ground pork (25 g n=235) (Read et al., 1990). A study published a decade later reported isolation of VTEC from 30% of raw boneless beef samples (25 g n=120) (Atalla et al., 2000). While more recently, FoodNet testing of retail ground beef from 2014-2017 reported VTEC in 2% of 1,458 samples (25 g), and 6.1% (25 g n=98) in ground pork (Table 6). Similarly, over the last two decades the frequency of VTEC in raw ground beef precursor material has fallen significantly from 30% in 2000 to 1.82% (325-350 g) in 2012, a trend correlated with significant changes in hygiene and decontamination practices at Canadian beef slaughter plants (Pollari et al., 2017).

The frequency of dairy contamination with VTEC is significantly higher than beef, with a 2014 US study finding verotoxin genes in 13.1% of 100 ml samples of bulk raw cow milk (Sonnier et al., 2018). The origin of these pathogens as with other milk microbiota is the surface of the udder (Oliver et al., 2005). However, the probability of VTEC contamination at milking is offset by routine thermal processing, which prevents consumer exposure. Of 97 incidents of foodborne VTEC involving dairy products identified internationally, 72 (74%) involved dairy products specifically identified as raw milk products. In Canada, 89% of incidents involving dairy products identified raw milk products as the exposure vehicle (Table 5). From this, it can be presumed that without routine pasteurisation the association of dairy with VTEC outbreaks would be much higher.

In comparison, surveys of VTEC frequency on leafy greens indicate that it is much less likely to be contaminated with these pathogens. A US survey from 2009 to 2015 reported that the prevalence of VTEC O157 and non-O157 VTEC in 14,183 samples of leafy greens (iceberg lettuce, romaine lettuce, spinach) was 0.01% and 0.07%, respectively (Zhang et al., 2018). CFIA testing of fresh and fresh-cut ready to eat (RTE) fruits and vegetables (n=37,718) did not identify VTEC O157 in any surveys from 2013 to 2018 (Table 7). Thus, the association of VTEC with these products does not reflect a high probability of contamination, instead the popularity of these products, and practice of consuming them raw are probably the major factors making these foods a prominent vehicle of VTEC illness.

From these observations it can be concluded that foods derived from ruminants, such as beef and dairy, will continue to have a relatively high likelihood of VTEC contamination at harvest, but the likelihood of illness can be moderated by decontamination prior to consumption. Since VTEC contamination of leafy greens and, fruits and berries is dependent on relatively rare pre-harvest contamination from diverse origins, opportunities to prevent pre-harvest contamination may be limited and costly. It should be expected that, without the introduction of effective and routine decontamination treatment prior to consumption, these products will remain a significant source of VTEC illness.

Food Preparation Practices Associated with VTEC Illness

As discussed, in the previous section, foods of animal and plant origin may both become contaminated with VTEC. Foods of animal origin, particularly from cattle and other ruminants, have a higher probability of being contaminated with VTEC, as the animals may be hosts, or raised or transported with hosts. The probability of contamination of foods of plant origin is much lower, but as noted in Foods Associated with VTEC Illness outbreaks can involve a disproportionate number of illnesses.

The key risk factor related to food preparation in all food types is consumption of raw or undercooked food. In the case of foods which are typically heat treated, such as fresh meats (cooking) or dairy (pasteurisation), investigations have commonly found evidence of the consumption of undercooked, raw, or ready to eat products (Beutin and Martin, 2012; Cowden et al., 2001; Michino et al., 1999). Therefore, it is important for consumers to be aware of how their food is manufactured and the associated risks, for example raw milk cheeses and needle tenderized meats. Similarly, illnesses associated with contaminated flour were linked to consumption of uncooked dough (Morton et al., 2017). The importance of the consumption of raw or RTE products to the scale of outbreaks is illustrated by the dominance of such food vehicles in the largest foodborne VTEC outbreaks reported internationally (Table 8) and in Canada (Table 9). Therefore, it is important that food be prepared in a hygienic manner to prevent contamination and be cooked according to the recommended guidelines (Safe Cooking Temperatures).

