Language selection

Search

COVID-19 and Remote Work

COVID-19 has had a profound impact on our country and the world. This uncertain environment is ripe for exploitation by threat actors seeking to advance their own interests. Canada's security and intelligence organizations, the Communications Security Establishment (CSE) and its Canadian Centre for Cyber Security (the Cyber Centre), and the Canadian Security Intelligence Service (CSIS), recognize these unique conditions and have developed a complementary approach to mitigate these threats.

Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada (ISED) recently released a policy statement highlighting the importance that the Government of Canada places on safeguarding Canadian research. This is especially relevant given the increased targeting of COVID-19 related research during the pandemic. The policy statement – that can be found here – was accompanied by letters sent to the granting councils and the Canada Foundation for Innovation (CFI) emphasizing the shared responsibility to protect Canada’s research.

CSIS and CSE are working in line with their respective mandates to ensure that Canadian businesses, research entities, and different levels of government are aware of the threat environment and that they have the tools and information they need to protect themselves. Read their joint statement here.

Improving cyber security capacities

With regards to the specific threats, the Cyber Centre has assessed that the COVID-19 pandemic presents an elevated level of risk to the cyber security of Canadian health organizations involved in the national response to the COVID-19 pandemic.

To help mitigate those risks, CSE, and the Cyber Centre, are continuously raising public awareness of cyber threats to Canadian health organizations by issuing cyber threat alerts, and providing tailored advice and guidance to Canadian health organizations, government partners, and industry stakeholders. For more information on these alerts and to receive the frequent updates, visit the Cyber Centre, Alerts and Advisories webpage.

The Cyber Centre has recently partnered with the Canadian Internet Registration Authority (CIRA)on the CIRA Canadian Shield, a free protected DNS service that prevents users from connecting to malicious websites that might infect their devices or steal personal information. Visit the CIRA Canadian Shield webpage for more information or to register to the DNS service.

CSE has assessed that it is near certain that state sponsored actors have shifted their focus during the pandemic, and that Canadian intellectual property represents a valuable target. However, it is equally important to note that the bulk of the malicious threat activity we have observed during the COVID-19 pandemic continues to be criminal in nature. As a result, the Cyber Centre has and continues to recommend that Canadian health organizations remain vigilant and take the time to ensure that they are applying cyber defence best practices, including increased monitoring of network logs, reminding employees to be alert to suspicious emails, using secure teleworking practices, and ensuring that servers and critical systems are patched for all known security vulnerabilities.

Cyber security resources

Protecting intellectual property from foreign interference and espionage

CSIS has observed an increased risk of foreign interference and espionage due to the extraordinary effort of our businesses and research centres. As a result, CSIS is working with these organizations to ensure that their work and proprietary information remains safely in their control. Its focus is on protecting Canadian intellectual property from these threats - and jobs and economic interests with it. This support includes leading discussions with organizations to raise their organizational awareness of the potential threats, and assisting them in developing a strategy to protect their research and interests. CSIS also aims to broaden the conversation on these risks, as they can extinguish the prospects of any single business and, in the aggregate, these risks can pose challenges to entire sectors, placing Canada at a long-term disadvantage that could erode our prosperity and way of life.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

La COVID-19 et le travail à distance

La COVID-19 a eu un profond impact sur notre pays et sur le monde. Cet environnement incertain est susceptible d'être exploité par des acteurs malveillants qui cherchent à promouvoir leurs propres intérêts. Les organismes de sécurité et de renseignement du Canada, le Centre de la sécurité des télécommunications (CST) et sa Centre canadien pour la cybersécurité (le Cybercentre), et le Service canadien du renseignement de sécurité (SCRS) sont conscients de cette situation exceptionnelle et ont élaboré une approche complémentaire pour atténuer ces menaces.

Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada (ISDE) vient de publier un énoncé de politique faisant ressortir l’importance que le gouvernement du Canada accorde à la protection de la recherche canadienne. Ceci est particulièrement pertinent vu le ciblage accru de la recherche liée à la COVID-19 pendant la pandémie. L’énoncé de politique, qui est affiché ici, s’accompagne de lettres adressées aux organismes subventionnaires et à la Fondation canadienne pour l’innovation (FCI), mettant l’accent sur le partage de la responsabilité envers la protection de la recherche canadienne.

Le SCRS et le CST travaillent de concert et dans le cadre de leurs mandats respectifs pour s'assurer que les entreprises canadiennes, les entités de recherche et les différents paliers de gouvernement prennent conscience du contexte menaçant et qu'ils disposent des outils et des informations dont ils ont besoin pour se protéger. Lire leur déclaration commune ici.

Améliorer les capacités de la cybersécurité

En ce qui concerne les menaces particulières, le Cybercentre estime que la pandémie de COVID‑19 présente un niveau de risque élevé pour la cybersécurité des organismes de santé canadiens participant à la réponse nationale à la pandémie de COVID-19.

Afin d'atténuer ces risques, le CST et le Cybercentre sensibilisent en permanence le public aux cybermenaces qui pèsent sur les organismes de santé canadiens en émettant des alertes et en fournissant des conseils et des orientations adaptés aux organismes de santé canadiens, aux partenaires gouvernementaux et aux intervenants de l'industrie. Pour plus de renseignements sur ces alertes et pour recevoir les fréquentes mises à jour, consultez les Alertes et avis de la page Web du Cybercentre.

Le Cybercentre s'est récemment associé à l'Autorité canadienne pour les enregistrements Internet (ACEI) afin d'offrir un service DNS gratuit - le Bouclier canadien - qui empêche les utilisateurs de se connecter à des sites Web malveillants susceptibles d'infecter leurs appareils ou de voler des renseignements personnels. Visitez la page Web du Bouclier canadien de l'ACEI pour de plus amples renseignements ou pour vous inscrire au service DNS.

Le CST estime qu'il est presque certain que des acteurs parrainés par l'État ont changé d'orientation pendant la pandémie et que la propriété intellectuelle canadienne représente une cible précieuse. Cependant, il est tout aussi important de noter que la majeure partie des activités malveillantes que nous avons observées au cours de la pandémie de COVID‑19 continue d'être de nature criminelle. Par conséquent, le Cybercentre a recommandé et continue de recommander aux organismes de santé canadiens de demeurer vigilants et de prendre le temps de s'assurer qu'ils appliquent les meilleures pratiques de cyberdéfense, notamment en surveillant davantage les registres de réseau, en rappelant aux employés d'être attentifs aux courriels suspects, en utilisant des pratiques de télétravail sécurisées et en veillant à ce que les serveurs et les systèmes essentiels soient mis à jour pour se protéger contre toutes les failles de sécurité connues.

Ressources en cybersécurité

Protection de la propriété intellectuelle contre l'ingérence étrangère et l'espionnage

Le SCRS a observé un risque accru d'ingérence étrangère et d'espionnage en raison de l'effort extraordinaire déployé par nos entreprises et centres de recherche. Par conséquent, le SCRS travaille avec ces organisations pour s'assurer que leur travail et leurs renseignements exclusifs demeurent hautement sécurisés. Son objectif est de protéger la propriété intellectuelle canadienne contre ces menaces, ainsi que les emplois et les intérêts économiques qui en découlent. Ce soutien comprend la tenue de discussions avec les organisations concernées, afin de les sensibiliser aux menaces potentielles et de les aider à élaborer une stratégie pour protéger leurs recherches et leurs intérêts. Le SCRS vise également à élargir la discussion sur ces risques, car ils peuvent anéantir les perspectives d'une seule entreprise, comme ils peuvent poser des défis à des pans entiers de notre économie, plaçant le Canada dans une situation désavantageuse qui risque à long terme d'éroder notre prospérité et notre mode de vie.

Date de modification :