Blogs

Small science, big discoveries

Small Science, Big Discoveries

Many major scientific discoveries begin with observation of and interaction with materials at the smallest levels. Read on to learn how research at the atomic level impacts our daily lives in the areas of health care, agriculture, transportation, energy and beyond.

Lisa Anderson, Elizabeth Cowan, Simone Charron

Canadian STEM Femmes

Read on to meet Canadian STEM Femmes: women working in science, technology, engineering and math. Hear their stories, find out about their career paths, struggles and successes and check out their advice. Most importantly, share their stories!

Michelle Côté, Ned King and Mat Duchesne

Investigating permafrost on the bottom of the Beaufort Sea

Geological Survey of Canada scientists Michelle Côté, Ned King and Mat Duchesne are investigating permafrost and gas hydrates in shallow Arctic shelf areas in the Beaufort Sea. They are trying to determine if this underwater layer of permafrost below the sea floor is being affected by climate change and are blogging about their research from the Korean icebreaker Araon between August 29 and September 13, 2017.

Getting ready for canoeing on the challenging Coppermine river with 2 days of whitewater river training

A summer search for early life and the origins of enigmatic volcanic rocks in the Arctic

This July, Geological Survey of Canada scientist Dr. Rob Rainbird is leading a team of Canadian and international scientists north of the Arctic Circle to look for some of the world’s oldest microfossils and clues about the origins of a huge ancient volcanic event. The expedition will examine a segment of the Earth’s crust by canoe along 200 km of the Coppermine River.

Rouleau, Lamarre

Science Behind the Scenes

People are at the heart of Environment and Climate Change Canada (ECCC)’s science. Over half of ECCC’s workforce is in science and technology. Science Behind Scenes gives you a glimpse of some of their work.

Levesque

The Science of Health

Good science supports good health. Find out about the interesting science and research activities of the Health portfolio in this new blog. Discover the faces and places that make science happen and how it relates to everyday Canadians!

Geeves

Career Alliance 360

An initiative from GeoConnections of Natural Resources Canada, Career Alliance 360 – Inspiring Girls in STEM / Indigenous Inclusion is designed to enhance representation of women and Indigenous Peoples in key STEM fields with a particular emphasis on northern Canada.

Arctic 2016

Canadian Arctic Expedition 2016

Blog posts by Michelle Côté and Scott Dallimore, scientists with NRCan, recount the important scientific research taking place aboard the CCGS Sir Wilfrid Laurier research vessel. NRCan’s Geological Survey of Canada (GSC) is investigating offshore geological hazards and identifying sensitive marine habitat in Canada’s Western Arctic.

Colleen Fish

E-Postcards from the Field

This year, we enjoy field experiences on the new blog, E-Postcards from the Field. This blog will include research being done in northern and remote parts of the country, as well as other sites across Canada or in laboratories and offices.

Anja Rutishauser and Colleen Mortimer

E-postcards from the Arctic

Each year, Natural Resources Canada's Polar Continental Shelf Program helps as many as 1100 scientists from around the world to safely conduct research in the Canadian Arctic. Now, some of these researchers are sharing their experience of what it’s like to work in this vast, remote and beautiful region right here, with e-postcards.

Date modified:

Blogues

Lisa Anderson, Elizabeth Cowan, Simone Charron

Les Canadiennes dans le domaine des STIM

Apprenez-en plus sur les Canadiennes en STIM, ces femmes qui évoluent dans les domaines de la science, de la technologie, de l’ingénierie et des mathématiques. Prenez connaissance de leur histoire, du déroulement de leur carrière, des difficultés rencontrées, des succès obtenus et surtout de leurs conseils. Plus important encore, partagez leurs histoires avec votre entourage!

Michelle Côté, Ned King et Mat Duchesne

Étude du pergélisol au fond de la mer de Beaufort

Les scientifiques de la Commission géologique du Canada Michelle Côté, Ned King et Mat Duchesne étudient le pergélisol et les hydrates de gaz dans des zones peu profondes du plateau continental arctique de la mer de Beaufort. Ils tentent de déterminer si la couche de pergélisol sous les fonds marins est touchée par les changements climatiques et publient du 29 août au 13 septembre 2017 un blogue à ce sujet à bord du brise-glace coréen Araon.

Deux jours de pratique du canot en eaux vives pour nous préparer à affronter l’impétueuse rivière Coppermine

Une recherche estivale sur les premières manifestations de la vie et les origines de roches volcaniques énigmatiques dans l’Arctique

Rob Rainbird, scientifique à la Commission géologique du Canada, dirige ce mois-ci une équipe de scientifiques canadiens et internationaux au nord du cercle polaire arctique à la recherche de certains des plus anciens microfossiles au monde et d’indices concernant les origines d’un énorme événement volcanique ancien. L’expédition permettra aux scientifiques d’examiner une section de la croûte terrestre en canot sur 200 km de la rivière Coppermine.

Rouleau, Lamarre

Dans les coulisses de la scène scientifique

Le personnel d’Environnement et Changement climatique Canada (ECCC) est au cœur des activités scientifiques du Ministère. En effet, plus de la moitié des employés d’ECCC travaillent dans le secteur des sciences et des technologies. Les chroniques « Dans les coulisses de la scène scientifique » vous donnent un aperçu du travail qu’ils accomplissent.

Levesque

La science de la santé

Une bonne santé repose sur des fondements scientifiques de qualité. Ce nouveau blogue vous fera découvrir les fascinantes activités scientifiques et de recherche du portefeuille de santé. Voyez les visages et les lieux qui contribuent à la science et comment cette science touche la vie de tous les Canadiens!

Geeves

Alliance carrière 360

Une initiative du GéoConnexions de Ressources naturelles Canada, Alliance carrière 360 – Inspirer les jeunes filles à faire carrière en STGM/Intégration des Autochtones a été désignée pour augmenter la représentation des femmes et des autochtones dans les domaines STGM, avec un accent particulier sur le nord du Canada.

Arctique 2016

L'expédition canadienne dans l'Arctique 2016

Les billets publiés par Michelle Côté et Scott Dallimore, scientifiques à RNCan, décrivent l’importante recherche scientifique réalisée à bord d’un navire de recherche, le NGCC Sir Wilfrid Laurier. La Commission géologique du Canada de RNCan étudie les risques géologiques marins et recense les habitats marins vulnérables dans l’ouest de l’Arctique canadien.

Colleen Fish

Cartes électroniques - sur le terrain

Cette année, nous aimerions que vous partagez votre expérience sur le terrain sur son nouveau blogue, Cartes électroniques - sur le terrain. Ce blogue va inclure les recherches réalisées dans les régions nordiques et éloignées du pays; il comprendra également celles effectuées dans d'autres sites au Canada ou en laboratoire ou dans les bureaux.

Anja Rutishauser and Colleen Mortimer

Cartes électroniques de l'Arctique

A chaque année, le Programme du plateau continental polaire à Ressources naturelle Canada aide environ 1 100 scientifiques au tour du monde se rendre dans les camps de l’Arctique canadien et à y mener leurs recherches.  Maintenant, quelques-uns vont partager leurs expériences à travailler dans cette vaste région avec les cartes postales électroniques.

Date de modification :