Communications, Capacity and Outreach

4.1      Introduction

This Blueprint outlines the funding priorities under the Communications, Capacity and Outreach (CC&O) subprogram of the Northern Contaminants Program (NCP) for 2017-2018. The amount of funding available this year is:

  • $150,000 for projects as described under section 4.5.1, 4.5.2 and 4.5.3 below; and
  • $450,000 for Core Communications and Capacity-Building  as described under section 4.5.4 below

4.2 Goal and Objectives

The overall goal of the CC&O subprogram is to support and facilitate activities and initiatives that: (a) raise awareness of contaminants in the North from long-range sources and the work that is under way to address the issue; (b) help to support food choice decisions among consumers of traditional/country foods; and (c) build capacity in the North to participate in and/or contribute to addressing these issues.

4.3 Context

The NCP has been communicating about long-range contaminants and building capacity in the North for more than twenty years. In that time, much has been learned about the presence, trends and health effects of contaminants in the North, as well as about how to communicate this complex information, and how best to engage Northerners in research, monitoring and outreach activities. There have been many outreach efforts to target audiences over the years using a variety of methods (e.g., posters, newsletters, development of school curricula, community tours, radio call-in shows,regional and community workshops, frontline training courses and Elder–scientist retreats).

The presence and effects of long-range contaminants is one of several environmental, social and health issues faced in the North. NCP-funded studies in which community members across theNorth were surveyed on the importance of contaminants information in their food choices have concluded that, in most cases, the contaminant issue is low on the list of driving forces for community members in choosing what to eat.

Given this finding, the NCP’s approach reflects an understanding that information about contaminants is best shared with northern community members within the context of other relevant information and concerns. For example, instead of creating focused workshops and newsletters entirely devoted to the issue of contaminants, public health authorities have deemed it appropriate to insert contaminant messaging into existing public health messages and education efforts. This type of work is encouraged by the NCP. Wherever possible, NCP communications work should be integrated into already existing avenues for communication.

4.4 Links with other NCP Subprograms

The Communications, Capacity and Outreach subprogram is designed to be complementary to the other three NCP subprograms (Human Health, Environmental Monitoring and Research and Community-Based Monitoring and Research). These subprograms are designed to be complementary, and projects that link two or more subprograms are encouraged.

Monitoring and research projects supported through other NCP subprograms (e.g., Human Health; Community-Based Monitoring and Research; Environmental Monitoring and Research) may also have communications/capacity-building/outreach aspects to them and which are to be integrated within the scope and budgets of their main project funding and work plan.

4.5 Priorities for Activities in 2017-2018

The NCP is seeking proposals for projects and activities that are cross-cutting and strategic, and that are broader in scope than project-specific results dissemination, with a focus on:

  • Assessment of promising practices in communication and engagement (section 4.5.1)
  • Delivery of synthesized contaminants messages (section 4.5.2), and
  • Development and assessment of new tools, resources, and approaches for communication (section 4.5.3).

A total of $150,000 is available for these three priorities.

4.5.1 Assessment of promising practices in communication and engagement

This priority area provides opportunities to gather examples of promising practices and assess lessons learned with respect to communicating about contaminants. This includes looking at past NCP communication and engagement methods and activities that have been especially effective, as well as those taking place within other northern programs, and looks into the potential for use of new approaches to communications (e.g. use of new technologies) in a northern context. The goal of this priority is to bring together promising practices, including the evidence describing their impact where possible, and make them readily available to NCP researchers and frontline communicators. Projects could be regionally-based, or could be centred on a particular type of research (e.g., human health communications, or methods of engagement around wildlife monitoring). Activities may include:

  • Identifying and assessing practices in taking project results and putting them in an easily accessible and understandable format that communicators of contaminants information, including regional health authorities, can use to make decisions.

4.5.2 Delivery of synthesized contaminants messages

This priority area supports the delivery of synthesized messages related to contaminants, particularly as presented in a regional context, bringing together information from several NCP projects, and building on the results and key messages from the most recent Canadian Arctic Contaminants Assessment Reports III and AMAP reports. Note that delivery of individual project results to the communities in which sampling took place falls under the responsibility of the Human Health, Community Based Monitoring, or Environmental Monitoring and Research subprograms.