It is commonly recommended that fresh fruits, vegetables and leafy greens, whether whole, fresh cut or prepackaged, should always be washed prior to preparation and consumption (CDC, 2018). However, although washing may remove visible soil, reducing the level of contamination, it is not a process that can ensure safety.

Levels of VTEC in Outbreak-Associated Foods

Quantification of VTEC in outbreak food vehicles is not regularly reported and what data is available is primarily for VTEC O157. A table summarising twelve reports of VTEC contamination levels in outbreak associated foods is provided (Table 10). Reported levels range from tens of CFU per g to below 1 MPN per 100 g. What is apparent from this data is that outbreaks can result from foods contaminated with VTEC at levels below 1 cell per 25 g. As 25 g is the analytical unit most commonly recommended for foods other than raw ground beef (RGB) and RGB precursor, it is clear that robust sampling plans are required to ensure detection of VTEC in foods at levels that can potentially cause outbreaks.

Summary

The following features describe the relationship between food types and outbreaks of VTEC illness:

  • The range of foods implicated in outbreaks of VTEC illness are very diverse including, meats, dairy, vegetables, fruits, nuts, seafood, wheat flour etc.
  • Based on the number of reports of foodborne outbreaks of VTEC illness related to specific food types, the most common sources of VTEC exposure are meat (particularly beef), dairy (particularly raw milk products) and leafy greens.
  • Though less likely to be a cause of outbreaks than foods of animal origin, more cases of illness are associated with foods of plant origin.
  • Consumption of raw or ready-to-eat foods increases the probability of VTEC illness.
  • The levels of VTEC in outbreak associated foods are variable, with contamination levels ranging from tens of CFU per g to below 1 MPN per 100 g.


Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Aliments et exposition aux ECVT

Il y a très peu de types d'aliments qui n'ont pas été signalés comme étant une source de la maladie aux ECVT, y compris des aliments d'origine animale et végétale. La diversité des aliments déclarés comme étant des vecteurs de l'infection dans les éclosions d'ECVT d'origine alimentaire est présentée au Tableau 4. Cependant, même si la gamme d'aliments déclarés comme étant des vecteurs d'ECVT est diversifiée, une gamme beaucoup plus restreinte d'aliments peut être déterminée comme représentant la grande majorité des éclosions.

Aliments associés à la maladie causée par ECPV

La discussion qui suit est fondée sur l'analyse de 733 incidents d'ECVT d'origine alimentaire, accompagnés d'un vecteur alimentaire identifiable, déclarés au Canada (n = 189) et à l'échelle internationale (États-Unis n = 392, Royaume-Uni n = 63, Japon n = 18, France n = 10, Suède n = 9, etc.) de 1982 à 2018 (Supplément 2*). Un résumé de l'ensemble des données réparties par type d'aliment est présenté au Tableau 5. Cet ensemble de données est fortement pondéré pour l'Amérique du Nord, où 79,3 % des rapports proviennent des États-Unis ou du Canada. Cela provient des deux plus importants résumés nationaux de rapports disponibles, c.-à-d. le Système national de déclaration des éclosions des Centers for Disease Control, qui possède des données à partir de 1998, et la série Intoxications alimentaires et maladies d'origine hydrique au Canada (Santé et Bien-être social Canada), qui fournit des rapports sur les ECVT d'origine alimentaire de 1982 à 1995. L'ECVT O157 a joué un rôle dans 86,3 % des incidents liés aux ECVT d'origine alimentaire détectés à l'échelle mondiale et 13,7 % concernaient d'autres sérotypes d'ECVT ou le sérotype n'était pas précisé (Supplément 2*). Cette dominance de l'ECVT O157 peut tenir compte en partie de la partialité en laboratoire et des méthodes d'enquête, puisque des incidents d'origine alimentaire concernant des souches non O157 sont déclarés de plus en plus fréquemment depuis le début du 21e siècle (Figure 3).

