Guidelines for Responsible Research

I. Introduction

The following document represents a guideline for communications planning to assist Northern Contaminants Program (NCP) project leaders in initiating community contacts and developing research agreements with communities. Ultimately, the objective is that communications/ participation planning will become integral to research proposal development.

II. Key points

The following are key points to consider when planning communications and community participation in NCP projects:

A. Engagement

  1. Engage early with the Regional Contaminants Committees (RCCs) and Inuit Research Advisors (IRAs), before and during the development of a proposal.
  2. During engagement, researchers should explain the potential beneficial and harmful effects of the research on individuals, communities and/or the environment.
  3. No undue pressure should be applied to obtain consent for participation in a research project.
  4. Greater consideration should be placed on the risks to cultural values than to potential contributions of the research to knowledge.

B. Research Obligations

  1. Research should include community participation in the identification of research topics, traditional knowledge and priorities.
  2. Community participation in project planning and implementation goes beyond "moral" obligations; rather it is a legal and constitutional requirement associated with land claims.
  3. For all parties to benefit from research, efforts should be made, where practical, to employ and train local (especially Indigenous) researchers and assistants.
  4. It is important to develop approaches to research that are responsive to local or regional needs. The Regional Contaminants Committees (RCCs) and Aboriginal organizations are good mechanisms for achieving this.
  5. Research must respect sacred sites, cultural materials, and cultural properties.
  6. Subject to requirements for confidentiality, publications should give appropriate credit to everyone who contributes to the research.
  7. All project leaders are required to prepare a report on their project for inclusion in the annual NCP Synopsis of Research report to be used by the RCCs for communications purposes.

C. Research Relationships

  1. Community-researcher relationships should be established early on in the project planning process, outlining details of "level of engagement" and "mutual obligations" for each partner. This will ensure a meaningful two-way exchange of information.
  2. Researchers and communities may wish to set out the parameters of their agreements and understandings in a Memorandum of Understanding.
  3. From the NCP perspective, development of researcher-community relationships is a dynamic and evolving process. As research projects progress, common elements will emerge regarding the perceptions, needs, and resource/capacity strengths of individual communities and researchers, including their criteria and preferred form of participation in scientific research projects.
  4. The right to refuse participation always rests with the individual at any point in any study.

 

D. Communications

  1. Researchers are advised to contact the appropriate Regional Contaminants Committee (RCC) and Inuit Research Advisor (IRA) for advice on communications planning during the development of their proposal.
  2. Researchers should incorporate advice on communication into their proposal. Communication of results should include consideration of media other than printed reports. Examples of effective methods for information dissemination include:  face-to-face discussion, local radio, DVD, pamphlets, videos and web sites. Many of these can successfully present highlights of several projects or categories of research activity over several years. Public presentations that allow for little interaction are seldom regarded as useful. RCCs will direct the project leader if communication of results is required.
  3. Communication support materials, such as pamphlets, posters and videos, should not be seen as solutions to communications problems, but as tools to be used in combination with person-to-person communication. Communications support materials should be sent to the appropriate Territorial/regional Contaminants Committee for review.
  4. Translation of summary reports into local languages is recognized as critical and should be done wherever possible/appropriate.

 

E. Reporting of Specific Health Risk Results

  1. The existing protocol for reporting results from human health risk assessments (from analysis of fish/wildlife contaminants burdens) must be adhered to. The decision to conduct such assessments is part of this protocol.
  2. Researchers must ensure the accuracy of their results since these may influence decisions and policy that can directly affect individuals and communities.
  3. There is a process to prepare contingency plans if results are reported that require some form of intervention or action, in relation to reporting of individual human results. This is done by the responsible health authority (e.g. regional departments of health and social services) in consultation with the Regional Contaminants Committees, the four NCP Aboriginal Partners, and the NCP Management Committee.
Date modified:

Lignes directrices sur la recherche responsable

I. Introduction

Ce document présente des lignes directrices sur la planification des communications en vue d’aider les chefs de projet du Programme de lutte contre les contaminants dans le Nord (PLCN) à établir des contacts avec les communautés et à élaborer avec ces dernières des ententes sur la recherche. À terme, l’objectif est d’intégrer la planification des communications et de la participation à l’élaboration des projets de recherche.

II. Principaux points

Nous présentons ci-dessous les principaux points à prendre en considération dans la planification des communications avec les communautés et de la participation communautaire aux projets du PLCN :

A. Engagement

  1. Il est nécessaire d’entreprendre rapidement l'engagement avec les comités régionaux des contaminants (CRC) et les conseillers en recherche inuite (CRI), avant et pendant l’élaboration d’une proposition.
  2. Les chercheurs doivent, pendant l'engagement, expliquer les effets de la recherche susceptibles d’être bénéfiques ou nocifs pour les individus, les communautés et l’environnement.
  3. Aucune pression indue ne peut être exercée en vue de l’obtention du consentement à la participation à un projet de recherche.
  4. Il faut insister davantage sur les risques que présente la recherche pour les valeurs culturelles que sur sa contribution éventuelle à l’acquisition de connaissances.