  • Delivering a synthesis or compilation of the results of several projects on contaminants in one or more regions (e.g., regional results workshops, posters, newsletters). These syntheses should be placed in the proper public health context for the region and integrated among related projects (even from different funding programs) occurring in the same location.
  • Delivering a regionally-focused workshop, especially if there is significant co-funding  and a demonstrated need to disseminate information (e.g., elevated levels of contaminants and a perceived health risk related to traditional/country foods).
  • Developing messages and communication tools that highlight the 25 years of work undertaken in the NCP.

4.5.3 Development and assessment of new tools and resources for communication and engagement

This priority provides the opportunity for projects to develop and, when possible, assess new tools and methods of communication and engagement.  It allows for the exploration and assessment of whether technologies like online social media, webinars, and internet-based applications and methods would be effective in communicating about long-range environmental contaminants.

While there are many barriers in the North to extensive use of internet-based tools, projects under this priority could assess which regions would be best placed to use new communications technologies, and which methods would be most successful in reaching an audience to provide information that assists informed decision making by individuals and communities in their food use.

4.5.4  Core communications and capacity building

The NCP supports Regional Contaminants Committees (RCCs) in five regions (Yukon, Northwest Territories, Nunavut, Nunavik, Nunatsiavut) and Inuit Research Advisors (IRAs) in four regions (Inuvialuit Settlement Region, Nunavut, Nunavik, Nunatsiavut), all of which play a key role in the communications network of the NCP.

Proposals for RCCs and IRAs are invited from the organizations listed as Project Leaders in the table below. A total of $450,000 is available for these projects.

NCP Core communications and capacity building activities
ProjectProject Leader
Yukon Contaminants Committee INAC-Yukon

NWT Regional Contaminants Committee

(including participation funds for members)

INAC-NWT
Nunavut Environmental Contaminants Committee INAC - Nunavut
Nunavik Nutrition and Health Committee Nunavik Regional Board of Health and Social Services
Nunatsiavut Government Research Advisory Committee Nunatsiavut Government

Inuit Research Advisors

  • Inuvialuit Settlement Region
  • Nunavut
  • Nunavik
  • Nunatsiavut

 

  • Inuvialuit Regional Corporation
  • TBD
  • Kativik Regional Government
  • Nunatsiavut Government

 

4.5.4.1          Responsibilities and activities of a Regional Contaminants Committee

Regional Contaminants Committees act as NCP representatives in the North, liaising with communities to inform them of NCP activities, but also to bring community concerns and issues back to the program. They support and assist NCP researchers to develop communications plans, build northern capacity within their projects, and consult with appropriate northern stakeholders. Activities may include, but are not limited to:

  • Facilitating  a contaminants communications network that ensures community members are informed and involved in contaminant related activities
  • Identifying regional and community priorities and information gaps related to environmental contaminants and human health research
  • Providing updates on research activities in the region that relate to environmental contaminants
  • Maintaining a current catalogue of contacts and resource materials regarding environmental contaminants
  • Assisting in the development of appropriate communication strategies to effectively relay information regarding contaminants
  • Reviewing NCP proposals, Blueprints and communication materials related to the region on an annual basis
  • Providing advice to contaminants researchers working in the region on matters related to community engagement, consultation, research permitting, results communication, and capacity building and training.

4.5.4.2          Responsibilities and activities of Inuit Research Advisors

The Northern Contaminants Program, along with ArcticNet, support regional Inuit Research Advisor (IRA) positions in each of the four Inuit Land Claim regions of the Canadian Arctic. The Inuit Research Advisors can help facilitate research in Inuit regions for these programs on contaminants, climate change and environmental health and engage Inuit in undertaking research activities of importance to their communities.  Activities should include, but are not limited to:

  • Participating in meetings of Regional Contaminants Committee and informing committee of ArcticNet activities, as well as activities of their host organization
  • Contacting researchers who have been funded to inquire about the communication of their findings and the need to form building capacity in communities
  • Contacting all NCP researchers to see what they plan to communicate, to whom and when, and present this information at your Regional Contaminants Committee meetings
  • Reviewing and commenting on the messages being developed by NCP researchers. (as part, or independent, of RCCs)
  • Completing a Research Monitoring Form each time they are contacted by a researcher, and submitting all completed forms with the annual Synopsis Report.
Date modified:

Communications, capacités et sensibilisation

4.1 Introduction

Le présent plan directeur établit les priorités en matière de financement aux termes du sous programme Communication, capacités et sensibilisation du Programme de lutte contre les contaminants dans le Nord (PLCN) pour 2017-2018. Les sommes disponibles cette année sont les suivantes :

  • 150 000 $ pour les projets décrits aux points 4.5.1, 4.5.2 et 4.5.3 du présent plan;
  • 450 000 $  pour les communications de base et le renforcement des capacités, de la façon décrite au point 4.5.4.   

4.2   But et objectifs

Le grand objectif du sous-programme Communication, capacités et sensibilisation est de financer et de faciliter des activités et initiatives visant à (a) mieux sensibiliser à la présence de contaminants dans le Nord qui proviennent de sources éloignées ainsi qu'aux travaux réalisés sur cette question; (b) à aider les consommateurs d'aliments traditionnels dans leurs choix alimentaires; et (c) à renforcer dans le Nord la capacité de participer aux solutions.

4.3   Contexte

Depuis plus de 20 ans, le PLCN est chargé des communications sur les contaminants transportés à grande distance de même que du renforcement des capacités dans Nord. Pendant toute cette période, nous en avons appris beaucoup au sujet de la présence des contaminants dans le Nord, sur les tendances et leurs effets sur la santé, sur la façon de transmettre des informations complexes et sur le meilleur moyen de faire participer les résidants du Nord à des activités de recherche, de surveillance et de sensibilisation. Au fil des ans, nous avons cherché à joindre les publics cibles de multiples façons (affiches, bulletins, création de programmes d’études, visites des communautés, tribunes téléphoniques à la radio, ateliers régionaux et communautaires, cours de formation en première ligne, journées de réflexion aînés scientifiques, etc.).

La présence et les effets des contaminants transportés à grande distance font partie des nombreux enjeux environnementaux, sociaux et de santé dans le Nord. Des sondages réalisés auprès des membres de collectivités nordiques et financés par le PLCN au sujet de l’importance de l’information sur les contaminants pour faire des choix alimentaires ont permis de conclure que, dans la plupart des cas, le problème des contaminants était peu pris en considération.

Compte tenu de cela, le PLCN a choisi de recourir à une approche selon  laquelle l'information sur les contaminants est mieux communiquée si elle l'est dans le cadre d'autres informations pertinentes ou en tenant compte d'autres préoccupations.

Par exemple, plutôt que de consacrer des ateliers et des bulletins à cette question, les autorités sanitaires ont jugé qu'il était préférable d’intégrer des messages sur les contaminants à des messages de santé publique et des mesures d'éducation existants. Le PLCN encourage de type de travail. Chaque fois que cela est possible, les communications de PLCN devraient être intégrées à des voies de communication existantes.

4.4   Liens avec d'autres sous-programmes du PLCN

Le sous programme Communications, capacités et sensibilisation a été conçu de façon à ce qu’il soit complémentaire aux trois autres sous programmes du PLCN (Santé humaine, Surveillance et recherche environnementales et Surveillance et recherche communautaires). Ces sous programmes sont complémentaires, et les projets établissant des liens avec un ou plusieurs sous-programmes sont encouragés.

Les projets de surveillance et de recherche qu'appuient les autres sous-programmes du PLCN (Santé humaine, Surveillance et recherche communautaires et Surveillance et recherche environnementales) pourraient contenir également des éléments associés aux communications, au renforcement des capacités et à la sensibilisation pouvant être intégrés à la portée et aux budgets applicables à leur plan global de travail et de financement de projets.

4.5   Activités prioritaires en 2 017-2018

Le PLCN souhaite recevoir des propositions de projets et d'activités intersectoriels et stratégiques ayant une portée plus large que la seule communication des résultats de projets précis, et qui visent en particulier :

  • l’évaluation des pratiques prometteuses en matière de communication et de mobilisation (point 4.5.1);
  • la communication d’informations synthétisées sur les contaminants (point 4.5.2);
  • l’élaboration et l’évaluation de nouveaux outils, de ressources et d’approches à l’appui de la communication (point 4.5.3). 

