Language selection

Search

Analytical Methodology for VTEC

Food Testing Methods

Due to the high infectivity of VTEC, there is no established safe exposure to VTEC; thus, methods for the analysis of foods for the presence of VTEC are typically qualitative and composed of the following stages: Enrichment, Detection, Isolation and Confirmation. Enrichment involves the incubation of the sample in broth media to amplify the target pathogen to levels high enough for reliable Detection and Isolation. This stage is necessary, as, due to the high infectivity of some VTEC strains, a limit of detection approaching 1 cell per analytical unit (10 g to 375 g) must be achievable. Detection is an optional stage in which the presence or absence of biomarkers specific for the pathogen in the enrichment broth is determined. Detection analysis typically involves PCR or serological tests. If pathogen-specific biomarkers are not detected, the sample is considered negative and analysis can be terminated; if pathogen biomarkers are detected, the sample is presumptive positive for the pathogen. Isolation involves the recovery of presumptive pathogen cultures from the enrichment media and purification of that pathogen from other organisms present. This step is typically performed by plating on to agar media and provides pure cultures for Confirmation testing. The presence of the pathogen in the sample is confirmed by determination that one or more isolates recovered from the sample possesses the specific characteristics of the pathogen. For VTEC, this is the isolation of Escherichia coli with the potential to produce verotoxin, which can be determined either by production of the toxin or the presence of its genes. The isolates identified are then available for further characterisation, including subtyping.

Due to the mobility of the phage encoded verotoxin genes, VTEC do not constitute a discrete phylogenetic lineage among E. coli, and there are no phenotypic characteristics unique to VTEC, such as antimicrobial resistance or metabolism, which can form the basis for differential/selective media. However, features specific to certain VTEC subpopulations have been identified and form the basis of analytical methods targeting those subgroups. Methods for VTEC O157:H7/NM can take advantage of relatively high resistance to certain antimicrobials (novobiocin, tellurite, and cefiximine) to increase media selectivity and differentiation based upon the absence of sorbitol fermentation and ß-D-glucuronidase activity and the presence of haemolysis on washed sheep’s blood agar (Beutin et al., 1989; March and Ratnam, 1986; Doyle and Schoeni, 1984). Similarly, the absence of rhamnose fermentation can be used as a differential feature for some O26 strains (Murinda et al., 2004). It should be noted that variability in colony morphology and other phenotypic traits can be observed between strains of the same serogroups, including E. coli O157 (Werber et al., 2011; Gill et al., 2014).

In some jurisdictions, methods of analysis have been adopted which target a subgroup of priority VTEC defined by serogroup and the presence of intimin (eae), for example, the USDA FSIS method MLG 5B (USDA-FSIS, 2018) and the European Union (EU) (ISO, 2012). The serogroups designated a priority in the US are O157, O26, O45, O103, O111, O121, and O145, and the current ISO method targets O26, O103, O111 and O121. MLG 5B utilises immunomagnetic separation (IMS), coupled with acid shock and elevated incubation temperatures to improve selectivity. However, this approach excludes VTEC belonging to other serogroups and LEE negative strains even though such strains have been responsible for foodborne outbreaks and serious illness. Additionally, low recovery rates have been observed with IMS for some targeted VTEC serogroups (Kraft et al., 2017; Hallewell et al., 2017) and the higher enrichment temperatures such as 42°C may not be suitable for all strains, particularly cells that have been physiologically stressed.