À l'échelle internationale, les aliments d'origine animale comptaient pour la plus grande proportion des incidents (65,5 %), suivis des aliments d'origine végétale (18,7 %) et des aliments complexes (où aucun ingrédient particulier n'a été déterminé) (15,8 %). Les ingrédients les plus souvent indiqués comme vecteurs pour l'ECVT sont le boeuf (40,5 %), les produits de lait cru (9,8 %), les légumes-feuilles (9,7 %) et les viandes non précisées (5,9 %). Au Canada, les ingrédients les plus souvent indiqués comme vecteurs pour ECVT sont le boeuf (62,4 %), les produits de lait cru (8,5 %), les viandes non précisées (6,3 %) et le porc (4,8 %). Par contre, lorsqu'on tient compte du nombre de cas de maladies d'origine alimentaire, les aliments d'origine végétale semblent présenter une proportion beaucoup plus importante. À l'échelle internationale, 57,5 % des cas de maladie causée par ECVT d'origine alimentaire ont été associées à des aliments d'origine végétale, et au Canada, cette proportion atteint 22,0 %. À l'échelle internationale, le plus grand nombre de maladies a été associé à des germes (40,4 %), à des légumes-feuilles (8,7 %), à des fruits et des baies (5,0 %) et à des légumes (2,6 %). Au Canada, les légumes-feuilles (7,1 %), les légumes (7,8 %) et les fruits et les baies (5,5 %) ont contribué à un nombre disproportionné de cas de maladie par éclosion.

L'association d'aliments particuliers à la maladie par ECVT peut être comprise lorsque l'écologie de l'agent pathogène E. coli, y compris ECVT, atteint ses taux maximaux de reproduction dans un milieu chaud, humide et riche en éléments nutritifs, comme en témoigne le tractus gastro-intestinal des hôtes mammifères ou aviaires. Par contre, ECVT peut coloniser une vaste gamme d'hôtes animaux et peut persister pendant des périodes prolongées dans des conditions environnementales inhibitrices à sa reproduction. Par conséquent, ECVT, et d'autres E. coli, sont des organismes environnementaux omniprésents (Jang et coll., 2017; Persad et LeJeune, 2014). Par conséquent, il y a une occurrence sporadique d'éclosions associées aux aliments, qui sont peu susceptibles d'être contaminés par ECVT et qui ne sont pas propices à la réplication d'ECVT, comme la farine (Crowe et coll., 2017) ou les noix (CDC des É.-U., 2011; Davidson et coll., 2015).

L'association élevée de l'exposition aux ECVT aux aliments d'origine animale, en particulier le boeuf et les produits laitiers, provient de la capacité des animaux à servir d'hôtes pour ECVT (Ekong et coll., 2015; Farrokh et coll., 2013). Cette situation entraîne une plus grande probabilité de contamination initiale au cours de la récolte (c.-à-d. au cours de l'abattage et de la traite). L'association relative d'ECVT aux différents animaux de boucherie, selon les données sur les éclosions, sera déterminée par le potentiel des espèces hôtes à être colonisées par des souches d'ECVT qui causent de la DS et un SHU, car elles sont plus susceptibles d'être signalées, par exemple les porteurs de ces types de souches semblent plus fréquents chez les bovins que chez les porcs (Ercoli et coll., 2015). Cependant, de récentes éclosions d'ECVT O157 dans la province de l'Alberta liées à des produits du porc indiquent qu'il pourrait s'agir d'un domaine de préoccupation émergent (Honish et coll., 2017; Services de santé de l'Alberta, 2018).