Une somme totale de 150 000 $ est disponible pour ces trois priorités.

4.5.1 Évaluation des pratiques prometteuses en matière de communication et de mobilisation

Ce domaine prioritaire offre des occasions de prendre connaissance des pratiques prometteuses et d’évaluer les leçons retenues en matière de communication au sujet des contaminants. Cela comprend l’examen des méthodes et activités du PLCN en matière de communication et de mobilisation qui ont été particulièrement efficaces et des méthodes et activités qui ont eu lieu dans le cadre d’autres programmes touchant le Nord, et de la possibilité de recourir à de nouvelles approches de la communication (p. ex., l’utilisation des nouvelles technologies) dans un contexte nordique. Ce domaine prioritaire vise à regrouper les pratiques prometteuses, notamment, si possible, les preuves de leurs effets, et à les rendre facilement disponibles pour les chercheurs et les communicateurs en première ligne du PLCN. Les projets pourraient être de nature régionale ou viser un certain type de recherche (p. ex., les communications concernant la santé humaine ou des méthodes de mobilisation sur la surveillance des espèces sauvages). Les activités pourraient comprendre :

  • la détermination et l’évaluation des pratiques prometteuses en matière de préparation de l’information pour aider les communicateurs chargés de diffuser de l’information sur les contaminants, y compris les autorités régionales de la santé, à prendre des décisions.

4.5.2  Communication d'information synthétisée sur les contaminants

Ce domaine prioritaire appuie les communications synthétisées sur les contaminants, en particulier dans un contexte régional, en regroupant les renseignements provenant de plusieurs projets du PLCN et en tirant profit des résultats et des messages clés des plus récents rapports d’évaluation des contaminants dans l’Arctique canadien et rapports du PSEA. Il faut noter que la communication des résultats des projets pris individuellement dans les collectivités dans lesquelles un échantillonnage a été fait relève des sous‑programmes Santé humaine, Surveillance et recherche environnementales et Surveillance et recherche communautaires.

Les activités pourraient consister en ce qui suit :

  • Faire une synthèse ou une compilation des résultats de plusieurs projets sur les contaminants dans une région ou plus (ateliers, affiches, bulletins sur les résultats régionaux, etc.). De telles synthèses devraient être présentées dans un contexte de santé publique pertinent pour la région et compte tenu de leur place parmi des projets connexes (même s'ils sont financés par d'autres programmes) dans la même région.
  • Organiser des ateliers présentant de l'information axée sur la région, en particulier s'il y a un important cofinancement et un besoin démontré de diffuser de l'information (niveau élevé de contaminants, perception d'un risque pour la santé associé aux aliments traditionnels, etc.).
  • Élaborer des messages et des outils de communication qui mettent en relief les 25 ans de travaux entrepris par le PLCN.

4.5.3  Élaboration et évaluation de nouveaux outils et ressources de communication et de mobilisation

Cette priorité procure une occasion d’élaborer de nouveaux outils et modes de communication et de mob ilisation et, dans la mesure du possible, de les évaluer. Elle permet de déterminer si des technologies comme les médias sociaux, les webinaires et les applications et méthodes fondées sur le Web pourraient être des moyens efficaces de communiquer au sujet des contaminants environnementaux transportés à grande distance.

Malgré les nombreuses difficultés associées à une utilisation élargie des outils Internet dans le Nord, pour cette priorité, une évaluation des régions les mieux placées pour recourir aux technologies de communication pourrait être faite, ainsi que des méthodes qui pourraient le mieux atteindre un public afin de fournir de l'information permettant aux citoyens et aux collectivités de prendre des décisions éclairées au sujet de leur choix d'aliments. 