Methods for the analysis of foods for VTEC validated for regulatory testing in Canada are published in The Compendium of Methods of Analytical Methods (Health Canada, 2018). These include commercial methods, the standard method of analysis for VTEC O157 (MFHPB-10) and the standard for all VTEC (MFLP-52) (Blais et al., 2014). The development of MFLP-52 was informed by the causal and correlative factors previously established through subject matter expert consensus (VTEC Workshop Report, 2010), and which may need to be updated in light of current public health trends. To ensure the inclusivity of the method the enrichment and isolation conditions represent a compromise between permitting the recovery of diverse VTEC strains, while imposing some selectivity against other microbiota (Gill et al., 2012; Gill et al., 2014). The MFLP-52 method for VTEC begins with broth enrichment, followed by PCR screening for stx1 and stx2, if the enrichment is positive for one or more verotoxin genes the sample is presumptive positive. Presumptive positive enrichments are then plated onto agar media and following incubation up to 60 individual colonies are screened by PCR for stx1 and stx2 to identify VTEC (Blais et al., 2014). Confirmation involves a Cloth-based Hybridization Array System (CHAS) for detecting PCR amplicons for the virulence genes stx1 and stx2, eae, hlyA and serogroup markers for O26, O103, O111, O145, and O157. This approach is intended to be inclusive while supporting rapid identification of markers associated with VTEC causing BD and HUS.

The greatest potential for the application of next generation sequencing (NGS) to the analysis of food for VTEC is the genomic characterisation of isolates. As the cost and speed of NGS has fallen the technology has become economically competitive with other methods of isolate characterisation particularly as once a genome has been sequenced the same data can be interrogated for the presence of multiple elements or subjected to multiple forms of subtyping analysis. An additional advantage is a greater flexibility in the analysis of isolates: rather than relying solely on rigidly validated "wet lab" methods, NGS analysis can be adapted ad hoc for the determination of gene markers that may be relevant to a particular food safety event, or in response to criteria indicated by changing public health trends. Regulatory agencies in the international community have been actively developing strategies for the implementation of WGS technology in support of regulatory food inspection objectives through the detection, identification and characterization of priority bacterial pathogens such as VTEC (Tong et al., 2015; Lambert et al., 2015; Lambert et al., 2017, Carrillo et al., 2019).

CFIA laboratories have developed a practical process in which genomic DNA isolated from single colonies is sequenced using the Illumina MiSeq platform, followed by analysis of the sequence data in a fully integrated process for the determination of key genomic markers (Lambert et al., 2015; Blais, 2017). A bioinformatics pipeline named GeneSeekR has been designed to determine salient features such as identity (e.g., species, serotype), risk characterization attributes (e.g., virulence, verotoxin sub-types), molecular type (single nucleotide polymorphism and multi-locus sequence typing analyses) and "value-added" markers (e.g., antibiotic resistance profile for surveillance purposes). Quality assurance metrics are included to indicate the reliability of each analysis, including indicators for sequence data quality and bioinformatics performance. The recently developed ConFinder tool (Low et al., 2019) is designed to identify the presence of contaminating DNA from multiple strains of the same bacterial species. A key output is the Record of Genomic Analysis (ROGA) featuring a standardized reporting format intended to meet the needs of the end-user community (i.e., Food Safety Science Directorate, risk assessors and recall specialists). This technology is currently being used by CFIA to generate WGS data for food isolates in real time. The implementation of this new program provides an unprecedented degree of resolution in the analysis of foodborne bacterial isolates, enabling their timely identification and risk profiling at a cost similar to traditional methods, and has the potential to replace lengthy biochemical characterization and typing procedures used in contemporary food-testing laboratories.

A key capacity afforded by the WGS approach is the ability to rapidly identify important attributes associated with risk, such as the serotype and verotoxin subtypes of VTEC isolates, without the need to forward isolates to specialized reference centres for lengthy analytical procedures. Serotype can be readily determined using the SeroTypeFinder tool (Joensen et al., 2015) hosted by the Centre for Genomic Epidemiology (www.genomicepidemiology.org). Currently, the most widely used standard method for verotoxin subtyping is a PCR technique developed by the Statens Serum Institute (SSI), which differentiates subtypes using subtype-specific primer pairs (Scheutz et al., 2012). More recently, a validated in silico technique based on WGS analysis using an algorithm simulating the SSI PCR process, termed V-Typer, has been incorporated in a bioinformatics pipeline routinely used at CFIA for the characterization of VTEC isolates (Carrillo et al., 2016).