Les taux signalés historiquement de la prévalence d'ECVT sur les viandes crues au Canada sont considérablement plus élevés que les taux contemporains. Une étude publiée en 1990 a signalé une fréquence de la présence d'ECVT dans le boeuf haché de 36,4 % (25 g n = 225) et de 10,6 % dans le porc haché (25 g n = 235) (Read et coll., 1990). Une étude publiée une décennie plus tard a rapporté un isolement d'ECVT dans 30 % des échantillons de boeuf désossé cru (25 g n = 120) (Atalla et coll., 2000). Bien que plus récemment, FoodNet a analysé du boeuf haché au détail de 2014 à 2017 et a déclaré un taux d'ECVT de 2 % dans 1 458 échantillons (25 g) et de 6,1 % (25 g n = 98) dans le porc haché (Tableau 6). De manière similaire, au cours des deux dernières décennies, la fréquence de la présence d'ECVT dans les matériaux précurseurs du boeuf haché cru a chuté de manière importante, passant de 30 % en 2000 à 1,82 % (de 325 à 350 G) en 2012, une tendance en corrélation avec des changements importants au niveau des pratiques d'hygiène et de décontamination dans les établissements canadiens d'abattage des bovins (Pollari et coll., 2017).

La fréquence de la contamination des produits laitiers aux ECVT est sensiblement plus élevée que le boeuf, où une étude américaine de 2014 a découvert des gènes de vérotoxine dans 13,1 % des échantillons de 100 ml de lait de vache cru en vrac (Sonnier et coll., 2018). L'origine de ces agents pathogènes comme pour les autres microbiotes du lait sont la surface du pis (Oliver et coll., 2005).

Toutefois, la probabilité de contamination aux ECVT au moment de la traite est compensée par le traitement thermique de routine, qui prévient l'exposition des consommateurs. Parmi les 97 incidents d'ECVT d'origine alimentaire touchant des produits laitiers déclarés à l'échelle internationale, 72 (74 %) concernaient des produits laitiers indiqués clairement comme étant des produits de lait cru. Au Canada, 89 % des incidents mettent en cause des produits laitiers indiqués comme étant des produits de lait cru en tant que vecteur d'exposition (Tableau 5). À partir de ce point, il est possible de présumer que sans pasteurisation de routine, l'association des produits laitiers aux éclosions d'ECVT serait beaucoup plus élevée.

À titre de comparaison, les enquêtes sur la fréquence de la présence d'ECVT sur les légumes-feuilles indiquent qu'ils sont beaucoup moins susceptibles d'être contaminés par ces agents pathogènes. Une enquête américaine effectuée de 2009 à 2015 a déclaré que la prévalence d'ECVT O157 et d'ECVT non O157 dans 14 183 échantillons de légumes-feuilles (laitue iceberg, laitue romaine, épinards) était de 0,01 % et de 0,07 %, respectivement (Zhang et coll., 2018). L'analyse de l'ACIA des fruits et légumes frais et fraîchement coupés prêts à manger (PAM) (n = 37 718) n'a pas permis de détecter ECVT O157 dans aucune des études effectuées de 2013 à 2018 (Tableau 7). Par conséquent, l'association d'ECVT à ces produits ne tient pas compte d'une probabilité élevée de contamination, au lieu de la popularité de ces produits, et la pratique consistant à les consommer crus, sont probablement les principaux facteurs faisant de ces aliments un vecteur important de la maladie aux ECVT.

À partir de ces observations, il est possible de conclure que les aliments provenant de ruminants, comme le boeuf et les produits laitiers, continueront d'avoir une probabilité assez élevée de contamination aux ECVT au moment de la récolte, mais la probabilité de maladie peut être modérée par la décontamination avant la consommation. Puisque la contamination à l'ECVT des légumes-feuilles, des fruits et des baies dépend de la contamination pré-récolte relativement rare de diverses origines, les possibilités de prévenir cette contamination peuvent être limitées et coûteuses. Il faudrait s'attendre à ce que, sans l'introduction d'un traitement de décontamination efficace de routine avant la consommation, ces produits demeurent une source importante de maladie aux ECVT.

Pratiques de préparation des aliments associées à la maladie causée par ECVT

Comme discuté dans la section précédente, les aliments d'origine animale et végétale peuvent tous être contaminés par ECVT. Les aliments d'origine animale, en particulier provenant des bovins et d'autres ruminants, présentent une probabilité plus élevée de contamination par ECVT, puisque les animaux peuvent être des hôtes, ou qu'ils ont été élevés ou transportés avec des hôtes. La probabilité de contamination des aliments d'origine végétale est beaucoup plus faible, mais comme on l'a fait remarquer dans Aliments associés à la maladie causée par ECPV, les éclosions peuvent concerner un nombre disproportionné de maladies.