4.5.4  Communications de base et renforcement des capacités

Le PLCN appuie des comités régionaux des contaminants dans cinq régions (Yukon, Territoires du Nord-Ouest, Nunavut, Nunavik et Nunatsiavut) et des conseillers en recherche inuits dans quatre régions (région désignée des Inuvialuits, Nunavut, Nunavik et Nunatsiavut), qui ont tous un important rôle à jouer dans le réseau de communication du PLCN.

Les organisations désignées comme étant responsables de projets dans la liste ci dessous sont invitées à faire des propositions concernant les comités régionaux des contaminants et les conseillers en recherche inuits. Une somme de 450 000 $ est disponible pour ces projets.


Activités de base de communication et de renforcement des capacités du PLCN
ProjetChefs de projet
Comité des contaminants du YukonAANC – Yukon
Comité régional des contaminants des T.N.-O. (y compris les fonds de participation pour les membres)AANC-T.N.-O.
Comité des contaminants du NunavutAANC – Nunavut
Comité de la nutrition et de la santé du NunavikRégie régionale de la santé et des services sociaux Nunavik
Comité de recherche sur la santé et l’environnement du NunatsiavutGouvernement du Nuntasiavut

Conseillers en recherche inuite

  • Région désignée des Inuvialuit
  • Nunavut
  • Nunavik
  • Nunatsiavut

·          

  • Société régionale inuvialuit
  • À déterminer
  • Administration régionale Kativik
  • Gouvernement du Nuntasiavut
  


4.5.4.1  Responsabilités et activité des comités régionaux des contaminants

Les comités régionaux des contaminants représentent le PLCN dans le Nord; ils informent les collectivités des activités du Programme et font part aux responsables du Programme des préoccupations et questions de ces collectivités. Ils soutiennent les chercheurs du PLCN dans l’élaboration de leurs plans de communication, renforcent les capacités dans le Nord dans le cadre de leurs projets et consultent les intervenants nordiques pertinents. Les activités peuvent notamment consister en ce qui suit :

  • appuyer un réseau de communication sur les contaminants pour veiller à ce que les membres des collectivités soient informés des activités concernant les contaminants et qu’ils y participent;
  • connaître les priorités des régions et des collectivités et savoir quelles informations leur manquent en ce qui a trait à la recherche sur les contaminants de l’environnement et la santé humaine;
  • présenter des mises à jour sur les activités de recherche sur les contaminants de l’environnement qui ont lieu dans la région;
  • tenir à jour une liste des personnes‑ressources et des documents d’information sur les contaminants de l’environnement;
  • contribuer à l’élaboration de stratégies de communication appropriées pour diffuser efficacement de l’information sur les contaminants;
  • faire un examen annuel des propositions, des plans directeurs et des documents de communication du PLCN pour leur région;
  • conseiller les chercheurs sur les contaminants qui travaillent dans la région au sujet de la mobilisation des collectivités, la consultation, l’approbation des projets de recherche, la communication des résultats, le renforcement des capacités et la formation.

4.5.4.2  Responsabilités et activités des conseillers en recherche inuits

Le PLCN et ArcticNet financement huit postes de conseillers en recherche inuits dans chacune des quatre régions visées par des accords sur les revendications territoriales inuites. Les conseillers en recherche inuits peuvent faciliter la recherche sur les contaminants, les changements climatiques et la santé environnementale qui se fait dans le cadre de ces programmes et faire participer les Inuits à des activités de recherche d'importance dans leurs collectivités. Ces activités devraient notamment consister en ce qui suit :

  • participer à des réunions du comité des contaminants de leur région et informer celui-ci des activités réalisées dans le cadre d'ArcticNet, ainsi que des activités de leur organisation hôte;
  • joindre les chercheurs financés au sujet de la communication de leurs découvertes et de la nécessité de renforcer les capacités dans les collectivités;
  • joindre tous les chercheurs du PLCN pour savoir s'ils prévoient communiquer, à qui et quand; et présenter cette information lors des réunions du comité régional des contaminants;
  • examiner les messages des chercheurs du PLCN et fournir leurs observations (dans le cadre d'un comité régional des contaminants ou indépendamment);
  • remplir un formulaire de surveillance de la recherche chaque fois qu'un chercheur communique avec eux et soumettre tous ces formulaires remplis dans le cadre du rapport de synthèse annuel.
Date de modification :