An emerging application of WGS technology is the use of genomic information to inform tailoring of methods of analysis to improve the probability of recovery of specific pathogen strains. For example, it has been demonstrated that investigation of foodborne VTEC outbreaks can be supported by the prediction of antimicrobial resistance of the pathogen strain from genomic data to indicate antimicrobial agents which can be used to customise the selectivity of culture media (Knowles et al., 2016; Blais et al., 2019). AMR analyses can be conducted with the use of publicly available tools such as ResFinder (https://cge.cbs.dtu.dk/services/ResFinder/). Such an approach has been demonstrated to be effective in the recovery of different VTEC strains from ground beef samples containing high levels of background bacteria (Blais et al., 2019). When applied in outbreak investigations for the detection and isolation of specific VTEC strains, this approach can potentially overcome the limited selectivity of the current enrichment conditions.

Clinical Methods

While testing of VTEC O157 is a routine practice for local, private and hospital laboratories, there are no standardized guidelines for when to test for other VTEC serotypes. In late 2016 and early 2017, Canada experienced an outbreak of VTEC O121 due to contaminated flour (Morton et al., 2017). Due to the lack of standardized guidance on when to test for non-O157 VTEC, concerns regarding missing cases that were part of this investigation were raised by provincial public health laboratories and epidemiologists. As such, interim guidelines were provided to public health laboratories on when to test for non-O157 VTEC to ensure that cases associated with this outbreak were identified. National guidelines to address this lack of standardization have been published by the Canadian Public Health Laboratory Network (Chui et al., 2018).

A challenge to monitoring VTEC in Canadians is the introduction of the use of culture-independent diagnostic tests (CIDT) to diagnose foodborne infections. While traditional methods require the isolation of a foodborne organism from a specimen sample submitted by a patient, these rapid tests identify the causative organism but do not result in an isolate for further subtyping (e.g., identification of serotype) or testing (e.g., antimicrobial susceptibility). As the uptake of CIDT increases, surveillance systems in Canada and internationally will experience erosion of the capacity to conduct surveillance of foodborne pathogens. Particularly vulnerable is the granularity required to distinguish between sporadic and outbreak associated cases. A proposed solution to the increased use of CIDT is conducting reflexive culture – using a CIDT for a panel of enteric pathogens and then culturing positive samples, in order to obtain isolates. These isolates would then be available for further testing and to inform surveillance systems. However, in countries where the use of CIDT has become prevalent and reflex culture has been introduced, several roadblocks have been identified in making this approach a success. The primary issue identified is the cost of the additional laboratory work required for culture and the lack of clarity on who is responsible for covering this cost. If physicians are not requesting cultures to be performed, the costs associated with adding this test are not reimbursed to the local laboratories. If local laboratories do not culture the samples, then these will be required to be sent to public health laboratories, adding a level of complexity due to shipping timelines and costs.