Le principal facteur de risque lié à la préparation des aliments pour tous les types d'aliments est la consommation d'aliments crus ou insuffisamment cuits. Dans le cas des aliments qui sont habituellement traités à la chaleur, comme les viandes fraîches (cuisson) ou les produits laitiers (pasteurisation), les enquêtes ont habituellement découvert des données probantes de consommation de produits insuffisamment cuits, crus ou prêts à manger (Beutin et Martin, 2012; Cowden et coll., 2001; Michino et coll., 1999). Par conséquent, il est important pour les consommateurs d'être au courant de la façon dont leurs aliments sont transformés et de connaître les risques connexes, par les fromages de lait cru et les viandes attendries à l'aide d'aiguilles. De manière similaire, les maladies associées à la farine contaminée étaient liées à la consommation de pâte non cuite (Morton et coll., 2017). L'importance de la consommation de produits crus ou PAM à l'échelle des éclosions est illustrée par la prédominance de ces vecteurs alimentaires dans les éclosions d'ECVT d'origine alimentaire plus importantes signalées à l'échelle internationale (Tableau 8) et au Canada (Tableau 9). Par conséquent, il est important que les aliments soient préparés de manière hygiénique pour éviter la contamination et qu'ils soient cuits selon les lignes directrices recommandées (températures de cuisson sécuritaires).

Il est généralement recommandé que les fruits, les légumes et les légumes-feuilles, qu'ils soient entiers, fraîchement coupés ou préemballés, soient toujours lavés avant la préparation et la consommation (CDC, 2018). Toutefois, bien que le lavage peut enlever la terre visible, ce qui réduit le niveau de contamination, ce n'est pas un processus qui peut assurer la salubrité.

Niveaux d'ECVT dans les aliments associés aux éclosions

La quantification d'ECVT dans les vecteurs alimentaires associés aux éclosions n'est pas régulièrement déclarée et les données disponibles portent principalement sur l'ECVT O157. Un tableau est fourni résumant les douze rapports sur les niveaux de contamination par ECVT dans les aliments associés aux éclosions (Tableau 10). Les niveaux signalés vont de dizaines d'UFC par gramme à moins d'un du nombre le plus probable (NPP) par 100 g. Ce qui ressort de ces données, c'est que les éclosions peuvent provenir d'aliments contaminés par ECVT à des concentrations inférieures à une cellule par 25 g. Puisque 25 g est l'unité d'analyse la plus couramment recommandée pour les aliments autres que le boeuf haché cru (BHC) et le précurseur du BHC, il est clair que de solides plans d'échantillonnage sont nécessaires pour assurer la détection d'ECVT dans les aliments à des concentrations qui peuvent potentiellement entraîner des éclosions.

Résumé

Les caractéristiques suivantes décrivent la relation entre les types d'aliments et les éclosions de la maladie causée par ECVT :

  • La variété d'aliments mis en cause dans les éclosions de maladies causées par ECVT est très diversifiée, elle comprend des viandes, des produits laitiers, des légumes, des fruits, des noix, des fruits de mer, de la farine de blé, etc.
  • Selon le nombre de signalements d'éclosions de maladies causées par ECVT d'origine alimentaire liées à certains types d'aliments, les sources d'exposition aux ECVT les plus communes sont la viande (en particulier le boeuf), les produits laitiers (en particulier les produits de lait cru) et les légumes-feuilles.
  • Même si les aliments d'origine végétale sont moins susceptibles d'être une cause d'éclosion que les aliments d'origine animale, il y a un plus grand nombre de cas associés à ces aliments.
  • La consommation d'aliments prêts à manger crus accroît la probabilité de maladie causée par ECVT.
  • Les niveaux d'ECVT dans les aliments associés aux éclosions varient, avec des niveaux de contamination allant de dizaines d'UFC par gramme à moins de 1 NPP par 100 g.


Date de modification :