B. Obligations en matière de recherche

  1. Les communautés touchées doivent participer au choix des sujets de recherche, à l’apport de connaissances traditionnelles et à l’établissement des priorités en matière de recherche.
  2. La participation des communautés à la planification et à l’exécution des projets dépasse l’obligation morale; elle découle plutôt d’une obligation légale et constitutionnelle liée aux revendications territoriales des Autochtones.
  3. Pour que toutes les parties bénéficient de la recherche, il faut s’efforcer, autant que possible, de recruter et de former des chercheurs et des assistants provenant de la région (en particulier des Autochtones).
  4. Il est important d’élaborer des approches en matière de recherche qui tiennent compte des besoins à l’échelle locale ou régionale. Les CRC et les organisations autochtones sont utiles à cet égard.
  5. Dans l’exécution des recherches, il faut respecter les lieux sacrés ainsi que les richesses et les biens culturels.
  6. Sous réserve des exigences de confidentialité, il faut, dans les publications, accorder toute la reconnaissance voulue aux parties qui contribuent aux travaux de recherche.
  7. Tous les chefs de projet doivent produire un rapport sur leur projet destiné à être intégré au sommaire annuel des travaux de recherche effectués dans le cadre du PLCN, et dont se serviront les CRC à des fins de communication.

C. Relations entre les chercheurs et les communautés

  1. Dans le but d’assurer un échange d’information bidirectionnel signifiant, il faut établir des relations entre les communautés et les chercheurs aux premiers stades de la planification des projets, notamment en établissant en détail le « niveau d'engagement » et les « obligations mutuelles » de chaque partenaire.
  2. Les chercheurs et les communautés peuvent juger utile d’énoncer les modalités de leurs accords dans un protocole d’entente.
  3. Du point de vue du PLCN, l’établissement de relations entre les chercheurs et les communautés est un processus dynamique et évolutif. À mesure que les travaux avanceront, des points communs ressortiront quant aux perceptions, aux besoins, aux ressources et aux capacités des communautés et des chercheurs, y compris des critères et des formes de participation privilégiées aux travaux scientifiques.
  4. En tout temps pendant le déroulement des études, les personnes conservent le droit de refuser de participer à des travaux.

 

D. Communications

  1. Il est conseillé aux chercheurs de prendre contact avec le CRC et le CRI concernés pour obtenir des conseils sur la planification des communications pendant l’élaboration de leur projet.
  2. Les chercheurs devraient inclure dans leurs propositions les conseils en matière de communications du CRC. Il faudrait envisager de recourir à d’autres moyens que les rapports imprimés pour diffuser les résultats des travaux. Parmi les méthodes efficaces de diffusion de l’information, on compte les discussions en personne, la radio locale, les CD-ROM, les brochures, les vidéos et les sites Web. Nombre de ces outils peuvent présenter efficacement les points saillants de plusieurs projets ou catégories d’activités de recherche sur plusieurs années. Les exposés publics permettant peu d’interaction sont rarement jugés utiles. Les CRC guideront les chefs de projet lorsqu’une communication de résultats est nécessaire.
  3. Les supports de communication, tels que les brochures, les affiches et les vidéos, ne doivent pas être considérés comme des solutions aux problèmes de communication, mais comme des outils destinés à compléter les communications de personne à personne. Ils doivent être soumis à l’examen du CRC ou du CTC concerné.
  4. La traduction des sommaires des travaux de recherche dans les langues locales est essentielle et devrait être effectuée dans la mesure du possible et s’il y a lieu.

E. Diffusion de résultats particuliers portant sur les risques pour la santé

  1. Il faut respecter le protocole de diffusion des résultats des évaluations des risques pour la santé humaine (à partir d’analyses des charges de contaminants chez les poissons et autres espèces fauniques). La décision d’effectuer de telles évaluations fait partie du présent protocole.
  2. Les chercheurs doivent garantir l’exactitude des résultats, car ceux-ci peuvent influer sur des décisions et des politiques susceptibles de toucher directement des personnes et des communautés.
  3. Des plans d’urgence peuvent être préparés si les résultats révèlent qu’il faut intervenir ou agir en lien avec la communication de résultats individuels concernant la santé humaine. Ces plans sont préparés par les autorités sanitaires compétentes (p. ex. les ministères territoriaux de la Santé et des Services sociaux), en consultation avec les CRC, les quatre partenaires autochtones du PLCN et le Comité de gestion du PLCN.
Date de modification :