Summary

  • Methods of analysis for VTEC in food typically have four parts: Enrichment in broth media; Detection of biomarkers for VTEC; Isolation of VTEC from the enrichment; and Characterisation of the VTEC isolates.
  • Due to the high infectivity of VTEC and the potentially low levels in contaminated foods, methods of analysis for VTEC in foods must have a limit of detection approaching 1 cell per analytical unit, which may be as large as 375 g. To achieve this sensitivity amplification of VTEC by enrichment is a necessity.
  • Isolation of VTEC is necessary to confirm that the virulence markers detected in enrichment represent a viable cell and provide isolates for characterisation.
  • Enrichment and Isolation remain challenging as there is currently no selective or differential media available which is specific for VTEC. VTEC are not members of a discrete phylogenetic lineage and so there are no phenotypic characteristics unique to VTEC which can form the basis for differential/selective media.
  • There are phylogenetic groups within the VTEC which can be selected/differentiated on the basis of antimicrobial resistance or substrate utilisation.
  • Methods for the analysis of foods for VTEC validated for regulatory testing in Canada are published in The Compendium of Methods of Analytical Methods. The standard method of analysis for VTEC O157 is MFHPB-10 and the standard for all VTEC is MFLP-52.
  • Next generation sequencing offers numerous advantages and cost savings in the characterisation and subtyping of VTEC isolates.
  • In Canada, clinical testing for VTEC O157 is a routine practice. Clinical testing for non-O157 VTEC is more challenging and there has been a lack of established standards. Recently national guidelines to address this lack of standardization have been published by the Canadian Public Health Laboratory Network.
  • The increasing use of culture-independent diagnostic tests (CIDT) to diagnose clinical cases of infection by VTEC and other foodborne pathogens may erode public health surveillance. As CIDT does not provide either isolates or data from which subtyping can be conducted to identify clusters or conduct source tracking.


Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Méthodologie analytique pour ECVT

Méthode d'analyse des aliments

En raison de la grande infectiosité d'ECVT, il n'y a pas de taux d'exposition sécuritaire établi pour ECVT. Par conséquent, les méthodes d'analyse des aliments pour détecter la présence d'ECVT sont habituellement qualitatives et composées des étapes suivantes : l'enrichissement, la détection, l'isolement et la confirmation. àL'enrichissement comprend l'incubation de l'échantillon dans le bouillon de culture pour amplifier l'agent pathogène cible à des niveaux suffisamment élevés pour une détection et un isolement fiables. Cette étape est nécessaire, puisque, en raison de l'infectiosité élevée de certaines sources d'ECVT, une limite de détection approchant une cellule par unité d'analyse (de 10 g à 375 g) doit être réalisable. La détection est une étape facultative au cours de laquelle la présence ou l'absence de biomarqueurs propres à l'agent pathogène dans le bouillon de culture est déterminée. L'analyse de détection comporte habituellement les analyses sérologiques ou de la réaction en chaîne de la polymérase (RCP). Si les biomarqueurs propres à l'agent pathogène ne sont pas détectés, l'échantillon est considéré négatif et l'analyse peut être terminée; si les biomarqueurs sont détectés, l'échantillon est présumé positif pour l'agent pathogène. L'isolement consiste en la récupération de cultures de l'agent pathogène présumé provenant du milieu de culture et de la purification de cet agent pathogène par rapport aux autres organismes présents. Cette étape est généralement effectuée en piquant la gélose de culture et en fournissant des cultures pures pour les analyses de confirmation. La présence de l'agent pathogène dans l'échantillon est confirmée par la détermination qu'au moins un des isolats récupérés à partir de l'échantillon possède les caractéristiques particulières de l'agent pathogène. Pour ECVT, c'est l'isolement de la bactérie Escherichia coli ayant le potentiel de produire de la vérotoxine, qui peut être déterminé soit par la production de la toxine ou la présence de ses gènes. Les isolats déterminés sont ensuite disponibles pour une caractérisation plus poussée, y compris le sous-typage.

En raison de la mobilité des gènes de la vérotoxine codés avec le phage, ECVT ne constitue pas une lignée phylogénétique discrète parmi l'E. coli et il n'y a pas de caractéristiques phénotypiques uniques pour ECVT, comme une résistance aux antimicrobiens ou un métabolisme, qui peuvent former le fondement pour un milieu différentiel ou sélectif. Toutefois, les caractéristiques propres à certaines sous-populations d'ECVT ont été détectées et elles constituent le fondement des méthodes analytiques ciblant ces sous-groupes. Les méthodes de détection d'ECVT O157:H7/NM peuvent profiter d'une résistance relativement élevée à certains antimicrobiens (novobiocine, tellurite et céfiximine) pour accroître la sélectivité et la différenciation du milieu fondées sur l'absence de fermentation du sorbitol et de l'activité de la ß-D-glucuronidase ainsi que sur la présence de l'hémolyse sur la [gélose de sang de mouton lavée] (Beutin et coll., 1989; March et Ratnam, 1986; Doyle et Schoeni, 1984). De même, l'absence de fermentation de rhamnose peut être utilisée comme caractéristique différentielle pour certaines souches O26 (Murinda et coll., 2004). Il est à noter que la variabilité dans la morphologie de la colonie et d'autres traits phénotypiques peuvent être observés entre les souches des mêmes sérogroupes, y compris E. coli O157 (Werber et coll., 2011; Gill et coll., 2014).

Dans certaines administrations, des méthodes d'analyse ont été adoptées qui ciblent un sous-groupe prioritaire d'ECVT défini par le sérogroupe et la présence de l'intimine (eae), par exemple, la méthode MLG 5B de la FSIS de l'USDA (FSIS-USDA, 2018) et de l'Union européenne (UE) (ISO, 2012). Les sérogroupes désignés prioritaires aux États-Unis sont l'O157, l'O26, l'O45, l'O103, l'O111, l'O121 et l'O145, et la méthode ISO actuelle cible les souches O26, O103, O111 et O121. La MLG 5B fait appel à la séparation immunomagnétique (SIM), conjuguée à des chocs acides et des températures élevées d'incubation pour améliorer la sélectivité. Toutefois, cette approche exclut ECVT appartenant à d'autres sérogroupes et les souches négatives pour le LEE même si ce genre de souches ont été responsables d'éclosions et de maladies graves d'origine alimentaire. De plus, de faibles taux de rétablissement ont été observés avec la SIM pour les sérogroupes d'ECVT ciblés (Kraft et coll., 2017; Hallewell et coll., 2017) et des températures d'enrichissement plus élevées, comme 42 °C peut ne pas convenir à toutes les souches, en particulier les cellules qui ont subi un stress physiologique.

Les méthodes d'analyse des aliments pour détecter la présence d'ECVT qui sont validées pour l'analyse réglementaire au Canada sont publiées dans le Compendium de méthodes (Santé Canada, 2018). Ces méthodes comprennent des méthodes commerciales, la méthode normalisée d'analyse pour l'ECVT O157 (MFHPB-10) et la norme pour tous les ECVT (MFLP-52) (Blais et coll., 2014). L'élaboration de la méthode MFLP-52 a été orientée par les facteurs causaux et corrélatifs auparavant établis au moyen de consensus des experts en la matière ([Rapport de l'atelier sur ECVT], 2010) et qui devra peut-être être mise à jour à la suite des tendances actuelles en matière de santé publique. Pour s'assurer de l'inclusion de la méthode, les conditions d'enrichissement et d'isolement représentent un compromis entre la permission de récupérer les différentes souches d'ECVT, tout en imposant une certaine sélectivité par rapport à d'autres microbiotes (Gill et coll., 2012; Gill et coll., 2014). La méthode MFLP-52 pour ECVT commence avec le bouillon de culture, suivie par le dépistage par RCP pour le stx1 et le stx2, si l'enrichissement est positif pour au moins l'un des gènes de vérotoxine, l'échantillon est présumé positif. Les enrichissements présumés positifs sont ensuite piqués sur la gélose et à la suite de l'incubation de jusqu'à 60 colonies sont analysées par RCP pour détecter le stx1 et le stx2 afin de détecter ECVT (Blais et coll., 2014). La confirmation comprend l'hybridation de puce à ADN sur tissu (CHAS) pour la détection des amblions de la RCP pour les gènes de virulence stx1 et stx2, eae, hlyA et les marqueurs de sérogroupe pour les souches O206, O103, O111, O145 et O157. Cette approche se veut inclusive tout en appuyant la détermination rapide des marqueurs associés aux ECVT causant la DS et le SHU.

Le potentiel le plus important pour l'application du séquençage de nouvelle génération (SNG) pour l'analyse des aliments afin de détecter la présence d'ECVT est la caractérisation génomique des isolats. Comme le coût du SNG a chuté et la vitesse a augmenté, la technologie est devenue économiquement concurrentielle avec d'autres méthodes de caractérisation des isolats, en particulier puisque lorsqu'un génome a été séquencé, les mêmes données peuvent être consultées pour la présence de multiples éléments ou assujetties à de nombreuses formes d'analyse du sous-typage. Un avantage supplémentaire est une plus grande souplesse dans l'analyse des isolats : plutôt que de se fier uniquement sur des méthodes « d'aqualabo » rigidement validées, l'analyse du SNG peut être adaptée ponctuellement pour la détermination des marqueurs de gènes qui peuvent être pertinents à un événement lié à la salubrité des aliments ou en réponse à des critères indiqués par des tendances changeantes en matière de santé publique. Les organismes de réglementation au sein de la communauté internationale ont activement élaboré des stratégies pour la mise en oeuvre du SGE en appui aux objectifs d'inspection réglementaire des aliments au moyen de la détection, de la détermination et de la caractérisation d'agents pathogènes bactériens prioritaires comme ECVT (Tong et coll., 2015; Lambert et coll., 2015; Lambert et coll., 2017, Carrillo et coll., 2019).

Les laboratoires de l'ACIA ont mis au point un processus pratique dans lequel l'ADN génomique isolé dans des colonies uniques est séquencé au moyen de la plateforme MiSeq d'Illumina, suivi par l'analyse des données de séquençage dans un processus entièrement intégré pour la détermination des marqueurs génomiques clés (Lambert et coll., 2015; Blais, 2017). Un pipeline de bioinformatique nommé GeneSeekR a été conçu de manière à déterminer les principales caractéristiques comme l'identité (p. ex., espèce, sérotype), les attributs de la caractérisation des risques (p. ex., la virulence, les sous-types de vérotoxine), le type moléculaire (analyses du polymorphisme nucléotide unique et du typage de la séquence multi-locus) et les marqueurs « à valeur ajoutée » (p. ex., le profil de résistance aux antibiotiques à des fins de surveillance). Les mesures d'assurance de la qualité sont incluses pour indiquer la fiabilité de chaque analyse, y compris des indicateurs pour la qualité des données de séquençage et le rendement de la bioinformatique. L'outil récemment élaboré ConFinder (Low et coll., 2019) est conçu pour déterminer la présence de contamination de l'ADN de nombreuses souches de la même espèce bactérienne. Un élément clé est [le dossier de l'analyse génomique (ROGA)] présentant un format de présentation de rapports normalisés visant à répondre aux besoins de la collectivité des utilisateurs finaux (c.-à-d., la Direction des sciences de la salubrité des aliments, les évaluateurs des risques et les spécialistes des rappels). Cette technologie est actuellement utilisée par l'ACIA pour générer des données de SGE pour les isolats d'aliments en temps réel. La mise en oeuvre de ce nouveau programme offre un niveau sans précédent de résolution dans l'analyse d'isolats bactériens d'origine alimentaire, permettant leur détermination rapide et l'établissement d'un profil des risques à un coût similaire aux méthodes traditionnelles, et a le potentiel de remplacer la caractérisation biochimique longue et les procédures de typage utilisées dans les laboratoires contemporains d'analyse des aliments.

Une capacité clé offerte par l'approche de SGE est la capacité de déterminer rapidement les attributs importants associés aux risques, comme le sérotype et les sous-types de vérotoxine des isolats d'ECVT, sans le besoin d'envoyer les isolats à des centres de référence spécialisés pour des procédures analytiques de longue durée. Le sérotype peut être facilement déterminé à l'aide de l'outil SeroTypeFinder (Joensen et coll., 2015) hébergé par le Centre for Genomic Epidemiology (www.genomicepidemiology.org). À l'heure actuelle, la méthode normalisée la plus largement utilisée pour le sous-typage de la vérotoxine est une technique de RCP élaborée par le Statens Serum Institute (SSI), ce qui différencie les sous-types utilisant des paires élémentaires propres aux sous-typages (Scheutz et coll., 2012). Plus récemment, une technique in silico validée fondée sur l'analyse du SGE au moyen d'un algorithme simulant le processus de RCP du SSI, appelé V-Typer, a été incorporé dans un pipeline de bioinformatique couramment utilisé à l'ACIA pour la caractérisation des isolats d'ECVT (Carrillo et coll., 2016).

Une nouvelle application de la technologie de SGE est l'utilisation des renseignements génomiques pour orienter l'adaptation de méthodes d'analyse pour améliorer la probabilité de récupération des souches d'agents pathogènes particuliers. Par exemple, il a été démontré que les enquêtes sur les éclosions d'ECVT d'origine alimentaire peuvent être appuyées par la prévision de la résistance aux antimicrobiens de la souche pathogène à partie des données génomiques pour indiquer les agents antimicrobiens qui peuvent être utilisé pour personnaliser la sélectivité des milieux de culture (Knowles et coll., 2016; Blais et coll., 2019). Les analyses de la résistance aux antimicrobiens peuvent être effectuées avec l'utilisation d'outils accessibles publiquement comme ResFinder (https://cge.cbs.dtu.dk/services/ResFinder/). Une telle approche s'est révélée efficace dans la récupération des différentes souches d'ECVT d'échantillons de boeuf haché contenant des niveaux élevés de bactéries (Blais et coll., 2019). Lorsque cette approche est appliquée aux enquêtes sur les éclosions pour la détection et l'isolement de souches d'ECVT particulière, elle peut potentiellement surmonter la sélectivité limitée des conditions d'enrichissement actuelles.

Méthodes cliniques

Même si l'analyse pour la détection de l'ECVT O157 est une pratique courante pour les laboratoires locaux, privés et hospitaliers, il n'existe pas de lignes directrices normalisées pour le moment d'effectuer une analyse pour d'autres sérotypes d'ECVT. À la fin de 2016 et au début de 2017, le Canada a connu une éclosion d'ECVT O121 causée par de la farine contaminée (Morton et coll., 2017). En raison du manque de lignes directrices normalisées sur le moment d'effectuer l'analyse pour l'ECVT non O157, des préoccupations concernant les cas manquants qui faisaient partie de cette enquête ont été soulevées par les laboratoires provinciaux de santé publique et les épidémiologistes. À ce titre, des lignes directrices provisoires ont été fournies aux laboratoires de santé publique sur le moment d'effectuer les analyses pour l'ECVT non O157 afin de s'assurer que les cas associés à cette éclosion ont été détectés. Des lignes directrices nationales visant à remédier à ce manque de normalisation ont été publiées par le Réseau canadien de laboratoires de santé publique (Chui et coll., 2018).

Une difficulté concernant la surveillance d'ECVT chez les Canadiens est l'introduction de l'utilisation de tests diagnostiques sans culture (TDSC) pour diagnostiquer les infections d'origine alimentaire. Même si les méthodes traditionnelles exigent l'isolement d'un organisme d'origine alimentaire à partir d'un échantillon de spécimen présenté par le patient, ces analyses rapides identifient l'organisme causal, mais ne fournissent pas d'isolat pour davantage de sous-typage (p. ex., détermination du sérotype) ou d'analyse (p. ex., sensibilité aux antimicrobiens). Comme l'adoption des TDSC augmente, les systèmes de surveillance au Canada et à l'échelle internationale connaîtront une érosion de la capacité d'effectuer de la surveillance des agents pathogènes d'origine alimentaire. La granularité nécessaire pour distinguer les cas sporadiques des cas associés à une éclosion est particulièrement vulnérable. Une solution proposée à l'utilisation accrue des TDSC consiste à effectuer une [culture réflexive] – à l'aide d'un TDSC pour un groupe d'agents pathogènes entériques, puis cultiver les échantillons positifs afin d'obtenir des isolats. Ces isolats seraient alors disponibles pour d'autres analyses et pour orienter les systèmes de surveillance. Toutefois, dans les pays où l'utilisation des TDSC est devenue courante et où la [culture réflexive] a été introduite, plusieurs obstacles ont été indiqués pour faire de cette approche une réussite. Le principal problème indiqué est le coût des travaux de laboratoire supplémentaires requis pour la culture et le manque de clarté sur la personne responsable de couvrir ces coûts. Si les médecins ne demandent pas que l'on effectue des cultures, les coûts associés à l'ajout de cette analyse ne sont pas remboursés aux laboratoires locaux. Si les laboratoires locaux ne cultivent pas les échantillons, alors ces derniers devront être envoyés à des laboratoires de santé publique, ce qui ajoutera un niveau de complexité en raison des délais et des coûts d'expédition.

Résumé

  • Les méthodes d'analyse pour ECVT dans les aliments ont habituellement quatre parties : l'enrichissement dans un bouillon de culture pour ECVT; la détection des biomarqueurs d'ECVT; l'isolement d'ECVT de l'enrichissement et la caractérisation des isolats d'ECVT.
  • En raison du niveau d'infectiosité élevé d'ECVT et des niveaux potentiellement faibles dans les aliments contaminés, les méthodes d'analyse pour ECVT dans les aliments à une limite de détection approchant une cellule par unité d'analyse, qui peut être aussi importante que 375 g. Pour atteindre cette sensibilité, l'amplification d'ECVT au moyen de l'enrichissement est essentielle.
  • L'isolement d'ECVT est essentiel pour confirmer que les marqueurs de virulence détectés dans l'enrichissement représentent une cellule viable et fournit des isolats aux fins de caractérisation.
  • L'enrichissement et l'isolement demeurent difficiles puisqu'actuellement, il n'y a pas de milieu sélectif ou différentiel disponible qui est propre aux ECVT. Les ECVT ne sont pas membres d'une lignée phylogénétique discrète et, par conséquent, il n'y a pas de caractéristiques phénotypiques uniques aux ECVT qui peuvent former le fondement d'un milieu différentiel ou sélectif.
  • Il y a des groupes phylogénétiques au sein d'ECVT qui peuvent être sélectionnés ou différenciés en fonction de la résistance aux antimicrobiens ou de l'utilisation d'un substrat.
  • Les méthodes d'analyse des aliments pour détecter la présence d'ECVT qui sont validées pour l'analyse réglementaire au Canada sont publiées dans le Compendium de méthodes. La méthode normalisée d'analyse pour l'ECVT O157 est la MFHPB-10 et la norme pour tous les ECVT est la MFLP-52.
  • Le séquençage de nouvelle génération offre de nombreux avantages et des économies de coûts dans la caractérisation et le sous-typage des isolats d'ECVT.
  • Au Canada, les analyses cliniques pour l'ECVT O157 sont une pratique courante. Les analyses cliniques pour l'ECVT non O157 sont plus difficiles et il y a un manque de normes établies. Récemment, des lignes directrices nationales visant à remédier à ce manque de normalisation ont été publiées par le Réseau canadien de laboratoires de santé publique.
  • L'utilisation croissante de tests diagnostiques sans culture (TDSC) pour diagnostiquer les cas cliniques d'infection par ECVT et d'autres agents pathogènes d'origine alimentaire peut éroder la surveillance de la santé publique. Comme le TDSC ne fournit pas d'isolats ou de données à partir desquels il est possible d'effectuer le sous-typage pour identifier les grappes ou pour effectuer le suivi des sources.


Date de modification :